A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 126 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
27.03.2020

Problems and risks of loan financing for housing construction

Increase in housing construction

The Bank of Russia has published an analytical note where it assesses the feasibility of a massive increase in housing construction and studies problems, risks, and possible consequences of such an expansion in construction capacities. The Housing and Urban Environment national project stipulates an increase in housing construction to 120 million square meters per year by 2024, including 80 million square meters in apartment buildings per year, of which 53 million square meters per year must be financed by mortgage lending.

The authors of the publication point out that such a rapid growth in the sector means that investment in housing construction will have to be increased to 3.0% of GDP in 2024. Meanwhile, the highest ever value of this indicator (2.9% of GDP) was observed during the construction boom in 2008 and brought about a range of financial problems. This is why, to assess the possibility of attaining the 3% figure, it is essential to do an all-round analysis of demand and supply on the housing market, as well as of the factors that affect them.

Supply-related constraints in construction

When analysing the supply on the construction market, the authors single out low creditworthiness of the sector as one of the key problems in the process of transition to project financing. For example, according to DOM.RF, only 64% of projects would qualify for receiving bank financing, while others have either a «low» or a «satisfactory» level of creditworthiness. The publication stresses the importance of arranging a fast and painless exit from the market for a large number of inefficient and insolvent construction companies (which means that it will be necessary to finish the construction projects they have started). Also, sufficient financing (including bank financing) will have to be provided to solvent developers after the transition to escrow accounts.

Demand-related constraints in construction

The authors state that demand-related constraints in the sector stem from the level of the need for housing conditions improvement, the current housing demand structure, and the availability of financial resources for this. A mismatch between supply and demand is fraught with potential problems for the market — either a rapid growth of housing prices (if demand exceeds supply) or a drop in prices (if demand is insufficient).

Therefore, the authors single out a number of factors for a steady growth in the mortgage lending market. These factors will mitigate financial risks for both banking institutions and the public. They are:

1) a steady growth in household income;
2) redistribution of debt load of the population from non-mortgage to mortgage loans;
3) a greater average life cycle of mortgage loans;
4) lower loan rates.

Trends on the housing construction market

The analytical note also reviews a number of trends which indicate that the planned increase in housing construction is fraught with risks, so the growth rates might turn out to be lower than expected. These trends include limited construction capacities, a lag between new housing supply and mortgage programs development in some regions, and a decrease in housing commissioning despite the mortgage development. In 2018, for example, housing commissioning volume was 75.3 million square meters, which is 4.9% less than in 2017, and 6.1% less than in 2016. This resulted from a decrease in commissioning of apartment buildings and individual houses.

Conclusions

The authors conclude that to overcome the constraints in demand and supply it is necessary to develop a set of measures aimed at the following:

  • rehabilitating the construction sector and improving its financial and credit stability;
  • reducing regulatory load and simplifying access to infrastructure;
  • adopting a structural policy in demand;
  • improving the investment climate.

Analytics on the topic

Cоциально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, спортивных, общественных мероприятий и событий в области культуры

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, спортивных и общественных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие с 126 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 69 странах мира.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
27.03.2020

Проблемы и риски кредитного финансирования жилищного строительства

Увеличение объёмов жилищного строительства

Банк России подготовил аналитическую записку, в которой оценивается возможность масштабного увеличения объёмов жилищного строительства, а также проблемы, риски и последствия, к которым может привести подобное нарастание строительных мощностей. Так, в национальном проекте «Жильё и городская среда» предусмотрено увеличение объёмов жилищного строительства до 120 млн кв. м к 2024 г., в том числе 80 млн кв. м в многоквартирных домах, из которых 53 млн кв. м должно быть профинансировано за счёт ипотечных кредитов.

В исследовании отмечается, что такие темпы развития отрасли подразумевают рост инвестиций в жилищное строительство до 3,0% от ВВП в 2024 году. При этом максимальное значение данного показателя (2,9% от ВВП) было зафиксировано во время строительного бума в 2008 году, что повлекло за собой ряд финансовых проблем. В связи с этим для оценки потенциала увеличения данного показателя до 3% от ВВП необходим комплексный анализ спроса и предложения на рынке жилья, а также факторов, влияющих на их изменение.

Ограничения строительства, связанные с предложением на рынке

Характеризуя предложение на рынке, авторы выделяют низкую кредитоспособность строительной отрасли как одну из ключевых проблем при переходе на проектную модель финансирования. Так, по данным ДОМ.РФ, только 64% проектов могли бы претендовать на получение банковского финансирования, остальные имеют «слабый» либо «удовлетворительный» уровень кредитоспособности. В исследовании отмечается важность обеспечения безболезненного и быстрого ухода с рынка большого количества неэффективных и финансово несостоятельных строительных компаний (что включает достройку начатых ими жилищных объектов), а также обеспечения достаточным финансированием (в том числе банковским) финансово состоятельных застройщиков после перехода на эскроу-счета.

Ограничения строительства, связанные со спросом на рынке

Авторы утверждают, что ограничения со стороны спроса вытекают из объёма потребности в улучшении жилищных условий, структуры спроса на жильё и из наличия финансовых ресурсов для этого, а неувязка предложения со спросом чревата последствиями для рынка: либо быстрым ростом цен на жильё (если спрос значительно превысит предложение), либо падением цен (если спрос на построенное жильё не будет достаточным).

Таким образом, авторы выделяют ряд факторов устойчивого роста ипотечного рынка, снижающего финансовые риски как для банковских институтов, так и для населения:

1) устойчивый рост доходов населения;
2) перераспределение долговой нагрузки населения от неипотечных кредитов к ипотечным;
3) увеличение среднего срока жизни ипотечного кредита;
4) снижение кредитных ставок.

Тенденции рынка жилищного строительства

В аналитической записке также оценивается ряд тенденций, которые указывают на наличие рисков для увеличения темпов роста жилищного строительства, которые в перспективе могут оказаться более умеренными в сравнении с запланированными. Среди таких рисков: ограниченность мощностей в строительстве, отставание предложения нового жилья от развития ипотеки в ряде регионов, а также снижение объёмов ввода жилья, несмотря на развитие ипотеки. Так, в 2018 г. было введено 75,3 млн кв. м жилья, что на 4,9% меньше, чем в 2017 г., и на 6,1% меньше, чем в 2016 году. Это стало результатом снижения ввода в эксплуатацию многоквартирных домов и индивидуального жилья.

Выводы

Авторы исследования пришли к выводу о том, что для преодоления данных ограничений в области спроса и предложения необходимо разработать ряд мер, предусматривающих:

• оздоровление строительной отрасли и повышение её финансовой и кредитной стабильности;
• уменьшение регуляторной нагрузки и облегчение доступа к инфраструктуре;
• реализацию структурной политики в области спроса;
• улучшение инвестиционного климата.


Аналитика на тему