A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5,000 people working in Russia and abroad.

The Foundation works alongside various UN departments and other international organizations, and is building multi-format cooperation with 173 economic partners, including industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions, financial, trade, and business associations from 78 countries worldwide, and 179 Russian public organizations, federal and legislative agencies, and federal subjects.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian t.me/Roscongress, English – t.me/RoscongressDirect, and Spanish t.me/RoscongressEsp. Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
New National Brands Based on Cultural and Historical Traditions
16 June 2022
09:00—10:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Russia’s historic national brands need no introduction to the world

In terms of national brands, and more specifically, national brands with cultural and historical traditions, then Russian Seasons is absolutely a stand-out example – one that has remained in the public’s consciousness around the world since it first appeared. It was originally created by Sergei Diaghilev, and the people he worked with at the company – performers, choreographers, etc. – are known virtually throughout the world. To this day, they remain style icons. They are recognized as the best ballet dancers, the best directors, and the best musicians of their time. And as a result, Diaghilev left behind a legacy that remained after all the premieres were over. <...> These people had an impact on the lives of people in Europe, since at that time a fashion for all things Russian emerged. Diaghilev was an innovator, and he introduced things which were incomprehensible to the European audience. However, they were to prove so fascinating that they had a knock-on effect in the world of fashion. Even if we take just one of the most famous ballerinas – Anna Pavlova – the impact was enormous, from the universally beloved and famous dessert that carries her name, to her technical abilities which were ahead of her time — Aleksey Lebedev, Director, Russian Seasons.

Today’s Russian Seasons brand essentially marks a revival of Diaghilev’s legacy. The brand emerged in 2017 at the behest of the President and in line with a government resolution. Since 2017, we, as the inheritors of this legacy, are not weighed down by the names of Diaghilev or Russian Seasons. We are endeavouring to show the entire world the richness and diversity of our culture. That’s because naturally – and we always talk about this – even in today’s world, Russian symphonic music and Russian ballet need no advertisements or introductions. In any city in the world, if a Russian ballet performance featuring big names from the Bolshoi or Mariinsky is scheduled, then a full house and public interest are guaranteed. In this regard, the cultural and historical traditions which we have managed to preserve are still drawing foreign interest. I am particularly speaking about our performing arts school, our theatre arts school, and our musical arts school. A great many people are discovering genuinely new things for themselves in Russian culture. That’s because in addition to the classical performance aspects, we have a rich regional identity, a regional culture, and it is interesting in its own right... The development of this area to the requisite level will help boost economic growth in each and every region — Aleksey Lebedev, Director, Russian Seasons.

I think that time always puts everything in its right place. We cannot simply turn up and say, ‘It is us, the Russians. Love us and come to our performances — Aleksey Lebedev, Director, Russian Seasons.

Cancel culture cannot extend to works of art

How can you cancel Tchaikovsky? How can you cancel Wagner? How can you cancel those who have already proven everything? And those people who shaped the tastes of generations? And those people who serve as subjects of study? How could any international competition of music, art, choreography, or theatre be held without a single Russian cultural figure? It cannot be done, because we live in such a global world, with such an embedded interplay of cultures, that cancelling a culture – the culture of a particular country – is, in my opinion, impossible. No matter what, six months will pass, a year, a period of time, and everyone will go back to listening to Tchaikovsky as performed by Russian symphony orchestras. And I am sure that nobody can perform Russian music. And nobody can dance Russian ballet better than Russian dance companies — Aleksey Lebedev, Director, Russian Seasons.

Should we continue to build national brands, or will this be artificial? We need to work on this right now. You know, we are in a period where we can concentrate on domestic work. It is a time for working on the things which perhaps we ignored before. <...> A historic moment always gives rise to new challenges for everyone, and for the theatre in particular, of course. At the morning session we spoke multiple times about the new European phenomenon – to us at least – of cancel culture. It’ll run its course, and the work we’ll do now can later be used for the truly global market — Sergey Emelyanov, Director, National Drama Theater of Russia (Alexandrinsky Theater).

ISSUES
The cancellation of Russian culture

Can Russian culture be cancelled? Not at all. It’s silly to even think about it, first of all. Even now, I cannot bring myself to believe that intelligent people could allow themselves to entertain this idea. <...> Of course, this is our culture, our Russian culture, but what does that have to do with people who lived 150 years ago, 100 years ago, and so on? It’s pure stupidity, so it really is of great regret to me that the Europeans took this course of action. That said, I can of course see that there is some resistance. I was very much struck by what happened in Gorizia in Northern Italy. Russian violinists were not permitted to enter the music competition there. As a result, the orchestra which was supposed to provide the accompaniment simply refused to play. I think this is a wonderful form of support. These are people who understand that culture and politics should be kept separate – although of course we do understand that culture can be used to help reach political goals — Fabio Mastrangelo, Conductor; Artistic Director, Music Hall Theater.

People keep telling me that <...> I shouldn’t compare things. How can you live that way? You have to make comparisons! During the Siege of Leningrad, was Brahms banned from being performed in the city’s philharmonic halls? Were Beethoven’s symphonies banned? No, they were performed! Did the fact that the music was written by a German make people think, ‘Oh, the Germans are our enemies, so we shouldn’t perform music written by Beethoven’? Now, Beethoven died in 1827, so a few years had elapsed by the time 1941 came around. So, I hope that we will be more intelligent about this. And I think it’s pretty clear to us that what the media says and what is really happening in the country are two different things — Fabio Mastrangelo, Conductor; Artistic Director, Music Hall Theater.

Economics vs. culture

Our shareholders are unlikely to allow us to go completely down the cultural route if it is to the detriment of financial viability. Nevertheless, we are not forgetting about cultural values. In 2019 we went out to Gzhel – one of the oldest management companies with a history dating back to the 17th century. It was in a deplorable state – old women were making products in cold water, dipping the porcelain in, and so on. We decided to take a balanced approach to both culture, and modern trends. Above all, we hired leading consultants and researched why young people – the modern generation – are not buying products made by the Folk Art Crafts Group with any particular zeal. We found out that first of all, everyone recognized the brand. Brand recognition across the country is at 95%. That places it at the same level as Sberbank. However, the products themselves offer little in the way of usability. There’s no real practical value in them. For the most part, these are souvenirs, and the quality of the porcelain is even far behind that made by producers in the CIS. And given the issue around personnel, it is not possible to produce large quantities of products offering high artistic value. <...> We have begun to work on improving each of these areas — Roman Prokopev, General Director, Folk Art Crafts Group of Companies.

SOLUTIONS
.

Of course, there’s no need to introduce restrictions which will lead to nowhere. Quite the reverse – we need to make sure there is an ongoing dialogue. It must not stop. This will help us to show people that ultimately, we are all still human, just as we always have been. So, I think that it’s impossible to cancel Russian culture — Fabio Mastrangelo, Conductor; Artistic Director, Music Hall Theater.

Highlighting the industry’s attractiveness to investors

Investing in crafts is an option. <...> Single items can cost millions of roubles, given that a person would have worked on it for at least a year. This is difficult, painstaking, distinguished work, and investment can help preserve these valuable pieces. <...> A great many things are made to order, and are immediately purchased once they are ready. This is very attractive product to investors, because each piece is a genuine one-off. And our objective is to foster investor interest in folk art and crafts — Dmitry Kolobov, Director of the Department for Development of Manufacturing of Socially Important Goods, Ministry of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation.

Combining traditions and modern trends

We are endeavouring to automate things as much as possible and bring the production cost down at the stages which do not involve much manual work or any artistic skill. However, we are not making any changes to the stages where an item gets its artistic value. We are leaving that to the artists. This way we are ensuring continuity while keeping up with modern trends — Roman Prokopev, General Director, Folk Art Crafts Group of Companies.

I’ve just remembered this story, probably from around 10 years ago, when the fashion designer Denis Simachev took the khokhloma style and made it really trendy, in vogue, etc. It seemed that here was this cultural code which everyone was aware of, rather like gzhel. However, it took a person who was fashionable and much in demand to look at classical Russian folklore history and turn it into a fashionable, trendy story invariably associated with Russia everywhere — Andrey Zolotov, Editor-in-Chief, Robb Report.

In the new reality that took shape a few years ago we absolutely realised that we needed to employ modern trends to attract new listeners to the concert hall. I think it’s very important that the concept of the creative industry has emerged. One way or another, we are all slowly headed in this direction, combining various forms of synthesis and making art. All cultural institutions have long followed the principle of combining different forms of art. Of course, everything started with music and words. Concerts and performances were put on, which were then combined with painting. Artists began to draw music, and of course, later (as Fabio mentioned regarding national identity and Russian national cuisine) we saw music and the culinary arts. This is a fantastic brand. <...> In fact, this tradition began a long time ago – we were not the ones to think it up. It was Bach – the most creative composer – who 200 years ago wrote the Coffee Cantata — Olga Khomova, General Director, State Academic Capella in St. Petersburg.

Do we want what works, or what looks right? That’s the perennial dilemma in crafts. Well, we want both. That’s because crafts are a unique part of our country’s heritage. And today there are almost 500 companies spread across our vast Motherland. <...> Of course, crafts were always brands. Turning to the question of new national brands: there were always brands and brand‑focused companies, just like there are today. For example, the famous Orenburg shawl emerged due to it being taken to the Paris Fair, being photographed, and appearing in Peterburgsky Vestnik. From this, a question arises: who shaped demand? The Parisians? No, it was shaped by the people of St. Petersburg. <...> It was a marketing ploy, as they say today, but it helped the company come into being. And we are endeavouring to revive this culture of brand management by companies engaged in folk arts and crafts — Dmitry Kolobov, Director of the Department for Development of Manufacturing of Socially Important Goods, Ministry of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation.

Studying one’s own country and culture

I feel optimistic today, because we have reworked the regional agenda. We have set up a great many initiatives together with our regions, and this has made it possible for remote regions to come to us. We have colleagues from Yakutia, and are currently holding talks with Siberia and the Far East. This is all very interesting, not least because the regions are showing completely different sides to themselves. Despite our knowledge of Russia, a few things were even unknown to us. And these represent new opportunities to establish national brands — Olga Khomova, General Director, State Academic Capella in St. Petersburg.

All this global hysteria is absolutely a temporary phenomenon which we’re currently up against. <...> Russia is a great and vast country with a diversity of cultures. We need to study this and delve deeper into our history and culture, because nobody will promote us better than we will ourselves. So, this is what we need to do during this period – to immerse ourselves as fully as we can in things which we have here at home, and which we were perhaps unable to examine in detail back amid all the commotion that always existed — Sergey Emelyanov, Director, National Drama Theater of Russia (Alexandrinsky Theater).

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, создан в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом.

Фонд взаимодействует со структурами ООН и другими международными организациями. Развивает многоформатное сотрудничество со 173 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 78 странах мира, со 179 российскими общественными организациями, федеральными органами исполнительной и законодательной власти, субъектами Российской Федерации.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Новые национальные бренды на основе культурно-исторических традиций
16 июня 2022
09:00—10:15
Ключевые выводы
Русские национальные бренды, сложившиеся исторически, не нуждаются в представлении в мире

"Если говорить про национальные бренды и уже тем более национальные бренды на основе культурно-исторических традиций, то, безусловно, наверно одним из ярких брендов, который появился и до сих пор остается на слуху действительно во всем мире – это бренд "Русские сезоны", который в свое время создал Сергей Павлович Дягилев, и те имена, с которыми он работал в антрепризе, те имена исполнителей, те имена хореографов, с которыми они объехали практически весь мир, они до сих пор остаются иконой стиля. Это лучшие балетные танцоры, это лучшие постановщики, это лучшие современные на тот момент музыканты, а наследие, которое оставил после себя Сергей Павлович, наследие, которое осталось после всех премьер Русских сезонов <…> они повлияли действительно на развитие жизни европейцев, потому что тогда появилась мода на все русское. Сергей Павлович был новатором и он привозил те вещи, которые для Европы в тот момент были непонятны, но стали настолько интересны, что это повлияло как и на большую моду, если говорить даже про одну из самых знаменитых наших балерин Анну Павлову, начиная с того что до сих пор ее имя носит всеми любимый и известный десерт и заканчивая тем, что Анна Павлова действительно была по исполнительской технике впереди своего времени" — Лебедев Алексей, Директор, АНО «Русские сезоны».

"Сегодняшний бренд "Русские сезоны" – это, по сути, возрождение наследия Сергея Павловича. Бренд появился в 2017 году по поручению Президента и постановлению Правительства, и с 2017 года мы как наследники, не побоюсь этого слова Сергея Павловича и Русских сезонов, стараемся показать всему миру богатство и разнообразие нашей культуры, потому что безусловно и мы всегда об этом говорим даже в сегодняшнее время русская симфоническая музыка, русское балетное искусство не нуждаются ни в рекламе, не нуждаются в представлении. В любом городе мира если появляется афиша с русским балетом, с именами исполнителей из Большого театра или из Мариинского театра, то это всегда гарантирует аншлаг и интерес публики. И в этом плане культурно-исторические традиции, которые нам удалось сохранить, я имею в виду нашей школе исполнительского искусства, нашей школе театрального искусства, нашей школе музыкального искусства, они до сих пор привлекают иностранцев и очень многие люди действительно открывают для себя что-то новое в российской культуре, потому что помимо классических исполнительских вещей у нас богата региональная самобытность, региональная культура, и она по-своему интересна, и это тоже … при должном уровне развития этого помогает в экономическом плане каждому региону" — Лебедев Алексей, Директор, АНО «Русские сезоны».

"Я думаю, что время всегда расставляет все на свои места. … Мы же не можем прийти и сказать, что вот мы русские, любите нас и приходите на наши выступления" — Лебедев Алексей, Директор, АНО «Русские сезоны».

Культура отмены не может распространяться на произведения искусства

"Как можно отменить Чайковского, как можно отменить Вагнера, как можно отменить тех людей, которые все уже доказали, и тех людей, которые сформировали вкусы поколений, тех людей, на которых учатся, ну как можно при проведении любого международного музыкального, художественного, хореографического, театрального конкурса не использовать кого-то из русских авторов. Сейчас это невозможно, потому что мир настолько глобальный и мир настолько проникнут взаимокультурами, что в принципе отмена какой-то культуры, отмена культуры какой-то страны, на мой взгляд, она невозможна. Все равно, пройдет полгода, год, какое-то время, и все так же будут ходить на музыку Чайковского в исполнении русских симфонических оркестров, потому что лучше русских симфонических оркестров, а я в этом уверен, никто не может исполнить русскую музыку, и лучше русских хореографических коллективов никто не сможет исполнить русский балет" — Лебедев Алексей, Директор, АНО «Русские сезоны».

"Нужно ли продолжать строить национальные бренды или это будет искусственно? Мы должны этим заниматься сейчас. Это сейчас, знаете, такой период домашней работы нашей на сегодняшний день, когда мы занимаемся тем, чем может быть раньше не занимались <…> Исторический момент – это всегда какие-то новые вызовы для каждого из нас, и для театра в частности, конечно же. Мы уже говорили сегодня на нашей утренней секции не раз о новом европейском явлении, для нас новом, – культуре отмены. Это все перебесится, простите меня за мой сленг, и то, что мы сделаем за этот период времени, мы потом дальше сможем выводить уже на совершенно глобальные рынки" — Емельянов Сергей, Директор, ФГБУК «Национальный драматический театр России (Александринский театр)».

Проблемы
Об отмене русской культуры

"К спору, возможно ли отменить русскую культуру: "Да нет, это конечно глупость думать об этом во-первых, я до сих пор не могу верить, что интеллигентные люди могут себе позволить даже принимать такие инициативы. <…> Конечно, это наша культура, это русская культура, но какие связи между людьми, которые жили 150 лет назад, 100 лет назад и так далее, это вообще просто глупости, поэтому очень-очень сожалею, что европейцы приняли такие решения. Ну я вижу, что есть конечно сопротивление. Очень поразило меня то, что случилось в городе Гориция в Италии, это на северной части Италии, вроде на конкурс не допускали скрипачей российских, и оркестр, который должен был обеспечить аккомпанемент в этом конкурсе, они просто отказались играть. Я считаю, что это шикарная поддержка, это люди, которые понимают, что культура и политика не должны жить вместе, хотя конечно мы же понимаем, что культура наоборот может помочь политике" — Мастранджело Фабио, Дирижер; художественный руководитель, Театр «Мюзик-Холл».

"Мне постоянно говорят <…> "не надо сравнивать". А как можно жить? Надо сравнивать! Во время блокады Санкт-Петербурга, Ленинграда тогда еще, что, не исполнялись в филармониях Санкт-Петербурга симфонии Брамса? Или симфонии Бетховена? Нет, они исполнялись! Тот самый факт, что написал эту музыку немец, что значит, "что нет, так как они враги не надо исполнять музыку, которую Бетховен писал"? Напоминаю, Бетховен умер в 1827 году, как-то до 41-го прошли "несколько лет". Поэтому, я надеюсь, что мы станем более интеллигентными, и конечно нам, я думаю, что очень понятно, то, что расскажут СМИ, – это одно, а то, что происходит в самом деле в стране, – это другое" — Мастранджело Фабио, Дирижер; художественный руководитель, Театр «Мюзик-Холл».

Экономика vs. культура

"В культуру нам, наверное, не дадут спуститься наши акционеры совсем уж в ущерб экономической целесообразности. Но мы также и не забываем про культурные ценности. Мы в 19-м году вышли на предприятие, это старейшее предприятие УК "Гжель", история его уходит в XVII век… оно было в плачевном состоянии, там бабушки в холодной воде готовили изделия, окунали фарфор и так далее. Мы решили сбалансировать и культуру, и современные тенденции. В первую очередь, мы привлекли передовых консультантов и сделали исследование, почему же молодежь, почему современное поколение не покупает с таким рвением продукцию, которую готовит НХП, и выяснили, что во-первых, бренд знают все, то есть бренд узнаваем на 95% в стране, наравне со Сбербанком, но сама продукция не имеет юзабилити, то есть не имеет какого-то применения, в основном это сувенирная продукция, качество фарфора очень сильно отстало от даже производителей из СНГ, а проблема с кадрами не дает возможности выпускать большое количество продукции высокой художественной ценности <…> Мы начали усиливать по отдельности каждый из блоков" — Прокопьев Роман, Генеральный директор, Группа компаний «Народные художественные промыслы».

Решения

"Не надо строить такие ограничения, которые ни к чему не приводят конечно, надо постоянно, наоборот, чтобы диалог был, и чтобы он не остановился, и чтобы мы помогли доказать друг, что мы так же остались люди, как и раньше мы были, поэтому я думаю, что невозможно отменить русскую культуру" — Мастранджело Фабио, Дирижер; художественный руководитель, Театр «Мюзик-Холл».

Соединяя традиции и современные тенденции

"Мы стараемся максимально автоматизировать и снизить себестоимость на тех производственных этапах, где минимально нужно задействовать ручной труд и где нет художественной ценности, а те этапы, которые связаны вот как раз таки с приданием художественной ценности, мы оставляем нетронутыми, то есть мы оставляем это художникам. Таким образом мы и сохраняем преемственность, и не отстаем от современных тенденций" — Прокопьев Роман, Генеральный директор, Группа компаний «Народные художественные промыслы».

"Мне пришла в голову история, наверное десятилетней давности, когда модный дизайнер Денис Симачев взял хохлому и сделал ее максимально в тренде, модной и так далее. Казалось: вот культурный код, который все знают, так же как гжель, но только когда один человек каким-то образом, он модный, дико востребованный, он почему-то обращает внимание на классическую русскую фольклорную историю и превращает ее в модную трендовую историю, которая ассоциируется с Россией везде и всегда" — Золотов Андрей, Главный редактор, Robb Report.

"В новой реальности, уже давно возникшей, не сейчас, в новой реальности несколько лет назад мы безусловно поняли, что для привлечения нового слушателя, нового зрителя в зал <…> нужны современные тенденции. Мне кажется очень важно то, что сейчас появилось такое понятие, как креативная индустрия, к которому мы все так или иначе медленно шли, соединяя разные синтезы, производя искусство у себя. Все учреждения культуры давно пошли по принципу объединения разных видов искусства. Конечно, начали с музыки и слова все, концерты спектакли стали делать, потом соединили с живописью, художники начали рисовать музыку, а дальше конечно (вот Фабио упомянул про национальную идентичность, про русскую национальную кухню) и безусловно музыка и кулинария – это потрясающий бренд <…> На самом деле эту традицию начали давно, не мы это придумали, а самый креативный композитор был 200 лет назад Бах, который создал кофейную кантату" — Хомова Ольга, Генеральный директор, Государственная академическая капелла Санкт-Петербурга.

Изучать свою страну и свою культуру

"На сегодняшний день у меня оптимистическое ощущение, потому что мы по-новому отработали сейчас региональную повестку, очень много создали с нашими регионами проектов, и это дало возможность таким отдаленным регионам к нам сейчас приехать, у нас из Якутии коллеги, сейчас ведем переговоры с Сибирью, с Дальним Востоком. Это очень интересно и интересно тем, что регионы показывают себя совершенно с разных сторон, даже некоторые вещи мы, зная Россию, не знали об этом. И это новые возможности открытия национальных брендов" — Хомова Ольга, Генеральный директор, Государственная академическая капелла Санкт-Петербурга.

"Вся эта глобальная истерия – это совершенно временное явление, с которым мы столкнулись сейчас <…> Россия – совершенно великая огромная страна с таким разнообразием культур, что нужно нам самим сегодня ее поизучать, больше углубиться в нашу историю и культуру, потому что никто нас не будет промоутировать лучше, чем мы сами, поэтому вот этот период нужно для этого использовать сейчас, для того чтобы как можно больше напитаться тем, что есть внутри нашего государства и тем, что может быть мы не могли рассмотреть в деталях в той суете, которая была всегда" — Емельянов Сергей, Директор, ФГБУК «Национальный драматический театр России (Александринский театр)».