A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Russia’s Forest at a Crossroads: What’s Next?
2 September 2021
15:00—16:30
KEY CONCLUSIONS
The ban on the export of low-grade timber has had a mixed effect on the development of forestry companies

The volume of logging has decreased over the past three years. At the same time, the volume of processed sawn timber has increased by 7.5%, which in a certain way has had a both positive and negative impact on the situation — Anatoliy Bobrakov, Deputy Minister of the Russian Federation for the Development of the Far East and the Arctic.

Indeed, over three years we completed a kind of first stage, when timber was handed over in exchange for investment, and now it is already possible to calculate economically what this led to [...] I think in the East this led to a sharp imbalance because not all the forest has been leased [...] while the forest that has been leased is also not all being used, and it’s clear that, having secured the annual allowable cutting rate, entrepreneurs are forced to choose parts and build roads in parts. These are always short-term solutions based on under market volatility — Oleg Bocharov, Deputy Minister of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation.

It would be impossible to say unequivocally that the expectations about the threat of a ban on the export of round timber has not affected the current investment processes. Everyone knows how to count money, and everyone adapts — Oleg Bocharov, Deputy Minister of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation.

We aren’t seeing a reduction in the labour force or a massive layoff. I wouldn’t make a tragedy out of this — Oleg Bocharov, Deputy Minister of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation.

Low-grade timber needs to be exported until a sufficient number of processing plants are built

In the absence of infrastructure and processing capacity, the ban on exports [of low-grade timber] is having a, shall we say, drastic impact on the economy [...] Of course, the absence of a sorter in the Far East [...] is imposing specific features on the region. We can’t send this wood anywhere except for export — Konstantin Lashkevich, Chief Executive Officer, RFP Group.

ISSUES
A lack of infrastructure is hindering the industrial development of logging areas

What challenge are we seeing in this regard? We understand that today the annual allowable cutting rate [...] is not accessible for industrial development. A lack of infrastructure, forest roads in particular, prevents entrepreneurs and loggers from developing the wood that could be harvested. As the Ministry of Development, we are particularly interested in the resource that exists in the Far East today [...] being used as much as possible in economic growth — Anatoliy Bobrakov, Deputy Minister of the Russian Federation for the Development of the Far East and the Arctic.

We need certain conditions. What does that mean for our company? It’s either the existence of an annual allowable cutting rate [...]. We are ready to build forest roads ourselves [...] What do we need from the state [...] if we are going to develop the production of pellets, biofuel, and anything else in the Far East. We need shipping terminals. If we don’t have them, then there will be no logical conclusion to production — Nikolay Ivanov, Managing Director, Segezha Group.

Not every business can independently ensure infrastructure due to high costs. Partners and investors are needed

Given the high costs of building [forest roads], we understand that timbermen won’t be able to do this on their own. They will not be able to put these costs on their business plan, — Anatoliy Bobrakov, Deputy Minister of the Russian Federation for the Development of the Far East and the Arctic.

We only see the successful projects in the Far East as the ones that have partners [...] Where are the companies now that went into investment projects without investors? — Konstantin Lashkevich, Chief Executive Officer, RFP Group.

The absence of centres to process low-grade wood requires attracting partners to the business since there is not enough government support

There are three vectors that need to be urgently addressed. The first is for timber processing companies to nevertheless find a solution and enable this low-grade wood to be exported for a period of 3–5 years because we have to produce it [...] The second is to make a favourable decision so that we can attract serious foreign partners to our business because serious investment resources are needed [...] Also, appealing to the Ministry of Industry and Trade, I would very much like the Industrial Development Fund to have a chance to help develop centres for the processing of low-grade wood so that programmes are instituted not for five hundred million, not for two billion, but for around ten billion roubles because this would create a solution — Konstantin Lashkevich, Chief Executive Officer, RFP Group.

SOLUTIONS
Get investors and the state involved in building the infrastructure needed for the timber industry

Today, we are working on creating a mechanism via which we could introduce into commerce a resource that is not available to loggers today. To enable investors to build forest roads [...] we are working out a mechanism via which the state would reimburse the cost of forest roads, while increasing the forest lease rate within the term of the lease agreement with the consent of such an investor, — Anatoliy Bobrakov, Deputy Minister of the Russian Federation for the Development of the Far East and the Arctic.

Indeed, this is where the state’s role should be [...] Let’s understand to what extent business cannot provide investments, and the state should support it. Obviously, this includes warehouses and transhipment assembly points — Oleg Bocharov, Deputy Minister of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation.

As for our support measures, you all know that we are actively developing the Industrial Development Fund. I think that this is the most honest and fair instrument to access medium and long-term financial resources at reduced rates — Oleg Bocharov, Deputy Minister of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation.

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 160 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Лес России на распутье. Что дальше?
2 сентября 2021
15:00—16:30
Ключевые выводы
Запрет на экспорт низкосортной древесины неоднозначно сказался на развитии компаний лесопромышленного комплекса

За последние три года объемы лесозаготовки снизились. При этом объемы обработанного пиломатериала увеличились на 7,5%, что в принципе, неким образом, с одной стороны, позитивно, с другой стороны, негативно характеризует ситуацию — Бобраков Анатолий, Заместитель Министра Российской Федерации по развитию Дальнего Востока и Арктики.

Мы, действительно, за три года закончили некоторый первый этап, когда лес сдавали в обмен на инвестиции, и сейчас уже можно экономически просчитать, к чему это привело <...> Мне кажется, на Востоке это привело к резкому дисбалансу, потому что не весь лес арендован <...> при этом тот лес, который арендован, тоже используется не весь, и видно, что, закрепив за собой расчетную лесосеку, предприниматель вынужден выбирать частями, строить дороги частями. Это всегда сиюминутные решения под волатильностью рынка — Бочаров Олег, Заместитель Министра промышленности и торговли Российской Федерации.

Однозначно заявить о том, что ожидания угрозы запрета вывоза кругляка не повлияли на уже текущие процессы инвестиций, нельзя. Все умеют считать деньги, все адаптируются — Бочаров Олег, Заместитель Министра промышленности и торговли Российской Федерации.

Мы не видим с вами сокращения рабочей силы, массового выброса, я бы не создавал из этого трагедию — Бочаров Олег, Заместитель Министра промышленности и торговли Российской Федерации.

Экспорт низкосортной древесины необходим до тех пор, пока не будет создано достаточное число перерабатывающих заводов

Запрет экспорта (низкотоварной древесины — прим. ред.) при отсутствии инфраструктуры, при отсутствии мощностей по переработке бьет по экономике, скажем так, разительно <...> Безусловно, отсутствие утилизатора на Дальнем Востоке <...> накладывает специфику на регион. Мы не можем никуда эту древесину деть, кроме как на экспорт — Лашкевич Константин, Генеральный директор, ООО УК «РФП Групп».

Проблемы
Недостаток инфраструктуры препятствует промышленному освоению лесосеки

В чем мы видим в этой части вызов? Мы понимаем, что сегодня расчетная лесосека <...> недоступна для промышленного освоения. Отсутствие инфраструктуры, лесных дорог, в частности, не дает возможности предпринимателям, лесозаготовителям осваивать ту древесину, которая могла бы быть освоена. Мы, как министерство развития, особенно заинтересованы в том, чтобы тот ресурс, который сегодня есть на Дальнем Востоке <...> был максимально задействован в экономическом росте — Бобраков Анатолий, Заместитель Министра Российской Федерации по развитию Дальнего Востока и Арктики.

Нужны определенные условия. Что это для нашей компании? Это либо наличие расчетной лесосеки <...>, лесные дороги мы готовы строить сами <...> Что от государства нужно <...> если мы собираемся развивать производство пеллет, биотоплива, чего угодно на Дальнем Востоке, нам нужны отгрузочные терминалы. Если их не будет, то производство не будет иметь логического завершения — Иванов Николай, Управляющий директор, Сегежа Групп.

Не каждый бизнес может самостоятельно обеспечить инфраструктуру из-за высокой затратности. Нужны партнеры и инвесторы.

С учетом высоких затрат на их (лесных дорог — прим. ред.) создание, мы понимаем, что лесопромышленники самостоятельно это сделать не смогут, не смогут положить эти затраты на свой бизнес-план — Бобраков Анатолий, Заместитель Министра Российской Федерации по развитию Дальнего Востока и Арктики.

Из успешных проектов на Дальнем Востоке мы их видим только там, где есть партнеры ... Компании, которые без инвесторов пошли в инвестиционные проекты, где они сейчас? — Лашкевич Константин, Генеральный директор, ООО УК «РФП Групп».

Отсутствие центров переработки низкосортной древесины вынуждает привлекать партнеров в бизнес, так как государственной поддержки не хватает

Есть три вектора, которые надо срочно решать. Первый — для лесоперерабатывающих компаний все-таки найти решение, дать возможность эту низкосортную древесину на срок 3-5 лет экспортировать, потому что мы не можем ее не производить ... Второе — принять положительное решение о том, чтобы мы могли привлечь серьезных иностранных партнеров в наш бизнес, потому что требуются серьезные инвестиционные ресурсы ... Также, обращаясь к Минпромторгу, очень хотелось бы, чтобы у Фонда развития промышленности появилась возможность помочь развить центры переработки низкосортной древесины, и чтобы появились программы не на пятьсот миллионов, не на два миллиарда, а примерно на десять миллиардов рублей <...> потому что это нашло бы решение — Лашкевич Константин, Генеральный директор, ООО УК «РФП Групп».

Решения
Привлечение инвесторов и государства для строительства инфраструктуры, необходимой лесопромышленному сектору

Мы сегодня прорабатываем создание механизма, при котором мы могли бы тот ресурс, который сегодня недоступен для лесозаготовителей, ввести в хозяйственный оборот. Дать возможность инвесторам строить лесные дороги. <...> прорабатываем тот механизм, при котором государство возмещало бы стоимость лесных дорог, при этом с согласия такого инвестора на увеличение арендной ставки за лес в пределах срока действия арендного договора — Бобраков Анатолий, Заместитель Министра Российской Федерации по развитию Дальнего Востока и Арктики.

Вот, где, действительно, должна быть роль государства <...> давайте поймем, в какой части бизнес не сможет обеспечить инвестиции, и государство должно поддержать. Очевидно, это склады, перевалочные сборочные пункты — Бочаров Олег, Заместитель Министра промышленности и торговли Российской Федерации.

Что касается наших мер поддержки, вы все знаете, что мы активно развиваем Фонд развития промышленности. Мне кажется, это самый честный и самый справедливый инструмент, по сниженным ставкам доступ к средне- и долгосрочным финансовым ресурсам — Бочаров Олег, Заместитель Министра промышленности и торговли Российской Федерации.