A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 129 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Expert opinion
19.06.2020

“I go 500 years into the future, where we might even have things right out of science fiction”

Michio Kaku is a professor of physics, co-founder of string field theory and world‑famous futurist. He has said that one day humans will achieve immortality, invent the time machine, and be able to teleport themselves. Science fiction? Perhaps for now, but these are views backed up by fundamental scientific knowledge. The renowned scientist was a guest at the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum in 2018, where he spoke at the session «The Future of the Mind. Michio Kaku» on the following topics:

Overcoming nature

The natural state of a human is hunger and life of 30 years. In its natural state, human life is rather short. How far do we want to walk away from this natural state?

The internet and teleportation

The Internet is going to change everything in the coming decades. It will eventually become a ’brainnet’. This is going to change entertainment, education, politics and our way of life, as soon as we are able to mentally communicate with the rest of the world. And then I go 500 years into the future, where we might even have perhaps time machines and teleportation, things right out of science fiction.

People and robots

Certain jobs will be eliminated. The jobs to be eliminated first are the repetitive jobs that require the same motions over and over again. Second, middlemen jobs such as brokers and low level accountants. But a lawyer cannot be replaced. So there are limitations to artificial intelligence. The first one, as I said, is interacting with humans, any jobs that require interaction with humans, where it is important to convey emotions, friendship. Second, pattern recognition, which the robots are very bad at. <...> In the future garbage men, plumbers and policemen will have jobs. And the second group is intellectual capital that possesses experience, know-how, creativity.

The decline of Silicon Valley

The age of silicone is gradually coming to an end, Silicone Valley has its days numbered. The principle of the computer revolution is simple: you get a template, shoot in ultraviolet radiation on a piece of silicone, and — boom —we have a chip. In the end, year after year the number of transistors on the crystal doubles, and the distance between them shrinks. Eventually, the spacing between these layers becomes about five atoms across.

Quantum technologies

The next step is molecular transistors and atomic transistors. <...> You can do a lot more computation on a quantum computer. I wouldn’t be surprised if all the secret services of the world are trying to learn quantum computers, because they can crack any known computer code almost for free.

Defeating cancer

Today we can put a chip in the computer inside a tablet that you can swallow like an aspirin pill. It can diagnose. This gives a new meaning to the expression «Intel Inside». <...> By analysing blood we can now detect one cancer cell in the blood out of a billion. And this technology is going to be commercialized this year. These are called Liquid Biopsies. The cells can be identified years before a tumour forms. In fact, in the future the word ‘tumour’ may disappear from your language.

Artificial organs

Organs can gradually be replaced. Today we can replace skin, bone, cartilage, noses, ears, blood vessels, heart valves, bladders, also wind pipes. And the next organ to be grown is the liver.

Recreating the brain

There were a few major projects in science: the Manhattan Project, which gave us nuclear energy; in the 80ies it was a genome project, which deciphered the human genome; many people today think that the third great initiative called a Human Connectome Project. The Connectome Project is to map the entire brain. And already, using the MRI scans, looking at the blood flow in the human brain we’ve been able to prove or disprove many theories of the brain.

Technology and art

We can now take the brain and pictorialize what it is thinking about, and have a 3D printer print it out. Every new technology gives us a new art form.

Immortality

There was a man who kicked the football initiating the World Cup games in Brazil. That man was totally paralyzed, he was a quadriplegic. At Duke University they put a chip in his brain, connected the chip to a complete exoskeleton, and he became like superman. So we are talking about a new era in brain-computer interface. <...> If we can digitalize the human brain we have a chance for digital immortality.

You can watch a full recording of the session here:

https://roscongress.org/en/sessions/budushchee-razuma-mitio-kaku/translation/


Release date
19.06.2020
Authors
Analytics on the topic

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие с 129 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 69 странах мира.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Экспертное мнение
19.06.2020

«Через 500 лет будет всё, о чем мы читали в фантастических романах»

Профессор физики, соавтор теории струн Митио Каку — один из самых ярких футурологов планеты. По его мнению, в будущем человечество достигнет бессмертия, изобретет машины времени и телепортацию. Фантастика? Но за ней стоят фундаментальные научные знания. Своими прогнозами известный ученый поделился с участниками Петербургского международного экономического форума в 2018 году на сессии «Будущее разума. Митио Каку».

О преодолении природы

Природное и естественное состояние человека — голод и жизнь до 30 лет. Люди в природном состоянии живут мало. Насколько далеко мы хотим пойти из этого природного состояния?

Об интернете и телепортации

Интернет изменит все в ближайшие десятилетия. Это будет фактически «брейннет». Это изменит сферы образования, развлечения, политики, все то, как мы живем, как только мы сможем практически на уровне мыслей общаться с другими людьми. Через 500 лет будут машины времени, телепортация — всё, о чем мы читали в фантастических романах.

О людях и роботах

Некоторые профессии в будущем исчезнут, ими будут заниматься роботы. Это те профессии, где мы делаем одни и те же движения снова и снова. Брокеры и бухгалтеры нижнего уровня исчезнут. Но настоящего адвоката нельзя заменить роботом. Существуют ограничения для роботов. Например, профессии, где нужно взаимодействие с людьми, где есть эмоции, дружба и распознавание различных моделей или шаблонов. <...> В будущем работа человека останется в двух областях. В первую очередь это мусорщики, сантехники, полицейские. И вторая группа — это интеллектуальный капитал. У кого есть опыт, кто может его применить и кто занимается творчеством.

О закате Кремниевой Долины

Время кремния заканчивается, и дни Кремниевой Долины сочтены. Принцип компьютерной революции прост: вы делаете шаблон, прожигаете на куске кремния матрицу, получается чип. Год за годом количество транзисторов, размещенных на кристалле, удваивается, а расстояние между ними уменьшается. В конечном итоге расстояние между слоями становится не толще пяти атомов.

О квантовых технологиях

Молекулярные и атомные транзисторы — это следующий шаг в развитии цифровых технологий. <...> И вполне возможно, на квантовом компьютере можно производить гораздо более сложные вычисления. Над этим сейчас работают все секретные службы мира, потому что они смогут расколоть любой секретный код.

О победе над раком

Мы можем заложить чип в таблетку, которая пройдет внутри вашего организма. Он сможет поставить диагноз. Это и есть Intel внутри. <...> Анализируя вашу кровь, мы можем найти одну раковую клетку из миллиарда. Эта технология будет коммерческой уже в этом году, ее называют жидкая биопсия <...> За много лет до того, как сформируется опухоль, клетки могут быть обнаружены. В ближайшем будущем слово «опухоль» может исчезнуть из нашего языка.

Об искусственных органах

Сегодня мы уже можем заменять органы на выращенные. Мы уже можем заменить кожу, кости, хрящи, носы, уши, кровеносные сосуды, мочевые пузыри, трахеи. Затем пойдут более сложные органы — следующей будет печень.

О воссоздании мозга

В науке было несколько крупных проектов: «Проект Манхэттен», который подарил нам ядерное оружие; проект «Геном» по расшифровке человеческого генома, третьим проектом многие сейчас называют «Коннектон». Этот проект связан с тем, чтобы создать карту мозга целиком. Изучая движения крови в мозге, мы можем подтвердить или опровергнуть многие теории.

О технологиях и искусстве

Мы можем визуализировать, как мозг мыслит, и распечатать это на 3D-принтере. Каждая новая технология дает нам новые формы искусства.

О бессмертии

Во время футбольного чемпионата в Бразилии полностью парализованный человек нанес первый удар по мячу. В университете Дьюка его подключили к экзоскелету, и он стал суперменом. Фактически возникает новая эра интерфейсов между человеком и машиной. <...> Если мы сможем оцифровать человеческий мозг, появится потенциал для цифрового бессмертия.


Аналитика на тему