A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Science and Innovation: Risks in the Name of Development
3 September 2021
12:30—14:00
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Russia has successfully encouraged scientific development; however, care must be taken not to lose ground

The Far East is a region of particular interest to us, as it is not only becoming a leader in terms of economic growth, but also in terms of scientific development — Alexander Sergeev, President, Russian Academy of Sciences.

In my opinion, Russian companies have rather successfully advanced in the applied sectors, such as green technology, digitalizing companies, and making production facilities more economically, environmentally, and energy efficient. They have also advanced in developing materials for use in extreme conditions, which is of more relevance to us — Dmitriy Pumpyanskiy, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Tube Metallurgical Company (TMK); President, Sinara Group.

We have talented people and excellent science and engineering schools. These people are capable of developing new aircraft and rockets. However, we need to see a major change to the funding situation, because in another 10–12 years, this will not be the case, and we will lose in the scientific and technological race — Andrey Klepach, Chief Economist, VEB.RF.

ISSUES
Powerful competitors benefitting from substantial funding for the sciences

China has made a huge leap forward. I remember how in the mid-1990s our scientist colleagues from China came to Russia to purchase equipment. And now we’ve arrived at a point where such a scenario would be unthinkable. That happened over the course of just 15 years. First, the country became economically rich without having a particularly strong scientific base. Then, as time went on, so more was invested into science. There was an understanding that it would be impossible to advance further without developing their own scientific sector. Now, China is planning to become the world’s leading scientific power by 2035 — Alexander Sergeev, President, Russian Academy of Sciences.

China’s 14th Five-Year Plan includes a target of a 7% average annual increase in spending on science. And this year, spending on fundamental research in China increased by 10% in comparison to last year. In South Korea, 10% of GDP is spent on science. We spend just a fraction of this, and need to spend more. That said, we do have one unique advantage – our fundamental mathematical and engineering schools. So, instead of coming here and buying equipment, as they used to, people in China are luring away people and ideas. It is therefore very important to support scientists and engineers so that we don’t lose them. We need science to be viewed as a prestigious and lucrative profession in Russia, and we need scientists to come here, rather than leave the country. Unfortunately, the wave of outward migration is beginning to grow — Alexander Sergeev, President, Russian Academy of Sciences.

The government has announced a whole range of strategic initiatives, encompassing a number of project benchmarks. These include autonomous vehicles, and strategic initiatives in hydrogen power and nuclear energy. There are some very ambitious scientific objectives, but they require a completely different level of funding. In my opinion, there is huge demand for the government to substantially increase spending on the fundamental sciences — Andrey Klepach, Chief Economist, VEB.RF.

Slow implementation of new technologies

The times are changing, as are forms of management. Tools designed to improve efficiency are changing, and we are implementing lean technologies at companies across the country. However, this was something which was thought up 60 years ago in post-war Japan. Is it possible to create something new? — Maxim Protasov, Head, Russian Quality System (Roskachestvo).

A law on organic farming was adopted just a year ago. Our scientific potential may now enable us to move forward at a faster rate in this area. Yes, we are 38 years behind, but now we have the potential to cultivate green, organic products — Maxim Protasov, Head, Russian Quality System (Roskachestvo).

SOLUTIONS
Commercializing developments and attracting resources from the private sector

We are destined to work together with our neighbours. It would be virtually impossible to develop the innovative science sector without China, South Korea, Japan, and Singapore. However, when working together, we must learn from our neighbours and study what they are good at – turning knowledge into technology, and technology into a product — Alexander Sergeev, President, Russian Academy of Sciences.

The biggest risk is having excellent plans and strategic goals, and then not realizing them. This is not so much a danger to the fundamental sciences, because in recent years salaries have increased, and universities have begun to conduct research. For the applied sciences though, the situation is far riskier and more difficult. Businesses have begun to invest in new technology, and not only in traditional areas, but also in hydrogen cells for rail and road transport. On the part of VEB, this work is also being done at Rusnano and Skolkovo — Andrey Klepach, Chief Economist, VEB.RF.

Implementing new technologies and management initiatives

The main innovation today, and the thing that could lead to a growth in GDP, is the potential to move over to digital platforms. Primarily, these are digital material science platforms – everything connected to designing new materials and using them at the heart of new constructions. If we are able to do this today, then will see a 1.5–2% increase in GDP on account of the construction and mechanical engineering sectors alone. The risk which we are seeing today is connected to the lack of a Russian engineering platform. We do not have software for heavy industry. The faster we develop this, the faster we will be able to secure our independence and increase GDP — Vladimir Nelyub, Director, Center for National Technology Initiative, Bauman Moscow State Technical University.

Management is one of the key risks. The prevailing idea is to attempt to control everything. Everything is built upon a suspicion that the money will not get to where it’s needed, and tasks will remain unfulfilled. The planning timeframe is a year – sometimes less. It is impossible to create something in these circumstances, particularly something risky that might break new ground. Progress is made not thanks to these factors, but in spite of them. We need to have long-term plans and benchmarks in place, and not try to live from one day to the next — Andrey Klepach, Chief Economist, VEB.RF.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 160 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Наука и инновации: риски во имя развития
3 сентября 2021
12:30—14:00
Ключевые выводы
России удается создавать условия для развития науки, но достигнутые позиции могут быть утрачены

Дальневосточный регион особенно интересен для нас, поскольку он становится лидером не только по динамике экономического развития, он становится лидером и по динамике научного развития — Сергеев Александр, Президент, Российская академия наук.

Российские компании в последние годы, по-моему, достаточно успешно продвинулись в прикладных сферах, таких как зеленые технологии, цифровизация предприятий, повышение экономической, экологической и энергетической эффективности производств. Продвинулись также и в разработке — что ближе к нам — материалов и технологий для эксплуатации в экстремальных условиях — Пумпянский Дмитрий, Председатель совета директоров, ПАО «ТМК»; президент, АО Группа Синара.

У нас все-таки талантливый народ, есть мощные школы — и научная, и инженерная. Они в состоянии разработать новые самолеты и ракеты. Но нам надо кардинально менять ситуацию с финансированием, потому что, еще 10– 12 лет — и этого не будет, мы проиграем научно-технологическую гонку — Клепач Андрей, Главный экономист, ВЭБ.РФ.

Проблемы
Наличие сильных конкурентов с большим финансированием науки

Китай сделал огромный рывок. Я помню в середине 1990-х годов наши китайские коллеги-ученые ездили к нам в Россию и закупали у нас оборудование. Но сейчас мы пришли к ситуации, когда никому даже в голову не придет, что Китай приедет в Россию закупать научное оборудование. Это случилось за 15 лет. Страна сначала стала богатой экономически, не имея сильной науки у себя, а сейчас — чем дальше, тем больше — вкладывается в науку, понимая, что дальнейшее продвижение без своей науки уже невозможно. Китай к 2035 году планирует стать научной державой № 1 — Сергеев Александр, Президент, Российская академия наук.

На 14-ю пятилетку в Китае в среднем предполагается годовой рост вложений в науку в 7%, а в этом году финансирование фундаментальных исследований в Китае в сравнении с прошлым годом выросло на 10%. В Корее на науку тратят 10% ВВП. Мы тратим в разы меньше, и надо тратить больше, но у нас есть уникальное преимущество — наши фундаментальные школы, математическая, инженерные. Поэтому если раньше китайцы приезжали и покупали оборудование, то сейчас они переманивают людей и идеи. И здесь очень важно создать условия для ученых, для инженеров, чтобы мы не потеряли их. Чтобы быть ученым в России было и престижно, и выгодно, и чтобы к нам ехали ученые, а не от нас. Потому что сейчас миграционная волна, к сожалению, начала возрастать — Сергеев Александр, Президент, Российская академия наук.

Правительство заявило целый ряд стратегических инициатив, с проектными маяками. Это беспилотное движение, есть стратегические инициативы и в водородной энергетике, атомной энергетике. Есть очень серьезные научные задачи, но они требуют совершенно другого уровня финансирования. На мой взгляд, есть огромный запрос на то, чтобы само государство все-таки существенно увеличило финансирование фундаментальной науки — Клепач Андрей, Главный экономист, ВЭБ.РФ.

Низкая скорость внедрения новых технологий

Времена меняются, и формы управления меняются. Инструменты повышения эффективности меняются, а мы внедряем „Бережливые технологии“ на предприятиях страны. Но это было 60 лет назад придумано в послевоенной Японии. Можно ли создать что-то новое? — Протасов Максим, Руководитель, АНО «Российская система качества» (Роскачество).

Мы только год назад приняли закон об органическом сельском хозяйстве. Здесь научный потенциал может позволить нам побежать быстрее. Да, мы отстали на 38 лет, но здесь мы имеем потенциал для выращивания такой „зеленой“ органической продукции», — руководитель, АНО «Российская система качества — Протасов Максим, Руководитель, АНО «Российская система качества» (Роскачество).

Решения
Коммерциализация разработок и привлечение ресурсов бизнеса

Мы обречены на сотрудничество с нашими соседями здесь, без Китая, без Кореи, без Японии, Сингапура развивать высокую науку практически невозможно. Но мы должны, сотрудничая, учиться у наших соседей тому, что они хорошо умеют — превращать знания в технологии, а технологии — в товар — Сергеев Александр, Президент, Российская академия наук.

Самый большой риск в том, что у нас очень хорошие планы и стратегические цели, но мы их не реализовываем. И это особенно угрожающе даже не столько фундаментальной науке — потому что здесь за последние годы и подняли уровень заработной платы, и вузы начали исследования. Для прикладной науки ситуация намного более рискованная и сложная. Бизнес начал вкладываться в новые технологии и не только традиционные, но и связанные с водородными элементами для железнодорожного транспорта, для автомобильного транспорта. Со стороны ВЭБ такого работы ведутся и в Роснано, и в Сколково — Клепач Андрей, Главный экономист, ВЭБ.РФ.

Внедрение новых технологических и управленческих инициатив

Самая главная инновация сегодня и то, что может увеличить ВВП, — это возможность перехода на цифровые платформы. Прежде всего, платформы цифрового материаловедения, всего, что связано с проектированием, новыми материалами и созданием на их основе конструкций. Если мы это сможем сделать сегодня, то только в строительстве и машиностроении это даст прирост ВВП на примерно 1,5-2%. Риск, который сейчас возник, связан с отсутствием отечественной инженерной платформы, у нас нет инженерного тяжелого программного обеспечения. И чем быстрее мы его сделаем, тем быстрее сможем обеспечить свою независимость и прирост ВВП — Нелюб Владимир, Директор, Центр национальной технологической инициативы, ФГБОУ ВО «Московский государственный технический университет имени Н.Э.Баумана».

Один из ключевых рисков — управленческий. У нас доминантой является попытка все контролировать, у нас все строится на недоверии, что деньги пойдут не туда, все будет не выполнено. Горизонт планирования — год, а то и меньше. В этих условиях что-то созидать, тем более рискованное и прорывное — невозможно. Это не благодаря, а вопреки. Должны быть долгосрочные планы, ориентиры, а не попытка жить одним днем — Клепач Андрей, Главный экономист, ВЭБ.РФ.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС