A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 2,500 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 122 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Article
22.05.2018

Kaizen in the garage

DENIS DOBRYAKOV,
28 years old.
WHAT: Artskills. A service that provides personalized gifts and souvenirs.
SCALE: Annual revenue: 100 million roubles. Average profit margin: 60%. Order volume: up to 4,000 gifts per day.
STARTUP: A garage, a laptop, and a second-hand photo printer.
CREDO: «In order to achieve something, you first need to learn something.»

Denis Dobryakov jokingly calls his business development model «tormented entrepreneurship»: the business grows every time it faces a new problem that must be overcome. Everything started with a problem. As a college student, Denis wanted to surprise his girlfriend, but he didn’t have any money. So he found an empty box from an iron, pasted rose petals on it, and put a beautiful candle inside it. He succeeded in making an impression (the girl later became his wife). Dobryakov realized that people value the impression a gift makes over what it cost. And so he decided to go into the business of creating emotions. This is now the mission of his company, which can be read as you enter the Artskills office.

His father said: «Don’t waste your time with this nonsense. Find a normal job.» Denis locked himself in the garage where he printed labels for wedding champagne and collected wall clocks with original faces. Together with his friend Sasha Tunikov, he launched a website promising to create unique gifts that could not be found anywhere else. Where they were not able to fulfil a customer’s request by making something themselves, they looked for suppliers. One day, they received an order for a gift for the Vice President of Rosneft: the solution was to present him with a bottle of whisky featuring a special gold engraved label.

Dobryakov managed to earn up to 20,000 roubles per month, providing a noticeable boost to his student grant. Finally, he graduated from Moscow Technological University (MIREA). He was now faced with the question: what next?

One day, Dobryakov shared his fascinating idea with his classmate, Artem Kudinov, over a beer. As a result, he recruited Kudinov as marketing director, and the company then brought in a small amount of development money for the first time. Vladimir Tunikov joined the team as its third member. He was not just Sasha’s brother, but also a talented developer in his own right.

«Money and resources are always scarce, but they can be secured one way or another,» reasons the founder of Artskills as he runs his hand over a digital printer that costs as much as a Moscow apartment. When the company started receiving more than 20 orders per day, the partners realized that it was time to automate the creative process. In particular, it was time to buy online editing software that would allow customers to produce a personal design for their chosen gift option in just 60 seconds. They found a German company that developed such software, but it cost an insane amount of money: 100,000 еuro.

Without a euro cent to their name, Denis and his team flew to Berlin to negotiate in August 2012. The Germans liked the four upstarts from Russia. They offered a 50% discount, but they got the following answer: «No, we’d rather pay the full price, but in instalments over time, as interest on the profits of Artskills.» Dobryakov had proposed the same kind of business deal (help us earn money, and you will earn money too) when he decided to acquire a printing machine and a laser engraving machine. The business was able to enter a period of rapid growth as soon as it freed itself from being dependent on eternally unreliable suppliers.

The next problem for the tormented entrepreneurs to overcome was a crisis of their own incompetence. It turned out that Artskills was receiving more orders than its employees were able to fulfil. Time to overturn the existing operating model. Dobryakov and Tunikov began to delve into the science of production management. They bought all of the books on the Japanese Kaizen system that were available on Ozon.ru, and they began to implement lean manufacturing principles in their business. As a result, ‘Mikhalych’, a program for calculating production operations that is able to issue clear instructions about where to get certain items and where to send them down the entire production chain, from the warehouse to the packing table, became the latest addition to the Artskills team. As Dobryakov explains, «Lean production, in fact, is a never-ending process. I myself am committed to continuous development. If I go through a day without learning anything new, then I feel very uncomfortable.»

He now has everything he needs: equipment, ‘Mikhalych’, and energetic employees that represent a new historical phenomenon: part hipsters and part technologists. But there was just one more hiccup: the company’s production capacity could handle up to a billion roubles’ worth of orders per year, but current sales accounted for only 100 million roubles. In search of new knowledge, Dobryakov last year enrolled in the Moscow School of Management SKOLKOVO. There he got an idea: increase sales by turning personal souvenirs into business tools. He christened his idea ‘Gifts for Business’.

Denis describes how it works by way of an example. Representatives of a large bank recently paid a visit to Artskills. They wanted to sell a payroll service, but by the time they left they had signed a contract for gifts. As Denis explains, «We told them how it was possible to increase sales by strengthening loyalty through positive emotions. For example, you can present a personalized calendar, a pen featuring the client’s name and surname, or a board game during negotiations.»

Does Dobryakov have any big goals? He points to a plush unicorn sitting on the shelf. The unicorn is a business symbol. It stands for a company with capitalization of 1 billion dollars. When Denis raised capital during his first investment round at Skolkovo, his company was valued at 600 million roubles. That’s when his pursuit of unicorn status began.

Ivan Prosvetov, Laboratoriya Odnazhdy, special article for SPIEF MAGAZINE

Analytics on the topic

Рады вас видеть
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Необходимо ввести пароль Забыли пароль?
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Статья
21.05.2018
Кайдзен из гаража. Новые неудержимые

Денис Добряков, 28 лет
Компания Artskills. Сервис персонализированных подарков и сувениров.
Масштаб: Годовая выручка – 100 млн руб. Средняя маржинальность – 60%. Объем заказов – до 4 тыс. подарков в сутки.
Стартовые условия: Гараж, ноутбук и подержанный фотопринтер.
Кредо: «Чтобы чего-то достичь, нужно сперва чему-то научиться»

Свою модель развития Добряков в шутку называет «страдальческим предпринимательством» – бизнес растет каждый раз, когда сталкивается с очередной проблемой, которую нужно решить. Все и началось-то с проблемы. Студенту Денису хотелось удивить любимую девушку, а денег не было. Тогда он взял коробку из-под утюга, обклеил ее лепестками роз, положил внутрь красивую свечу. И произвел впечатление (девушка потом стала его женой). Так Добряков понял, что люди ценят не стоимость, а впечатления. И решил создавать эмоции. Теперь это корпоративная миссия, которую можно прочитать при входе в офис Artskills.

Отец говорил: «Не занимайся ерундой, ищи нормальную работу». Сын запирался в гараже и печатал этикетки для свадебного шампанского или собирал настенные часы с оригинальным циферблатом. Вместе с другом Сашей Туниковым запустил сайт, обещавший создавать подарки, какие нигде не найти. Если не получалось что-то изготовить самим, то искали поставщиков. Как-то раз «кассу сделал» заказ на подарок для вице-президента «Рос­нефти» – ему преподнесли виски в особой бутылке с золотой гравированной этикеткой. 
Добрякову удавалось зарабатывать до 20 тыс. руб. в месяц – более чем ощутимую прибавку к стипендии. Но вот диплом МИРЭА получен. И что делать дальше?

Однажды за бутылкой пива Добряков рассказал о заманчивой идее своему однокурснику – Артему Кудинову. Так в компании появился директор по маркетингу, а следом – первые небольшие деньги на развитие. Третьим членом команды стал Владимир Туников – не только родной брат Александра, но и талантливый разработчик. 

«Денег и ресурсов всегда не хватает, но их можно найти», – рассуждает основатель Artskills, поглаживая корпус цифровой печатной машины стоимостью с московскую квартиру. После того как число заказов превысило 20 в сутки, партнеры поняли, что креативный процесс пора роботизировать, а именно, купить онлайн-редактор, способный за минуту предложить клиенту персональный дизайн выбранного варианта подарка. Такой софт нашелся в Германии, но за бешеные деньги – 100 тыс. евро. 

В августе 2012 года Денис и его команда полетели в Берлин торговаться, не имея ни евроцента за душой. Немцам четверо выскочек из России понравились, они предложили скидку в 50%, но услышали в ответ: «Нет, мы лучше заплатим полную цену, но в рассрочку, в качестве процентов с прибылиArtskills». Эту же схему (помогите нам заработать, и тогда заработаете вы) Добряков применил, когда решил обзавестись печатной машиной и станком для лазерной гравировки. Как только исчезла зависимость от вечно нестабильных поставщиков, бизнес резко пошел в рост. 
Следующей проблемой «страдальческого предпринимательства» стал кризис собственной некомпетентности. Обнаружилось, что заказов Artskills поступает больше, чем ее сотрудники успевают выполнить. Засада. Добряков и Туников начали вгрызаться в науку управления производством. Скупили на «Озоне» все книги по системе кайдзен и начали внедрять у себя бережливое производство. В итоге к команде Artskills присоединился «Михалыч» – программа расчета производственных операций, при каждом заказе дающая четкие указания, что откуда взять и куда направить по всей цепочке, от склада до упаковочного стола. «Бережливое производство, по сути, процесс бесконечный, – говорит Добряков. – Я сам настроен на непрерывное развитие. Если за день не узнал ничего нового, то мне очень некомфортно». 

У него теперь было все, что нужно: оборудование, «Михалыч» и энергичные сотрудники, представляющие новую историческую формацию – что-то среднее между хипстерами и производственниками. Но оставалась одна «нестыковочка»: производственные мощности позволяют брать заказов на 1 млрд руб. в год, а загружены пока лишь на 100 млн. В поиске новых знаний Добряков в прошлом году пошел в школу управления «Сколково». Оттуда он вынес идею – превратить персональные сувениры в бизнес-инструменты и таким образом увеличить сбыт. Теперь это направление называется «Подарки для бизнеса».

Как это работает Денис рассказывает на одном примере. Недавно в Artskills приехали представители крупного банка. Они хотели продать зарплатный сервис, а в результате уехали, подписав контракт на изготовление подарков. «Мы подсказали им, как увеличить продажи, укрепив лояльность при помощи положительных эмоций, – объясняет Денис Добряков. – Например, вручить на переговорах именной календарь, ручку с именем и фамилией клиента или настольную игру». 

Есть ли у Добрякова большая цель? Он указывает на плюшевого единорога, стоящего на стеллаже. Единорог – это бизнес-символ, означает компанию с капитализацией 1 млрд. долл. Когда Денис поднял в «Сколково» свой первый раунд инвестиций, его компанию оценили в 600 млн. руб. Погоня за единорогом началась.

Иван Просветов, Лаборатория «Однажды», специально для ПМЭФ



Аналитика на тему