A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 126 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
11.12.2019

E-commerce Development Report of the Small and Medium Sized Enterprises of BRICS Countries

Overall situation in global e-commerce


In this report, prepared by a research group from the Shanghai Academy of Social Sciences (SASS) and the United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO), the authors observe that the rapid growth of e-commerce in global retail trade is attracting increasing attention. The analysts expect that the proportion of e-commerce in the global retail trade will increase from 7.4% in 2014 to 14.6% in 2020. Additionally, with the use of ICT, Artificial Intelligence and other modern information technologies, e-commerce will have profound impacts on global production networks and retail businesses. The development of mobile e-commerce and social media is changing lifestyle patterns and consumption. Emerging countries, especially BRICS nations, which account for 42.19% of the world population, represent a large pool of potential consumers and Internet users. With increasing penetration rate of BRICS nations’ mobile Internet, the development of e-commerce in these emerging economies has a bright future. For example, according to calculations done by the International Trade Center (ITC), in 2017, the percentage of Internet users who transact online was 17.5% in Russia and 19.2% in China (to compare, among global Internet users, the average percentage of online shoppers is 16%).

BRICS e-commerce markets


Although there are wide national differences in the development of BRICS e-commerce, the momentum of overall growth is strong. The average rate of growth of BRICS e-commerce is around 20% (China has recorded an annual growth rate of above 37%), which is far above the global average. In terms of growth rates of e-commerce trade, China, India and South Africa are the fastest-growing markets. The growth rates of Brazil and Russia have fluctuated due to various factors. China and India have the largest e-commerce trade volumes while Russia, Brazil and South Africa have smaller trading volumes because of their relatively smaller economies. BRICS e-commerce has provided a platform for the development of SMEs, which has driven the generation of employment opportunities.

Main problems faced by e-commerce


The most common challenges faced in BRICS e-commerce development include lack of adequate data, logistics infrastructure, trust, regulations, cross-border customs clearance, and talent. However, over and above these shared issues, each BRICS country has its own unique problems and challenges. For example, e-commerce development in Brazil is faced with customs and tax problems. In Russia, the language barrier in cross-border e-commerce stands out. In South Africa, payment and logistics are a problem. In China, loss of trust in e-commerce is coupled with a need for improvements in regulation, especially in the area of consumer protection.

Rules and standards of e-commerce trade in BRICS countries


Though individual BRICS countries have established varying laws and regulations pertaining to e-commerce transactions and security systems, there is a need to set up unified regulatory standards for cross-border trade among BRICS countries. In China, although there are laws relating to e-commerce, because the unified «e-commerce law» has not been formulated, the present legal norms are fragmented, vague, and unable to cope with the rapid development and continuous innovation in e-commerce. In comparison, Russian e-commerce legislation was introduced relatively earlier and the e-commerce laws have been updated regularly. Indian electronic business related policies and legislations are unclear, which is likely to cause uncertainty for enterprises. The Brazilian system of e-commerce related legislation is slow and depends almost completely on two laws. In South Africa, existing legislation is not comprehensive and has not kept up with e-commerce development.

From the perspective of transaction security and consumer protection, China has clearly defined responsibilities and obligations of e-commerce third-party platforms, and placed the establishment of consumer protection and service guarantee mechanism on the agenda. In Russia, cybersecurity and credit problems have become increasingly prominent. India has promulgated and implemented consumer protection laws in certain areas. Brazilian Internet and online payments do not receive effective protection. The South African legal framework still has scope to improve the prevention of unfair competition and encryption of information.

Proposals to strengthen e-commerce cooperation between BRICS countries


BRICS e-commerce cooperation will enable the rapid development of e-commerce. The establishment of a common interest is the core and foundation of BRICS e-commerce cooperation.

Within the framework of BRICS economic partnership and strategic cooperation, in order to commit to e-commerce, member countries need to establish an e-commerce cooperation mechanism. They also need to focus on strengthening capacity, including technological innovation, skills and professional training, infrastructure, such as ICT, logistics and distribution, transportation capacity, technical support for e-commerce development, information exchange for e-commerce logistics between member countries, and cooperation and innovation in mobile payment technology, with a focus on SMEs.

BRICS countries also need to strengthen cooperation in key e-commerce cross-border trade processes, including cooperation in «single window», intellectual property, trade promotion, small, medium and micro-enterprises (MSMEs), especially in e-commerce technology trends, standard setting, trade rules, tariffs, skills training, legislation and policy framework.
Analytics on the topic

Информационно-аналитическая система
Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
11.12.2019

Доклад о развитии электронной торговли в малом и среднем бизнесе стран БРИКС

Общие тенденции в сфере мировой электронной торговли


Авторы доклада из Шанхайской академии социальных наук и Организации Объединённых Наций по промышленному развитию (ЮНИДО) констатируют, что стремительный рост сферы электронной торговли в мире привлекает всё большее внимание. Вышеназванные эксперты ожидают, что доля электронной коммерции в мировой розничной торговле увеличится с 7,4% в 2014 году до 14,6% в 2020 году. Кроме того, с использованием информационно-коммуникационных технологий, искусственного интеллекта и других современных информационных технологий электронная торговля будет оказывать сильнейшее воздействие на глобальные цепочки производства и розничный бизнес. Развитие мобильной электронной коммерции и социальных сетей меняет образ жизни людей и культуру потребления. Развивающиеся страны, особенно страны БРИКС, на которые приходится 42,19% мирового населения, обладают значительным потенциалом потребительского спроса в электронном пространстве. С ростом уровня проникновения мобильного интернета в странах БРИКС развитие электронной коммерции в этих странах имеет большие перспективы. Так, в 2017 году, согласно расчётам Международного торгового центра (ITC), доля интернет-пользователей, которые оплачивали счета или совершали покупки через интернет, составляла 19,2% в Китае и 17,5% в России (среднемировое значение — 16%).

Рынки электронной коммерции в странах БРИКС


Несмотря на то, что в развитии электронной коммерции в странах БРИКС присутствуют значительные национальные различия, темпы роста в рамках БРИКС в целом велики. Так, средние годовые темпы роста электронной коммерции в указанных странах составляют около 20% (годовой темп роста Китая превысил 37%), что намного выше среднемирового значения. С точки зрения темпов роста электронной торговли Китай, Индия и ЮАР являются наиболее быстро растущими рынками среди стран БРИКС. Темпы роста Бразилии и России колебались из-за различных факторов. Китай и Индия обладают наиболее крупными рынками электронной коммерции, в то время как Россия, Бразилия и ЮАР имеют меньшие объёмы торговли из-за их относительно меньшей экономики. Электронная коммерция стран БРИКС предоставила платформу для развития малого и среднего бизнеса, которая способствовала созданию новых рабочих мест.

Основные проблемы в сфере электронной торговли


Наиболее распространённые проблемы, с которыми страны БРИКС сталкиваются в развитии электронной торговли, включают в себя нехватку данных, логистической инфраструктуры, доверия и трудовых ресурсов, а также недостатки в сфере правового регулирования и трансграничного таможенного оформления. Однако помимо общих проблем у каждой страны БРИКС имеются свои уникальные проблемы и вызовы. Так, например, развитию электронной коммерции в Бразилии препятствуют таможенные и налоговые проблемы. В России заметной помехой в трансграничной электронной торговле является языковой барьер. В ЮАР слабыми местами являются системы платежей и логистики. В Китае же отмечается потеря доверия к электронной коммерции на фоне необходимости совершенствования законодательства, особенно в области защиты прав потребителей.

Правила и стандарты в сфере электронной торговли в странах БРИКС


При том что в отдельных странах БРИКС существуют различные законы и нормативные акты, касающиеся сделок в электронной торговле и систем безопасности, существует необходимость в создании единых нормативных стандартов для трансграничной торговли между странами БРИКС. В Китае ещё не принят единый закон об электронной торговле, а существующие правовые нормы разрозненны, расплывчаты и неспособны справиться с быстрым развитием и постоянными инновациями в электронной коммерции. Для сравнения, акты российского законодательства в области электронной торговли вступили в действие раньше, а законы об электронной торговле регулярно обновляются. Индийские политика и законодательство, связанные с электронным бизнесом, по мнению авторов доклада, также вызывают множество вопросов у участников рынка. Бразильская система законодательства, касающегося электронной торговли, почти полностью зависит от двух национальных законов. В ЮАР действующее законодательство не является всеобъемлющим и не поспевает за развитием электронной коммерции.

С точки зрения безопасности транзакций и защиты потребителей Китай чётко определил обязанности и обязательства сторонних платформ электронной коммерции и поставил вопрос о создании механизма защиты товаров или гарантий качества и обслуживания. В России проблемы кибербезопасности и кредитования становятся всё более заметными. Индия обнародовала и внедрила законы о защите прав потребителей в определённых областях. Бразильский интернет и онлайн-платежи не получают эффективной защиты. В южноафриканской правовой базе всё ещё есть возможности для улучшения ситуации с предотвращением недобросовестной конкуренции и шифрованием информации.

Предложения по укреплению сотрудничества в области электронной торговли в странах БРИКС


Сотрудничество стран БРИКС в области электронной торговли позволит существенно ускорить её развитие. Поиск общих интересов и достижение общих целей является основой сотрудничества БРИКС в области электронной торговли.

В рамках экономического партнёрства и стратегического сотрудничества стран БРИКС для обеспечения приверженности электронной торговле странам необходимо создать механизм сотрудничества в области электронной торговли. Они также должны сосредоточиться на укреплении потенциала в области технологических инноваций, профессиональной подготовки, инфраструктуры (включающей ИКТ, логистику и организацию процессов товародвижения), транспортного потенциала, технической поддержки для развития электронной коммерции, совершенствования логистики электронной торговли между странами БРИКС, сотрудничества и инноваций в технологии мобильных платежей с упором на малый и средний бизнес.

Странам БРИКС также необходимо укреплять сотрудничество по вопросам «единого окна», интеллектуальной собственности, стимулирования торговли, в том числе малых, средних и микропредприятий, установления стандартов, торговых правил, тарифов, обучения персонала, законодательства и политики.
Аналитика на тему