A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Business Breakfast for Foreign Media Agents with Maria Zakharova
3 June 2021
08:00—09:00
KEY CONCLUSIONS
International journalists have equal opportunities in Russia. The country has shaped “a normal information environment”

I can tell you for sure I have never heard my colleagues complain about any kind of obstacles or barriers that would hinder their work. Over many years the Foreign Correspondent Association exists, there have been dozens of trips around Russian regions. International correspondents have had all the opportunities to get information straight from the sources, as well as to see how Russian regions live, what problems they experience and how those problems get resolved — Alsayyed Adib, Head, Foreign Correspondent Association.

I believe a normal information environment is when you have a chance to discuss what many people deem problematic instead of talking only about the things you like — Maria Zakharova, Director of the Information and Press Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation.

Russian government is ready to work with journalists of any status from any country

Today, Russia boasts one of the biggest – if not the biggest – international media pools in the world. We are in touch with the Department of Information and Press of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs to make sure we create the most favourable conditions for international correspondents… <…> Every time we contact the Ministry regarding any questions or complaints that I get as the Head of the Foreign Correspondent Association, they are addressed immediately and constructively. As a result, we see a permanent turnover in international bureaus, while more international media would like to open their bureaus in Moscow and get their journalists accredited in Russia — Alsayyed Adib, Head, Foreign Correspondent Association.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs will speak with journalists and media outlets that were labelled as foreign agents, which I personally think was absolutely unfair, just like they speak with other media. I believe it is a very important standpoint — Aleksey Venediktov, Editor in chief, “Echo of Moscow”.

ISSUES
Vague and ambiguous interpretation of the foreign agent status in various countries

We believed that when in 2017 the United States of America and their law enforcement system first announced their intent to label Russian media as foreign agents, it was a coincidence. We believed that it was some kind of political pressure or bullying. Honestly, we never thought they would proceed, but they did — Maria Zakharova, Director of the Information and Press Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation.

We have a popular meme and hashtag – ‘this is different’. When the President of Ukraine orders to shut down three major TV channels, this is different, because it is a fight against Russian disinformation. When Baltic states pressure and suppress Sputnik, file criminal cases and basically destroy a media agency, they are protecting their information sovereignty – this is different. When Russia tries to set the limits for certain propaganda media operating here, naturally it is an attempt to rip up the so-called freedom of speech — Alexander Malkevich, General Director, Saint Petersburg TV Channel, President, Foundation for National Values Protection; Chairman, Commission of the Civic Chamber of the Russian Federation on Development of the Information Community, Mass Media and Mass Communications.

The foreign media law was first and foremost a response to the US law and the way it was applied to Russian media in 2017. Naturally, RT was the first media outlet it was applied to. I would like to quote The Pokrovsky Gate, a famous Russian movie: “Please note it wasn’t my suggestion”. We were doing our job. RT was launched in 2005 and had some coverage in the USA. Then in 2010, we launched a cutting-edge TV channel – RT America. <…> Then after 12 years of our operation there and 7 years of being a separate US TV channel, they got to us and forced us to register as a foreign agent. Of course, all this time they have been assuring us – Department of State has been assuring us – that it will have no impact on our performance — Anna Belkina, Deputy Editor-in-Chief; Director of Marketing & Strategic Development, RT.

Journalists with the foreign media agent status experience difficulties in their professional activity

As for the foreign agent law, the standpoint of the European Union has been loud and clear since 2017, when it was first applied to media. <...> First of all, we believe that this law interferes with the opportunity of media outlets with the foreign agent status to work freely. This job has a negative connotation, as the term itself is a heavy burden. Secondly, we believe that in reality they experience difficulties with interviews and information, etc., so I believe it is important to put this information together and get things resolved — Andris Kuznieks, Head of Press and Information Section, Delegation of the European Union to the Russian Federation.

Some journalists fear they will be labelled foreign agents. Some speakers that work with those media outlets fear they will be labelled foreign agents as well and stop communicating — Aleksey Venediktov, Editor in chief, “Echo of Moscow”.

SOLUTIONS
Russia’s standpoint on the foreign agent status needs to be different from the one in the West

If we stick to the ‘eye for eye’ principle, we all will get blind pretty soon. This is why I believe that… I understand Russia’s standpoint, that it is geopolitics, but I think Russia could lead the way in a different direction. It does not have to be the American way — Zaur Sheozh, Moscow Bureau Chief, Aljazeera Network.

First of all, this practice is dated. <...> Secondly, this law is poorly written, and its application… allows the Ministry of Justice to make judicial decisions without due court procedures. This is what this law does. Yes, it is the law. This is the way it was adopted, but it is bad. Thirdly, it is disgusting when journalists defend it. <…> Public officials or spokespersons can defend it. Journalists must fight for the freedom of speech everywhere, in every country. If this constraint appears in the US, or France, or Israel, or Russia, it is equally bad. <...> We need to make sure freedom of speech is not attacked in our country instead of introducing such bills and fighting for them — Aleksey Venediktov, Editor in chief, “Echo of Moscow”.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 160 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Деловой завтрак с Марией Захаровой «ИноСМИ-иноагенты в России»
3 июня 2021
08:00—09:00
Ключевые выводы
Иностранные журналисты в России имеют равные возможности, в стране сформирована «нормальная информационная среда»

Могу совершенно точно сказать, что я ни разу не получал жалобы на существование каких-либо преград или ограничений в своей работе от моих коллег. За долгие работы существования и деятельности Ассоциации иностранных корреспондентов были организованы десятки поездок по регионам Российской Федерации. Иностранные корреспонденты имели возможность получить информацию из первоисточников, посмотреть, как живут регионы, с какими проблемами они сталкиваются и как эти проблемы решаются — Абди Аль-Сайед Адиб Мохд , Президент, Ассоциация иностранных корреспондентов.

Мне кажется, на то и есть нормальная информационная среда, когда ты имеешь возможность говорить не только о том, что тебе нравится, но и обсуждать вопросы, которые, в свою очередь, многие считают проблемными — Захарова Мария, Директор Департамента информации и печати Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации.

Российское государство готово работать с журналистами из любых стран, любого статуса

Сегодня в России, кстати, работает если не самый большой иностранный корреспондентский корпус, то один из самых больших в мире. Мы находимся в постоянном контакте с департаментом печати и информации МИД Российской Федерации, с тем чтобы создать самые благоприятные условия для иностранных корреспондентов... Наши обращения в МИД по любым вопросам, по любым жалобам, которые поступают ко мне как главе Ассоциации иностранных корреспондентов, рассматриваются в срочном порядке и в конструктивном ключе. И в результате мы наблюдаем постоянную ротацию в иностранных корреспондентских пунктах и увеличение числа иностранных СМИ, желающих открыть свои офисы в Москве или аккредитовать своих корреспондентов в Российской Федерации — Абди Аль-Сайед Адиб Мохд , Президент, Ассоциация иностранных корреспондентов.

Министерство иностранных дел будет общаться с журналистами и с изданиями, которые, на мой взгляд, совершенно несправедливо объявили иностранными агентами, так же, как с другими СМИ. Это очень важная позиция — Венедиктов Алексей, Главный редактор, "Эхо Москвы".

Проблемы
Размытость и двоякость трактовки понятия иноагента в разных странах

Мы считали, что это случайность, когда Соединенные Штаты Америки, их правоохранительная система в 2017 году впервые заявила о намерении присвоить российским средствам массовой информации статус иноагента. Мы считали, что, возможно, это какое-то политическое давление, элемент запугивания. Честно говоря, не думали, что они пойдут до конца, но они пошли до конца — Захарова Мария, Директор Департамента информации и печати Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации.

У нас популярный есть интернет-мем и хэштег — „это другое“. Когда президент Украины своим указом закрывает три больших телеканала — это другое, потому что это борьба с российской дезинформацией. Когда в Прибалтике давят и душат Sputnik, заводят уголовные дела, фактически уничтожают работу информационного агентства — это они защищают свой информационный суверенитет, это другое. А когда Россия пытается поставить рамки для работы здесь определенных пропагандистских ресурсов — это, конечно, попытка попрать так называемую свободу слова — Малькевич Александр, Генеральный директор телеканала «Санкт-Петербург», Президент, Фонд защиты национальных ценностей; председатель комиссии Общественной палаты Российской Федерации по развитию информационного сообщества, СМИ и массовых коммуникаций.

Закон об иностранных агентах — это была, в первую очередь, как ответная мера на закон, на то, как он стал применяться к российским СМИ в 2017 году в США. Естественно, первое СМИ, к которому он стал применяться, — это RT. Тут хочется процитировать крылатую фразу из „Покровских ворот“, что „заметьте, не я это предложил“. Мы работали. RT начал вещать в 2005 году и в какой-то степени уже вещал в США, потом в 2010 году мы открыли современный телеканал RT America. Потом, после того, как мы уже вещали 12 лет там и 7 лет как отдельный американский канал, к нам пришли и под явной политической подоплекой заставили нас зарегистрироваться как иностранного агента. Естественно, все это время они нас уверяли, и Госдеп уверял, что на нашу работу это никак не повлияет — Белкина Анна, Заместитель главного редактора, Директор по маркетингу и стратегическому развитию телеканала RT.

Журналисты со статусом иноагента испытывают сложности в профессиональной деятельности

Я думаю, насчет законодательства об иноагентах позиция Евросоюза уже давно известна, с 2017 года, когда как раз этот закон тоже начинал касаться СМИ. Во-первых, мы считаем, что этот закон ущемляет возможность СМИ, которые признаны иноагентами, работать свободно, и у этой работы есть негативная коннотация, потому что слово „иноагент“ сразу несет довольно тяжелое бремя. Во-вторых, мы считаем, что... на самом деле у них возникают проблемы с интервью, с информацией и так далее, так что, я думаю, было бы важно собрать эту информацию и порешать — Кужниекс Андрис, Пресс-секретарь, Представительство Европейского Союза в Российской Федерации.

Некоторые журналисты боятся, что их объявят иностранными агентами. Некоторые спикеры, которые сотрудничают с этими изданиями, боятся, что их объявят иностранными агентами со всеми вытекающими, и перестают сотрудничать — Венедиктов Алексей, Главный редактор, "Эхо Москвы".

Решения
Россия должна выбрать отличную от Запада позицию в вопросе введения статуса иноагента

Если будем жить по принципу „око за око“, мы скоро все станем слепыми, поэтому, мне кажется, что... Я понимаю позицию России, что там идет геополитика, но все равно, мне кажется, могла бы Россия идти по-другому пути и показать, может быть, другой пример, необязательно по американской прямой — Шэож Заур , Глава представительства, Медиасеть «Аль-Джазира» в Москве.

Во-первых, это действительно архаичная практика. Во-вторых, этот закон плохо написан, и его применение... позволяет Минюсту, позволяет органу исполнительной власти вне судебной процедуры принимать судебные решения. Это делает закон. Да, это закон. Он так принят, но он плохой. В-третьих, отвратительно, когда журналисты его защищают. Могут чиновники защищать, могут руководители пресс-службы защищать. Журналисты должны всюду, во всех странах бороться за свободу слова, и если это ограничение наложено в Штатах, во Франции, в Израиле, в России — это одно и то же в данном случае. Мы должны делать так, чтобы в нашей стране наступления на свободу слова не было, а не вносить проекты законов и бороться за них — Венедиктов Алексей, Главный редактор, "Эхо Москвы".

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС