A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 129 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
11.12.2018

THE LONG VIEW: SCENARIOS FOR THE WORLD ECONOMY TO 2060

This publication by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) extends the normal two-year horizon of the OECD economic projections, which makes it easier to illustrate the potential advantages of structural reforms in education, governance, labor market policy, and product market regulation, because the effects of reform packages are often felt after several decades only.

In the baseline scenario with no institutional or policy changes, the living standards (real GDP per capita) in the OECD countries will continue to advance by 1.5–2% annually in the next 40 years. GDP per capita in the BRIICS countries (Brazil, Russia, India, Indonesia, China, and South Africa) will increase faster than that but annual growth will, however, slide from 6% (the rate achieved over the last decade) to just over 2% by 2060, so that GDP per capita in these countries will remain below half that of the leading countries. India and China take up a rising share of world output (between 20 and 25 per cent of world’s total GDP by 2060, compared to just over 40 per cent for OECD countries) as the world’s economic center of gravity shifts toward Asia. Demographic change weighs on living standards in the developed countries and will create strong fiscal pressures. Stabilizing public debt ratios at current levels while meeting fiscal pressures from higher health and pension expenditure requires the median OECD government to raise primary revenue by 6.5 percentage points of GDP.


Besides the baseline scenario, the paper emphasizes alternative scenarios which illustrate the potential medium and long-term impact of institutional or policy reforms. The calculations incorporate recent OECD work quantifying the effects of structural reforms. In a scenario where the BRIICS countries will improve the quality of governance and raise educational attainment, and both factors will catch up with average OECD levels by 2060, living standards in the BRIICS are 30% to 50% higher in 2060 than in the baseline scenario. Reforms through 2030 to make product market regulation in OECD countries as friendly to competition as in the five leading countries can raise living standards by over 8% in aggregate.


A reform package to improve labor market policy settings in OECD countries up to those of leading countries raises the aggregate employment rate by 6.5 percentage points by 2040. Combined with reforms in the health sector that would lower health cost inflation, this package helps alleviate future fiscal pressures and will halve additional expenditure needed to stabilize public debt. Tying future increases in pensionable ages to life expectancy, as some countries have done, will raise the aggregate employment rate of older people in the OECD by more than 5 percentage points by 2060.

Finally, in a negative scenario OECD demonstrates how slipping back on trade liberalization — returning to 1990 average tariff rates — depresses long-run living standards by 14% for the world as a whole and as much as 15–25% in the most affected countries.

Analytics on the topic

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
11.12.2018

Долгосрочная перспектива: сценарии для мировой экономики до 2060 года

Исследование, проведённое аналитиками Организации экономического сотрудничества и развития (ОЭСР), и полученные на его основании данные расширяют обычный краткосрочный горизонт экономических прогнозов, чтобы лучше проиллюстрировать потенциальные выгоды реформ в области образования, управления, политики на рынке труда и регулирования товарного рынка, последствия которых проявляются на протяжении десятилетий.

В базовом сценарии (без существенных реформ) уровень жизни (ВВП на душу населения) в странах ОЭСР в ближайшие 40 лет будет повышаться на 1,5–2% в год. Уровень жизни в странах БРИКС (Бразилия, Россия, Индия, Индонезия, Китай и Южная Африка) и Индонезии будет расти быстрее, но замедлится с 6% ежегодного роста, достигнутого за последнее десятилетие, до чуть более 2% к 2060 году, оставляя их развитие на уровне менее половины уровня, наблюдаемого в ведущих странах. Тем не менее, доля Индии и Китая в мировом производстве будет увеличиваться и составит 20–25% мирового ВВП к 2060 году (по сравнению с чуть более 40% для стран ОЭСР), поскольку мировой экономический центр тяжести продолжит смещаться в сторону Азии. В то же время демографические изменения негативно скажутся на уровне жизни в развитых странах и создадут значительное финансовое давление, вынуждая правительства увеличивать налоговые поступления в среднем на 6,5 процентных пункта ВВП для удовлетворения потребностей в области здравоохранения и пенсионного обеспечения, не допуская при этом роста государственного долга.


Ряд других альтернативных сценариев иллюстрирует, как политические и институциональные реформы могут повысить уровень жизни в будущем. При этом в расчёт берутся данные из предыдущей работы ОЭСР, в которой количественно оценивается влияние структурных реформ. Так, если к 2060 году страны БРИКС будут располагать значительными возможностями для совершенствования управления и повышения уровня образования и оба фактора догонят средние уровни ОЭСР к 2060 году, уровень жизни в странах БРИКС будет на 30–50% выше, чем в базовом сценарии. Проводимые до 2030 года реформы с целью обеспечить регулирование рынка товаров в странах ОЭСР для создания честной конкуренции, как в ведущих странах, повысят уровень жизни более чем на 8% в совокупности.


Доведение политики на рынке труда в странах ОЭСР до уровня ведущих стран повысит совокупный уровень занятости на 6,5 процентных пункта к 2040 году. В сочетании с реформами, направленными на сдерживание инфляции расходов на здравоохранение, эта политика позволит смягчить финансовое давление в будущем, более чем вдвое сократив размер необходимых дополнительных доходов, требующихся для стабилизации государственного долга. Увязывание будущего увеличения пенсионного возраста с ожидаемой продолжительностью жизни, как это уже делают некоторые страны, повысит совокупный уровень занятости пожилых людей в ОЭСР более чем на 5 процентных пунктов к 2060 году.

Наконец, в негативном сценарии ОЭСР показывает, как отступление от либерализации торговли — возвращение к средним импортным тарифам 1990 года — снизит долгосрочный уровень жизни в мире в целом на 14% и примерно на 15–25% в наиболее пострадавших странах.


Аналитика на тему