A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5,000 people working in Russia and abroad.

The Foundation works alongside various UN departments and other international organizations, and is building multi-format cooperation with 173 economic partners, including industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions, financial, trade, and business associations from 78 countries worldwide, and 188 Russian public organizations, federal and legislative agencies, and federal subjects.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian t.me/Roscongress, English – t.me/RoscongressDirect, and Spanish t.me/RoscongressEsp. Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Food Security: Global Challenges and Opportunities
16 June 2022
11:00—12:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Food security is not a cause for concern in Russia

In terms of the key indicators of the Food Security Doctrine – grain, meat, oil and fats, fish products – we have the needs of the domestic market more than covered. And all these areas are key for us in terms of exports. We can supply this food to world markets. Despite all the risk factors I have listed, we have increased exports of agricultural products by 16% in the first five months of this year — Victoria Abramchenko, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

A significant share of the increase [in the grain harvest – Ed.] over last season will go to the southern regions, which are geographically close to ports and, therefore, perfectly situated for exports. At the same time, domestic grain prices in Russia remain stable and the country is secure. In this particular case, food security has been confirmed — Vitaliy Sergeychuk, Senior Vice President, VTB Bank.

Russia is complying fully with all its commitments. And the figures that Victoria [Abramchenko – Ed.] quoted for last year and for the first months of this year confirm that we are managing to find this balance. On the one hand, we have maintained stability domestically while at the same time increasing exports, growing our economy, and making a significant contribution to solving the world’s problems — Maksim Reshetnikov, Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation.

The pandemic, sanctions, and crisis mean setbacks in planned food security targets

Unfortunately, global disasters like pandemics, like climate extremes, certainly like armed conflicts – they set us back. And now, unfortunately, political events, especially the military-political ones of recent times, have somewhat overshadowed the sustainable development agenda and the goals that humanity has set for 2030. And out of these goals, goal [number – Ed.] two, the elimination of hunger and ensuring food security, is of particular importance — Oleg Kobyakov, Director, Liaison Office with the Russian Federation, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO).

As part of today’s discussion, we are talking about food security. And I would like to look at several risk factors that exist. They didn't start today, and they didn't start in 2022. They emerged from out of a pandemic. [...] And on top of that, countries have begun to stockpile food critically. China, for example, increased its purchases of corn six-fold during the pandemic. This destabilized the global food market. In addition to factors arising as a result of the pandemic in 2022, there were factors related to sanctions — Victoria Abramchenko, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

The consequences of the Russia–Ukraine crisis underline the importance of the relationship between security and the economy. And the humanitarian implications [of the crisis – Ed.] are of concern because we are now witnessing unprecedented hunger hanging like a cloud over a large part of the African population — Jean-Baptiste Thiathie Tine, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Senegal to the Russian Federation.

ISSUES
Rising gas prices

Additional risk factors have been added due to the virtually complete naval and air blockade. This means that we run the risk of not getting food to places in the world where it’s badly needed. [...] The cost of gas has increased exponentially, and this means that in some countries it is simply impossible to produce fertilizer. Russian or Belarusian fertilizers still need to get to key grain-producing regions — Victoria Abramchenko, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

The second element is gas prices, and gas is a key component of fertilizer production everywhere. Gas prices inEurope. Some time ago, I still remember, Russian President Vladimir Putin spoke about this, and we proposed prices on the basis of our long-term contracts. It didn’t happen. [...] As a result, the price has gone up, enterprises in Europe became unprofitable, and many went out of business — Aleksander Yakovenko, Rector, The Diplomatic Academy of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation.

Fertilizer shortages and high costs

If we don’t start selling as much fertilizers as possible right now, this summer for next season, 2022–2023 will not only be cold, it will also be very hungry. Because there will be no harvest. Now we are talking about a special operation, a crisis that is happening now. But this is just one episode. If the necessary amount of mineral fertilizer is not applied to the ground all over the world, we will have a food crisis of global proportions — Andrey Guryev, President, Russian Association of Fertilizer Producers (RAFP).

We are experiencing certain difficulties in providing the necessary amount of fertilizer and so forth. But I think that by working together we can find a way out of the situation. I would like to say that in recent years Russia has become one of the most important suppliers of fertilizers to our market – 23%. That’s a serious figure. This is very important — Rodrigo de Lima Baena Soares, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Federative Republic of Brazil to the Russian Federation.

The greatest challenges at the moment are related to food security and the availability of fertilizers at an affordable price. Prices on fertilizers continue to rise, and a number of other factors also threaten global security and food security. And there is a lot more to be done within the global fertilizer industry — Mansukh Mandaviya, Minister of Health and Family Welfare and Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers of the Republic of India.

SOLUTIONS
The creation of a food arbitrator, waving sanctions, should be considered

The world needs a food arbiter. In 1954, FAO, the food and agricultural organization, was founded at the United Nations. That organization was created to fight global hunger. And I call upon my colleagues at the UN and my colleagues at FAO to create an international Red Cross for food that would address the problems and consequences arising from the illegal sanctions that have paralyzed logistics, the consequences of imposed restrictions on mutual settlements between countries. An organization that would ensure that all countries have equal access to the food market — Victoria Abramchenko, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

The creation of an arbitrator presents an interesting possibility. Nevertheless, FAO continues to use the authority and technical expertise entrusted to it by member countries. We monitor, put out a lot of statistical publications with the latest data, and adopt recommendations. Recommendations that might be of interest to our current audience about how to overcome the current food crisis. There is a recommendation directed at reconsidering and analyzing the policy of sanctions and, if possible, to waiving their application — Oleg Kobyakov, Director, Liaison Office with the Russian Federation, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO).

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, создан в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом.

Фонд взаимодействует со структурами ООН и другими международными организациями. Развивает многоформатное сотрудничество со 173 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 78 странах мира, со 179 российскими общественными организациями, федеральными органами исполнительной и законодательной власти, субъектами Российской Федерации.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Продовольственная безопасность: глобальные вызовы и возможности
16 июня 2022
11:00—12:15
Ключевые выводы
Ситуация с продовольственной безопасностью в России не вызывает опасений

«По ключевым показателям Доктрины продовольственной безопасности — зерно, мясо, масложировая продукция, рыбная продукция — мы с лихвой покрываем потребности страны, потребности внутреннего рынка. И все эти направления являются для нас ключевыми с точки зрения экспорта. Мы можем поставлять это продовольствие на мировые рынки. Несмотря на все факторы риска, которые я перечислила, за пять месяцев текущего года мы нарастили экспорт продукции АПК на 16%» — Абрамченко Виктория, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

«Существенную долю прироста [объема урожая зерна — Ред.] к прошлому сезону займут южные регионы, географически близкие к портам и, соответственно, предрасположенные к экспорту. При этом внутренние цены на зерно в России стабильны, страна обеспечена. И в данном конкретном случае продовольственная безопасность подтверждена» — Сергейчук Виталий, Старший вице-президент, Банк ВТБ (ПАО).

«Россия полностью выполняет все взятые на себя обязательства. И те цифры, которые Виктория Валерьевна [Абрамченко— Ред.] привела и по прошлому году, и по месяцам этого года, они это подтверждают, что нам удается находить этот баланс. Мы, с одной стороны, сохраняем стабильность внутри и в то же время наращиваем экспорт, наращиваем и нашу экономику, и в то же время вносим весомый вклад в решение мировых проблем» — Решетников Максим, Министр экономического развития Российской Федерации.

Пандемия, санкции и кризис отбросили достижение запланированных показателей продовольственной безопасности

«К сожалению, такие глобальные катастрофы, как эпидемия, как климатические экстремальные явления, безусловно, как вооруженные конфликты, они отбрасывают нас назад. И сейчас, к сожалению, политические события, прежде всего военно-политические последнего времени, несколько затмили от нас повестку дня устойчивого развития и те цели, которые человечество поставило к 2030 году. И среди этих целей в этой палитре особое значение [занимает — Ред.] цель [под номером — Ред.] два — это ликвидация голода и обеспечение продовольственной безопасности» — Кобяков Олег, Директор отделения по связям с Российской Федерацией, Продовольственная и сельскохозяйственная организация Объединенных Наций (ФАО).

«Сегодня в рамках дискуссии мы говорим о продовольственной безопасности. И я бы хотела рассмотреть несколько факторов риска, которые существуют. Они начались не сегодня, не в 2022 году. Эти факторы возникли в пандемию. <...> И, кроме того, страны, запасаясь продовольствием, начали критично накапливать запасы. Например, Китай в шесть раз повысил в пандемию закупки кукурузы. Это привело к дестабилизации на мировом рынке продовольствия. Дополнительно к факторам пандемии в 2022 году добавились факторы, связанные с введением санкций» — Абрамченко Виктория, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

«Последствия российско-украинского кризиса подчеркивают важность взаимосвязи между безопасностью и экономикой. И последствия [влияния — Ред.] этого кризиса на гуманитарную сферу вызывают озабоченность, потому что мы сегодня наблюдаем беспрецедентный голод, который сегодня навис над большой частью африканского населения» — Тиатьи Тин Жан-Батист, Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол Республики Сенегал в Российской Федерации.

Проблемы
Растущие цены на газ

«Добавились дополнительные факторы риска, связанные с фактически полной морской и авиационной блокадой. Это значит, что мы имеем риск не доставить продовольствие в точку мира, где это продовольствие крайне необходимо. <...> Стоимость газа кратно увеличилась. Это значит, что в некоторых странах просто невозможно производить удобрения. Российские либо белорусские удобрения нужно еще доставить к ключевым зернопроизводящим регионам» — Абрамченко Виктория, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

«Второй элемент — это цены на газ, а газ является ключевой составляющей производства удобрения во всех странах. Цены на газ в Европе. Некоторое время назад, я еще помню, и Президент России Владимир Путин по этому поводу говорил, мы предлагали, чтобы цены формировались на основе наших долгосрочных контрактов. Но этого не случилось. <...> В результате цена выросла, предприятия в Европе стали нерентабельными, многие закрылись» — Яковенко Александр, Ректор, ФГБОУ ВО «Дипломатическая академия Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации».

Дефицит и высокая стоимость удобрений

«Если сегодня мы не начнем продавать в полном объеме минеральные удобрения летом под следующий сезон, то сезон 2022-2023 будет не только холодным, но еще и будет очень голодным. Потому что не будет урожая. Сейчас мы говорим о спецоперации, о кризисе, который сейчас происходит. Но это эпизод. Если не будет внесено необходимое количество минеральных удобрений в землю во всем мире, мы получим глобальный, грандиозный мировой продовольственный кризис» — Гурьев Андрей, Президент, Российская ассоциация производителей удобрений (РАПУ).

«У нас есть определенные сложности по обеспечению необходимым количеством удобрений и так далее. Но я думаю, что совместными усилиями мы сможем найти выход из данной ситуации. Хочется сказать, что Россия за последние годы стала одним из самых главных поставщиков удобрений для нашего рынка — 23%, это серьезная цифра. Это очень важно» — Баэна Соарес Родриго де Лима, Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол Федеративной Республики Бразилия в Российской Федерации.

«На данный момент главные вызовы связаны с пищевой безопасностью, а также с доступностью удобрений по доступной цене. Мы видим растущие цены на удобрения и другие факторы, которые тоже угрожают мировой и продовольственной безопасности. И много еще нужно сделать в рамках мировой индустрии производства удобрений» — Мандавия Мансух, Министр здравоохранения и благополучия семьи Республики Индия; Министр химии и удобрений Республики Индия.

Решения
Необходимо рассмотреть вопрос создания продовольственного арбитра, отказа от санкций

«Миру нужен мировой продовольственный арбитр. В 1954 году в ООН была создана организация ФАО, мировая продовольственная сельскохозяйственная организация. Эта организация была создана для того, чтобы бороться с голодом на планете. И я призываю коллег в ООН и коллег в ФАО создать такой международный Красный крест в продовольствии, который бы решал проблемы, последствия незаконных санкций, которые парализовали логистику, последствия введенных ограничений для взаимных расчетов между странами. И который обеспечил бы в конечном итоге равный доступ для всех стран на рынок продовольствия» — Абрамченко Виктория, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

«Вопрос о создании арбитражного органа интересен. Но ФАО пока работает своим авторитетом, своей технической экспертизой, которые ей доверили страны-члены. Мы осуществляем мониторинг, издаем большое количество статистических публикаций последних данных и принимаем рекомендации. Среди рекомендаций, которые интересны нашей сегодняшней аудитории, как преодолеть нынешний продовольственный кризис, есть рекомендация — пересмотреть, проанализировать политику санкций и по возможности отказаться от их применения» — Кобяков Олег, Директор отделения по связям с Российской Федерацией, Продовольственная и сельскохозяйственная организация Объединенных Наций (ФАО).

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС