non-financial development institution
major organizer of congress and exhibition events
Welcome!
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Increasing the Efficiency of Oil Production: Responding to the Challenges
4 October 2018
14:00—15:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Windfall profit tax optimizes taxation in the oil industry

Taxation is a powerful incentive for oil companies that helps to specifically develop fields and regions that are most efficient. This year an important decision has been made – the law on WPT (windfall profit tax from the extraction of hydrocarbons). This law will take into account specific aspects of geology and the complexity of mining to the greatest degree, which can subsequently be taken into account in the implementation of relevant projects. But this is just the first step, and based on the tax breaks that we come up with, we will be able to transfer the cost centre and production centre to the respective regions — Alexander Gladkov, Director of the Department of Oil and Gas Production and Transportation, Ministry of Energy of the Russian Federation.

The law on WPT will make it possible to test new approaches to the taxation system – and the influence of taxation on the financial result above all else – in pilot mode. We regard this stage as an important element in the tax system. This bill primarily aims to give a boost to the fields of Western Siberia. Based on the project results, a decision will be made to further extend it to other regions of oil production. In addition, we are offering a number of incentive measures to attract additional investment for oil production. These include the uplift mechanism, which involves the use of a higher depreciation rate on investments in Western Siberia, incentives for geological exploration, greenfields – an adjustment to the reference point for calculating regional mineral extraction tax breaks from the time 99% oil reserve depletion in the subsoil area is reached, and incentives for the development of oil rims — Andrey Tereshok, Deputy Director of the Department of Oil and Gas Production and Transportation, Ministry of Energy of the Russian Federation.

The Ministry of Finance presented a counter-initiative – let’s replace all types of existing oil production support measures with the WPT. Perhaps this is also a solution for the future that could work. The WPT could become a common umbrella that includes all tax regimes — Gennady Fedotov, Member of the Management Committee, Vice President, Economics and Planning, PJSC LUKOIL.

We have been working for a long time to introduce the WPT. I fully agree that this is by no means the end of the road. We are only halfway there to harmonizing and improving the efficiency of our tax legislation in the mining sector, since the WPT is being introduced on a very limited pilot basis — Viktoria Turgeneva, Director of Tax Policy for Work with Oil and Gas Sector Companies at KPMG in Russia and the CIS .

Geological exploration needs to be incentivized

The resource prospects for traditional production areas are still quite high. They account for roughly 45 billion tonnes of D0–D2 category resources, almost 26 billion tonnes of which are in Western Siberia. These reserves are mostly small objects in marginal zones and in deposits with difficult development conditions – Bazhenov and Domanik formations, overlooked deposits, and sub-gas deposits. There are still prospects for major discoveries, but mostly in areas far from infrastructure. Of course, these reserves should also be explored and incorporated into development, which requires adopting measures in two key areas: the first is incentivizing geological exploration in order to discover new fields in remote and marginal areas of traditional oil production regions and the other is incentivizing development of hard-to-recover reserves — Denis Khramov, Deputy Chairman of the Management Board, NOVATEK.

If we don’t incentivize geological exploration now, we will not be able to create a reserve for the stable reproduction of the mineral resource base and a stable level of production in the country — Daria Kozlova, Head of Crude Oil Upstream and Technologies Direction, VYGON Consulting.

ISSUES
Reduced production at conventional fields and depletion of the resource base

Oil production in Western Siberia accounts for about half of total Russian production. Over the past 8–10 years, the decline in production in the region has averaged 2–3% per year. If these rates of decline are not reduced, production in Western Siberia will decrease by 50 million tonnes in 10 years. It is impossible to quickly build up [oil production] using greenfields, offshore fields, and the shelf — Gennady Fedotov, Member of the Management Committee, Vice President, Economics and Planning, PJSC LUKOIL.

It is clear that we can’t expect an increase or improvement in the resource base. If we want to comply with the promises made by our country’s leaders and companies to support production and growth, then we must do something with a resource base in the next 7–10 years — Alexey Govzich, Executive Director for New Technologies, Gazpromneft Science and Technology Centre.

Shortcomings in the manufacturer support system

I get the impression that obtaining benefits is becoming a strategic goal. We proceed based on a very simple scenario – to produce as much as possible and then come what may. Let’s continue to distribute benefits – great, that’s a good idea. We will reach some sort of peak production, then we will start to rapidly fall back from it. We have 15 billion tonnes of reserves that are already being granted tax benefits — Alexey Sazonov, Director of Department of Tax and Customs Tariff Policy, Finance Ministry of the Russian Federation.

When there are a lot of benefits, this means that the [tax] regime is initially wrong — Mikhail Orlov, Partner, Head of Tax and Legal, KPMG Russia.

Shortcomings in tax regulation

If you look at the current economics of the projects, the prime costs for Western Siberia are about RUB 6,000 per tonne, while taxes amount to more than RUB 20,000. Consequently – no miracles there – the geological mining conditions are deteriorating, so the share of the pie where we can afford to levy such high taxes on existing projects will gradually decrease. The state should be ready for this — Denis Borisov, Director, Moscow Oil and Gas Center, EY.

Outdated depleted well regulation system

There is still a rather extensive and complicated system of regulation for wells that have been working for a long time, have become depleted, and are profitable at a particular oil price and unprofitable at another. Companies see which wells need to be shut down and which ones need to be turned on at a certain time. But our regulation system is such that we cannot shut down a well for more than 6 months. After 6 months we have to mothball it. Mothballing itself costs money. In fact, there is an increasing number of such wells, and something needs to be done with this regulation system — Alexey Kondrashov, Senior Advisor, The Boston Consulting Group.

Difficulty of forecasting the industry’s development as technology rapidly evolves

I was embarrassed to ask the question of why we needed 550 million tonnes of production given that we had planned much less. The only answer I can come up with is that maybe oil will not be needed at all in 5–6 years. It’s pointless now to conserve and reduce oil production while expecting to produce it for another 70 years, given that alternative sources of energy will put an end to oil as the main energy industry in the next 10 years — Mikhail Orlov, Partner, Head of Tax and Legal, KPMG Russia.

SOLUTIONS
Improve extraction technology

Our technological breakthrough is the technology for chemical-based advanced recovery methods (which are used for the additional extraction of oil from highly depleted, flooded oil-bearing strata with dispersed and irregular oil saturation). Several years ago, Gazpromneft NTC, along with specialists from Shell, successfully tested chemical-based advanced recovery methods. The water cut decreased from 98% to 88%. The oil recovery factor delta increased by 17%. Using this method, we could produce an additional 40 million tonnes of oil by 2030, and in the long-term, such growth may reach 70–100 million tonnes. Restrictive factors for technology include: the cost of chemicals (but here we are cooperating with Russian manufacturers, in particular with Sibur) and the second factor is economic. It requires additional preferential taxation. The initiative is supported by the Russian government, and there are hopes that in 2019 we will pay much more careful attention to this technology — Alexey Govzich, Executive Director for New Technologies, Gazpromneft Science and Technology Centre.

Optimize regulation

We need to pay more attention to small fields and study the experience of the Republic of Tatarstan. After all, they had the same situation in 1997 – oil production had been declining for 17 years until 67 fields were transferred to small companies and the government created a targeted tax system — Elena Korzun, General Director, Association of Independent Oil and Gas Producing Organizations "AssoNeft".

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Повышение эффективности добычи нефти: отвечая на вызовы
4 Октября 2018
14:00—15:15
Ключевые выводы
Налог на дополнительный доход оптимизирует налогообложение в нефтяной отрасли

Налогообложение — это могучий стимул для нефтяных компаний, который помогает развивать именно те месторождения и регионы, которые являются максимально эффективными. В этом году приняли важное решение — закон об НДД (налоге на дополнительный доход от добычи углеводородного сырья). Этот закон будет максимально учитывать особенности геологии и сложности разработки, которые в последствии можно будет учесть при реализации соответствующих проектов. Но это только первый шаг, и оттого какие налоговые льготы мы сформулируем, мы сможем перенести центр затрат и центр добычи на соответствующие регионы — Гладков Александр, Директор департамента добычи и транспортировки нефти и газа, Министерство энергетики Российской Федерации.

Закон об НДД позволит в пилотном режиме протестировать новые подходы к системе налогообложения и прежде всего налогообложения в финансовый результат. Мы рассматриваем этот этап как важный элемент в налоговой системе. Этот законопроект, прежде всего, направлен на стимулирование месторождений Западной Сибири. По результатам проекта будет принято решение о дальнейшем распространении на другие регионы нефтедобычи. Кроме того, мы предлагаем ещё ряд мер стимулирования для привлечения дополнительных инвестиций в нефтедобычу. Среди них, механизм „аплифт“ — применение повышенного коэффициента амортизации на инвестиции в Западной Сибири, стимулирование геологоразведочных работ, гринфилды — корректировка начала отсчета региональной льготы по НДПИ с момента достижения степени выработанности запасов нефти на участке недр уровня 1%, стимулирование внедрения третичных методов добычи нефти и стимулирование разработки нефтяных оторочек — Терешок Андрей, Заместитель директора департамента добычи и транспортировки нефти и газа, Министерство энергетики Российской Федерации.

От Минфина мы услышали встречную инициативу — давайте заменим НДД все виды существующих мер поддержки нефтедобычи. Возможно, это тоже решение на перспективу, которое будет работать. <...> НДД может стать общим зонтиком, под который войдут все налоговые режимы — Федотов Геннадий, Член правления, вице-президент по экономике и планированию, ПАО «ЛУКОЙЛ».

Мы очень долго работали над тем, чтобы внедрить НДД. Я абсолютно согласна, что это вообще не конец пути. Мы находимся в середине пути по гармонизации и повышению эффективности нашего налогового законодательства в секторе добычи. Потому что НДД введен сейчас на очень ограниченном пилоте — Тургенева Виктория, Руководитель налоговой практики по работе с компаниями нефтегазового сектора, КПМГ в России и СНГ.

Необходимо стимулировать геологоразведку

Ресурсные перспективы районов традиционной добычи все еще достаточно высокие. На их долю приходится около 45 млрд тонн ресурсов категории D0-D1D2, почти 26 млрд т которых — на Западную Сибирь. Это запасы — в основном мелкие объекты, в окраинных зонах, в залежах со сложными условиями освоения — бажен, доманик, пропущенные залежи, подгазовые залежи. Перспективы крупных открытий остаются, но в основном в районах вдали от инфраструктуры. Разумеется, эти запасы надо также разведывать и вовлекать в разработку, для чего необходимо принятие мер по 2-м ключевым направлениям: первое — это стимулирование геологоразведки с целью открытия новых месторождений в удаленных и краевых частях регионов традиционной нефтедобычи и, второе, — стимулирование вовлечения в освоение трудноизвлекаемых запасов — Храмов Денис, Первый заместитель Министра природных ресурсов и экологии Российской Федерации.

Не стимулируя сейчас геологоразведку, мы не сможем создать задел для стабильного воспроизводства минерально-сырьевой базы и стабильного уровня добычи в стране — Козлова Дарья, Руководитель направления технологии, разведка и добыча нефти, VYGON Consulting.

Проблемы
Сокращение добычи на традиционных месторождениях, истощение ресурсной базы

Добыча нефти по Западной Сибири — около половины российской добычи суммарно. <...> На протяжении последних 8-10 лет падение добычи по региону составило в среднем 2-3% в год. Если эти темпы падения не удастся снизить, то через 10 лет добыча по Западной Сибири суммарно снизится на 50 млн тонн. <...> Быстро нарастить (нефтедобычу — Ред.) за счет гринфилдов, морских месторождений, щельфов невозможно — Федотов Геннадий, Член правления, вице-президент по экономике и планированию, ПАО «ЛУКОЙЛ».

Понятно, что увеличения или улучшения ресурсной базы ожидать не приходится. Если мы хотим соответствовать посылам руководителей нашей страны и компаний о поддержании добычи и роста, то что-то с ресурсной базой в перспективе 7-10 лет нужно делать обязательно — Говзич Алексей, Исполнительный директор по новым технологиям, ООО «Газпромнефть НТЦ».

Несовершенство системы поддержки производителей

У меня такое впечатление, что получение льгот становится стратегической целью. <...> Мы идем по очень простому сценарию — добыть как можно больше, а потом будь что будет. <...> Давайте продолжать раздавать льготы — отлично, хорошая идея, мы выйдем на какой-то пик добычи, потом с него стремительно начнем падать. <...> У нас 15 млрд тонн запасов, которые уже льготируются — Сазанов Алексей, Директор департамента налоговой и таможенной политики, Министерство финансов Российской Федерации.

Когда много льгот, это означает, что режим изначально неверный — Орлов Михаил, Партнер, руководитель департамента налогового и юридического консультирования, КПМГ в России и СНГ.

Несовершенство налогового регулирования

Если посмотреть на текущую экономику проектов, то себестоимость для Западной Сибири — порядка 6 тыс. рублей на тонну, а налоги — более 20 (тысяч — Ред.). Соответственно, чудес не бывает, горногеологические условия ухудшаются, поэтому доля пирога, когда мы можем позволить взимать себе такие высокие налоги с действующих проектов, постепенно будет уменьшаться. Государство должно быть к этому готовым — Борисов Денис, Директор, Московский нефтегазовый центр, EY.

Устаревшая система регулирования выработанных скважин

Есть еще довольно большая и достаточно сложная система регулирования, которая относится к скважинам, которые работают достаточно давно, выработаны, которые при одной цене на нефть рентабельны, при другой — нерентабельны. <...> Компании видят, какие скважины необходимо было бы выключить, какие было бы необходимо в определенный момент включить. Но система регулирования у нас такова, что выключить скважину мы больше чем на 6 месяцев не можем. Мы после 6 месяцев должны перенести ее на консервацию. Перевод на консервацию стоит денег <...> На самом деле таких скважин все больше и больше, и с этой системой регулирования надо что-то делать — Кондрашов Алексей, Cтарший советник, The Boston Consulting Group.

Сложность прогнозирования развития отрасли в условиях стремительного развития технологий

Я застеснялся задать вопрос, зачем нам нужно 550 млн тонн добычи с учетом того, что планировали значительно меньше. <...> Единственный ответ, который я для себя могу сформулировать, — через 5-6 лет, может быть, нефть вообще не нужна будет. Бесполезно сейчас экономить и делать более низкую добычу нефти, рассчитывая добывать ее еще 70 лет с учетом того, что через 10 лет альтернативные источники энергии поставят крест вообще на нефти как основной энергетической отрасли — Орлов Михаил, Партнер, руководитель департамента налогового и юридического консультирования, КПМГ в России и СНГ.

Решения
Совершенствование технологий добычи

Наш технологический прорыв — технология химических мун (применяются для дополнительного извлечения нефти из сильно истощенных, заводненных нефтеносных пластов с рассеянной, нерегулярной нефтенасыщенностью). Несколько лет назад „Газпромнефть НТЦ“ совместно с специалистами „Шелл“ провела успешное тестирование химического метода увеличения нефтеотдачи. Обводненность сократилась с 98% до 88%. Произошел прирост дельта КИНа (коэффициент извлечения нефти) на 17%. Используя этот способ, мы могли бы до 2030 года дополнительно добыть до 40 млн тонн нефти, а в долгосрочной перспективе прирост может составить 70-100 млн тонн. Ограничительные факторы для технологии: стоимость химикатов (но здесь мы сотрудничаем с российскими производителями, в частности с компанией „Сибур“) и второй фактор — экономический. Здесь требуются дополнительное льготное налогообложение. Инициатива поддерживается на уровне Правительства РФ, есть надежды, что в 2019 году на эту технологию мы обратим более пристальное внимание — Говзич Алексей, Исполнительный директор по новым технологиям, ООО «Газпромнефть НТЦ».

Оптимизация регулирования

Надо больше внимания уделить мелким месторождениям, изучить опыт Республики Татарстан. Ведь у них в 1997 г. было то же самое — 17 лет падала добыча нефти, пока не передали малым компаниям 67 месторождений и не сделали адресную налоговую систему — Корзун Елена, Генеральный директор, Ассоциация независимых нефтегазодобывающих организаций «АссоНефть».

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС