non-financial development institution
major organizer of congress and exhibition events
Welcome!
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
New Approaches to Governance, Research and Protection of the World Ocean
6 June 2019
09:00—10:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Accessing the World Ocean’s resources is essential for economic development

The world is inexorably moving towards the World Ocean – we are depending more and more on it. <...> Crucially, it is where a great many of the planet’s mineral resources are concentrated – minerals which are becoming ever more interesting to humanity. An enormous amount of biological resources is concentrated there too, which could help solve all food problems worldwide — Andrey Adrianov, Vice-President, Russian Academy of Sciences.

The annual value generated by the ocean, the so-called blue economy, is of the order of USD 3 trillion per year. This is more than the GDP of Russia. The global ocean economy is developing at sustainable directions and is doing so faster and more reliably than its land-based counterpart — Vladimir Ryabinin, Executive Secretary, Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission, UNESCO.

Fisheries are expanding into deeper waters and further offshore, we have heard about aquaculture today, the tremendous growth there and the importance to the future of protein and food supplies. The continued importance of offshore oil and gas as a major source of hydrocarbons into the coming decades. But at the same time of course, there is tremendous growth in offshore renewable energies. <…> Ninety-eight per cent of Internet traffic, international traffic, is by a submarine cable. <…> And there are entirely new industries, such as seabed mining — Paul Holthus, Founding President, Chief Executive Officer, World Ocean Council .

A couple of notions regarding the blue economy: in 10 years, 100 million jobs brought the blue economy concept to prominence, whereas 50–20% of the fish we eat is actually coming from the Arctic area. <…> The ocean, including the Arctic Ocean, is the fundamental provider for the decades to come and for the future population — Tero Vauraste, Chairman, Arctic Economic Council; President, Mariadi Oy.

When speaking of the economy of the World Ocean, we are proceeding from the fact that water will be a key resource in the 21st century. Note that a bottle of water costs more in Moscow than a litre of petrol. <...> Note also the production of aquaculture, which is currently providing work to 12% of the population. By 2013, commercial fishing will increase to 209 million tonnes. <...> The ocean will also be a key transport artery. More than 80% of all international freight is currently transported via sea — Alexey Rakhmanov, United Shipbuilding Corporation President .

Marine culture is a strategically important sector – it is crucial throughout the world — Sergey Emdin, Chief Executive Officer, Tele2 .

The planet’s ecosystem depends on the World Ocean

One third of carbon emissions have been absorbed by the ocean since the beginning of the industrial era. <…> Roughly 93% of excess heat has ended up in the ocean since the industrial era. Otherwise the temperature on the surface of the planet would have been much higher — Vladimir Ryabinin, Executive Secretary, Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission, UNESCO.

We depend on the ocean in terms of food, in terms of security, in terms of energy. And I do not mean only the extraction of oil and gas, but very much also the future energy of wind and tidal energy, which is totally unexplored as of yet — Rene Berkvens, Chief Executive Officer, Damen Shipyards Group NV.

ISSUES
Funding for research on the World Ocean is insufficient

The science that supports this huge economic domain remains poorly funded. The cost or running the global ocean observing system per annum is of the order of USD 1 billion. That is 3,000 times less than the value generated by the using ocean space and resources. And the IOC [Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission, – Ed.] is able to spend on the coordination of global ocean observations only USD 300,000 per year — Vladimir Ryabinin, Executive Secretary, Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission, UNESCO.

National rivalry for the World Ocean’s resources

The entire World Ocean is covered by a set of intergovernmental agreements which regulate fishing in separate regions. And the potential for conflict naturally exists. As mineral resources on land became ever-more scarce, a great many countries set their sights on the World Ocean. <...> We can already see aspects of competitiveness. It is crucial that Russia does not lag behind in this regard — Andrey Adrianov, Vice-President, Russian Academy of Sciences.

It is abundantly clear that the approach to the ocean cannot be the same as the land. It is an ecosystem, which either lives in a state of development as commonly understood, or deterioration — Alexey Rakhmanov, United Shipbuilding Corporation President .

Pollution in the World Ocean

We have in attendance my friends from the Caribbean – Grenada, and Antigua and Barbuda. It is one of the most ostensibly picture-perfect parts of the world, and yet when viewed from above, it is a frightful image – rubbish, rubbish, rubbish, rubbish, rubbish everywhere — Sergey Brilev, Russia TV Channel Anchor and Deputy Director and President of the Bering Bellingshausen Institute for the Americas.

It is not only the plastic that we see floating around, but it is the plastic that gets actually into the food chain and through the food chain also into our bodies. It is very unhealthy for us human beings — Rene Berkvens, Chief Executive Officer, Damen Shipyards Group NV.

SOLUTIONS
Transitioning to eco-friendly fuel

Over the past few years, the focus of the International Maritime Organization has shifted towards controlling marine fuel and tackling marine fuel pollution. <...> One promising area is the use of LNG fuel or gas-engine fuel, which is becoming more popular throughout the world as the LNG market grows. It is an area which is developing apace in Russia, and according to analysts, will probably account for 20% of the market by 2035. What is hindering this? We need to solve a set of challenges in order to facilitate a widespread transition to this new type of fuel — Yury Tsvetkov, Deputy Minister of Transport of the Russian Federation; Head, The Federal Agency for Maritime and River Transport.

Exchanging technology between nations

We must not try to move forward alone. We need to consolidate our efforts, we need new technology, we need to share this technology — Andrey Adrianov, Vice-President, Russian Academy of Sciences.

Expanding research on the World Ocean

The approach is as follows: make breakthroughs in areas where science is still weak – in mapping of the ocean, in observations, in data information, in knowledge of ecosystems. <…> Engagement of the private sector and all nations is key for making ocean science on the right rail to serve humanity — Vladimir Ryabinin, Executive Secretary, Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission, UNESCO.

No more than 10% of the World Ocean has been studied. Our understanding of space is far greater than that of the sea. No one country alone is able to adequately study the World Ocean, nor tackle its ecological problems — Alexey Rakhmanov, United Shipbuilding Corporation President .

Our role is very simple – we have to supply the tools for the scientists to do their work in the oceans. That means capable ships, capable platforms that can help the researchers do the research that needs to be done to better understand the oceans and to make sure that in the future we safely explore this vast part of our planet — Rene Berkvens, Chief Executive Officer, Damen Shipyards Group NV.

Increasing funding for research

Funding among the global maritime powers to study the ocean amounts to no more than 4% of total investment in research and development. Sadly, Russia is no exception. In 1990, the USSR had 375 research vessels. By number, it was the largest fleet in the world, amounting to a third of the global total. However, over the past 30 years, virtually nothing has been done to add to the fleet or modernize it. We are glad that this year has seen the start of design and construction work for research vessels, both for the fishing industry, and for studying the ocean — Alexey Rakhmanov, United Shipbuilding Corporation President .

Developing the Northern Sea Route

We view the development of the Northern Sea Route as a key objective. It possesses unique production, economic, transport, and natural features. It is an advanced special economic zone, with huge production and resource potential in its coastal regions and on the Arctic shelf — Alexey Rakhmanov, United Shipbuilding Corporation President .

Developing aquaculture

Fifty per cent of all fish and aquaculture consumed by the planet’s population is not caught, but cultivated in hatcheries. <...> If we look at international experience, we can see the widespread use of sensors and various modern AI instruments etc. Unfortunately, we do not currently have these in Russia. We therefore have very low production levels and very high levels of product loss. <...> International estimates unanimously claim that digitalized and correctly managed hatcheries are 20–30% more economically efficient — Sergey Emdin, Chief Executive Officer, Tele2 .

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Мировой океан. Новые подходы к управлению, изучению и сбережению
6 Июня 2019
09:00—10:15
Ключевые выводы
Освоение ресурсов Мирового океана — важнейший фактор развития экономики

Мир неудержимо двигается в Мировой океан, мы все более от него зависим. <…> Самое главное — это то место на планете, где сосредоточено большое количество минеральных ресурсов, в которых все более и более заинтересовано человечество, сосредоточены колоссальные биологические ресурсы, которые могут помочь решить все продовольственные проблемы на планете — Адрианов Андрей, Вице-президент, Российская академия наук.

Так называемая “голубая экономика”, “синяя экономика” [успешные бизнес-модели на основе экологичных технологий, — Ред.] генерирует 3 трлн долларов. Это больше, чем ВВП России. Экономика глобального океана развивается в устойчивом направлении, [более] быстро и надежно, чем экономика на суше — Рябинин Владимир, Исполнительный секретарь, Межправительственная океанографическая комиссия, ЮНЕСКО.

Хозяйственная деятельность ведется все дальше от берега и на все большей глубине, развивается аквакультура, а аквакультура может быть значительным источником производства белков для человека, нефтегазовая отрасль на шельфе. В будущем в течение ближайшего десятилетия темпы развития мировых ресурсов, ресурсов Мирового океана будут также убыстряться. <…> 98 процентов международного интернет-трафика проходит по подводным кабелям, которые проложены по дну океана. <…> На дне моря добываются полезные ископаемые — Холтус Пол, Президент-учредитель, главный исполнительный директор, Совет по вопросам Мирового океана.

За 10 лет в “синей экономике” было создано 100 млн новых рабочих мест. И 50 процентов рыбы, которую мы потребляем, имеет происхождение из Северного Ледовитого океана. <…> Океан обеспечивает огромное число людей рабочими местами. <…> Мировой океан, в том числе Северный Ледовитый океан, является средоточием ресурсов, которые будут использоваться будущими поколениями — Ваурасте Теро, Председатель, Арктический экономический совет; президент, Mariadi Oy.

Говоря об экономике Мирового океана, мы исходим из того, что в XXI веке вода становится ключевым ресурсом. Обратите внимание, что бутылка воды в Москве в среднем стоит гораздо дороже, чем литр бензина. <…> Обращу внимание также на производство аквакультуры, которая на сегодняшний день обеспечивает работой 12 процентов населения. К 2030 году объем промышленного рыболовства увеличится до 209 млн тонн. <…> Океан остается и ключевой транспортной магистралью. Более 80 процентов всех международных грузоперевозок сейчас осуществляется по морю — Рахманов Алексей, Президент, АО «Объединенная судостроительная корпорация».

Морекультура — это стратегически важная отрасль, она важна в мире — Эмдин Сергей, Генеральный директор, Tele2.

Экосистема планеты зависит от Мирового океана

Одна треть СО2 поглощается океаном с начала промышленной эры. <…> Примерно 93% теплоты поглощается Мировым океаном, в противном случае температура на поверхности планеты была бы гораздо выше — Рябинин Владимир, Исполнительный секретарь, Межправительственная океанографическая комиссия, ЮНЕСКО.

Мы зависим от океана, получая от него и продовольствие, и энергию. От него зависит наша безопасность и такие виды энергии, как ветровая энергия, приливная энергия, которая еще очень плохо изучена и освоена — Берквенс Рене , Главный исполнительный директор, Damen Shipyards Group NV.

Проблемы
Недостаточное финансирование исследований Мирового океана

Наука получает плохое финансирование. Стоимость осуществления наблюдений — 1 млрд долларов. Это в три тысячи раз меньше, чем тот совокупный продукт, который генерируется в океане. МОК [Межправительственная океанографическая комиссия ООН, — Ред.] способна тратить только 300 тысяч долларов в год — Рябинин Владимир, Исполнительный секретарь, Межправительственная океанографическая комиссия, ЮНЕСКО.

Соперничество стран за ресурсы Мирового океана

Весь Мировой океан покрыт сетью межправсоглашений, регулирующих рыболовство отдельных районов Мирового океана. И конфликты, безусловно, имеют место. При исчерпании в значительной степени минеральных ресурсов суши очень многие страны двинулись в Мировой океан. <…> Здесь уже есть элементы соревновательности. И здесь очень важно, чтобы Россия не отстала — Адрианов Андрей, Вице-президент, Российская академия наук.

Совершенно очевидно, что делить так же, как сушу, океан не получится. Это экосистема, которая живет либо в общем понимании ее развития, либо в общем ее ухудшении — Рахманов Алексей, Президент, АО «Объединенная судостроительная корпорация».

Загрязнение Мирового океана

Здесь есть мои друзья из Карибского бассейна — Гренады, Антигуа и Барбуды. Одна из самых, по идее, “открыточных” частей света, на которую страшно смотреть сверху — мусор, мусор, мусор, мусор, сплошной мусор — Брилев Сергей, Телеведущий, заместитель директора, ГТК «Телеканал „Россия“»; президент, Институт Беринга-Беллинсгаузена по изучению обеих Америк.

Мы видим не только тот пластик, который плавает на поверхности океана; существует и тот пластик, который с пищевой цепочкой попадает в наш организм. Это очень большая угроза для нас как биологического вида — Берквенс Рене , Главный исполнительный директор, Damen Shipyards Group NV.

Решения
Переход на экологичное топливо

В последние годы фокус внимания Международной морской организации смещается в сторону контроля за судовым топливом и влияния выбросов судового топлива на окружающую среду. <…> Одним из перспективных направлений видится использование топлива LNG или газомоторного топлива, которое все больше начинает использоваться в мире с развитием рынка LNG, где Россия развивается стремительными шагами и, наверное, по прогнозам аналитиков, к 2035 году займет до 20 процентов этого рынка. Что тут является сдерживающим фактором? Тут нужно решать комплекс мер, который будет способствовать массовому переходу на новый вид топлива — Цветков Юрий, Заместитель Министра транспорта Российской Федерации; руководитель, Федеральное агентство морского и речного транспорта (Росморречфлот).

Международный обмен технологиями

Нельзя двигаться в одиночку, нужна консолидация усилий, нужны новые технологии, нужен обмен этими технологиями — Адрианов Андрей, Вице-президент, Российская академия наук.

Расширение научных исследований Мирового океана

Необходимо осуществлять прорыв в четырех областях, где наука развивается недостаточно хорошо. Это картирование океана, наблюдение, получение данных и информации, генерирование знаний об экосистемах. <…> Использование частного сектора и всех наций — это ключ к развитию науки об океане — Рябинин Владимир, Исполнительный секретарь, Межправительственная океанографическая комиссия, ЮНЕСКО.

Изученность Мирового океана не превышает на сегодняшний день 10 процентов. Космос мы знаем гораздо лучше, чем море. Ни одна страна сегодня не сможет в одиночку решить задачу ни изучения Мирового океана, ни его экологические проблемы — Рахманов Алексей, Президент, АО «Объединенная судостроительная корпорация».

Мы, ученые, должны просто внести свой вклад. Нам нужны просто соответствующие суда и платформы, которые будут помогать вести исследования, для того чтобы в будущем мы могли безопасно исследовать и изучать эту огромную часть нашей планеты — Берквенс Рене , Главный исполнительный директор, Damen Shipyards Group NV.

Увеличение финансирования исследований

Расходы на изучение океана у мировых морских держав составляют пока не более 4 процентов от общего объема инвестиций в исследования и разработки. Россия, к сожалению, не исключение. В 1990 году численность научно-исследовательских судов в СССР достигала 375 единиц. По числу судов этот флот был на первом месте в мире и составлял более трети от планетарного. Однако за прошедшие почти 30 лет он практически не пополнялся и не модернизировался. Мы рады, что, начиная с этого года, началось проектирование и строительство исследовательских судов как для рыболовецкой отрасли, так и для исследований океана — Рахманов Алексей, Президент, АО «Объединенная судостроительная корпорация».

Развитие Северного морского пути

Одной из основных задач мы видим развитие Северного морского пути. Он обладает уникальными производственно-экономическими, транспортными, природными особенностями. Это территория опережающего развития, уже имеющая огромный освоенный и потенциальный запас ресурсов на прибрежных территориях и шельфе — Рахманов Алексей, Президент, АО «Объединенная судостроительная корпорация».

Развитие аквакультуры

50 процентов всей рыбы, аквакультуры, которую потребляет население планеты, не добыто, а произведено в хозяйствах. <…> Если мы посмотрим на мировой опыт, данная отрасль вся обвешана датчиками, используются самые разнообразные современные инструменты искусственного интеллекта и т.д. В России, к сожалению, на сегодняшний день этого нет. Исходя из этого, мы имеем очень низкую производительность и очень большие потери продукции. <…> По всем международным оценкам, цифровизованные, правильно управляемые хозяйства имеют экономику на 20-30% лучше — Эмдин Сергей, Генеральный директор, Tele2.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС