A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5,000 people working in Russia and abroad.

The Foundation works alongside various UN departments and other international organizations, and is building multi-format cooperation with 173 economic partners, including industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions, financial, trade, and business associations from 78 countries worldwide, and 188 Russian public organizations, federal and legislative agencies, and federal subjects.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian t.me/Roscongress, English – t.me/RoscongressDirect, and Spanish t.me/RoscongressEsp. Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
16.06.2022

Background Material for the SPIEF 2022 Session “International Cooperation as a Guarantee of Arctic Sustainable Development”

The Material was prepared as part of the ThinkArctic Project, organized by the Roscongress Foundation, the Center for Comprehensive European and International Studies, and the Analytical Center for the Government of the Russian Federation. ThinkArctic Project will be conducted within the Program of the Russian Chairmanship in the Arctic Council during 2021-2023.

International Cooperation in the Arctic: Institutions and Priorities for Sustainable Development

In the late XX-early XXI centuries the Arctic has become a strategically attractive region for many countries because of its economic potential: it contains significant reserves of oil and gas, a considerable amount of fishery resources, and countries are interested in the potential of the region as a transport corridor for international shipping1. On the one hand, climate change, namely its consequences in the form of global warming and melting of Arctic Sea ice has created favorable conditions for the exploitation of the Arctic and its transport routes, but on the other hand, it brings several climate-related risks, which calls for a strong action from the arctic states.

At the same time, multilateral cooperation in the Arctic region has been an important part of the international relations agenda since the 20th century. The legal regime of the Arctic is enshrined in the 1982 UN Convention on the Law of the Sea, which establishes the rights and responsibilities of Arctic and non-Arctic states. In 2008 the Arctic states reaffirmed their commitment to the rules established by the document. The United States, though it has not ratified the UN Convention, have been stressing the importance of following the rules stated by the Convention. The states signed the Ilulissat Declaration, which sets their intention to cooperate on an equal basis to solve various problems of the region, including reduction of environmental risks and coordination of rescue operations. Another important component of the Arctic legal regime are the bilateral agreements governing the delimitation of the exclusive economic zones (EEZs) of the coastal countries. In addition, international cooperation in the region is being strengthened within the framework of multilateral institutions. At present, the Arctic states interact on regional issues on many multilateral platforms, such as the Arctic Council, the Barents/Euro-Arctic Council, the Northern Dimension, the Northern Forum, the International Arctic Science Committee, the University of the Arctic, the Forum «Arctic: Territory of Dialogue», and others. The platforms differ from each other in their composition and terms of reference. The key formats for international cooperation are the Arctic Council and the Barents/Euro-Arctic Council.

Russian policy in the field of sustainable development in the Arctic

The Arctic region is of great importance for the Russian economy since it contains significant reserves of natural resources. In addition, the importance of the region is determined by the location of the objects of strategic deterrence forces, as well as the residence of indigenous people on its territory. The main threats hindering the development of the Arctic include climate change, declining population growth, migration outflow, poor quality of life and the development of transport infrastructure. Also, there is a relatively low competitiveness of business entities in Russia, the discrepancy between the education system and the needs of the economy and the social sphere, the delay in the development of the infrastructure of the Northern Sea Route, the lack of an emergency evacuation system and the provision of medical care to crew members of ships, a low level of development of information and communication infrastructure, a high proportion of local generation of electricity based on the use of economically inefficient and environmentally unsafe diesel fuel, the growth of conflict potential in the Arctic.

Taking into account all the challenges associated with the development of the Arctic zone and ensuring national security, in 2019 the state administration system was reorganized: a new composition of the State Commission for the Development of the Arctic was approved and its powers were expanded, the Ministry of the Russian Federation for the Development of the Far East and the Arctic was formed, also there was made a decision to expand the competence of the institutions for the development of the Far East to the Arctic zone.

International initiatives and projects in the field of sustainable development of the Arctic region

Over the past decades international cooperation in the Arctic region in the field of sustainable development has become more intensive. Russia is getting involved in large-scale bilateral and multilateral initiatives and projects. Priority areas of joint activities in the Arctic, which are also mentioned in the national Arctic strategies of the states, include: environmental protection and combating climate change, transport and logistics, energy, science and education, support for the residents and the indigenous peoples of the Arctic, and sustainable tourism.


Analytics on the topic

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, создан в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом.

Фонд взаимодействует со структурами ООН и другими международными организациями. Развивает многоформатное сотрудничество со 197 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 83 странах мира, с 286 российскими общественными организациями, федеральными органами исполнительной и законодательной власти, субъектами Российской Федерации.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp, на арабском языке – t.me/RosCongressArabic. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
16.06.2022

Опорный материал для сессии ПМЭФ-2022 «Международное сотрудничество как залог устойчивого развития Арктики»

Опорный материал для сессии ПМЭФ-2022 «Международное сотрудничество как залог устойчивого развития Арктики».

Материал подготовлен в рамках проекта ThinkArctic, реализуемого совместно Фондом Росконгресс, Центром комплексных европейских и международных исследований НИУ ВШЭ и Аналитическим центром при Правительстве РФ. Проект ThinkArctic реализуется в рамках Программы председательства России в Арктическом совете в 2021–2023 годах.

Международное сотрудничество в Арктике: институты и приоритеты устойчивого развития

В конце XX — начале XXI в. Арктика стала стратегически привлекательным регионом для множества стран из-за своего экономического потенциала: в нем заключены значительные запасы нефти и газа, рыбных ресурсов, а также страны заинтересованы в возможностях региона как транспортного коридора для международных перевозок. Изменение климата, а именно его последствия в виде потепления и таяния арктических льдов, с одной стороны, создали благоприятные условия для эксплуатации Арктики и ее транспортных путей, но, с другой стороны, стали причиной роста климатических рисков, борьба с которыми требует большего сплочения государств.

Многостороннее сотрудничество в арктическом регионе стало важной составляющей повестки международных отношений еще в XX в. Правовой режим Арктики закреплен Конвенцией ООН по морскому праву 1982 г., которая устанавливает права арктических и неарктических государств в регионе. В 2008 г. арктические государства подтвердили приверженность установленным документом правилам (США, хоть и не ратифицировали Конвенцию ООН, не раз подчеркивали, что в своих действиях следуют установленным ею правилам), которые не требуют заключения нового рамочного международного соглашения, и подписали Илулиссатскую декларацию, которая закрепляет их намерение равноправно сотрудничать для решения различных проблем региона, в том числе для уменьшения экологических рисков и координации спасательных операций. Другой важной составляющей правового режима Арктики являются двусторонние соглашения, регулирующие вопросы разграничения исключительных экономических зон (ИЭЗ) прибрежных стран. Помимо этого, международное сотрудничество в регионе укрепляется в рамках многосторонних институтов. На настоящий момент арктические государства взаимодействуют по вопросам региона в рамках множества многосторонних платформ, таких как Арктический совет, Совет Баренцева/Евроарктического региона, Северное измерение, Северный форум, Международный арктический научный комитет, Университет Арктики, форум «Арктика — территория диалога» и др.). Платформы отличаются друг от друга по составу и полномочиям. Ключевыми форматами международного сотрудничества являются Арктический совет и Совет Баренцева/Евроарктического региона.

Политика России в области устойчивого развития в Арктике

Арктический регион имеет важное значение для российской экономики, поскольку в нем сосредоточены значительные запасы природных ресурсов. Кроме того, важность региона определяется расположением в нем объектов стратегических сил сдерживания, а также проживанием на его территории малочисленных народов. Основные угрозы, препятствующие развитию Арктики, включают в себя изменение климата, снижение прироста населения, миграционный отток, низкий уровень качества жизни и развития транспортной инфраструктуры. Также отмечается сравнительно низкая конкурентоспособность субъектов предпринимательской деятельности России, несоответствие системы образования запросам экономики и социальной сферы, отставание сроков развития инфраструктуры Северного морского пути, отсутствие системы экстренной эвакуации и оказания медицинской помощи членам экипажей морских судов, низкий уровень развития информационно-коммуникационной инфраструктуры, высокая доля локальной генерации электроэнергии на основе использования экономически неэффективного и экологически небезопасного дизельного топлива, рост конфликтного потенциала в Арктике.

С учетом всех вызовов, связанных с развитием Арктической зоны и обеспечением национальной безопасности, в 2019 г. была реорганизована система государственного управления: утвержден новый состав Государственной комиссии по вопросам развития Арктики и расширены ее полномочия, образовано министерство Российской Федерации по развитию Дальнего Востока и Арктики, принято решение о расширение компетенций институтов развития Дальнего Востока на Арктическую зону.

План развития Арктической зоны Российской Федерации можно разделить на несколько направлений: развитие социальной сферы, экономики, инфраструктуры, науки и технологий, международного сотрудничества, охрана окружающей среды и обеспечение экологической безопасности, обеспечение защиты населения и территорий Арктической зоны от чрезвычайных ситуаций, обеспечение общественной безопасности и обеспечение военной безопасности.

Международные инициативы и проекты в области устойчивого развития в Арктике

За последние десятилетия международное сотрудничество в Арктическом регионе в сфере устойчивого развития становится все более интенсифицированным, появляются масштабные двусторонние и многосторонние инициативы и проекты, активной участницей которых выступает Российская Федерация. В качестве приоритетных направлений совместной деятельности в Арктике, которые в том числе отмечаются в национальных арктических стратегиях государств, можно выделить: защиту окружающей среды и борьбу с изменением климата, развитие транспорта и логистики, энергетику, науку и образование, поддержку населения и особенно коренных малочисленных народов Арктики, устойчивый туризм.


Аналитика на тему