A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 155 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Effective Asset Management in a Time of Crisis
4 June 2021
10:00—11:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Banks of non-core asset have been successfully operating in many regions of the world for several decades

The most large-scale creation of banks of non-core assets began about 20–25 years ago in Europe and Asia, when the first Asian crisis began. In principle, they still exist to this day. There is demand for them because crises are regular. They constantly lead to the build-up of bad loans and non-core assets, and they need to be dealt with. The state is always involved in this, but in different forms [...] Usually it starts with additional capitalization, as was the case in our country and in other countries [...] This is actually so-called first aid from the state. It helps to withstand prudential norms, and banks continue to function — Vadim Khrapun, Partner, Head of Business Restructuring and Financial Recovery Practice, PwC Russia.

Both governments and private structures can work effectively with problem assets

I believe that the economy has room for any model [of working with distressed and non-core assets]: both for a properly organized private model, and for a properly organized state-run model. It’s a question of an effective model of state planning, or, conversely, an exclusively capitalist model. But if we analyse, let’s say, the differences a little, I would probably note the following [...] It’s a motivational structure [...] When a private company is engaged in this part of the business, it has a different motivation because it has to return what it has in any way. It doesn’t matter how, it has to be done as quickly and efficiently as possible — Andrey Elinson, Managing Partner, A1 LLC .

ISSUES
Distressed asset managers have little time to make decisions

Such [crisis] situations in which we periodically find ourselves really mobilize all our resources. Banks deal with various claims that they have to resolve. In these situations, you don’t have enough time to solve this problem. You only have 4–5 days to stabilize a difficult situation. How should we approach these issues? These are tactical tasks and, naturally, strategic tasks [...] The tactical tasks are related to the following questions: ‘Is there enough capital to meet the necessary needs?’ and ‘Has a board of directors granted permission or a mandate that allows you to work with these assets freely?’ As for the strategic approach, it’s a general plan for the development and planning of the asset sale stages — Grahame McGirr, Managing Director, Naissance.

Managers are unable to fully prepare for crises

Yes, this project [of a bank of non-core assets] was insanely complicated. It still remains difficult, although it has already moved from the area of insane complexity [to another category] [...] When is it difficult? When there are too many challenges and too little time to find solutions and implement them […] [TRUST] bank has amassed a huge amount of assets over a very short period of time – more than RUB 2 trillion at nominal value and RUB 233 billion at fair value, with more than 500 projects [...] We held 17,000 court sessions in 2.5 years [...] So, if we’re talking about complexity, I think this is actually a feature of this business because any crisis [...] is, of course, unexpected as always [...] You expect them in theory, but their actual occurrence always happens extremely quickly. It’s impossible in principle to be 100% prepared for crises — Alexander Sokolov, President, Chairman of the Management Board, Bank of Non-Core Assets (NB TRUST Bank).

SOLUTIONS
Special management companies and banks are being created to manage distressed and non-core assets

The problem of [a non-core or distressed] asset isn’t going way. Something needs to be done with it. There are two methods, two ways. There is a model whereby a division is created in a bank itself to work with distressed assets [...] There are examples, quite a few of them, when special banks or management companies are formed. There are different firms that are already professionally engaged in this. As you can understand, when you do something professionally, it usually turns out better — Vadim Khrapun, Partner, Head of Business Restructuring and Financial Recovery Practice, PwC Russia.

Managers are selling distressed portfolios in parts

The first time I started working with distressed banks, I believe there was a very serious portfolio that was impossible to sell. We looked at what we could do. We wanted to blow up everything and break out of this terrible, vicious circle. We didn’t want to take on these bad assets. This was truly the wrong approach. We found out very quickly that we need to extract value from this, i.e., get rid of it according to the ‘asset by asset’ [principle], one at a time. Sometimes a big transaction emerges, but you can’t get rid of the entire portfolio. So, we wanted to preserve some value, i.e., extract something from it [...] It needs to be approached from an economic point of view. There must be some justification for the transaction, an economic justification. Indeed, the buyer must have some kind of economic advantage. Some people try to attract a buyer through arbitration, through tax issues and so on — Fredun Mazaheri, Expert in Distressed Assets.

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 159 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Возврат активов в экономику. Эффективное управление в период кризиса
4 июня 2021
10:00—11:15
Ключевые выводы
Банки непрофильных активов уже несколько десятилетий успешно функционируют во многих регионах мира

Самое массовое создание банков непрофильных активов началось где-то 20–25 лет назад в Европе и Азии, когда начался первый азиатский кризис. В принципе, они существуют до сих пор. Они востребованы, потому что кризисы регулярны, они постоянно приводят к образованию плохих кредитов и непрофильных активов, ими нужно заниматься. Государство в это всегда вовлекается, но в разной форме. <...> Обычно начинается с докапитализации, как и у нас произошло и как произошло в других странах. <...> Это, на самом деле, так называемая скорая помощь от государства, оно помогает выдерживать пруденциальные нормы, банкам функционировать дальше — Храпун Вадим, Партнер, руководитель практики реструктуризации и финансового оздоровления бизнеса, PwC в России.

Эффективно работать с проблемными активами могут как государства, так и частные структуры

Я считаю, что в экономике есть место для любой модели (работы с проблемными и непрофильными активами. — Прим. ред.): и для правильно организованной частной модели, и для правильно организованной государственной. Это вопрос эффективной модели госпланирования или, наоборот, исключительно капиталистической модели. Но если так немножко разложить, скажем так, различия, я бы, наверное, отметил следующее. <...> Это мотивационная структура. <...> Когда занимается такой частью бизнеса частная компания, у нее мотивация другая, потому что надо вернуть свое любым способом, неважно как, и быстрее, и эффективнее — Елинсон Андрей, Управляющий партнер, ООО «А1» .

Проблемы
У управляющих проблемными активами мало времени для принятия решений

Такие (кризисные. — Прим. ред.) ситуации, в которых мы периодически оказываемся, они очень мобилизуют все наши ресурсы. Банки занимаются различными претензиями, которые они должны разрешить. В этих ситуациях у вас нет достаточного времени для того, чтобы решить эту проблему. У вас всего лишь 4–5 дней для того, чтобы стабилизировать какую–то сложную ситуацию. Как подходить к решению таких вопросов? Это тактические задачи и, естественно, стратегические задачи. <...> Тактические задачи связаны со следующими вопросами: „Достаточно ли капитала для удовлетворения необходимых потребностей?“ и „Есть ли разрешение, мандат со стороны совета директоров, которые позволяют вам работать с этими активами свободно?“. Что касается стратегического подхода, то это общий план развития и планирования стадий продажи активов — МакГирр Грэм, Управляющий директор, Naissance.

Управляющие не могут полноценно подготовиться к кризисам

Да, этот проект (банка непрофильных активов. — Прим. ред.) безумно сложный был. Он и сейчас остается непростым, хотя из области безумной сложности он уже перешел (в другую категорию. — Прим. ред.). <...> Когда сложно? Когда слишком большое количество задач и слишком мало времени на поиск решений, на их реализацию. Поскольку-постольку банк („ТРАСТ“ —Прим. ред.) собрал на себе в очень сжатом промежутке времени огромное количество активов, более 2 триллионов по номинальной стоимости, 233 миллиарда рублей справедливой стоимости, это более 500 проектов. <...> Мы за 2,5 года провели 17 тысяч судебных заседаний. <...> Поэтому если говорить о сложности, я думаю, это свойство, на самом деле, этого бизнеса, потому что любой кризис <...> наступает, конечно, как всегда, неожиданно. <...> Ты их (кризисы. — Прим. ред.) ждешь теоретически, но практическая их реализация всегда наступает крайне быстро. Подготовиться на 100 % к кризисам невозможно в принципе — Соколов Александр, Президент-председатель правления, Банк непрофильных активов (Банк «ТРАСТ» (ПАО)) .

Решения
Для управления проблемными и непрофильными активами создаются специальные управляющие компании и банки

Проблема (непрофильного или проблемного. — Прим. ред.) актива никуда не девается, с ним нужно что-то делать. Есть два способа, два пути. Есть модель, когда создается подразделение по работе с проблемными активами в самом банке <...> Есть примеры, их много достаточно, когда формируются, создаются специальные банки или управляющие компании, разные есть формы, которые уже профессионально занимаются этим. Как вы сами понимаете, когда занимаются профессионально чем–то, обычно получается лучше — Храпун Вадим, Партнер, руководитель практики реструктуризации и финансового оздоровления бизнеса, PwC в России.

Проблемный портфель управляющие продают по частям

В первый раз, когда я начинал работу с проблемными банками, там, по-моему, был очень серьезный портфель <...> (его. — Прим. ред.) невозможно было продать. Мы смотрели, что можно сделать. Мы хотели все разорвать и вырваться из этого ужасного замкнутого круга, мы не хотели вот эти вот плохие активы на себя брать. Это был очень неправильный подход. Мы очень быстро выяснили, что нужно извлечь из этого ценность, то есть избавляться (по принципу. — Прим. ред.) „актив за активом“, по одному. Иногда бывает, появляется большая сделка, но портфель вы не можете весь от себя убрать. Поэтому мы хотели сохранить какую-то ценность, то есть извлечь что–то из этого. <...> Нужно с экономической точки зрения подходить, какое–то обоснование должно быть для сделки, экономическое обоснование. Действительно, у покупателя должно какое–то экономическое преимущество. Некоторые люди пытаются привлечь покупателя через арбитраж, через налоговые вопросы и так далее — Фредун Мазахери, Эксперт по работе с проблемными активами.