A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 131 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 70 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
20.05.2020

Tourism through the lens of drivers and barriers

The Center for Strategic Research (CSR) presents an in-depth study of business environment in the tourism industry. The publication reveals hidden barriers and potential drivers of growth, studies market sentiment, and suggests priority strategies.

The Roscongress Foundation presents the salient points of the publication accompanied by fragments of broadcasts of relevant panel discussions from the business programme of key international events held by the Roscongress Foundation.

Russia is ranked 39th in the Travel and Tourism Competitiveness Index 2019 rankings

Today, the travel and tourism industry (T&T) is a global economic power. According to the World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC), the sector’s contribution to the global economy (direct and indirect) in 2018 was USD 8.8 trillion, or 10.4% of the global economy.

The industry’s contribution to global employment was 319 million jobs, or 1 in every 10 jobs. WTTC forecasts that by 2024 the sector’s share in global GDP will grow to 10.8% (USD 13 trillion) while the contribution to employment will reach 10.8% (371 million jobs).

In Russia, the contribution of the tourism industry to the economy is less substantial. The share of tourism in Russia’s GDP was 4.2% in 2018 (USD 78.6 billion, or RUB 4,926 billion). According to a joint forecast by WTTC and Oxford Economics, by 2024 the share of tourism in Russia’s GPD will increase to 5.1%, with a growth of 51% in nominal values (reaching USD 118.95 billion) and 16% in real values (reaching USD 90.62 billion). Employment in tourism is projected to reach 5.1%, or 3.6 million jobs, by 2024.

One of the most well-known instruments for measuring the T&T competitiveness of economies is the Travel and Tourism Competitiveness Index (TTCI) produced by the World Economic Forum (WEF). In the Travel and Tourism Competitiveness Report 2019, Russia is ranked 39th of the 140 economies assessed — a comparatively high position.

Russia managed to attain this position because of its high level of health and hygiene (6th position globally), price competitiveness (27th globally), and accessibility and quality of cultural and natural resources (18th and 34th globally, respectively). The TTCI Report 2019 makes a special mention of the quality of Russia’s air transportation infrastructure (23th position globally) which accounts for the greatest share of Eurasia’s air traffic.

Россия в рейтинге конкурентоспособности туризма и путешествий, 2019.png

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/eef-2018-razvitie-turizma-klasternyy-podkhod-i-eksport-turistskikh-uslug/search/#00:01:16.032

Russia is an attractive destination for inbound tourism

According to the United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), Russia ranks among the top twenty countries (of 140 assessed) by the number of inbound tourist trips. However, over the last five years, the level of tourist flow has remained practically unchanged (approximately 25 million trips). The greatest number of trips over this period was registered in 2015 (nearly 27 million). After that, in 2016, there was a decline followed by a stagnation. The FIFA World Cup in 2018 changed the country structure of inbound tourist flow, but not its volume which stayed practically the same.

Since 2014, there was a steady growth in the number of tourists from South Korea (CAGR 14/19 — 30%), Thailand (29%), Mongolia (19%), and China (17%). Indonesia, Cuba, and Hong Kong should also be mentioned as countries with an average annual growth of over 15% in the number of tourist trips to Russia. However, for none of these countries the number of trips to Russia exceeded 30 thousand in 2019.

At the same time, some countries show a constant decrease in the tourist flow to Russia. Since 2014, there was a nearly three-fold drop in the number of Russia-bound tourist trips from Uzbekistan and Turkey. Importantly, the tourist flow from Poland, Finland, and Belarus is also decreasing, although these countries have traditionally strong historical and economic links with Russia. The reduction in tourist flow should prompt industry players to search for a reason why Russia has become a less attractive destination for tourists from these countries.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/rossiya-vybor-turista-chego-ne-khvataet/search/#01:36:35.840

Outbound tourism figures in 2020 will undergo a dramatic change because of the COVID-19 pandemic coupled with ruble depreciation after the OPEC+ deal collapse

After a decrease in 2015-2016, the number of outbound trips from Russia in 2019 increased to 45.3 million compared to 42.9 million in 2014. The negative trend in 2015-2016 was caused by foreign policy developments and a resulting depreciation of the ruble which made foreign travel less attractive for Russians. The subsequent stabilization of the national currency and adaptation to foreign policy shocks led to a new wave of growth in foreign travel popularity.

Due to the specifics of statistical recording it’s hard to make an accurate estimate of the share of people who travel abroad. Surveys show that the share of Russians who traveled abroad in the last four years is approximately 6-10%.

The authors of the publication point out that outbound tourism figures in 2020 will undergo a dramatic change because of the COVID-19 pandemic coupled with ruble depreciation after the OPEC+ deal collapse.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2019-invest-sessiya/search/#00:57:21.663

Russian tour operators report an upward trend in the popularity of domestic travel destinations in 2019

CSR analysts estimate that the number of Russian tourists staying in Russian lodging accommodations increased by 60% since 2014, reaching 62.2 million people. Such a rapid growth is explained by a number of reasons:

· growth in popularity of domestic travel with accommodation in hotels and similar lodging accommodations;

· revitalization of the system of health resorts against a background of general buoyancy of domestic tourism;

· renovation of old health resort facilities;

· changes in the structure of outbound tourist flow with a shift towards domestic destinations;

· massive movement out of the shadow economy (this trend was particularly noticeable in 2015, when the number of newly registered lodging accommodations grew by 29% in a year);

· active development of low-price accommodations, especially guesthouses and small inns;

· a shift in demand towards lower priced segments which resulted in a 20% decrease in average overnight price.

One of the barriers to T&T industry growth in Russia is the poor quality of tourist infrastructure. First and foremost, tour operators are concerned about the state of the roads and a shortage of interregional air travel routes. Also, low compliance with safety rules and obsolete facilities and safety equipment are often mentioned as problems.

Poor quality of communications service and internet connection outside large cities is often cited as one of the biggest barriers to industry growth. For example, in the Siberian and the Far Eastern Federal Districts this fact hinders travel to unique but out-of-the-way places of natural beauty.

Despite the barriers, however, tour operators observe a trend towards a growth in the popularity of domestic travel destinations and availability of new services.

Besides the topics discussed above, the publication provides an integrated assessment of the state of the T&T industry, reviews key market players, evaluates Russian tour operators, and assesses the quality of the tourism infrastructure and the potential of Russia’s T&T industry.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/punkt-naznacheniya-rossiya-rost-populyarnosti-vnutrennego-i-vezdnogo-turizma/search/#01:01:32.287

For more information about policy responses to the coronavirus outbreak and possible ways to stabilize the economy during the pandemic, please see the COVID-19 and StayHomeEconomy special sections of the Roscongress information and analytical system.



Analytics on the topic

Cоциально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, спортивных, общественных мероприятий и событий в области культуры

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, спортивных, общественных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 2500 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 122 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 69 странах мира.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
20.05.2020

Туриндустрия через призму драйверов и барьеров бизнеса

Центр стратегических разработок (ЦСР) представляет комплексное исследование состояния предпринимательской среды, в котором выявляются скрытые драйверы и барьеры развития туристической отрасли, а также ожидания бизнеса и приоритетные стратегии развития.

Аналитики Фонда Росконгресс выделили ключевые выводы исследования, сопроводив каждый из них подходящим по теме фрагментом видеотрансляций панельных дискуссий, состоявшихся в рамках деловых программ ключевых международных мероприятий, проведённых Фондом.

В «Индексе конкурентоспособности туризма и путешествий» по итогам 2019 года Россия занимает высокое 39-е место

Современная индустрия путешествий и туризма превратилась в глобальную экономическую силу, чьё совокупное прямое и косвенное влияние на мировую экономику, по данным Всемирного совета по туризму и путешествиям (ВТТС), в 2018 году составило 8,8 трлн долларов США или 10,4% мировой экономики.

Одновременно с этим общий вклад туризма в занятость составил 319 млн рабочих мест или 1 из 10 рабочих мест в мире. Согласно прогнозам ВТТС, к 2024 году вклад туризма в мировой ВВП составит 10,8% от общего объёма ВВП (13 трлн долл. США) и 10,8% всей занятости в мире (371 млн рабочих мест).

Вклад туристической отрасли в России не является таким ощутимым. Вклад туризма в ВВП России в 2018 году составил 4,2% (78,6 млрд долл. США или 4 926 млрд руб.). Согласно совместному прогнозу специалистов ВТТС и Oxford Economics, к 2024 году доля туризма в ВВП России составит 5,1%, показав рост в номинальных значениях на 51% (до 118,95 млрд долл. США), а в реальных значениях на 16% (до 90,62 млрд долл. США). Одновременно с этим занятость в туристической отрасли прогнозируется на уровне 5,1% или до 3,6 млн рабочих мест в 2024 году.

Одним из наиболее известных рейтингов, оценивающих положение стран в сфере туризма, является «Индекс конкурентоспособности туризма и путешествий» от специалистов Всемирного экономического форума. Россия в Индексе конкурентоспособности туризма и путешествий по итогам 2019 года занимает 39-е место, это достаточно сильная позиция.

Позиция России в рейтинге обусловлена в первую очередь такими показателями, как уровень медицины и гигиены (6-е место в мире), конкурентоспособность цен (27-е место), качество и доступность культурных и природных ресурсов (18-е и 34-е место соответственно). В отчёте ВЭФ по итогам 2019 года отдельно отмечается качество российской авиатранспортной инфраструктуры (23-е место), на которую приходится большая часть всех авиаперевозок в Евразии.

Россия в рейтинге конкурентоспособности туризма и путешествий, 2019.png

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/eef-2018-razvitie-turizma-klasternyy-podkhod-i-eksport-turistskikh-uslug/search/#00:01:16.032

Россия — привлекательная страна для въездных туристических поездок

По данным ВТООН, Россия входит в двадцатку стран по количеству въездных туристических поездок среди 140 стран. Однако за последние пять лет туристический поток в Россию остаётся практически на одном и том же уровне (около 25 млн ед.). Максимальное количество туристических поездок в Россию за рассматриваемый период было совершено в 2015 году (почти 27 млн ед.). После этого в 2016 году произошло снижение, а затем стагнация въездного туризма в Россию. Проведение Чемпионата мира по футболу в 2018 году изменило структуру стран въездного турпотока, однако практически не увеличило турпоток в Россию.

С 2014 года устойчивые темпы прироста количества туристов в Россию демонстрируют Южная Корея (CAGR 14/19 — 30%), Таиланд (29%), Монголия (19%) и Китай (17%). Стоит также упомянуть Индонезию, Кубу и Гонконг, среднегодовой темп роста туристических поездок в Россию из которых с 2014 года превышает 15%, но при этом количество поездок из перечисленных стран в 2019 году не превышало 30 тыс. ед.

Есть также и страны, объём турпотока из которых в Россию показывает постоянное снижение. За период с 2014 года произошёл существенный отток туристов из Узбекистана и Турции. Количество въездных туристических поездок из этих стран снизилось почти в три раза. Также стоит обратить внимание на снижение туристического въездного потока в Россию со стороны Польши, Финляндии и Беларуси. Эти страны имеют с Россией тесные исторические и экономические связи. Снижение турпотока из них должно стать сигналом к поиску причин снижения привлекательности России как туристического направления для жителей этих стран.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/rossiya-vybor-turista-chego-ne-khvataet/search/#01:36:35.840

Показатели выездного туризма в 2020 году будут существенно скорректированы в связи с пандемией COVID-19, а также значительным снижением курса рубля после выхода России из сделки ОПЕК+

Число выездных туристических поездок граждан России за рубеж в 2019 году составило 45,3 млн ед., превысив показатели 2014 года (42,9 млн ед.) после периода сокращения количества поездок в 2015–2016 годах. Такая негативная динамика в первую очередь была связана с внешнеполитическими событиями, ослаблением курса рубля, которое снизило привлекательность выездных туристических поездок для россиян. Последующая стабилизация курса и адаптация населения к внешнеполитическим шокам привела к новому витку роста привлекательности туристических поездок за рубеж.

Определить долю населения, которая путешествует за рубеж, довольно сложно из-за особенностей статистического учёта, однако, по данным опросов, доля россиян, которые выезжали за рубеж за последние четыре года, составляет 6–10%.

Авторы исследования отмечают, что показатели выездного туризма в 2020 году будут существенно скорректированы в связи с пандемией COVID-19, а также значительным снижением курса рубля после выхода России из сделки ОПЕК+.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2019-invest-sessiya/search/#00:57:21.663

По итогам 2019 года туристические компании в России зафиксировали тенденцию роста популярности внутренних направлений для отдыха

По оценкам экспертов ЦСР, количество россиян, размещённых в средствах размещения России, с 2014 года выросло на 60% до 62,2 млн человек. У такой стремительной динамики есть несколько причин, среди них:

· рост популярности внутреннего туризма с размещением в гостиницах и аналогичных средствах размещения;

· реанимация санаторно-курортной системы отдыха на фоне оживления внутреннего туризма;

· реконструкция старых оздоровительных объектов;

· перераспределение части потока выездного туризма на внутренние направления;

· массовый выход средств размещения из «тени» — особенно значительное влияние эта тенденция имела в 2015 году, когда количество зарегистрированных средств размещения выросло за год на 29%;

· активное развитие средств размещения эконом-класса, в частности малых средств размещения;

· перераспределение спроса на более низкие ценовые сегменты, что привело к снижению в рассматриваемом периоде средней стоимости одной ночи размещения более чем на 20%.

Среди препятствий для развития туристической отрасли отмечают недостаточно хорошее состояние туристической инфраструктуры в России. В первую очередь туристические операторы озабочены состоянием дорог и дефицитом маршрутов межрегионального авиасообщения. Также обращается внимание на низкую дисциплину соблюдения правил безопасности, устаревшие устройства и средства защиты.

Одним из главных препятствий для развития отрасли называют плохое качество связи и интернет-соединения за пределами крупных городов. Например, в Сибирском и Дальневосточном федеральных округах этот факт сдерживает развитие туризма в уникальных, но труднодоступных местах.

Несмотря на ряд препятствий, туристические компании зафиксировали тенденцию роста популярности внутрироссийских направлений для отдыха и предоставление новых сервисов и услуг.

Помимо тем, рассмотренных выше, в исследовании также представлены комплексная оценка состояния отрасли, ключевые участники туристического рынка, характеристика туристических компаний в России, потенциал развития туристической отрасли в России и оценка качества туристической инфраструктуры в России.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/punkt-naznacheniya-rossiya-rost-populyarnosti-vnutrennego-i-vezdnogo-turizma/search/#01:01:32.287

Также предлагаем вам ознакомиться с другими материалами, размещёнными в специальных разделах Информационно-аналитической системы Росконгресс COVID-19 и СидимДомаЭкономика, посвящённых мерам реагирования на вспышку коронавируса и возможным путям стабилизации экономики в условиях пандемии.


Аналитика на тему