A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 155 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
28.05.2021

Russia's Climate Agenda: Responding to International Challenges

The report prepared by the Center for Strategic Research in cooperation with the Analytical Center of FEC of REA of the Ministry of Energy of Russia and the Situation Center (GC Seldon) examines the issues of the climate agenda, analyzes the key trends of the global climate agenda and evaluates the challenges that these trends pose to the Russian economy.

The Roscongress Foundation presents the salient points of the publication accompanied by fragments of broadcasts of relevant panel discussions from the business programme of international events held by the Roscongress Foundation.

The climatic situation in the world is worsening, which creates new challenges for Russia.

According to the World Meteorological Organization, 2020 will be one of the three warmest years on record. This shows that environmental and climatic problems, issues of global warming are an acute challenge in today’s world. Russia is one of the largest emitters of greenhouse gases in the world, which leads to increased attention from the international community to the country in achieving the country’s climate goals. And despite the fact that in the long term Russia has significantly reduced the amount of emissions (in 2018 there were 30.3% fewer greenhouse gas emissions than in 1990), recently the amount of emissions has been increasing, and Russia’s goal, for example in the Climate Action Tracker (a special index developed by global consulting companies) is characterized as «critically insufficient». Thus, this situation may pose a challenge to Russia’s image as a environmentally responsible country. The authors of the report also highlight the following external climate challenges to Russia’s economy:

— the challenge of improving data quality for international comparisons,

— the challenge of reducing the demand for traditional energy resources,

— the challenge of stricter requirements for Russian carriers on international markets,

— the challenge of the emergence of climate restrictions in international trade and discrimination against Russian products,

— the challenge of eliminating or limiting support for low-carbon energy sources such as nuclear power and large scale hydropower.

The report also notes that the strengthening of the climate agenda in the world generates a growing demand for the disclosure of carbon reporting by business and limited opportunities to attract funding for carbon-intensive projects.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2019-globalnyy-klimaticheskiy-vyzov-ogranichenie-ili-drayver-razvitiya/search/#00:55:01.375

Russia is taking a number of steps to address climate issues at both the international and national levels.

Russia actively participates in the formation of international climate policy: the country is a party to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change, the Kyoto Protocol, the Paris Agreement, and international treaties on the protection of the ozone layer.

Active actions are also observed at the national level. Strategic documents in the field of counteraction and adaptation to climate change are being developed, as well as measures aimed at reducing greenhouse gas emissions, and a goal for their reduction in 2030 is set, the sphere of «green finance» is actively developing. Consideration of the rules for the introduction of mandatory carbon reporting continues, and the Concept of the formation of a monitoring, reporting and verification system of greenhouse gas emissions in the Russian Federation was adopted in 2015. Russia’s climate agenda focuses on the following areas: measures for adaptation to climate change, unlocking the potential of energy efficiency, protection and restoration of forests, and encouraging the development of alternative renewable energy sources.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/rew-2019-missiya-vypolnima-otvety-nauki-na-globalnye-energeticheskie-vyzovy/search/#00:03:32.736

In order to maintain the competitiveness of Russia’s economy, it is necessary to proceed to decisive actions in the field of climate policy in general and carbon regulation in particular.

The report notes that it is important for Russia to move to decisive actions in the development of climate policy measures and thereby maintain the competitiveness of the Russian economy. The sector of carbon regulation in connection with the planned introduction of a transboundary carbon mechanism in the EU, which will take the problem of carbon regulation to the international level, stands out. Since Russia is the largest trading partner of the EU, which does not have any system of carbon response (carbon taxes or emissions trading), this deprives the country of the flexibility to net payments for greenhouse gas emissions in its territory.

Thus, for a correct response to the situation and full or partial preservation of payments for greenhouse gas emissions, Russia needs to implement a number of measures, including the elaboration of the possibility of development of carbon regulation in Russia, the elaboration of the introduction of symmetrical measures for imports from the EU, the elaboration of support measures (compensations) in Russia for the most affected enterprises and industries.

The research also notes the importance of further work on developing climate policy measures, such as forest regulation, reporting and monitoring greenhouse gas emissions, and implementing directions towards a low-carbon development path.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/rew-2019-missiya-vypolnima-otvety-nauki-na-globalnye-energeticheskie-vyzovy/search/#00:49:37.791

For more information, see the special sections of the Roscongress Foundation Information and Analytical System: Sustainable Development devoted to global challenges and responses to them; Climate Change and Environment, which provide information on environmental issues.

Analytics on the topic

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 160 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
28.05.2021

Климатическая повестка России: реагируя на международные вызовы

В докладе, подготовленном Центром стратегических разработок совместно с Аналитическим центром ТЭК РЭА Минэнерго России и «Ситуационным центром» (ГК Селдон), рассматриваются вопросы климатической повестки, проводится анализ ключевых трендов мировой климатической повестки и дается оценка вызовам, которые эти тренды ставят перед экономикой РФ.

Аналитики Фонда Росконгресс выделили основные тезисы данного исследования, сопроводив каждый из них подходящим по теме фрагментом видеотрансляций панельных дискуссий, состоявшихся в рамках деловых программ ключевых мероприятий, проведенных Фондом.

Климатическая ситуация в мире ухудшается, что создает новые вызовы для России.

Согласно данным Всемирной метеорологической организации, 2020 год войдет в тройку самых теплых лет за всю историю наблюдений. Это свидетельствует о том, что экологические и климатические проблемы, вопросы глобального потепления являются острым вызовом в современном мире. Россия является одним из крупнейших эмитентов парниковых газов в мире, что обуславливает повышенное внимание к стране со стороны мирового сообщества в рамках достижения страной климатических целей. И несмотря на то, что в долгосрочном периоде Россия существенно уменьшила количество выбросов (в 2018 году на 30,3% меньше выбросов парниковых газов, чем в 1990 году), в последнее время количество выбросов растет, а цель России, например в «Трекере климатических действий» (специальный индекс, разработанный мировыми консалтинговыми компаниями), охарактеризована как «критически недостаточная». Таким образом, эта ситуация может создавать вызов для имиджа России как климатически ответственной страны. Авторы доклада также выделяют следующие внешние климатические вызовы экономике России:

— вызов потребности в улучшении качества данных для международных сопоставлений;

— вызов сокращения спроса на традиционные энергоресурсы;

— вызов усиления требований к российским перевозчикам на международных рынках;

— вызов появления климатических ограничений в международной торговле и дискриминации российской продукции;

— вызов, связанный с исключением или ограничением поддержки таких низкоуглеродных источников энергии, как атомная и большая гидроэнергетика.

В докладе также отмечается, что усиление климатической повестки в мире порождает рост запроса на раскрытие углеродной отчетности бизнесом и ограничение возможностей по привлечению финансирования в углеродоемкие проекты.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2019-globalnyy-klimaticheskiy-vyzov-ogranichenie-ili-drayver-razvitiya/search/#00:55:01.375

Россия предпринимает ряд шагов по решению климатических проблем как на международном, так и на национальном уровне.

Россия активно участвует в формировании международной климатической политики: страна является стороной Рамочной конвенции ООН об изменении климата, Киотского протокола к ней, Парижского соглашения и международных договоров по охране озонового слоя.

Активные действия наблюдаются и на национальном уровне. Идет разработка стратегических документов в области противодействия и адаптации к климатическим изменениям, также действуют меры, направленные на сокращение выбросов парниковых газов, и установлена цель по их сокращению на 2030 год, активно развивается сфера «зеленого финансирования». Продолжается рассмотрение правил внедрения обязательной углеродной отчетности, при этом в 2015 году была принята Концепция формирования системы мониторинга, отчетности и проверки объема выбросов парниковых газов в Российской Федерации. В своей климатической повестке Россия концентрируется на мерах по адаптации к климатическим изменениям, раскрытии потенциала энергоэффективности, охране и восстановлении лесов, стимулированию развития альтернативных возобновляемых источников энергии.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/rew-2019-missiya-vypolnima-otvety-nauki-na-globalnye-energeticheskie-vyzovy/search/#00:03:32.736

Для сохранения конкурентоспособности экономики России необходимо перейти к активным действиям в сфере климатической политики в целом и углеродного регулирования в частности.

В докладе отмечается, что России важно перейти к активным действиям в области развития мер климатической политики и тем самым поддерживать конкурентоспособность российской экономики. Особо выделяется сфера углеродного регулирования в связи с планируемым в ЕС введением трансграничного углеродного механизма, что выведет проблему углеродного регулирования на международный уровень. Россия является крупнейшим торговым партнером ЕС, у которого нет какой-либо системы углеродного регулирования (углеродные налоги или торговля квотами), и это лишает страну гибкости в возможностях зачета платежей за выбросы парниковых газов на территории своей страны.

Таким образом, для корректного реагирования на возникшую ситуацию и полного или частичного сохранения платежей за выбросы парниковых газов России необходимо реализовать ряд шагов, среди которых проработка возможности развития в России мер углеродного регулирования, проработка возможности ввода симметричных мер для импорта из ЕС, проработка мер поддержки (компенсации) в России для предприятий и отраслей, наиболее пострадавших от введения мер углеродного регулирования.

В исследовании также отмечается важность дальнейшей работы над мерами по развитию климатической политики, например, в сфере лесного регулирования, отчетности и мониторинга выбросов парниковых газов и реализации направлений перехода на низкоуглеродный путь развития.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/rew-2019-missiya-vypolnima-otvety-nauki-na-globalnye-energeticheskie-vyzovy/search/#00:49:37.791

Также предлагаем вам ознакомиться с другими материалами, размещенными в специальных разделах Информационно-аналитической системы Росконгресс: Устойчивое развитие, посвященном глобальным вызовам и ответам на них; Изменение климата и Окружающая среда, в которых представлена информация о вопросах экологии.


Аналитика на тему