A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5,000 people working in Russia and abroad.

The Foundation works alongside various UN departments and other international organizations, and is building multi-format cooperation with 173 economic partners, including industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions, financial, trade, and business associations from 78 countries worldwide, and 188 Russian public organizations, federal and legislative agencies, and federal subjects.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian t.me/Roscongress, English – t.me/RoscongressDirect, and Spanish t.me/RoscongressEsp. Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Defining the Boundaries of Crime as a Way to Decriminalize Economic Activity and Improve the Business Climate
29 June 2022
16:45—18:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
The business environment has changed dramatically

It would be more correct to say determining the boundaries of non-criminal acts than determining the boundaries of criminal acts. This is the boundary that no one sees, while the Criminal Code becomes rubber-stamped — Maksim Arzamastsev, Associate Professor of the Department of Criminal Law of the Law Faculty, St. Petersburg State University.

I am very familiar with the system of basics in law enforcement agencies. <...> What did business face? Firstly, when the USSR collapsed and Russia emerged, we felt that there were certain opportunities; many businessmen started getting involved in all kinds of activities but were cut short by criminals. I worked in the prosecutor’s office at the time and there was not a single day without a murder. <...> Then came the redistribution of property rights, in which the law enforcement agencies were also involved in this way or another. <...> What about now? The situation has changed. Business has the right to protection. <...> Doing business is now more secure. <...> We need to reduce the administrative burden on business... and criminal pressure. <...> We need to educate and inculcate non-deviant behaviour in business. <...> It is not the businessman who is being educated but the consumer — Vyacheslav Kozlov, First Deputy Head of the Directorate of Customs Investigations and Inquiries, Federal Customs Service of the Russian Federation.

ISSUES
Excessive criminalization of economic processes

Excessive criminalization is taking place. <...> Economic disputes should not turn into criminal ones. <...> Why are we talking about this again now? The situation has changed, changed in favour of greater economic freedom and... criminal policy. <...> Fear of being held criminally liable, of course, greatly affects the business climate. It’s not so much the fear of a conviction as the initiation of a criminal case, which damages business ties and reputations. <...> But we can’t leave public interests unprotected. <...> In order to solve this problem, we have to form a new paradigm which would create a balance. <...> This requires painstaking legal work. We need research work followed by practical conclusions — Vadim Zaripov, Head of Analytical Service, Pepeliaev Group.

At present, entrepreneurs... are not fully capable of acting according to the law. Criminal law as a last instance has to be very clear and give a clear understanding... how to act. <...> We have two aspects – public law... and civil law. Now, there is a problem in public law, the excessive criminalization of any offence. <...> This should not be the case. An entrepreneur should have a clear line which cannot be crossed, otherwise they will be held criminally liable — Artem Lomize, Vice President, Association of Fish Processing and Trading Companies.

This year marks ten years since the state human rights institution – Business Ombudsman – was established in the Russian Federation. The annual report by the Federal Business Ombudsman, Boris Titov, the Presidential Commissioner Presidential Commissioner for Entrepreneurs' Rights to the Russian President Vladimir Putin, is one of the forms of reporting. This year such a report was presented too. In preparation for the report, materials are gathered, information is analysed, and a survey is conducted by the Federal Guard Service regarding various entrepreneurial problems. All this information was processed and presented in the report. <...> Surveys were conducted in all 85 federal subjects of the Russian Federation. The question was “In your opinion, is business in the Russian Federation protected from unwarranted criminal prosecution?” – and 51% of those surveyed cumulatively answered “rather not” or a definite “no”. So, 51% of responders do not believe businesses in the Russian Federation are protected from criminal prosecution! <...> So, what is the fate of prosecutions for economic crimes? Colleagues, 40% of the cases are still pending, so we can't say anything about their fate yet. They are under investigation. An acquittal, dismissal, or stay of proceedings is another 40%. What does it mean to have been in business for more than 10 years in Russia? I would say... one year counts as at least three. <...> What are the consequences of criminal proceedings against businessmen? A total of 74% of those who have been criminally prosecuted said that their business was completely or partly destroyed and that they do not plan to run it any more. <...> It seems to me that this is more than enough of an illustration to talk about the problem, and better yet, to address it — Elena Artukh, Commissioner of the Sverdlovsk Region for the Protection of Entrepreneurs’ Rights.

SOLUTIONS
A legal definition of business entity is needed

An activity that involves a legally permitted risk” in my opinion gives us reason to talk about a certain amount of the entrepreneur's right to err in running their business. It seems to me that there is no need to criminalize those areas of business activity, relations, and the consequences where state control and oversight will suffice. Even if an entrepreneur makes a mistake, they have to be held financially liable not criminally prosecuted. <...> I think it is very important to define business entity in legal terms. We have a definition of entrepreneurial activity, but we don't have a clear and consistent list of such entities — Elena Artukh, Commissioner of the Sverdlovsk Region for the Protection of Entrepreneurs’ Rights.

Law enforcement practice must take the side of business

Criminal prosecutions are a way of overcoming the expired statute of limitations. New shareholders and new management of one of the counterparties to a deal often take advantage of this. The deal was made, it cannot be challenged at least once the statute of limitations has expired, but the new owners of the business do not like it. A criminal complaint is filed. Another very dangerous trend is that if an arbitration court ruled in favour of an entrepreneur but not their counterparty, and it has been sealed and signed by all higher instances, then these kinds of court victories can be seen as a way of committing fraud. This is written explicitly in the procedural documents. In other words, what is absurd for a civil lawyer is the norm for some criminal law experts. The problems of transferring economic disputes into the criminal plane are intensifying. Therefore, with our own efforts we must try to change this situation in favour of business — Alexey Ryabov, Head, Expert and Legal Center of the Presidential Commissioner of the Russian Federation for the Protection of Entrepreneurs’ Rights.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, создан в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом.

Фонд взаимодействует со структурами ООН и другими международными организациями. Развивает многоформатное сотрудничество со 173 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 78 странах мира, со 188 российскими общественными организациями, федеральными органами исполнительной и законодательной власти, субъектами Российской Федерации.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Определение границ преступного – средство декриминализации экономической деятельности и улучшения делового климата
29 июня 2022
16:45—18:15
Ключевые выводы
Условия бизнеса сильно поменялись

Скорее, правильнее сказать, не определение границ преступного, а определение границ непреступного. Вот эту границу никто не видит, и Уголовный кодекс становится резиновым — Арзамасцев Максим, Доцент кафедры уголовного права юридического факультета, ФГБОУ ВО «Санкт-Петербургский государственный университет».

Система основы в правоохранительных органах мне хорошо знакома. <…> С чем столкнулся бизнес? Первое — когда произошел слом СССР, возникла Россия, мы почувствовали, что появились определенные возможности, воспряли духом, бизнесмены многие рванули, и их встретили бандиты. Мои дежурства, я тогда работал в прокуратуре, не обходились без убийства. <…> Дальше пошел передел собственности, силовики какое-то участие в этом тоже принимали. <…> Что сейчас? Ситуация изменилась. Право на защиту бизнес имеет. <…> Бизнес сейчас вести более безопасно. <…> Нужно снизить административную нагрузку на бизнес… и уголовное давление. <…> Бизнесмена нужно воспитывать и прививать ему недевиантное поведение. <…> Идет воспитание не бизнесмена, а потребителя — Козлов Вячеслав, Первый заместитель начальника управления таможенных расследований и дознания, Федеральная таможенная служба (ФТС России).

Проблемы
Излишняя криминализация экономических процессов

Происходит излишняя криминализация. <…> Экономические споры не должны переходить в уголовные. <…> Почему мы сейчас снова говорим об этом? Ситуация изменилась, изменилась в пользу расширения экономических свобод и… уголовно-правовой политики. <…> Угроза ответственности уголовной, конечно, очень влияет на бизнес-климат. Не столько страшен приговор, сколько возбужденное уголовное дело — это ущерб для деловых связей, ущерб репутации. <…> Но оставить без защиты общественные интересы… нельзя. <…> Нам, чтобы решить эту задачу, нужно сформировать новую парадигму, которая сможет создать баланс. <…> Это требует кропотливой юридической работы. Нужна исследовательская работа с практическими выводами — Зарипов Вадим, Руководитель аналитической службы, Юридическая компания «Пепеляев Групп».

В настоящее время не до конца предприниматели… могут сообразно закону себя вести. Уголовное право как крайняя история должна быть очень четкой и четко давать понимание субъекту… как ему себя вести. <…> У нас есть два аспекта — публично-правовой… и гражданско-правовой. Сейчас есть проблема в публично-правовых отраслях, излишняя криминализация любого правонарушения. <…> Этого быть не должно. У предпринимателя должна быть четкая грань, которую преступать нельзя, иначе будет уголовная ответственность — Ломизе Артем, Вице-президент, Ассоциация производственных и торговых предприятий рыбного рынка.

В этом году ровно десять лет как в Российской Федерации был создан государственный правозащитный институт — институт бизнес-омбудсмена. Одной из форм донесения информации уполномоченного при президенте Российской Федерации Бориса Юрьевича Титова до главы государства, президента России Владимира Путина, является ежегодный доклад федерального бизнес-омбудсмена. В этом году тоже такой доклад был представлен. При подготовке к докладу собираются материалы, анализируется информация, проводился опрос силами Федеральной службы охраны в отношении тех или иных проблем предпринимательских. Вся эта информация обработана и в докладе представлена. <…> Опросы были проведены во всех 85 субъектах Российской Федерации. Вопрос был задан такой: «Защищен ли, по вашему мнению, бизнес в Российской Федерации от необоснованного уголовного преследования?» — и 51% опрошенных в совокупности ответили, что «скорее нет» или твердо «нет». 51% не считает бизнес защищенным в Российской Федерации от уголовного преследования! <…> Какова же судьба возбужденных уголовных дел по экономическим составам? Коллеги, 40% дел примерно еще находятся в производстве, поэтому пока об их судьбе мы не можем говорить. Они расследуются. Оправдательный приговор, прекращение дела или приостановка его — еще 40%. Что значит в России проработать в бизнесе более 10 лет? Я бы сказала… год за три — это минимум. <…> Каковы последствия уголовного преследования в отношении субъектов предпринимательской деятельности? В совокупности 74% тех, кто привлекался к уголовной ответственности, сообщили, что их бизнес полностью или частично разрушен и они не планируют больше им заниматься. <…> Мне кажется, что это более чем достаточная иллюстрация для того, чтобы о проблематике говорить, а еще лучше — ее решать — Артюх Елена, Уполномоченный по защите прав предпринимателей в Свердловской области.

Решения
Необходимо определение субъекта предпринимательской деятельности

Деятельность, которая осуществляется при законно допускаемом риске” — на мой взгляд, это дает нам основания говорить и о некотором объеме права на ошибку предпринимателя при осуществлении деятельности. Мне кажется, что без лишней необходимости криминализовать те сферы предпринимательской деятельности, те виды отношений и те последствия предпринимательской деятельности, в которых вполне себе достаточно государственного контроля и надзора, те сферы, в которых предприниматель даже если допускает какую-то ошибку, я это так называю, он должен отвечать сугубо экономически, не в сфере уголовного преследования. <…> Очень важно, на мой взгляд, все-таки в законе определить, кто есть субъект предпринимательской деятельности. Предпринимательская деятельность у нас определена, а кто такой субъект предпринимательской деятельности с четким списком определенным и непротиворечивым — нет — Артюх Елена, Уполномоченный по защите прав предпринимателей в Свердловской области.

Правоприменительная практика должна встать на сторону бизнеса

Уголовные преследования являются способом преодоления истекшего срока исковой давности. Этим очень часто пользуются новые акционеры и новые руководители одного из контрагентов по исполненной сделке. Сделка была заключена, сделка была исполнена, ее нельзя оспорить как минимум по истечению срока исковой давности, но она не нравится новым владельцам бизнеса. Подается заявление о возбуждении уголовного дела. Еще очень опасная тенденция заключается в том, что если предприниматель получил выгодное для себя и невыгодное для контрагента решение арбитражного суда, и оно засилено во всех вышестоящих инстанциях, то вот такого рода судебные победы, получение положительного судебного акта могут рассматриваться как способ совершения мошенничества. Об этом прямо пишется в процессуальных документах. То есть для цивилиста — это абсурд, для отдельных специалистов в сфере уголовного права и процесса это оказывается нормой. Проблемы перевода хозяйственных споров в уголовную плоскость усиливаются. Поэтому мы своими усилиями должны попытаться переломить эту ситуацию в пользу бизнеса — Рябов Алексей, Руководитель, Экспертно-правовой центр Уполномоченного при Президенте Российской Федерации по защите прав предпринимателей.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС