A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 155 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
16.07.2020

COVID-19 and the tourism sector

The International Labour Organization (ILO) has published a sectoral brief about the impact of COVID-19 on the tourism sector. The publication describes the current state of the tourism industry across countries and makes forecasts for the future. According to the ILO, the sector may still play a key role in reinvigorating the global economy once the crisis is over because the tourism industry is known for its resilience to economic downturns and crises, as was the case following the severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) epidemic in 2003 and the 2008-2009 global financial crisis.

The Roscongress Foundation presents the salient points of the publication accompanied by fragments of broadcasts of relevant panel discussions from the business programme of international events held by the Roscongress Foundation.

The tourism industry has been hit hard by the necessary measures taken to contain the COVID-19 pandemic, and the ILO considers it unlikely that the sector will return to normalcy any time soon. Even after the progressive lifting of containment measures, surviving enterprises will continue to face the challenges of a likely slow recovery.

The ILO estimates that the pandemic could cause the equivalent of 305 million job losses, many of which are in the tourism sector. The pandemic and global efforts to contain it could cause the international tourism economy to contract by between 45 and 70 per cent. Domestic tourism industries are also being impacted as about half of the world’s population is estimated to be constrained by containment measures. Nevertheless, domestic tourism is expected to recover faster than the international tourism industry.

Hotels, restaurants, tour operators, airlines, and cruise ships have suspended their operations indefinitely. In the accommodation and food services subsectors, 51 million businesses are facing an extraordinarily difficult business environment with major impacts on employment opportunities. With the drastic fall in economic activity, workers in the labour-intensive tourism industry are now facing devastating reductions in working time, potential job losses, and growing decent work challenges.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/iif-2019-ekonomika-gostepriimstva-segodnya-i-zavtra/search/#00:24:21.248

Measures to support tourism businesses and safeguard jobs and incomes will prove critical for the sector in the near future.

Some countries such as Portugal, Barbados, Singapore, and Chile have provided training and capacity building for tourism workers during the lockdown through free or subsidized online courses. The Chilean SIGO programme provides technical assistance in business and digital management processes for tourism entrepreneurs and is being adapted to address the particular challenges of the emergency and the post-crisis reactivation process.

Many countries have implemented policies to support tourism enterprises, jobs, and incomes through the suspension or subsidization of taxes, fees and social security contributions. Some countries are providing additional incentives for enterprises to retain employees by tying financial aid to retaining staff. Under Jamaica’s BEST Cash programme, small businesses in targeted sectors, such as tourism, receive a government cash transfer twice a month for every worker whose job is retained. A complementary programme provides the same transfer scheme for individuals who have lost their jobs between 10 March and 30 June 2020, meaning there is support for both the retention of tourism sector jobs and people who are out of work.

Short, medium, and long-term policy responses should be developed on the basis of the ILO framework for responding to the COVID-19 pandemic, which is comprised of the four interconnected pillars:

· Stimulating the economy and employment;

· Supporting enterprises, jobs, and incomes;

· Protecting workers in the workplace;

· Relying on social dialogue for solutions.

The recommendations on the promotion of decent jobs for women and young people are particularly relevant in the context of the pandemic as these social groups are particularly vulnerable to economic impacts of the pandemic. Coordinated action should be undertaken to address the crisis, in consultation with governments, employers’ and workers’ representatives, and taking into consideration relevant ILO Conventions and Recommendations.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/mir-v-usloviyakh-pandemii-covid-19-globalnye-strategii/search/#01:06:17.471

Although the tourism industry has been hit hard by the necessary measures taken to contain the pandemic, the sector may still play a key role in reinvigorating the global economy once the crisis is over.

According to ILO, the tourism sector won’t emerge from the COVID-19 crisis without aftershocks. The sector is, however, known for its resilience to economic downturns and crises, as was the case following the severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) epidemic in 2003 and the 2008-2009 global financial crisis. As such, the sector may play a key role in reinvigorating the global economy once the crisis is over. «Building back better» in the post-pandemic period could align the tourism industry more closely with the Sustainable Development Goals and lead to a greener, more inclusive and resilient industry that provides decent work for all tourism workers.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2019-invest-sessiya/search/#00:57:21.663

For more information about possible ways to stabilize the economy during a pandemic, please see the StayHomeEconomy special section of the Roscongress information and analytical system, and the Tourism, Labor market, and Entrepreneurship sections about the development of the tourism sector and labor market.

Analytics on the topic

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие с 129 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 69 странах мира.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
16.07.2020

COVID-19 и сектор туризма

Международная организация труда (МОТ) представляет отраслевую справку о влиянии COVID-19 на сектор туризма, в которой отражена информация о состоянии туристической отрасли в разных странах мира до и после кризиса. Авторы исследования прогнозируют, что данная отрасль еще может сыграть ключевую роль в оживлении мировой экономики после завершения кризиса. Подобный сценарий развития событий уже наблюдался во время эпидемии атипичной пневмонии (SARS) в 2003 году и в период глобального финансового кризиса 2008–2009 годов.

Аналитики Фонда Росконгресс выделили основные тезисы данного исследования, сопроводив каждый из них подходящим по теме фрагментом видеотрансляций панельных дискуссий, состоявшихся в рамках деловых программ ключевых мероприятий, проведенных Фондом.

Индустрия туризма сильно страдает от мер, необходимых для сдерживания пандемии, и маловероятно, что она вернется к нормальному состоянию в ближайшее время. Даже после постепенного снятия сдерживающих мер выжившие предприятия, вероятно, будут и далее сталкиваться с вызовами медленного восстановления.

По оценкам МОТ, пандемия может привести к потере 305 млн рабочих мест, многие из которых находятся в секторе туризма. Пандемия и глобальные усилия по ее сдерживанию могут привести к сокращению экономики международного туризма на 45–70%. Влиянию пандемии подвергаются и отрасли внутреннего туризма, поскольку сдерживающие меры ограничивают свободу передвижения приблизительно половины населения земного шара. Тем не менее внутренний туризм, как ожидается, восстановится быстрее, чем международная туристическая индустрия.

Гостиницы, рестораны, туроператоры, авиаперевозчики и круизные компании приостановили свою деятельность на неопределенный срок. В подотраслях гостиниц и ресторанов 51 млн предприятий оказались в чрезвычайно сложных условиях для ведения бизнеса, что серьезно сказывается на возможностях трудоустройства. В связи с резким падением экономической активности работники трудоемкой индустрии туризма сталкиваются с катастрофическим сокращением рабочего времени, потенциальной потерей работы и обостряющимися проблемами на пути к достойному труду.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/iif-2019-ekonomika-gostepriimstva-segodnya-i-zavtra/search/#00:24:21.248

Меры, направленные на оказание поддержки туристическому бизнесу, сохранение рабочих мест и источников доходов населения, в ближайшем будущем будут критически важными для отрасли.

В таких странах, как Португалия, Барбадос, Сингапур и Чили, организованы бесплатные или субсидируемые онлайн-курсы подготовки и повышения квалификации работников туристической отрасли во время самоизоляции. В Чили посредством программы SIGO предпринимателям в сфере туризма оказывается техническая помощь в организации процессов ведения бизнеса и цифрового управления, которая адаптируется для решения конкретных проблем в условиях чрезвычайной ситуации и посткризисного восстановления.

Во многих странах проводится политика поддержки туристических предприятий, рабочих мест и доходов путем приостановления или субсидирования налогов, сборов и взносов в систему социального обеспечения. В ряде стран предприятиям предоставляются дополнительные стимулы для удержания работников, которые обусловливают получение финансовой помощи сохранением рабочих мест. На Ямайке в рамках программы поддержки работников предприятий и денежных выплат (BEST Cash) малые предприятия в целевых отраслях, таких как туризм, дважды в месяц получают от государства денежные выплаты на каждое сохраненное рабочее место. Дополнительная программа предусматривает такие же выплаты лицам, потерявшим работу в период с 10 марта по 30 июня 2020 года. Это означает, что поддержка туристической отрасли оказывается с двух сторон — и в целях сохранения рабочих мест, и в помощь лицам, потерявшим работу.

По мнению экспертов МОТ, краткосрочные, среднесрочные и долгосрочные меры должны разрабатываться на основе следующего механизма реагирования на пандемию COVID-19, который предполагает решение четырех взаимосвязанных задач:

· стимулирование экономики и занятости;

· поддержку предприятий, рабочих мест и доходов;

· защиту работников на производстве;

· опору на социальный диалог как источник решений.

Рекомендации по созданию достойных рабочих мест для женщин и молодежи особенно актуальны в условиях наступившего кризиса, поскольку эти группы населения сильнее других страдают от экономических последствий пандемии. Согласованные действия, направленные на преодоление негативного влияния кризиса, должны предприниматься на основе консультаций с правительствами, представителями работодателей и работников, а также с учетом соответствующих конвенций и рекомендаций МОТ.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/mir-v-usloviyakh-pandemii-covid-19-globalnye-strategii/search/#01:06:17.471

Несмотря на то, что индустрия туризма сильно страдает от мер, необходимых для сдерживания пандемии, отрасль еще может сыграть ключевую роль в оживлении мировой экономики после завершения кризиса.

По мнению экспертов МОТ, туристическая отрасль не выйдет из кризиса COVID-19, не испытав повторных шоков. Однако она известна своей способностью противостоять экономическим спадам и кризисам, как это было во время эпидемии атипичной пневмонии (SARS) в 2003 году и в период глобального финансового кризиса 2008–2009 годов. Поэтому отрасль может сыграть ключевую роль в оживлении мировой экономики после завершения кризиса. Задача «восстановить лучше, чем было» после пандемии может теснее связать туризм с Целями в области устойчивого развития и позволит создать более экологичную, инклюзивную и устойчивую отрасль с достойным трудом для всех ее работников.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2019-invest-sessiya/search/#00:57:21.663

Также предлагаем вам ознакомиться с другими материалами, размещенными в специальных разделах Информационно-аналитической системы Росконгресс СидимДомаЭкономика, Туризм, Рынок труда и Предпринимательство, посвященных возможным путям стабилизации экономики в условиях пандемии, а также развитию туризма и рынка труда.


Аналитика на тему