A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5,000 people working in Russia and abroad.

The Foundation works alongside various UN departments and other international organizations, and is building multi-format cooperation with 173 economic partners, including industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions, financial, trade, and business associations from 78 countries worldwide, and 188 Russian public organizations, federal and legislative agencies, and federal subjects.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian t.me/Roscongress, English – t.me/RoscongressDirect, and Spanish t.me/RoscongressEsp. Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
04.09.2022

Russia's External Climate Challenges Monitoring

This report by the Center for Strategic Research (CSR) deals with issues currently on the climate agenda in Russia and globally.

The Roscongress Foundation presents the salient points of the publication accompanied by fragments of broadcasts of relevant panel discussions from the business programme of international events held by the Roscongress Foundation.

Environmental development strategies, both on national and corporate level, are becoming more and more oriented towards addressing the problem of climate change.

The authors of the report note that G7 countries are striving to expand their partnerships with developing economies for an equitable energy transition with the aim of accelerating decarbonization of these economies. For example, a partnership aimed at accelerating the decarbonization of the economy of South Africa, with an emphasis on electric power industry, was formed between France, Germany, Great Britain, the US, the EU, and the RSA at COP26 last year. At the same time, climate strategies of both developed and developing economies pay more and more attention to adaptation to climate change, with a growing number of countries disclosing their strategies and plans for addressing this issue. For example, in Q2 2022 such documents were published by many countries, including China and the US, who rank among the biggest emitters of greenhouse gases in the world. Importantly, Russia also announced that it had prepared industry-specific plans for adaptation to climate change, as stipulated by the national plan up to 2022, and that it continued to work on region-specific plans, with some regions having already approved these plans. It should be mentioned separately that the EU countries are planning to accelerate the transition to green economy while at the same time reducing their dependence on Russian fuels. The main courses of action in this plan are energy saving, diversification of supplies, and promoting reneweable energy sources to replace fossil fuels.

Emission policies of major companies are becoming more transparent, being targeted at addressing climate challenges. For example, as of June 1, 2022, over one-third (35%) of public companies in the world announced their emission reduction targets. In particular, 22% of companies from the Forbes 2000 list are intending to reach zero emissions by 2030. Another 16% of companies are planning to do that between 2031 and 2040. The authors of the report emphasize that shareholders, too, are pressing companies for concrete action to attain the goals of the Paris Agreement.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/eef-2021-klimaticheskie-izmeneniya-snova-pro-dengi/search/#00:00:26.112

Countries are planning to reform the carbon trading system and develop low-carbon technologies.

In May 2022, the World Bank published updated data on trends in carbon pricing in the world. As of April, there were 68 working mechanisms for mandatory carbon pricing in the world, with 3 more mechanisms scheduled for launching. At the same time, the currently working mechanisms cover roughly 23% of global greenhouse gases emissions. The authors of the report note that there was a significant price growth in some carbon trading systems, as well as a rise in carbon taxes. Still, as little as 4% of emissions globally are covered by prices high enough to reach the targets of the Paris Agreement. Importantly, the EU Parliament and the EU Council declared their intention to reform the European Emission Trading System (ETS) with the aim of attaining more ambitious climate goals. Four courses of action are planned: reforming the current ETS I system, creating ETS II, cross-border carbon regulation, and adaptive mechanisms.

At the same time, many countries are planning to develop low-carbon technologies. For example, production of green hydrogen, which is considered to be one of the key elements in the decarbonization of global economy, is said to have great potential. However, countries’ ability to reach this potential will depend on the availability of land resources. The authors of the report point out that the currently existing potential for green hydrogen production is twenty times greater than the expected global demand for primary energy in 2050.

Among other low-carbon initiatives in various countries, CSR analysts mention plans to create mobile nuclear power plants in Japan, a project for storing 10 million tons of carbon in Australia, launch of the world’s first gas turbine powered by pure hydrogen in Norway, and production of jet fuel from carbon in Germany.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/asi-2022-suverennye-ekotekhnologii-zalog-ekologicheskoy-transformatsii-v-usloviyakh-novogo-vremeni/search/#01:00:41.855

Issuance of green bonds is growing.

Despite the current slowdown, global issuance of green bonds in 2022 may reach USD 1 trillion (according to Climate Bonds Initiative), which will mean a nearly twofold growth compared to 2021. Moody’s expects a growth to USD 775 billion, with the upward trend attributed to a rise in the number of issuers intending to finance measures aimed at preventing and mitigating the effects of climate change. It’s worth mentioning that although in Q1 2022 56% of the volume of green bond issuance was accounted for by European countries, China and Germany were leading on a national scale with 25% and 20% of global volume respectively.


The authors of the report point out that the banking sector ranks among the principal green bond issuers, as the largest issuers over the period under review were financial corporations including banks, such as Deutsche Bank, Bank of China, China Development Bank, Helaba. Other leading issuers are in the real sector (power industry) and transportation. Deutsche Bank became the largest issuer of bonds for financing renewable energy, energy efficiency, and low-carbon buildings.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/iif-2019-zelenoe-finansirovanie-razvivaya-rynok-otvetstvennykh-investitsiy/search/#00:58:15.679

Gain more insights about ecology, climate change, and environmental issues in the Climate Change, Environment, Sustainable Development, and «Green» technologies sections of the Roscongress Information and Analytical System.

Analytics on the topic

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, создан в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом.

Фонд взаимодействует со структурами ООН и другими международными организациями. Развивает многоформатное сотрудничество со 173 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 78 странах мира, со 179 российскими общественными организациями, федеральными органами исполнительной и законодательной власти, субъектами Российской Федерации.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
04.09.2022

Мониторинг внешних климатических вызовов для России

В докладе, подготовленном экспертами ЦСР, рассматриваются вопросы климатической повестки в России и в мире.

Аналитики Фонда Росконгресс выделили основные тезисы данного исследования, сопроводив каждый из них подходящим по теме фрагментом видеотрансляций панельных дискуссий, состоявшихся в рамках деловых программ ключевых мероприятий, проведенных Фондом.

Экологические стратегии развития как на уровне стран, так и на уровне предприятий становятся все более ориентированы на решение проблемы изменения климата.

Авторы работы отмечают, что страны G7 стремятся к расширению партнерства с развивающимися странами для справедливого энергоперехода с целью ускорения декарбонизации данных экономик. Так, например, такое партнерство, нацеленное на ускорение декарбонизации экономики ЮАР с акцентом на электроэнергетику, было достигнуто между Францией, Германией, Великобританией, США, ЕС и ЮАР в прошлом году на COP26. При этом в климатических стратегиях как развитых, так и развивающихся стран также растет внимание к вопросам адаптации к изменениям климата, и все больше стран раскрывают свои стратегии и планы по этой проблеме. Так, во втором квартале 2022 года многие страны представили такие документы, в том числе Китай и США, которые являются одними из крупнейших эмитентов парниковых газов в мире. Важно отметить, что в России также была представлена информация о готовности отраслевых планов адаптации к изменениям климата, предусмотренных национальным планом до 2022 года, а также о продолжении работы над региональными планами, при этом ряд регионов их уже утвердил. Отдельно стоит отметить, что страны ЕС планируют ускорить переход к «зеленой» экономике, параллельно снижая зависимость от российского топлива. Основные направления данного плана включают энергосбережение, диверсификацию поставок, а также стимулирование ВИЭ для замены ископаемого топлива.

Политика крупнейших компаний по выбросам также становится прозрачнее и нацелена на работу с климатическими вызовами. Так, на 1 июня 2022 года более трети (35%) мировых публичных компаний обозначили свои цели по снижению выбросов. В работе уточняется, что 22% проанализированных компаний из списка Forbes 2000 поставили себе цель обеспечить нулевые выбросы уже к 2030 году. Еще 16% компаний планируют достичь цели по нулевым выбросам в период 2031–2040 гг. Авторы работы уточняют, что акционеры также требуют от компаний конкретных действий по достижению целей Парижского соглашения по климату.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/eef-2021-klimaticheskie-izmeneniya-snova-pro-dengi/search/#00:00:26.112

Страны планируют реформировать систему торговли квотами на углерод, а также заняться развитием низкоуглеродных технологий.

В мае 2022 года Всемирный банк опубликовал обновленные данные о тенденциях углеродного ценообразования в мире. Так, по состоянию на апрель в мире насчитывалось 68 действующих механизмов обязательного углеродного ценообразования и три были запланированы к запуску. При этом действующими механизмами охвачено около 23% глобальных выбросов парниковых газов. Также отмечается и значительный рост цен в ряде систем торговли выбросами, а также увеличение углеродных налогов, хотя только 4% выбросов в мире охвачено ценой, достаточной для достижения целей Парижского соглашения. Стоит отметить, что Парламент и Совет ЕС утвердили свои позиции по реформированию европейской системы торговли квотами на выбросы (Emission Trading System, ETS) с целью достижения более амбициозных климатических целей. Работа планируется в рамках четырех направлений: реформирование существующей системы ETS I, создание ETS II, трансграничное углеродное регулирование и адаптивные механизмы.

При этом многие страны планируют развивать низкоуглеродные технологии. Так, отмечается значительный потенциал производства «зеленого» водорода, который считается одним из ключевых элементов декарбонизации мировой экономики, однако его реализация во многих странах будет зависеть от доступных земельных ресурсов. Авторы работы уточняют, что существующий потенциал производства «зеленого» водорода более чем в двадцать раз превышает ожидаемый глобальный спрос на первичную энергию в 2050 году.

Среди других низкоуглеродных инициатив в разных странах в исследовании упоминаются планы создания мобильных мини-АЭС в Японии, реализация проекта по хранению 10 млн тонн углерода в Австралии, запуск первой в мире газовой турбины на чистом водороде в Норвегии, а также производство авиатоплива из углерода в Германии.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/asi-2022-suverennye-ekotekhnologii-zalog-ekologicheskoy-transformatsii-v-usloviyakh-novogo-vremeni/search/#01:00:41.855

Показатели выпуска «зеленых» облигаций стремительно растут.

Несмотря на текущее замедление, выпуск «зеленых» облигаций в мире в 2022 году может достигнуть 1 трлн долларов (согласно Climate Bonds Initiative), что почти в два раза превысит аналогичный показатель 2021 года. По данным агентства Moody’s, можно ожидать роста до уровня 775 млрд долларов, а восходящий тренд можно связать с ростом количества эмитентов, нацеленных на финансирование мероприятий по предотвращению и смягчению последствий изменения климата. Стоит отметить, что в первом квартале 2022 года 56% объема выпуска «зеленых» облигаций пришлось на страны Европы, но лидерами в страновом разрезе стали Китай и Германия с 25% и 20% от мировых показателей.


Авторы работы уточняют, что банковскую сферу можно считать одним из основных эмитентов «зеленых» облигаций, ведь крупнейшими эмитентами «зеленых» облигаций в указанный период стали финансовые корпорации, в том числе банки — Deutsche Bank, Bank of China, China Development Bank, Helaba. Среди лидеров также можно отметить компании из реального сектора (энергетика) и транспорта. При этом Deutsche Bank стал крупнейшим эмитентом облигаций для сферы ВИЭ, энергоэффективности и низкоуглеродных зданий.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/iif-2019-zelenoe-finansirovanie-razvivaya-rynok-otvetstvennykh-investitsiy/search/#00:58:15.679

Также предлагаем вам ознакомиться с другими материалами, размещенными в разделах Информационно-аналитической системы Росконгресс Изменение климата, Окружающая среда, Устойчивое развитие и Зеленые технологии, посвященных вопросам и вызовам экологии, окружающей среды и проблеме изменения климата.


Аналитика на тему