A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Expert opinion
10.11.2021

Implementing the International Children of the Arctic Project

KEY FINDINGS

The Children of the Arctic project aims to preserve and develop the culture of the indigenous peoples of the North, and its key objectives include improving the quality of the children’s education system and maintaining the linguistic environment in the Arctic zone.

«The future of the Arctic territories depends to a large extent on the conditions we create for the life, education, creativity, development of talents and abilities of our children. The education of children in the Arctic requires the special attention of the state. We must ensure equal opportunities for the development of children living in the Arctic regions (especially in rural areas) and leading a nomadic lifestyle together with their parents,» said Alexander Lutovinov, Chairman of the Nenets Autonomous District Assembly of Deputies.

«The Children of the Arctic project aims to jointly evaluate and research successful educational practices for indigenous children with experts from the Arctic Council member countries. The most important idea is to support indigenous education,» said Anna Otke, Vice-President of the Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North, Siberia and the Far East of the Russian Federation, member of the Federation Council Committee on International Cooperation.

Children of the Arctic project cannot be implemented without the participation of indigenous peoples of the North

«The potential and effectiveness of the project depend crucially on the regulatory role and participation of indigenous peoples and their institutions. Only they can fill it with new meanings that would ensure its practical significance and give it a new impetus,» said Sergei Timashkov, advisor to the head of the Federal Agency for Nationalities.

«We fully support the United Nations slogan ’Nothing for the Indigenous without the Indigenous’, so the new vector of the project is to focus on suggestions from representatives of non-governmental organizations,» Anna Polezhaeva, adviser to the head of the Federal Agency for Nationalities, said.

«In the new phase of the Children of the Arctic project, the Russian Federation has adopted a bottom-up approach, which implies that indigenous communities of the Arctic zone will define the project outcomes themselves and act as the main implementers of the project. This will enable indigenous organizations and their communities to work together, fostering a synergy of knowledge between experts and indigenous knowledge holders,» said Anna Degteva, Executive Secretary of the Indigenous Peoples Secretariat of the Arctic Council.

The Children of the Arctic project is evolving and should focus on practical action

«The Children of the Arctic project started in 2017. <...> The 2017–2019 phase can be described as a search for opportunities, a search for joint ideas in order to help in the accessibility of education for children of the North. The next stage began in 2019 and continues until now. These are more specific activities,» said Anna Otke, Vice-President of the Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North, Siberia and the Far East of the Russian Federation, member of the Federation Council Committee on International Cooperation.

«The project is being transformed, and our common task is to focus it on concrete actions that the concept envisages. <...> There is nothing restricting us to ensure that the right initiatives that non-governmental organizations and public figures have are included in the project concepts,» Anna Polezhaeva, adviser to the head of the Federal Agency for Nationalities, said.

PROBLEMS

The current education of indigenous children in boarding schools causes them to lose touch with their native language and culture

«You may have heard about the Atabasca experience of children visiting boarding schools in Canada and Alaska. This practice continues. And there are graduates of these schools who cannot even speak their native languages. Some of the Athabaskan languages are dead,» said Bill Erasmus, international chairman of the Arctic Athabaskan Council.

«Imagine: you are seven years old, you are taken away from your family and sent to a city or settlement, you are removed from your national natural context, from your family and the environment you have known since childhood. It is difficult for children who have to face this kind of stress. And it also leads to the fact that the transfer of traditional knowledge between generations can be interrupted. Therefore, the education of reindeer herders should not exist outside the nomadic way of life,» said Anders Oskal, Secretary-General of the Association of World Reindeer Herders and Executive Director of the International Centre for Reindeer Husbandry in the Kingdom of Norway.

«The importance of developing nomadic education precisely because it ensures the fundamental rights of indigenous children to maintain a connection with their traditional way of life is recognized both at the level of federal education and enlightenment bodies and by the expert community,» said Sergei Timashkov, adviser to the head of the Federal Agency for Nationalities.

Textbook shortages and their inadequacy to modern standards hamper education among indigenous peoples in the Arctic

«One of the main difficulties in language teaching is the lack of textbooks. Until 2016, our teachers used textbooks that were published during the Soviet era,» said Tatiana Tuliakhova, a methodologist at the Regional Institute for Education Development (YMAO).

«It is important that textbooks reflect the cultural identity of Arctic peoples, highlighting the relationship of their native languages to crafts, local climatic and geographical realities, nature, value systems and traditional knowledge. I would especially like to emphasize the connection between indigenous languages, crafts and trades: it has been seen that when certain crafts disappear, whole layers of vocabulary disappear from languages, along with the meanings they carry. Conversely, the loss of a language can lead to the loss of crafts,» said Alexey Tsykarev, member of the UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues from the socio-cultural region of Eastern Europe, Russia, Central Asia and Transcaucasia.

SOLUTIONS

The development of nomadic education will make it possible to educate children without disconnecting them from their families and the traditional ways of their people

«Nomadic education is a very important and sensitive topic. We have 20 reindeer herding peoples, and we have semi-nomadic peoples. And it seems to me that the point of nomadic education is to provide equal educational opportunities to indigenous children leading this vulnerable way of life while maintaining a connection to their traditional environment, their traditional way of life,» said Sergei Timashkov, adviser to the Head of the Federal Agency for Nationalities.

«In 2017, at the request of the Department of Indigenous Minorities of the North of the Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous District, the Herzen Russian State Pedagogical University (RSPU) specifically developed an educational programme to train teachers of nomadic schools, taking into account regional specifics. The unique module of the education program helps develop competencies related to organizing the nomadic educational process and apply varying forms of its organization, taking into account specifics of nomadic education. <...> The Institute of Childhood at the Russian State Pedagogical University is also implementing a programme of additional professional education to train a nomadic educator,» said Sofia Unruh, acting deputy rector for regional work at the Herzen State Pedagogical University.

«Under the Nomadic School project, last year we developed a methodological document, which was sent to all the Arctic regions of Russia. It highlights the moments of organizing nomadic education. This year we created curricula and manuals on the basics of life safety in nomadic conditions for preschoolers and elementary school children, taking into account traditional knowledge. An additional professional programme for teacher professional development on the implementation of the educational process in nomadic conditions was developed and passed expertise» said Nadezhda Vasilyeva, acting director of the Federal Institute of Native Languages of the peoples of the Russian Federation.

Native language textbooks and children’s literature need to be published to preserve indigenous languages of the Arctic

«The Nenets Autonomous Okrug is characterized by a careful attitude towards national culture and the national language. We are working hard to preserve the Nenets language. In spring, textbooks were published for the national school, from the first to the fourth grades. Children have already started using them to study their native language,» said Yuri Bezdudny, Governor of the Nenets Autonomous Area.

«On the instructions of the Ministry of Education of the Russian Federation curricula and textbooks in the Even, Evenki, Teleut, Dolgan languages are being prepared, literary works in the Even, Udegei, and Saami languages have been translated. <...> textbooks in Nenets, Khanty, Selkup and Veps languages are being developed under the „Children of the Arctic“ project. Next year, the textbooks created in 2021 will be tested and published, and the development of new textbooks for other native languages will continue,» said Nadezhda Vasilyeva, Acting Director of the Federal Institute of Native Languages of the peoples of the Russian Federation, said.

«We suggest that at the federal level we consider funding the development of electronic forms of textbooks on the language and literature of indigenous peoples of the Arctic,» said Tatiana Tuliakhova, Methodologist at the Regional Institute for Education Development (YMAO).


For more analytical materials on the Arctic agenda, see the Roscongress Information and Analytical System roscongress.org/en/knowledge/arktika/materials/.


The material was prepared by the information partner of TASS.


Release date
10.11.2021
Analytics on the topic

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 160 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Экспертное мнение
10.11.2021

Реализация международного проекта «Дети Арктики»

КЛЮЧЕВЫЕ ВЫВОДЫ

Проект «Дети Арктики» направлен на сохранение и развитие культуры коренных народов Севера, а в числе его ключевых задач — улучшение качества системы образования детей и сохранение языковой среды в Арктической зоне

«Будущее арктических территорий во многом зависит от того, какие условия мы создадим для жизни, образования, творчества, развития талантов и способностей наших детей. Образование детей Арктики требует особого внимания государства. Мы должны обеспечить равные возможности для развития ребят, проживающих в арктических районах (особенно в сельской местности) и ведущих вместе с родителями кочевой образ жизни», — председатель собрания депутатов Ненецкого автономного округа Александр Лутовинов.

«Проект „Дети Арктики“ направлен на совместную оценку и исследование с экспертами стран-членов Арктического совета успешных образовательных практик для детей коренных народов. Самая главная идея — это поддержка коренного образования», — вице-президент Ассоциации коренных малочисленных народов Севера, Сибири и Дальнего Востока РФ, член комитета по международному сотрудничеству Совета Федерации Анна Отке.

Реализация проекта «Дети Арктики» невозможна без участия представителей коренных народов Севера

«Потенциал и эффективность проекта в определяющей степени зависят от регулятивной роли и участия в нем коренных народов, их институтов. Только они могут наполнить его новыми смыслами, которые бы обеспечили его практическое значение и дали бы ему новый импульс», — советник руководителя Федерального агентства по делам национальностей Сергей Тимашков.

«Мы полностью поддерживаем слоган Организации объединенных наций „Ничего для коренных без коренных“, поэтому новый вектор проекта — это концентрация на предложениях представителей неправительственных организаций», — советник руководителя Федерального агентства по делам национальностей Анна Полежаева.

«На новом этапе проекта „Дети Арктики“ Российская Федерация применила подход „снизу — вверх“, который подразумевает, что сообщества коренных народов Арктической зоны сами определят результаты проекта и выступят в качестве его основных исполнителей. Это позволит организациям коренных народов и их сообществам работать вместе, способствуя синергии знаний между экспертами и носителями знаний коренных народов», — исполнительный секретарь Секретариата коренных народов Арктического совета Анна Дегтева.

Проект «Дети Арктики» развивается и должен сосредоточиться на практических действиях

«Проект „Дети Арктики“ начался в 2017 году. <...> Этап 2017-2019 годов можно охарактеризовать как поиск возможностей, поиск совместных идей для того, чтобы помочь в доступности образования детей Севера. Следующий этап начался с 2019 года и продолжается до сих пор — это более конкретные мероприятия», — вице-президент Ассоциации коренных малочисленных народов Севера, Сибири и Дальнего Востока РФ, член комитета по международному сотрудничеству Совета Федерации Анна Отке.

«Проект преображается, и наша общая задача — сфокусировать его на конкретных действиях, которые предусматривает концепция. <...> Нас ничто не ограничивает, чтобы те правильные инициативы, которые есть у неправительственных организаций и у общественных деятелей, были включены в концепции проекта», — советник руководителя Федерального агентства по делам национальностей Анна Полежаева.

ПРОБЛЕМЫ

Сложившаяся обучения детей коренных народов Севера в школах-интернатах приводит к утрате их связи с родным языком и культурой

«Возможно, вы слышали об опыте атабасков, который сложился при посещении детьми в Канаде и Аляске школ-интернатов. Такая практика продолжается. И есть выпускники этих школ, которые даже не могут говорить на родных языков. Некоторые из языков атабасков умерли», — международный председатель Арктического совета атабасков Билл Эрасмус.

«Представьте: вам семь лет, вас отбирают у семьи и отправляют в город или поселение, вы изымаетесь из своего национального естественного контекста, из семьи и окружения, которое вам известно с детства. Это трудно для детей, которые должны столкнуться с таким стрессом. И это также ведет к тому, что передача традиционных знаний между поколениями может быть прервана. Поэтому образование оленеводов не должно существовать вне кочевого образа жизни», — генеральный секретарь Ассоциации «Оленеводы мира», исполнительный директор Международного центра оленеводства Королевства Норвегии Андерс Оскал.

«Вопросы важности развития кочевого образования именно в контексте того, что оно обеспечивает фундаментальные права детей коренных народов на сохранение связи со своим традиционным укладом, признаются и на уровне федеральных органов образования и просвещения, и экспертным сообществом», — советник руководителя Федерального агентства по делам национальностей Сергей Тимашков.

Нехватка учебников и их несоответствие современным стандартам сдерживает образование среди коренных народов Арктики

«Одной из главных трудностей в обучении языку является отсутствие учебников. До 2016 года наши педагоги пользовались учебниками, которые были изданы в советское время», — методист Регионального института развития образования (ЯМАО) Татьяна Туляхова.

«Важно, чтобы учебники отражали культурную самобытность народов Арктики, подчеркивали взаимосвязь их родных языков с промыслами, местными климатическими и географическими реалиями, природой, системой ценностей и традиционными знаниями. Особо хотел бы подчеркнуть связь языков, ремесел и промыслов коренных народов: замечено, что с исчезновением определенных видов ремесел из языков пропадают целые пласты лексики вместе со смыслами, которые они несут. И, наоборот, утрата языка может повлечь утрату промыслов», — член Постоянного Форума ООН по вопросам коренных народов от социокультурного региона Восточная Европа, Россия, Средняя Азия и Закавказье Алексей Цыкарев.

РЕШЕНИЯ

Развитие кочевого образования позволит обучать детей, не отрывая их от семьи и традиционного уклада своего народа

«Кочевое образование — очень важная и чувствительная тема. У нас 20 оленеводческих народов и есть народы, которые ведут полукочевой образ жизни. И мне кажется, что смысл кочевого образования в том, чтобы обеспечить равные образовательные возможности детям из числа коренных народов, ведущих этот уязвимый образ жизни, с одновременным сохранением связи со своей традиционной средой, традиционным укладом», — советник руководителя Федерального агентства по делам национальностей Сергей Тимашков.

«В 2017 году по заказу департамента по делам коренных малочисленных народов Севера Ямало-Ненецкого автономного округа в Российском государственном педагогическом университете (РГПУ) имени А.И. Герцена была специально разработана образовательная программа для подготовки учителей кочевой школы с учетом региональной специфики. Уникальный модуль образовательной программы позволяет формировать компетенции, связанные с организацией кочевого образовательного процесса, применять вариативные формы его организации, учитывающие специфику кочевья. <...> Институт детства РГПУ также реализует программу дополнительного профессионального образования для подготовки кочевого воспитателя», — и.о. заместителя ректора по работе с регионами РГПУ имени А.И.Герцена Софья Унру.

«По проекту „Кочевая школа“ в прошлом году мы разработали методический документ, который был направлен всем арктическим субъектам России. В нем выделены моменты организации кочевого образования. В этом году созданы учебные программы и пособия по основам безопасности жизнедеятельности в условиях кочевья для дошкольников и младших школьников с учетом традиционных знаний. Разработана и прошла экспертизу дополнительная профессиональная программа повышения квалификации педагога по осуществлению образовательного процесса в условиях кочевья», — и.о. директора Федерального института родных языков народов РФ Надежда Васильева.

Для сохранения языков коренных народов Арктики необходимо издание учебных пособий и детской литературы на родных языках

«Для Ненецкого автономного округа характерно бережное отношение к национальной культуре, к национальному языку. Проводится большая работа по сохранению ненецкого языка — весной были изданы учебники для национальной школы, с первого по четвертый классы. Дети уже начали изучать по ним родной язык», — губернатор Ненецкого автономного округа Юрий Бездудный.

«По заданию Министерства просвещения РФ разрабатываются программы и учебники на эвенском, эвенкийском, телеутском, долганском языках, переведены литературные произведения на эвенский, удэгейский и саамский языки. <...> Разрабатываются учебники по ненецкому, хантыйскому, селькупскому и вепсскому языкам по проекту „Дети Арктики“. В следующем году планируется апробация и издание созданных в 2021 году учебников, продолжится разработка новых учебников по другим родным языкам», — и.о. директора Федерального института родных языков народов РФ Надежда Васильева.

«Предлагаем на федеральном уровне рассмотреть возможность финансирования разработки электронных форм учебников по языку и литературе коренных народов Арктики», — методист Регионального института развития образования (ЯМАО) Татьяна Туляхова.


Другие аналитические материалы по арктической повестке смотрите в Информационно-аналитической системе Росконгресс roscongress.org/knowledge/arktika/materials/.


Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС.


Аналитика на тему