A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Adapting to Climate Change: Challenges and Opportunities
4 June 2021
10:00—11:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Global economy has set a course for decarbonization

Decarbonization of the global economy cannot be avoided. The challenges we will have to face are enormous and we must address them quickly — Selwin Charles Hart, Special Adviser to the Secretary-General on Climate Action, United Nations.

There is an ongoing change in the attitudes of society and companies. <…> Today the demand for the environmental agenda is higher than before. Among other things, last year's crisis led us to this and gave us an additional impetus to discuss this agenda. A person now no longer just buys a product, they want to know what impact the process of its production has had on the environment — Alexander Novak, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

Compared to 1990, our country has reduced greenhouse gas emissions. <…> We continue environmentally oriented modernization of our industries — Victoria Abramchenko, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

The population of the countries that ignore these initiatives has no future — Enric Sala, Explorer in Residence, National Geographic Society.

Climate agenda as a tool of economic competition

The climate does not have political views. It would be better to consider the climate outside of relations associated with trade wars, for example — Victoria Abramchenko, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

The efficiency of the implementation of climate projects in Russia is tens of times higher than anywhere else. <...> It is important that the efforts that we have made are recognized and counted in relation to export — Maksim Reshetnikov, Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation.

Many countries have announced that they will achieve carbon neutrality by 2050, but in reality, emissions are increasing. It is not enough to show ambition, you need to act. <…> The Russian Federation is consistent in its actions; we will not call for anything that is groundless. First you need to carry out research work. It is only after this that will we call for carbon neutrality — Ruslan Edelgeriyev, Advisor to the President of the Russian Federation; Special Presidential Representative on Climate Issues.

ISSUES
World economy is not ready for dramatic environmental reforms

Energy transition is inevitable. There are different options for its speed though. <…> According to the International Energy Agency, we need to completely stop financing the oil and gas industry starting tomorrow. Everyone understands that this is unrealistic. <...> Around 30 countries have announced that they will give up the coal power. All this sounds politically beautiful ... but there are a lot of questions that are not answered. For example, a UN representative said that one of the issues of the fight against the coal industry would be discussed in Glasgow. <...> I do not and will not understand why exactly such goals are set and what workers in Kuzbass, for example, should do with these goal — Alexander Novak, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

We understand how all this will be done, by what means, changing what elements of business systems — Dmitry Konov, Head of the Administration of the Gusevsky City District Municipal Structure.

Closing carbon markets has its disadvantages. <…> We see discrimination and double standards. They do not lead to a global reduction in greenhouse gas emissions. On the one hand, they call for national ambition, but at the same time they close the markets — Ruslan Edelgeriyev, Advisor to the President of the Russian Federation; Special Presidential Representative on Climate Issues.

SOLUTIONS
Use the potential to tackle environmental challenges

To prevent climate change and disasters, we must significantly reduce emissions and innovate technologies. This is especially true for pollution with carbonaceous substances — Enric Sala, Explorer in Residence, National Geographic Society.

In the Arctic zone there is permafrost, and we see large-scale floods and freezing rains. <…> We are now creating a system of carbon polygons – sites in different natural climatic zones. Currently there are already eight of them. <…> We are launching a pilot project in Sakhalin Region to work out the mechanisms. By 2025, we plan that it will become carbon neutral. This year we must finish working on adaptation plans for the most vulnerable sectors of the economy — Victoria Abramchenko, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

COVID has clearly showed us all that we are only strong when united. Global threats require global solutions. Climate now poses one of the greatest challenges — Selwin Charles Hart, Special Adviser to the Secretary-General on Climate Action, United Nations.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 159 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Адаптация к климатическим изменениям: вызовы и возможности
4 июня 2021
10:00—11:15
Ключевые выводы
Глобальная экономика взяла курс на декарбонизацию

Декарбонизации глобальной экономики не избежать. Вызовы, с которыми нам придется столкнуться, весьма масштабны, и мы должны решать их быстро — Харт Селвин Чарльз, Специальный советник генерального секретаря по вопросам климата, Организация Объединенных Наций.

Происходит изменение в сознании общества, компаний. <...> Спрос на экологическую повестку сегодня более высокий, чем раньше. К этому нас привел в том числе прошлогодний кризис, дал дополнительный импульс для того, чтобы эту повестку обсуждать. Человек сейчас уже не просто покупает товар, он хочет знать, как повлияло производство этого товара на окружающую среду — Новак Александр, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

По сравнению с 1990-м годом наша страна сократила выбросы парниковых газов. <...> Мы продолжаем экологическую модернизацию нашей промышленности — Абрамченко Виктория, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

Будущего у населения тех стран, которые игнорируют все эти инициативы, просто нет — Сала Энрик, Ведущий исследователь, Национальное географическое общество.

Климатическая повестка как инструмент экономической конкуренции

У климата нет каких-то политических взглядов. Хотелось бы рассматривать климат вне отношений, связанных, например, с торговыми войнами — Абрамченко Виктория, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

Эффективность реализации климатических проектов в России в десятки раз выше, чем где бы то ни было. <...> Важно, чтобы те усилия, которые мы предпринимали, признавались и шли в зачет при экспорте продукции — Решетников Максим, Министр экономического развития Российской Федерации.

Многие страны заявили об углеродной нейтральности к 2050 году, но на самом деле выбросы растут. Мало проявлять одну только амбициозность, нужно конкретно действовать. <...> Российская Федерация последовательна в своих действиях, беспочвенно призывать к чему-либо мы не будем. Сначала нужно провести научно-исследовательские работы. Только после этого мы будем призывать к углеродной нейтральности — Эдельгериев Руслан, Советник Президента Российской Федерации; специальный представитель Президента Российской Федерации по вопросам климата.

Проблемы
Мировая экономика не готова к радикальным экологическим реформам

Энергопереход неизбежен. Есть разные варианты по скорости энергоперехода. <...> Как подсчитало Международное энергетическое агентство, нужно с завтрашнего дня прекратить финансирование нефтегазовой отрасли полностью. Все понимают, что это нереально. <...> Порядка 30 стран заявили, что они откажутся от угольного источника генерации. Все это политически красиво звучит... но есть большое количество вопросов, на которые нет ответа. Например, представитель ООН сказал о том, что в Глазго будет обсуждаться один из пунктов борьбы с угольной отраслью. <...> Я не понимаю, и не поймут, к примеру, работники на Кузбассе, почему именно такие цели ставятся, как люди в таких регионах должны воспринимать эти цели — Новак Александр, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

Мы понимаем, за счет чего это все будет сделано, какими средствами, с изменением каких элементов бизнес-систем это будет достигнуто — Конов Дмитрий, Председатель правления, ПАО «СИБУР Холдинг».

Замыкание углеродных рынков — тенденция, в которой есть недостатки. <...> Мы видим дискриминацию и двойные стандарты. Они не ведут к глобальному снижению парникового газа. С одной стороны — призывают к общенациональной амбициозности, но при этом они закрывают свои рынки — Эдельгериев Руслан, Советник Президента Российской Федерации; специальный представитель Президента Российской Федерации по вопросам климата.

Решения
Использовать потенциал в борьбе с экологическими проблемами

Чтобы предотвратить климатические изменения и катастрофы, мы должны в значительной степени снизить уровень выбросов и внедрять инновационные технологии. Особенно это касается загрязнения углеродосодержащими веществами — Сала Энрик, Ведущий исследователь, Национальное географическое общество.

Что касается Арктической зоны — это вечная мерзлота, мы фиксируем масштабные наводнения, ледяные дожди. <...> Сейчас мы создаем систему карбоновых полигонов — это площадки в разных природных климатических зонах. Сегодня их уже восемь. <...> Чтобы отработать механизмы, мы запускаем пилотный проект на территории Сахалинской области. К 2025 году планируем, что она станет углеродно-нейтральной. В текущем году мы должны завершить работу по планам адаптации наиболее уязвимых отраслей экономики — Абрамченко Виктория, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

Ковид четко показал нам всем, что мы сильны только объединившись. Глобальные угрозы требуют глобальных решений. Климат представляет собой один из наиболее серьезных вызовов — Харт Селвин Чарльз, Специальный советник генерального секретаря по вопросам климата, Организация Объединенных Наций.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС