A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
30.08.2021

International Financial Institutions as Distinct Type of Issuer in Capital Market

The report, prepared by experts from ACRA (Analytical Credit Rating Agency), examines the role of international financial institutions (IFIs) in the global financial system and analyzes the main support and risk factors of six regional IFIs implementing projects in Russia.

The Roscongress Foundation presents the salient points of the publication accompanied by fragments of broadcasts of relevant panel discussions from the business programme of international events held by the Roscongress Foundation.

IFIs are a priority source of funding for large-scale strategic projects and structural reforms.

Supported by shareholder countries, IFIs operate outside the banking regulations of individual states. As a source of «long money», IFIs provide an opportunity for countries to mobilize resources for long-term strategic projects, as well as facilitating the adoption and dissemination of global best practices for structural reforms and the development of new lending areas, such as «green» finance. The relatively low level of credit risk is ensured by the business model that underpins IFIs. IFIs have preferred creditor status, which implies that they have priority over other creditors in servicing their loans. These financial sustainability mechanisms compensate for potential problems with IFI assets, the cause of which is often associated with counter-cyclical financing in countries where economic conditions deteriorate most in times of crisis, and with lending for long-term and complex infrastructure projects, which national commercial banks are often not willing to take on.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2021-mnogostoronnie-banki-razvitiya-v-postkovidnyy-period-starye-vyzovy-i-novye-vozmozhnosti/search/#00:27:57.056

Regional IFIs come to the fore in financing Russian projects.

Since the imposition of sanctions in 2014, global IFIs such as the EBRD have virtually curtailed their activities in Russia. An alternative to global development banks for Russia is currently provided by regional IFIs — the Eurasian Development Bank (EDB), the New Development Bank (NDB), the Interstate Bank (ISB), the International Investment Bank (IIB), the International Bank for Economic Cooperation (IBEC) and the Black Sea Trade and Development Bank (BSTDB). The listed IFIs finance various projects in Russia, which in turn is one of the main shareholders of these development banks.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2021-eaes-uspekhi-i-vyzovy-integratsii-novaya-paradigma-razvitiya/search/#00:45:23.583

Support from shareholder countries, capital adequacy and liquidity reserves are the main support factors for IFIs.

Willingness and ability of shareholder countries to support the bank in a crisis situation significantly boosts the credit ratings of IFIs. Most of the IFIs under review have a level of authorized capital that is either comparable or higher than both their potential assets and liabilities, indicating that the IFIs have a good margin of safety in case of difficulties in meeting their obligations.

All six IFIs analyzed maintain very high levels of capital adequacy, well in excess of both regulatory and standard commercial bank ratios. Also, the liquid assets of these banks are several times higher than their short-term liabilities, indicating a high or very high level of liquidity. Since MFIs cannot rely on deposit taking and/or liquidity raising from national central banks and, in adverse financial conditions, they require a substantial cash reserve to repay liabilities on time and in full, their own liquidity cushion allows the bank to service its current liabilities even in case of refinancing problems in the market.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2021-mnogostoronnie-banki-razvitiya-v-postkovidnyy-period-starye-vyzovy-i-novye-vozmozhnosti/search/#00:37:50.208

Significant geographical concentration of investments and bad loans by IFIs are the main risk factors for them.

Specific tasks that shareholder countries set for development banks often determine the concentration of loan portfolios and investments on a narrow circle of countries and borrowers. The level of country concentration in loan portfolios of the banks analyzed has not changed significantly in recent years and, in ACRA’s view, this situation is unlikely to change in the future.

The quality of IFIs assets is directly linked to shareholder countries’ goal for development banks to lend to non-commercial projects throughout the economic cycle, including crises. The exercise by banks of their functions during a the economy crisis may lead to rise of problem loans, which ACRA considers to be not only loans overdue for more than 90 days, but also impaired and restructured liabilities. In 2020, four of the six banks analyzed had bad loans; the largest share of such loans was recorded at the EDB — about 5% of all loans, and the smallest at the IBEC — 2%.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2021-mnogostoronnie-banki-razvitiya-v-postkovidnyy-period-starye-vyzovy-i-novye-vozmozhnosti/search/#00:46:20.591

For more information, see the special sections of the Roscongress Foundation Information and Analytical System: Long money, Financial markets, Banking, Investment projects that are dedicated to banking and financial activities, as well as investment issues.

Analytics on the topic

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 160 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
30.08.2021

Международные финансовые институты как отдельный тип эмитента на рынке капитала

В докладе, подготовленном экспертами Аналитического Кредитного Рейтингового Агентства (АКРА), рассматривается роль международных финансовых институтов (МФИ) в глобальной финансовой системе, а также анализируются основные факторы поддержки и риска шести региональных МФИ, реализующих проекты в России.

Аналитики Фонда Росконгресс выделили основные тезисы данного исследования, сопроводив каждый из них подходящим по теме фрагментом видеотрансляций панельных дискуссий, состоявшихся в рамках деловых программ ключевых мероприятий, проведенных Фондом.

МФИ являются приоритетным источником финансирования масштабных стратегических проектов и структурных реформ.

Поддерживаемые странами-акционерами, МФИ функционируют вне рамок банковского регулирования отдельных государств. Будучи источником «длинных денег», МФИ предоставляют странам возможность мобилизовать ресурсы для реализации долгосрочных стратегических проектов, содействуют внедрению и распространению лучших мировых практик проведения структурных реформ, а также развитию новых сфер кредитования, таких как «зеленое» финансирование. Относительно низкий уровень кредитного риска обеспечивается бизнес-моделью, которая лежит в основе МФИ. МФИ обладают статусом привилегированного кредитора, что предполагает первоочередное обслуживание выданных ими кредитов по сравнению с другими кредиторами. Эти механизмы финансовой устойчивости компенсируют потенциальные проблемы с активами МФИ, причина возникновения которых часто связана с контрциклическим финансированием стран, где экономическая ситуация в наибольшей степени ухудшается в условиях кризиса, а также с кредитованием долгосрочных и сложных для реализации инфраструктурных проектов, за которые зачастую не берутся национальные коммерческие банки.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2021-mnogostoronnie-banki-razvitiya-v-postkovidnyy-period-starye-vyzovy-i-novye-vozmozhnosti/search/#00:27:57.056

Региональные МФИ выходят на первый план в финансировании российских проектов.

После введения санкций 2014 года глобальные МФИ, такие как ЕБРР, практически свернули свою деятельность на территории России. Альтернативой глобальным банкам развития в настоящее время для России выступают региональные МФИ — Евразийский банк развития (ЕАБР), Новый банк развития (НБР), Межгосударственный банк (МГБ), Международный инвестиционный банк (МИБ), Международный банк экономического сотрудничества (МБЭС) и Черноморский банк торговли и развития (ЧБТР). Перечисленные МФИ финансируют различные проекты на территории России, которая, в свою очередь, является одним из основных акционеров этих банков развития.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2021-eaes-uspekhi-i-vyzovy-integratsii-novaya-paradigma-razvitiya/search/#00:45:23.583

Поддержка от стран-акционеров, достаточность капитала и запас ликвидности выступают главными факторами поддержки МФИ.

Желание и возможности стран-акционеров поддержать банк в кризисной ситуации существенно повышают кредитные рейтинги МФИ. У большинства рассматриваемых МФИ уровень объявленного капитала либо сопоставим, либо превышает как их потенциальные активы, так и обязательства, что говорит о хорошем запасе прочности МФИ в случае возникновения сложностей с исполнением обязательств.

Все шесть анализируемых МФИ поддерживают очень высокий уровень достаточности капитала, намного превышающий как нормативные значения, так и стандартные показатели коммерческих банков. Также ликвидные активы этих банков в несколько раз превышают краткосрочные обязательства, что говорит о высоком или очень высоком уровне ликвидности. Поскольку МФИ не могут рассчитывать на привлечение депозитов и/или ликвидности со стороны национальных центральных банков, а при неблагоприятных финансовых условиях им требуется значительный запас средств для своевременного и полного погашения обязательств, собственная подушка ликвидности позволяет банку обслуживать свои текущие обязательства даже в том случае, если на рынке возникают проблемы с рефинансированием.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2021-mnogostoronnie-banki-razvitiya-v-postkovidnyy-period-starye-vyzovy-i-novye-vozmozhnosti/search/#00:37:50.208

Значительная географическая концентрация инвестиций и проблемные кредиты МФИ являются главными факторами риска МФИ.

Специфика задач, которые страны-акционеры ставят перед банками развития, зачастую обуславливает концентрацию кредитных портфелей и инвестиций на узком круге стран и заемщиков. За последние годы уровень страновой концентрации кредитных портфелей анализируемых банков существенных изменений не претерпел, и в дальнейшем такое положение дел, как полагает АКРА, вряд ли изменится.

Качество активов МФИ напрямую связано с тем, что страны-акционеры ставят перед банками развития цель по обеспечению кредитования некоммерческих проектов на протяжении всего экономического цикла, включая кризисы. Осуществление банками своих функций во время кризисных явлений в экономике может приводить к увеличению объемов проблемных кредитов, к которым АКРА относит не только кредиты, просроченные более чем на 90 дней, но и обесцененные и реструктурированные обязательства. В 2020 году четыре из шести анализируемых банков имели проблемные кредиты, наибольшая доля таких кредитов зафиксирована в ЕАБР — порядка 5% от всех кредитов, а наименьшая в МБЭС — 2%.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2021-mnogostoronnie-banki-razvitiya-v-postkovidnyy-period-starye-vyzovy-i-novye-vozmozhnosti/search/#00:46:20.591

Также предлагаем вам ознакомиться с другими материалами, размещенными в разделах Информационно-аналитической системы Росконгресс: Длинные деньги, Финансовый рынок, Банковский бизнес и Инвестпроекты, которые посвящены банковской и финансовой деятельности, а также вопросам инвестирования.


Аналитика на тему