A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 126 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide Russia also cooperates with 92 Russian public organizations and 54 regional governments.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
08.02.2019

Russia’s economy: Preserving stability; Doubling growth; Halving poverty – How?

The report begins with a review of global economy in 2018. The World Bank analysts note that a weakening recovery in trade and manufacturing activities is weighing down global growth. A significant appreciation of the U.S. dollar in 2018 has contributed to significant depreciations and capital outflows in many EMDEs. On the global oil market — which is strategically important for Russia — increased production by main oil-producing countries is causing concerns that a supply shortfall might be followed by an oversupply. Notably, oil prices have risen in 2018 and remain volatile.

Analyzing the economic situation in Russia, the authors acknowledge that growth momentum in Russia increased in the first half of 2018, supported by robust global growth, rising oil prices and a macro policy framework that had promoted stability. However, growth slowed down in the third quarter of 2018 due to a weaker harvest, sluggish performances in manufacturing, etc. Like in most emerging markets, net capital outflows have increased, mainly driven by the sell-off of OFZ bonds and slump in incoming FDI. The Russian banking sector is relatively weak but remains stable. However, concentration and public dominance in the banking sector have increased even further. In the budget system, the funding of the «May Decree» goals put an impetus on revenue mobilization but increased fiscal risks. However, there is room to mobilize additional revenues.

Russia’s medium-term economic growth prospects remain modest, forecast by the World Bank economists at 1.5% to 1.8% for 2018–2020. Between 2014 and 2017, Russia’s non-energy export volume growth has been outpacing that of energy and contributing to export diversification. Yet Russia’s progress in export diversification is limited. However, measures that rein in macroeconomic volatility (such as flexible exchange rates and a renewed fiscal rule), together with improvements and achievements in human capital and infrastructure, will directly contribute to diversified growth.


An important element for inclusive and diversified economic growth is strong micro fundamentals. In 2018, Russia continued its efforts to enhance the regulatory environment for SMEs. On the whole, as the World Bank economists believe, the trinity of maintaining stability, doubling growth, and halving poverty can be completed. This will require measures to navigate an increasingly uncertain external environment, mobilize additional revenues, implement reforms that increase inward migration, boost investment, promote competition and develop human capital.


Release date
04.12.2018
Analytics on the topic

Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
04.12.2018
Экономика России: как сохранить стабильность, удвоить темпы роста и наполовину сократить бедность?

Начиная свой доклад с обзора развития мировой экономики в 2018 году, аналитики Группы Всемирного банка отмечают, что на темпы роста мировой экономики оказывало давление замедление процесса восстановления деловой активности в торговле и обрабатывающей промышленности. Также, в связи с укреплением американского доллара, в текущем году произошли значительное ослабление национальных валют и отток капитала во многих странах с развивающимся рынком и формирующейся экономикой. На стратегическом для России мировом рынке нефти увеличение объёмов добычи основными нефтедобывающими странами вызывает опасения по поводу того, что нехватка предложения может смениться его избытком, при том что цены на нефть в 2018 году уже повысились и остаются волатильными.

Анализируя экономическую ситуацию в России, авторы доклада признают, что увеличению темпов роста российской экономики в первой половине 2018 года способствовали уверенный рост мировой экономики, повышение цен на нефть и макроэкономическая политика, обеспечившая стабилизацию. Однако в третьем квартале 2018 года темпы роста снизились на фоне более низкого урожая, слабых показателей обрабатывающей промышленности и пр. Как и на основных развивающихся рынках, усилился чистый отток капитала, в основном обусловленный распродажей ОФЗ и снижением притока ПИИ. Российский банковский сектор относительно слаб, но остаётся стабильным, хотя степень его концентрации и доминирование государственных банков ещё больше увеличились. Что касается бюджета, то здесь стимулом для мобилизации доходов послужило финансирование целей, сформулированных в «майском указе» Президента РФ (что, однако, увеличивает бюджетные риски), а также существуют возможности для мобилизации дополнительного объёма доходов в будущем.

Перспективы экономического роста в России в среднесрочной перспективе (на 2018–2020 годы) остаются невысокими: прогнозные темпы роста, по мнению экономистов Группы Всемирного банка, составляют от 1,5% до 1,8%. Хотя в период с 2014 по 2017 годы рост российского экспорта, не связанного с энергоресурсами, опережал рост экспорта энергоресурсов, прогресс в диверсификации экспорта на сегодняшний день незначителен. Тем не менее, введение мер, ограничивающих волатильность макроэкономических условий (гибкий обменный курс и обновленное бюджетное правило), наличие положительной динамики и больших достижений в сфере человеческого капитала и инфраструктуры будут непосредственно способствовать диверсификации роста.


Наличие прочной микроэкономической основы — важный элемент всеобъемлющего и диверсифицированного роста экономики, и в России в 2018 году продолжали активно осуществляться меры, направленные на совершенствование регуляторных условий для МСП. В целом, как полагают экономисты Группы Всемирного банка, триединая задача сохранения стабильности, удвоения темпов роста и сокращения бедности вдвое может быть выполнена. Для этого необходимо будет справиться с возрастающей неопределённостью внешней среды, мобилизовать дополнительные доходы, провести реформы в сфере инвестиций, миграции и продолжать развивать конкуренцию и человеческий капитал.


Аналитика на тему