A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 132 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 70 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
29.01.2020

Oil and Gas Trends 2018-19: Strategy shaped by volatility

With oil supply growing, there is less potential supply available

Strategy& experts believe that the oil and gas industry now feels much healthier than it did 12 months ago: The price of oil has rebounded. After appearing limited to a range between the mid-$40s and $50 per barrel (bbl), Brent crude is now trading above $70. The industry is thus recovering from the brutal last few years of weak prices, enforced capital discipline, portfolio realignments, and productivity efficiencies.

At the same time, the International Energy Agency (IEA) has been flagging the possibility of a supply crunch since 2016. More recently, the CEOs of Total, Eni, and Saudi Aramco have warned of one by the end of the decade. With oil demand growing, and investment in many major projects having been deferred during the downturn, there is less potential supply available. Oil companies will need to boost their production, and there is a risk that some may struggle to keep up. Producers need time to address the vagaries of an over- or under-supplied market.

001.2_Oil and Gas Trends 2018-19 Strategy shaped by volatility.png

The fundamental challenge is the volatility in the sector

Global upstream capital expenditure, which dropped nearly 45 percent between 2014 and 2016 is now forecast to rise 6 percent year-on-year in the medium term. Oil and gas rig activity levels are rising, driven by the North American market, and major projects are being approved. To name a few examples: BP went ahead with the second phase of Mad Dog, a floating production platform, in the Gulf of Mexico. Shell reached a final decision to invest in the Penguins field redevelopment, its first new staffed installation in the northern North Sea in almost 30 years. Exploration is on the rise again for the first time since the global recession.

001.3_Oil and Gas Trends 2018-19 Strategy shaped by volatility.png

Oil and gas companies will also need to grapple with the pace and magnitude of the transition to energy from non-fossil fuel sources.

Facing these uncertainties, oil and gas companies must develop a resilient strategy to mitigate these risks.

Resilient portfolios, innovation, productivity, and capital efficiency are the keys to success

Many industry players continue to neglect the supply side of the global energy situation and assume an overconfidence in supply. Demand continues to exceed annual forecasts, inventories are being reduced, and reserves are not being replaced. Market values — for example, backwardation (in which futures prices trade below expected market prices) and forward pricing curves — reflect a belief that supply is easy to increase and demand will flatten. Nonetheless, the world remains dependent on oil and gas. The need to find more of both resources will become more pressing over the short to medium term.

Volatility is also likely to continue in market fundamentals, thus affecting oil prices. As operators assess the impact of various scenarios from supply constraints to low carbon, they need a plan of action. Portfolios have to be resilient, innovation needs to thrive, and productivity and capital efficiency must remain the bedrock of operations. Looking further out, companies will need a robust strategy for hydrocarbon weighting: a strategy that will serve them no matter what the future brings. Only those companies who can do all this will prevail.

Analytics on the topic

Информационно-аналитическая система
Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
29.01.2020

Тенденции развития нефтегазовой отрасли в 2018 – 2019 гг.

Спрос на нефть растёт, в то время как потенциал для его удовлетворения снижается

По мнению экспертов Strategy&, в целом ситуация в отрасли значительно лучше, чем год назад: цены на нефть восстановились. Если какое-то время назад казалось, что цена установилась в диапазоне приблизительно от 45 долл. США до 50 долл. США за баррель, то сегодня нефть марки Брент торгуется на уровне свыше 70 долл. США. Таким образом, наблюдается восстановление отрасли после тяжелейшего периода, когда на протяжении последних нескольких лет господствовали низкие цены, поддерживалась строгая финансовая дисциплина, проводилась реструктуризация портфеля активов и обеспечивалась высокая производительность.

Международное энергетическое агентство (МЭА) уже с 2016 года сигнализировало о возможности наступления кризиса предложения. А в последнее время о возможности возникновения кризиса предложения к концу десятилетия предупреждали руководители компаний Total, Eni и Saudi Aramco. При растущем спросе на нефть и с учетом того, что инвестиции во многие крупные проекты в период экономического спада были отложены, отмечается снижение потенциала для удовлетворения данного спроса. Нефтяным компаниям потребуется нарастить добычу и возникает риск того, что некоторые из них, возможно, будут с трудом поспевать за растущим спросом.


001.2_Тенденции развития нефтегазовой отрасли в 2018 – 2019 гг..png

Производителям потребуется время для того, чтобы учесть факторы непредсказуемости в части избыточного предложения или неудовлетворенного спроса на рынке.

Волатильность — фундаментальная проблема сектора

Объемы капиталовложений в геологоразведку и добычу, которые за период с 2014 года по 2016 год упали почти на 45%, будут увеличиваться ежегодно на 6% в среднесрочном периоде. В нефтегазовой отрасли растут объемы буровых работ, чему способствует ситуация на североамериканском рынке, и утверждаются крупные проекты. Вот лишь некоторые примеры: компания BP начала строительство второй очереди проекта Mad Dog — плавучей нефтедобычной платформы в Мексиканском заливе; компания Shell приняла окончательное решение об инвестировании в возобновление разработки месторождения Penguins, в свою первую за последние 30 лет новую обслуживаемую установку в северной части Северного моря. Объемы геологоразведочных работ снова растут — впервые с момента начала мирового экономического кризиса.

001.3_Тенденции развития нефтегазовой отрасли в 2018 – 2019 гг..png

Кроме того, нефтегазовым компаниям придется преодолевать трудности, связанные с темпами и масштабом перехода на производство электроэнергии из неископаемых источников.

С учетом данных факторов неопределенности компаниям нефтегазового сектора необходимо разработать жизнеспособную стратегию для снижения указанных рисков.

Жизнеспособные портфели активов, инновации, продуктивность и эффективность капитала — ключевые факторы успешного развития нефтегазовых компаний

Многие участники отрасли по-прежнему оставляют без внимания аспект предложения в мировой энергетике и чрезмерно уверены в возможностях обеспечения поставок. Спрос по-прежнему выше ежегодных прогнозов, товарные запасы сокращаются, а запасы нефти и газа не пополняются. Рыночная стоимость, например бэквордация (при которой фьючерсные контракты заключаются по ценам ниже ожидаемых рыночных цен) и форвардные кривые, отражает уверенность в том, что объем поставок может быть легко увеличен и что спрос перестанет расти и установится на определенном уровне. Тем не менее зависимость всего мира от нефти и газа сохраняется. В краткосрочной и среднесрочной перспективе потребность в увеличении поставок обоих указанных источников энергии будет ощущаться все острее.

С большой вероятностью волатильность фундаментальных факторов рынка сохранится, что будет оказывать влияние на нефтяные цены. Существуют различные сценарии дальнейшего развития событий, от ограничений в области предложения до перехода к низкоуглеродной экономике. Операторы должны будут оценить влияние каждого из них и продумать собственный план действий. Им необходимо иметь жизнеспособные портфели активов, они должны внедрять инновации, а продуктивность и эффективность капитала должны оставаться краеугольным камнем деятельности. В более отдаленной перспективе компаниям потребуется действенная взвешенная стратегия в отношении операций с углеводородами — стратегия, которая сработает вне зависимости от того, что принесет будущее этим компаниям. Преимуществом будут обладать только те компании, которые примут все эти меры.



Аналитика на тему