A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
How to Achieve Carbon Neutrality in the Arctic
14 October 2021
08:00—09:30
KEY CONCLUSIONS
The Arctic's role in the global transition to carbon neutrality is growing and could make Russia a key global player in new fuels

I would like to outline the increasing role of the Arctic in terms of facilitating the energy transition. Firstly, it [is related to the availability of] rare metals needed for breakthrough technologies, metals that are in demand for the energy transition. Secondly, it is the increasing supply of liquefied natural gas (LNG), which makes it possible to meet the goals and objectives of the Paris Agreement. And speaking of the carbon-free Arctic, we cannot but recall a 2008 report of the U.S. Geological Survey, according to which there are vast reserves in the Arctic, which may be in demand, including for the production of fuels that will be needed during the energy transition. Primarily, hydrogen, ammonia, and methanol — Nikolay Korchunov, Ambassador-at-Large of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation.

If Russia continues to move vigorously in this direction, including by creating new domestic equipment, it will become one of the powerful hydrogen exporters. I don't want to scare anyone with optimistic estimates, but by 2050, Russia could export as much as 30 million tons — Konstantin Dolgov, Deputy Chairman of the Committee on Economic Policy of the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation.

The Arctic could be the heart for turning Russia into a hydrogen superpower. <...> Certainly, it is necessary to enter this business now, because in ten years, when the price of green hydrogen, according to our forecasts, will be six times less, this business will already be competitive, and it is necessary to form the first player advantage in it now — Anton Poriadine, Partner, Leader, EY-Parthenon in CIS; Co-leader of Energy Sector, EY-Parthenon in Europe.

Science development is important for the energy transition in the Arctic, and the region could become a pan-Russian platform for the introduction of new technologies

Of course, green energy issues cannot do without scientific support. And, of course, to assess the impact of anthropogenic impact, we need to involve the scientific community, the best scientific forces of the country — Andrey Grachev, Vice President for Federal and Regional Programs, Norilsk Nickel.

The Arctic may well become a testing ground for new generation technology solutions, which are not attractive in the European part of Russia for economic reasons. After all, the alternatives in the Arctic are much more expensive, also diesel fuel, for example. And what is being done for the development of small hydropower plants, small NPPs, tidal, geothermal energy is the testing ground where new solutions can be tested for further replication throughout the country — Anton Poriadine, Partner, Leader, EY-Parthenon in CIS; Co-leader of Energy Sector, EY-Parthenon in Europe.

The Russian Federation is implementing a project to create the Arctic's first scientific station, Snezhinka, which will be powered by renewable energy sources at two sites in the Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous District and Murmansk Region. It will be a centre for testing advanced technologies, which will integrate the best solutions. In other words, we see the Arctic region becoming a zone of advanced development and a laboratory for testing and implementing new and important technologies for the entire world — Nikolay Korchunov, Ambassador-at-Large of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation.

ISSUES
Global warming leads to accelerated climate change in the Arctic

There is this paradox: the main contribution to global warming, as we know, is made by three countries, the US, China and India, while in the Russian Arctic, due to rising temperatures, perennially frozen ground is melting and gas such as methane is being released. And in this situation, Russia's national carbon footprint could grow at the expense of the Arctic. It turns out that some people are melted down, while others have to pay the carbon tax — Andrey Grachev, Vice President for Federal and Regional Programs, Norilsk Nickel.

The Arctic zone has a faster rate of warming today. Of course, to achieve carbon neutrality, we need a special approach, special tools, a calculated programme. Apparently, all this will have to be done in the near future — Vyacheslav Sinyugin, Deputy General Director for Digital Transformation and Energy Project of Zarubezhneft.

Russia is lagging behind Europe in moving towards carbon neutrality and introducing specific tools to achieve this goal

The share of renewable energy in the global energy mix is growing every day, and in European countries such as Sweden and Denmark, it exceeds 60%, in Germany - about half. In Russia today, it is less than 2%. However, the potential in the Arctic is enormous, and we see that much has been done for this in recent years — Soslan Abisalov, Director of the Infrastructure Development Department of the Russian Ministry for the Development of the Far East and the Arctic.

In the last couple of years, Russia has started to actively develop a carbon footprint reduction agenda. This is a very right vector. But there is a lack of specific instruments that would allow this to happen. First of all, Russia lacks a CO2 quota system and a carbon price criterion. This is the element of the equation, which is still missing in Russia. Without the introduction of a carbon price, projects in this sector will not pay off — Dmitry Borovikov, Vice President for Strategy, Portfolio Management and Trading, Fortum.

SOLUTIONS
Development of the Northern Sea Route will facilitate the transition to carbon neutrality

We have to project, in terms of the anthropological burden, the projects that are being developed in the field of sustainable shipping and those that Rosatom has in place, into the goals of the Paris Agreement. These are, above all, icebreakers with nuclear, low-emission units. And the carbon footprint when engaging the Northern Sea Route will be much smaller than the alternative routes — Nikolay Korchunov, Ambassador-at-Large of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation.

In the future, it is probably possible that the Northern Sea Route, which will be one of the main catalysts for the development of the Arctic, will only use liquefied natural gas (LNG). Transition to LNG will significantly reduce the human impact and ecological footprint in the Arctic. I believe that the Northern Sea Route should become the green thread that runs through the Arctic and around which many of the right environmental ideas are built — Dmitry Gorshkov, Director, World Wildlife Fund Russia.

Industry must participate in improving environmental conditions in the Arctic

We see a great demand from industrial enterprises that are located in the Arctic zone to 'green' their energy consumption. And we see great prospects for creating renewable energy capacity in the Arctic, because many factors converge there, including concern for the environment, the need to supply remote areas, and the demand for creating new industrial clusters to be powered by electricity — Dmitry Borovikov, Vice President for Strategy, Portfolio Management and Trading, Fortum.

Norilsk Nickel has adopted an environmental and climate change strategy. This is a serious programme, with a total budget of RUB 686 billion. <...> We also have a so-called sulphur programme in active development, which will enable us to reduce emissions in the Norilsk industrial district by 95% by 2025 compared to 2015. The total investment in our sulphur programme will amount to RUB 250 billion — Andrey Grachev, Vice President for Federal and Regional Programs, Norilsk Nickel.

There is a need for business, financial institutions and the regulator to work together with a focus on long-term value for society and the country. The government's task is to encourage responsible investment in technologies that are in their immature stages, in infrastructure, in consumer industries and in legislative initiatives. <...> Here, public-private partnership is a very acceptable form — Anton Poriadine, Partner, Leader, EY-Parthenon in CIS; Co-leader of Energy Sector, EY-Parthenon in Europe.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 160 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Как достигнуть углеродной нейтральности в Арктике
14 октября 2021
08:00—09:30
Ключевые выводы
Роль Арктики в глобальном переходе к углеродной нейтральности возрастает, и благодаря ей Россия может стать ключевым мировым игроком на рынке новых видов топлива

Я хотел бы обозначить возрастающую роль Арктики с точки зрения содействия энергопереходу. Во-первых, это [связано с наличием] редких металлов, необходимых для прорывных технологий, металлов, востребованных для энергоперехода. Во-вторых, это возрастающие поставки сжиженного природного газа (СПГ), которые позволяют выполнять задачи и цели Парижского соглашения. Ну и мы не можем, говоря о безуглеродной Арктике, не вспомнить доклад геологической службы США 2008 года, согласно которому в Арктике находятся весьма большие запасы, которые могут быть востребованы, в том числе, для производства тех видов топлива, которые будут нужны при энергопереходе – это, прежде всего, водород, аммиак, метанол — Корчунов Николай, Посол по особым поручениям Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации.

Если Россия продолжит энергично двигаться в этом направлении, в том числе за счет создания нового отечественного оборудования, она станет одним из мощных экспортеров водорода. Не хочу никого пугать оптимистическими оценками, но к 2050 году Россия может экспортировать вплоть до 30 млн тонн — Долгов Константин, Заместитель председателя Комитета Совета Федерации Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации по экономической политике.

Арктика может стать сердцем для превращения России в водородную супердержаву. <…> Безусловно, в этот бизнес нужно входить сейчас, потому что через десять лет, когда цена на зеленый водород, по нашим прогнозам, станет в шесть раз меньше, этот бизнес уже будет конкурентен, и необходимо сейчас формировать в нем преимущества первого игрока — Порядин Антон, Партнер, руководитель, EY-Parthenon в СНГ; со-руководитель энергетического сектора, EY-Parthenon в Европе.

Развитие науки важно для энергоперехода в Арктике, и этот регион может стать общероссийской площадкой для внедрения новых технологий

Конечно, в решении вопросов зеленой энергетики не обойтись без научного сопровождения. И, разумеется, для оценки влияния антропогенного воздействия нужно привлекать научное сообщество, лучшие научные силы страны — Грачев Андрей, Вице-президент по федеральным и региональным программам, ПАО «ГМК Норильский никель».

Арктика вполне может стать полигоном для новых решений генерирующих технологий, которые в Европейской части РФ не привлекательны в силу экономических причин. Ведь в Арктике альтернатива стоит гораздо дороже - тоже дизельное топливо, например. И то, что делается для развития малых ГЭС, малых АЭС, приливной, геотермальной энергетики – это тот полигон, где новые решения могут быть опробованы для дальнейшего тиражирования во всей стране — Порядин Антон, Партнер, руководитель, EY-Parthenon в СНГ; со-руководитель энергетического сектора, EY-Parthenon в Европе.

Российская Федерация реализует проект создания первой в Арктике научной станции «Снежинка», которая будет действовать на возобновляемых источниках энергии на двух площадках в Ямало-Ненецком автономном округе и Мурманской области. Это будет центр отработки передовых технологий, который будет интегрировать лучшие решения. То есть мы видим, как Арктический регион становится зоной опережающего развития и лабораторией для тестирования и внедрения новых и важных для всего мира технологий — Корчунов Николай, Посол по особым поручениям Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации.

Проблемы
Глобальное потепления ведет к ускоренному изменению климата в Арктике

Есть такой парадокс: основной вклад в глобальное потепление, как мы знаем, формируют три страны – США, Китай и Индия, а в российской Арктике из-за повышения температуры растепляются многолетние мерзлые грунты и освобождается такой газ как метан. И в этой ситуации общестрановой углеродный след России за счет Арктики может расти. Получается, что растепляют одни, а углеродный налог должны платить другие — Грачев Андрей, Вице-президент по федеральным и региональным программам, ПАО «ГМК Норильский никель».

Арктическая зона имеет на сегодня более быстрые темпы потепления. Конечно, чтобы достичь углеродной нейтральности нужен специальный подход, нужны специальные инструменты, просчитанная программа. Видимо, все это предстоит сделать в ближайшее время — Синюгин Вячеслав, Заместитель генерального директора по цифровой трансформации и энергетическим проектам АО «Зарубежнефть».

Россия отстает от стран Европы в переходе к углеродной нейтральности и внедрении конкретных инструментов для достижения этой цели

Доля возобновляемой энергии в мировом энергобалансе растет каждый день, и в таких европейских странах, как Швеция и Дания, она превышает 60%, в Германии – порядка половины. В России сегодня – менее 2%, хотя потенциал в Арктике огромный, и мы видим, что в последние годы многое делается для этого — Абисалов Сослан, Директор Департамента развития инфраструктуры Министерства Российской Федерации по развитию Дальнего Востока и Арктики.

В последние пару лет в России началось активное развитие повестки по снижению углеродного следа. Это очень правильный вектор. Но не хватает конкретных инструментов, которые бы позволили это сделать. В первую очередь, в России не хватает системы квотирования выбросов CO2 и критерия цены на углерод - это тот элемент уравнения, который в России пока отсутствует. Без внедрения цены на углерод проекты в этой отрасли не будут окупаемы — Боровиков Дмитрий, Вице-президент по стратегии, управлению производственным портфелем и трейдингом, ПАО «Фортум».

Решения
Развитие Северного морского пути будет способствовать переходу к углеродной нейтральности

Мы должны с точки зрения антропологической нагрузки проецировать на цели Парижского соглашения те проекты, которые развиваются в области устойчивого судоходства, и те, которые есть у Росатома. Это, прежде всего, ледоколы с атомными установками, низкоэмиссионными. И углеродный след при задействовании Северного морского пути будет значительно меньше, чем у альтернативных трасс — Корчунов Николай, Посол по особым поручениям Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации.

В перспективе, наверное, возможно, что Северный морской путь, который будет одним из основных катализаторов развития Арктики, станет использовать только сжиженный природный газ (СПГ). Переход на СПГ позволит значительно снизить антропогенное воздействие и экологический след в Арктике. Считаю, что Северный морской путь должен стать «зеленой» ниткой, которая проходит по Арктике и вокруг которой выстраиваются многие правильные идеи природоохранной тематики — Горшков Дмитрий, Директор, Всемирный фонд дикой природы в России.

Промышленные предприятия должны участвовать в улучшении экологической обстановки в Арктике

Мы видим большой запрос индустриальных предприятий, которые находятся в Арктической зоне, по «озеленению» своего энергопотребления. И мы видим большие перспективы по созданию мощностей возобновляемой энергетики именно в Арктике, потому что там много факторов сходятся воедино – это, безусловно, и забота об экологии, и необходимость обеспечения удаленных территорий, и спрос на создание новых промышленных кластеров, которые нужно запитать электроэнергией — Боровиков Дмитрий, Вице-президент по стратегии, управлению производственным портфелем и трейдингом, ПАО «Фортум».

Компания «Норильский никель» приняла стратегию в области экологии и изменения климата. Это серьезная программа, общий бюджет которой – 686 млрд рублей. <…> В активной стадии развития у нас и так называемая серная программа, которая позволит нам к 2025 году снизить выбросы в Норильском промышленном районе на 95% по сравнению 2015 годом. Общий объем инвестиций в нашу серную программу составит 250 млрд рублей — Грачев Андрей, Вице-президент по федеральным и региональным программам, ПАО «ГМК Норильский никель».

Необходима совместная работа бизнеса, финансовых институтов и регулятора с фокусом на долгосрочную ценность для общества и страны. Задача государства - стимулирование ответственного инвестирования в технологии, находящиеся на незрелых этапах, в инфраструктуру, в отрасли потребления, в законодательные инициативы. <...> Здесь государственно-частное партнерство является очень приемлемой формой — Порядин Антон, Партнер, руководитель, EY-Parthenon в СНГ; со-руководитель энергетического сектора, EY-Parthenon в Европе.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС