A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 2,500 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 122 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Global Energy Sector: Challenges and Opportunities
7 June 2019
10:00—11:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Situation on the energy market has stabilized

The market was balanced in 2017–2018. The protracted crisis that we witnessed in 2014–2015 was quickly overcome, and in 2017–2018 investments began returning to the industry — Alexander Novak, Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation.

Efficiency of extraction is growing

Before the crisis of 2014, the amount of investments reached approximately USD 900 billion per year, but in 2015 this number saw a twofold decrease, to USD 500 billion. Despite the recovery of the market, the amount of investment regained no more than 10–15%. Today, we estimate that investments in the global industry are around USD 550–600 billion per year. Nevertheless, this low amount of investment allows to support the supply that basically exceeds the existing demand. This means that the efficiency of extraction has grown considerably. Low-margin projects are becoming more marginal due to this growth — Alexander Novak, Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation.

We must maintain a good level of investment. We understand that prices should not be too low or too high — Robert Dudley, Group Chief Executive, BP.

Shale hydrocarbons are losing in the competition with traditional fuels

Dynamics of growth of shale hydracarbons production surprised everyone. <…> But the growth that we witnessed last year and are witnessing this year is unlikely to be sustainable in the mid- and long-term. Another very important factor for shale hydrocarbons is quality. Most processing capacities worldwide are originally designed for oil of certain quality. This decreases demand for shale hydrocarbons, and that is why plans to build pipelines to supply American shale hydracarbons to the global market look way less attractive — Khalid A. Al-Falih, Minister of Energy, Industry and Mineral Resources of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia; Chairman of the Board of Directors, Saudi Arabian Oil Company (Saudi Aramco) .

In reality, shale is overshadowed by economic factors — Ben van Beurden, Chief Executive Officer, Royal Dutch Shell Plc.

ISSUES
High level of uncertainty on the market

Today, there are a lot of uncertainty factors on the market. Unfortunately, despite positive changes in balancing supply and demand, we see that uncertainty is growing — Alexander Novak, Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation.

Now the market is influenced by the factors that we cannot control. We try to use all available tools, but we can have impact only on supply, and there is a huge issue regarding the demand that depends on macroeconomic factors. Expectations of the market and of investors are beyond our control — Khalid A. Al-Falih, Minister of Energy, Industry and Mineral Resources of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia; Chairman of the Board of Directors, Saudi Arabian Oil Company (Saudi Aramco) .

Nobody likes volatility and instability, because they do not make for positive development of the situation — Ben van Beurden, Chief Executive Officer, Royal Dutch Shell Plc.

Negative impact of sanctions and geopolitics

We discussed trade wars that have really activated recently, as well as making decisions regarding introduction of export duties by two largest economies against each other. Last year global economy grew by 3%. If these duties are introduced and act as has been said, this might cut economic growth by up to 2.6%, which, in turn, will result in decrease in demand for oil and energy resources in general. We see that over the last few weeks, after announcement of different trade sanctions, the price went down by 10 dollars — Alexander Novak, Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation.

Today oil is the king of fuels in transportation, but it is hard to say how long it is going to be this way. Major important changes are happening now; we can go back to geopolitics and correlate these things — Daniel Yergin, Vice Chairman, IHS Markit.

SOLUTIONS
Joint efforts of producers aimed at stabilization of the market

Agreement between OPEC and non-OPEC countries – 24 states – is a good instrument that allows to somehow react to this uncertainty and jointly get rid of these risks — Alexander Novak, Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation.

We will continue stating a consolidated position in the oil market on supply, amount and distribution as part of the OPEC+ deal — Khalid A. Al-Falih, Minister of Energy, Industry and Mineral Resources of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia; Chairman of the Board of Directors, Saudi Arabian Oil Company (Saudi Aramco) .

We have mechanisms for correcting our target indicators towards increase or decrease. We see a clear consensus on the need of long-term cooperation that has been discussed over the last few months. All companies, all countries have expressed their support for this suggestion. We cannot influence the market in the same extent as OPEC anymore, but we can do that as an extended group — Khalid A. Al-Falih, Minister of Energy, Industry and Mineral Resources of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia; Chairman of the Board of Directors, Saudi Arabian Oil Company (Saudi Aramco) .

Client-oriented approach and product diversification

Transition from gas to [other — Ed.] energy can be tough, but for some companies it is a natural development. Supplying gas and energy, we become closer to people, and it has certain advantages for the company — Patrick Pouyanne, Chairman & CEO, Total.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Мировой энергетический сектор: вызовы и возможности
7 Июня 2019
10:00—11:15
Ключевые выводы
Ситуация на энергетическом рынке стабилизировалась

Была достигнута балансировка рынка в период 2017-2018 гг. Затя-нувшийся кризис, который мы видели в 2014-2015 гг., был в корот-кие сроки преодолен, инвестиции в отрасль начали возвращаться уже в 2017-2018 гг. — Новак Александр, Министр энергетики Российской Федерации.

Эффективность добычи растет

Если до кризиса 2014 г. объем инвестиций составлял порядка $900 млрд в год, то в период 2015 г. падение составило 2 раза, до $500 млрд. Несмотря на то, что рынок восстановился, объем инвестиций восстановился лишь частично, всего лишь 10-15%. На сегодняшний день инвестиции, по нашим оценкам, составляют в мировой отрасли около $550-600 млрд в год. Тем не менее этот сниженный объем ин-вестиций позволяет обеспечивать предложение на рынке, которое, по сути, превышает существующий спрос. Это означает, что суще-ственно повысилась эффективность добычи. Проекты, которые были низкомаржинальными, за счет повышения эффективности становятся более маржинальными — Новак Александр, Министр энергетики Российской Федерации.

Мы должны поддерживать хороший уровень инвестиций. Мы пони-маем, что цены не должны быть слишком низкими и слишком высо-кими — Дадли Роберт, Главный исполнительный директор, BP.

Сланцевые углеводороды проигрывают конкуренцию традици-онным видам топлива

Динамика роста добычи сланцевых углеводородов всех удивила. <...> Но рост, который мы наблюдали в прошлом году и в этом году, вряд ли окажется устойчивым в течение средне- и долгосрочной перспективы. Еще один очень важный фактор по сланцевым углево-дородам — качество. Большая часть мощностей переработки по все-му миру изначально спроектирована под нефть определенного каче-ства. Это снижает спрос на сланцевые углеводороды, поэтому планы по строительству трубопроводов для поставок на мировой рынок америка—ских сланцевых углеводородов выглядят уже не такими ра-дужными — аль-Фалих Халид А., Министр энергетики, промышленности и минеральных ресурсов Королевства Саудовская Аравия; председатель совета директоров, Saudi Arabian Oil Company (Saudi Aramco) .

Если посмотреть на реальность — сланец немного бледнеет на фоне экономических факторов — ван Берден Бен, Главный исполнительный директор, Royal Dutch Shell Plc.

Проблемы
Высокая степень неопределенности на рынке

На рынке сегодня есть очень много факторов неопределенности. К сожалению, несмотря на то, что мы достигли положительных резуль-татов и с точки зрения балансировки спроса и предложения, и остат-ков, мы видим, что усилился фактор неопределенности — Новак Александр, Министр энергетики Российской Федерации.

Рынок сейчас испытывает влияние факторов, которые мы не можем контролировать. Мы стараемся использовать все доступные нам ин-струменты, но мы можем влиять только на сторону поставок, а на стороне спроса, на который влияют макроэкономические факторы, возникает большой вопрос. Ожидания рынка, ожидания инвесторов — это уже лежит за пределами сферы нашего контроля — аль-Фалих Халид А., Министр энергетики, промышленности и минеральных ресурсов Королевства Саудовская Аравия; председатель совета директоров, Saudi Arabian Oil Company (Saudi Aramco) .

Никому не нравится волатильность, нестабильность, потому что это совершенно не способствует развитию ситуации в положительном ключе — ван Берден Бен, Главный исполнительный директор, Royal Dutch Shell Plc.

Негативное влияние санкций и геополитики

Обсуждались торговые войны, которые в последнее время очень сильно активизировались, принятие решений относительно введения экспортных пошлин двух крупнейших экономик друг против друга. В прошлом году мировая экономика выросла на 3%. Если реально бу-дут введены пошлины и будут действовать так, как озвучено, это мо-жет снизить рост экономики до 2,6%, а это, в свою очередь, повлия-ет на снижение спроса на нефть, снижение спроса в целом на энер-горесурсы. Мы видим, что за последние несколько недель после объявлений различных санкций в торговых отношениях цена снизи-лась на $10 — Новак Александр, Министр энергетики Российской Федерации.

Нефть сейчас — царь топлива в транспортировке, но сколько это будет продолжаться, сложно сказать. Большие изменения происходят и очень важные, здесь можно вернуться к геополитике и увязать эти вопросы — Ергин Дэниел, Вице-председатель, IHS Markit.

Решения
Совместные действия производителей по стабилизации рынка

Соглашение между странами ОПЕК и не ОПЕК — 24 страны — это очень хороший инструмент, который позволяет хоть как-то реагиро-вать на эти неопределенности и совместными действиями снимать эти риски — Новак Александр, Министр энергетики Российской Федерации.

Мы будем продолжать выступать с консолидированной позицией на рынке нефти по поставкам, объему, распределению в рамках согла-шения ОПЕК+ — аль-Фалих Халид А., Министр энергетики, промышленности и минеральных ресурсов Королевства Саудовская Аравия; председатель совета директоров, Saudi Arabian Oil Company (Saudi Aramco) .

У нас есть механизмы для корректировки наших целевых показате-лей в сторону повышения или в сторону понижения. Мы видим пол-ный консенсус о необходимости долгосрочного сотрудничества, ко-торое обсуждается в последние несколько месяцев. Все компании, все страны поддержали это предложение. Мы уже не можем в той же степени влиять на рынок в рамках ОПЕК, но в рамках расширенной группы — да — аль-Фалих Халид А., Министр энергетики, промышленности и минеральных ресурсов Королевства Саудовская Аравия; председатель совета директоров, Saudi Arabian Oil Company (Saudi Aramco) .

Клиентоориентированность и диверсификация продукции

Переход от газа к [другой — Ред.] энергии может быть непрост, но для некоторых компаний это естественный ход событий. Поставляя и газ, и энергию, мы становимся ближе к людям, и для компании в этом есть свои преимущества — Пуянне Патрик, Председатель и генеральный директор, Total S.A..

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС