A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Expert opinion
31.08.2021

Alexei Chekunkov: “The Russian Pacific Could Become A New Frontier – a Place of Experimentation”

Minister for the development of the Russian Far East and Arctic Alexei Chekunkov speaks about new opportunities offered by the far east in an evolving world, the impact of the pandemic, and an elite force of management personnel.

This year’s edition of the Eastern Economic Forum is taking place under the theme «The Opportunities for The Far East in a World under Transformation». What exactly are these new opportunities?

The last few years have seen enormous changes occur, with implications for all of humanity. There has been the pandemic, increasingly rapid technological progress, and paradigm shifts in energy and the environment. International relations are also evolving at speed. All this is changing the global landscape.

Firstly, there is energy. Fossil fuels and hydrocarbons are giving way to clean electric power. In terms of technology, knowledge, and capital invested in the industry, we have already reached critical mass. The exact time the world goes completely carbon- and hydrocarbon-free may still be a matter of debate, but the fact that the process is under way and the energy mix will change significantly over the coming decades is indisputable.


Secondly, there is the environment. The extreme climate phenomena witnessed around the world is a clear sign that the climate is changing. We could argue about the reasons for this as much as we like; however, in the words of Marx, «Practice is the criterion of truth». And practice has shown that nature is increasingly throwing up extreme surprises which are in turn taking an enormous toll on the economy and people’s lives. The environment and climate change are among the most pressing topics on the global agenda. At the same time, they are becoming big business as a new industry takes shape.

Thirdly, there is healthcare and the pharmaceutical industry. Just as the wars of the past accelerated technological progress, so the fight against the pandemic could result in a breakthrough in the biotech sphere and medicine. This would lead to improvements in healthcare, an increase in life expectancy, and to defeating serious illnesses.

Fourthly, remote working has become part of life throughout the globe. It was the first time in our history that this has happened — life did not stop. Perhaps the world did not need as many offices as once thought — and this is a multitrillion- dollar market. All these trends will shape how the world will evolve over the course of the 21st century.

So, moving on to the opportunities. The Far East is capable of producing vast quantities of clean energy. Today, only 23% of the region’s hydropower resource potential is being utilized. The Far East boasts rivers, sunlight and wind in abundance, which are all potential sources of clean, renewable energy. The transition of entire economies to a hydrogen-based model is something which is being keenly discussed. This new economy of clean energy requires a huge amount of core resources. Indeed, the entire periodic table of elements will be needed to put modern systems in place, including electric motors and power storage units. Whereas in the past we focused on oil, gas, gold and coal, today we are finding a broad spectrum of materials to be of high added commercial value.

In terms of the environmental agenda, the Far East could become a major global centre of green commerce. After all, it is the largest green space in the world. There will be a pressing need for forest care technologies, along with efforts to increase the absorptive capacity of the forest industry. The Far East could become one of the world’s main producers of carbon credits.


With regards healthcare and the pharmaceutical industry, the Far East stands out in two aspects. Firstly, it offers the best legal and taxation framework for doing business. There are advanced special economic zones, the Free Port of Vladivostok, a special administrative regime on Russky Island, and the Russian Arctic. On top of this, the President of the Russian Federation recently announced a new highly attractive tax regime for the Kuril Islands, which is about to be put in place. Under these regimes, it is more profitable to establish new high-tech production operations than elsewhere. Given developments in robotization and energy affordability, the Far East is an attractive place to manufacturers, including pharmaceutical companies. Another niche is medical tourism — we are able to offer high quality medical care and professional doctors. Demand for these services is enormous in the Asia-Pacific region, and the Far East’s proximity to this multi-billion-dollar market is giving rise to new strategic opportunities.

Given the new options in communication, training, and work, the Russian Pacific could become a new frontier — a place of experimentation. This is one of the most environmentally pure and beautiful places on earth, and the region offers a wealth of opportunities to interact with nature and live a life that would have been considered rather unconventional in the 20th century when compared to regular city life. In order to ensure that we take full advantage of each of these trump cards, tireless and concerted efforts are needed from each one of us.

How has the pandemic affected the region’s economy?

The economy of the Russian Far East weathered the pandemic. GRP declined by no more than 1.8% compared to figures for 2019 — a third less than the Russian average. The SME sector and the services industry experienced issues, as they did in other regions across Russia. In order to shore up this important sector of the economy, a range of measures were put in place to support business owners. Large production sites did not shut down, however. Indeed, a number of new ambitious projects got under way during the pandemic. There is the Baimskaya Ore Zone in Chukotka, for example, or the Ozernoye Deposit in Buryatia. Similarly, the pandemic has not stopped work on a number of key transnational infrastructure projects. Notable examples include the construction of a highway bridge in Amur Region and a railway bridge in the Jewish Autonomous Region connecting Russia to China. And as traffic increases, so cooperation between our nations will reach a fundamentally new level.

Today, Primorye Territory is home to advanced special economic zones, the Free Port of Vladivostok, and a special administrative district. Why are so many initiatives of this kind needed?

Together, more than 2,600 investment projects are under way in 22 advanced special economic zones and the Free Port of Vladivostok. This regime is spread out across 22 municipalities in five regions. More than 500 residents are based in advanced special economic zones alone, and every week this figure is growing. These zones were established for mediumsized and large enterprises. Together, they make up the most popular and significant incentive regime in Russia, if one goes by the value of agreements signed and the amount of money invested. Indeed, residents of these zones have signed agreements worth a total of more than RUB 4.4 trillion, of which RUB 1.2 trillion has been invested. In addition, more than 40,000 jobs have been created. Thanks to the incentives and preferences in place, these zones are seeing complex and ambitious projects being implemented of the kind that haven’t been seen for decades. The development of the Udokan and Baimskoye deposits are just two such examples.


The Free Port of Vladivostok is a relatively new regime, which was put in place after the establishment of advanced special economic zones. Nevertheless, the broad selection of incentives on offer, together with reduced red tape, mean that it is popular with small and medium-sized enterprises. More than 2,000 residents are based there, and more than 260 enterprises are already fully operational. Agreements worth a total of RUB 1.1 trillion have been signed, and RUB 202 billion has already been invested. This has all translated into the creation of 25,000 new jobs.

The special administrative district on Russky Island was established to redistribute Russian capital from less friendly jurisdictions without shouldering a tax burden. This regime is only just getting off the ground. Work is currently under way on reviewing a range of ambitious pilot projects, several of which will be presented at the Eastern Economic Forum.


Another new form of government support is specifically focused on the Russian Arctic. How important is this initiative for businesses?

With an area of 5 million square kilometres, the economic zone in the Russian Arctic is the largest of its kind anywhere in the world. Although only established in 2020, it already has more than 160 residents. Investments in various projects total RUB 257 billion, and 8,000 jobs are being created in transport and logistics, mineral extraction and processing, tourism, fishing, manufacturing, and services. In addition, eight projects worth RUB 95 billion have been registered at the Capital of the Arctic advanced special economic zone.

The government is compensating infrastructure construction costs associated with major investment projects. Among those benefitting from this form of support are project developers operating in mineral extraction, port infrastructure, logistics, and aquaculture. Construction projects in Murmansk Region, for example, include a mining and metals plant, a specialized deep-sea mineral fertilizer transhipment terminal, and a salmon and trout hatchery. Work on developing the Syradasayskoye coal deposit is set to begin on the Taymyr Peninsula. A project to build a lead-zinc ore extraction and processing enterprise on the Novaya Zemlya archipelago (Yuzhny Island) is under way. In total, the government is set to support more than RUB 200 billion-worth of investment in new projects. These will not only create jobs and bring socioeconomic benefits to the Arctic, they will also lead to increased freight traffic along the Northern Sea Route.

Under the national development programme for the Far East, quality of life should improve at a faster rate than the Russian average across all parameters over the next four years. How will this be achieved, given that regional budgets are relatively modest?

There is no room for discussion here — the objectives set by the President will be achieved. A major social development programme for centres of economic growth is currently being implemented in the Far East. Over the course of three years, more than RUB 100 billion has been invested in building and modernizing 1,500 social institutions, sites, and facilities. These include clinics, schools, nursery schools, and social infrastructure. The government has allocated substantial funds towards subsidizing flights and social benefits, and a package of measures aimed at improving quality of life for people in the Far East is being implemented. We are working to address the budget deformations that have taken root over many years. This is with a view to attracting additional resources to the region, and to ensuring that the programmes of all relevant government bodies include the necessary measures. At the same time, we are introducing new mechanisms for using public funds. The aim of these is to attract private investment for infrastructure, including social infrastructure. This will be achieved through concessions, which we plan to put in place for projects forming part of the Far East and Arctic Concession programme worth up to RUB 500 billion.


Among the events to take place at the Eastern Economic Forum will be a presentation of the Muravyov-Amursky 2030 programme to train managerial personnel for the Far East. Is there a sense that good managers are in short supply?

We are launching a far-reaching programme to not just train managerial personnel, but to create an elite force of managerial talent for development in the Far East and Arctic. It’s a special kind of work which carries with it special requirements — not only in terms of education and motivation, but also in terms of physical capacity and resilience to stress. It’s important to be prepared to constantly be on the move between time zones. The objective is to recruit leaders who are not only keen on testing their skills in the civil service, but who are also ready to tackle complex and ambitious challenges. The programme involves a tough selection process from the off — to be accepted, candidates need to pass a series of difficult and rigorous tests. Some of the best higher education institutions in the country have joined the initiative as partners. These include the Graduate School of Public Management, Skolkovo, the Russian Academy of Public Administration, Moscow State University, and the Higher School of Economics. As well as receiving training, these elite forces will work in direct contact with those responsible for the development of the Far East — from the minister, to city mayors. As a result, they will have the chance to fully immerse themselves in the Far East context. Those who complete the two-year course will possess a unique set of skills and knowledge which will be vital for the development of our nation’s geostrategic regions.


Analytics on the topic

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 160 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Экспертное мнение
31.08.2021

Алексей Чекунков: «Тихоокеанская Россия может стать фронтиром, территорией экспериментов»

Министр Российской Федерации по развитию Дальнего Востока и Арктики Алексей Чекунков — о новых возможностях дальнего востока в меняющемся мире, влиянии пандемии и управленческом спецназе

Главная тема ВЭФ в 2021 году заявлена как «Новые возможности Дальнего Востока в меняющемся мире». В чем состоят эти новые возможности?

Последние несколько лет принесли в жизнь человечества ряд кардинальных перемен. Пандемия, ускоряющийся технологический прогресс, смена парадигмы в энергетике, экологии, стремительно меняющиеся международные отношения. Все это делает мир другим.

Во-первых, энергетика. Происходит переход от ископаемых топлив, углеводородов к чистой электрической энергии. Критическая масса технологий и накопленных знаний, капитала, проинвестированного в отрасль, уже достигнута. Можно строить прогнозы о том, когда мир полностью откажется от угля и углеводородов, но то, что это произойдет и баланс энергоресурсов существенно изменится в течение нескольких десятилетий, очевидно.

Во-вторых, экология. Экстремальные климатические явления, которые наблюдаются во всем мире, показывают, что климат меняется. Можно сколько угодно спорить о причинах изменений. Но, как говорил Маркс, практика — критерий истины. И эта практика показывает, что природа все чаще подкидывает экстремальные сюрпризы, которые наносят огромный экономический ущерб и отражаются на жизни людей. Тема экологии, изменения климата уже одна из ключевых в глобальной повестке. И одновременно становится большим бизнесом, новой отраслью экономики.

В-третьих, здравоохранение и фармацевтика. Как исторически войны ускоряли технологический прогресс, так и пандемия может стать стимулом для прорыва в биотехнологиях и медицине. Результаты позволят укрепить здоровье, увеличить продолжительность жизни, победить серьезные болезни.

В-четвертых, весь мир на практике потренировался работать на предельной дистанции. Это произошло впервые за историю цивилизации — жизнь не остановилась. Возможно, миру уже не потребуется так много офисов, как считалось ранее, — а это рынок объемом в триллионы долларов. Все эти тренды будут формировать картину мира в течение XXI века.


Теперь о возможностях. С точки зрения энергетики Дальний Восток может производить огромное количество чистой энергии. Сегодня задействовано только 23% потенциала гидроэнергетических ресурсов территории. Огромное количество дальневосточных рек, солнце и ветер — потенциальные источники чистой, возобновляемой энергии. Обсуждается переход целых экономик на водородную базу. Новая экономика чистой энергии требует очень много базовых ресурсов — вся таблица Менделеева нужна, чтобы производить современные механизмы, в том числе электродвигатели, накопители энергии. Если раньше мы концентрировались на нефти, газе, золоте и угле, то сейчас обширная палитра материалов получает высокую дополнительную коммерческую ценность.

С точки зрения экологии Дальний Восток может стать одним из ключевых мировых центров «зеленого» бизнеса. На карте мы самая большая зеленая территория в мире. Все технологии ухода за лесом, увеличения поглощающей способности леса будут крайне востребованы. Дальний Восток может стать одним из главных производителей карбоновых кредитов в мире.


В контексте здравоохранения и фармацевтики Дальний Восток выделяют два аспекта. Первый — это самый благоприятный правовой и налоговый режим ведения бизнеса. Территории опережающего развития, Свободный порт Владивосток, специальный административный режим на острове Русский, Арктическая зона РФ, сейчас к ним добавится суперналоговый режим на Курилах, который недавно анонсировал президент России. Создавать новые высокотехнологичные производства в этих режимах выгоднее, чем в других местах. С учетом роботизации, доступности энергии Дальний Восток является привлекательной производственной площадкой, в том числе для фармы. Отдельной нишей является медицинский туризм. У нас качественная медицина, профессиональные врачи. Соседство Дальнего Востока с миллиардными рынками АТР, на которых спрос на такие услуги колоссален, создает новые стратегические возможности.

С точки зрения новых форматов общения, обучения и работы тихоокеанская Россия также может стать фронтиром, территорией экспериментов. Это одно из самых экологичных и красивых мест с огромным разнообразием вариантов взаимодействия с природой и ведения образа жизни, который в экономике XX века выглядел экзотическим по сравнению с обычным городским укладом. Для того чтобы всеми этими козырями воспользоваться, нужна напряженная и слаженная работа каждого из нас.

Как пандемия сказалась на экономике региона?

Экономика Дальнего Востока устояла в пандемию. Снижение ВРП относительно показателей 2019 года не превысило 1,8%. Это в полтора раза меньше среднероссийских показателей. Малый и средний бизнес, сфера услуг столкнулись с трудностями — как и в других регионах нашей страны. Для поддержки этого важного сектора экономики был реализован комплекс мер, направленных на поддержку предпринимателей. Что касается крупных производств, то они не останавливались. Более того, в пандемию стартовали новые крупнейшие проекты, такие как разработка Баимской рудной зоны на Чукотке или Озерного месторождения в Бурятии. Пандемия не остановила ряд важных трансграничных инфраструктурных проектов. В частности, построены автомобильный мост в Амурской области и железнодорожный мост в Еврейской автономной области, которые свяжут Россию и КНР. Запуск движения по этим направлениям позволит вывести международное сотрудничество между нашими странами на принципиально новый уровень.

Сегодня на территории Приморского края работают ТОР, действуют режимы Свободного порта Владивосток и Специального административного района. Для чего понадобилось такое обилие преференциальных режимов?

На 22 территориях опережающего развития (ТОР) и в Свободном порту Владивосток (СПВ) — режиме, действующем в 22 муниципалитетах пяти регионов, — сегодня реализуется более 2,6 тыс. инвестиционных проектов. Непосредственно ТОР насчитывают более 500 резидентов — каждую неделю эта цифра растет. ТОР были созданы для среднего и крупного бизнеса. Они являются самым популярным и самым значительным преференциальным режимом в России — по объему заключенных соглашений и фактически вложенным инвестициям. С резидентами дальневосточных территорий опережающего развития заключены соглашения на сумму более 4,4 трлн руб., из которых более 1,2 трлн инвестированы. Создано более 40 тыс. новых рабочих мест. Благодаря системе льгот и преференций там реализуются сложные и масштабные проекты, которые не запускались десятилетиями. Такие как развитие Удоканского, Баимского месторождений.

Что касается СПВ, то это молодой режим, который появился позже, чем ТОР. Тем не менее благодаря широкому выбору преференций и простоте административных процедур он востребован малым и средним бизнесом. В нем более 2 тыс. резидентов. Более 260 предприятий уже введено в эксплуатацию. Заключены соглашения объемом 1,1 трлн руб., из которых инвестированы 202 млрд руб. Создано более 25 тыс. новых рабочих мест.

САР на острове Русский создавался для редислокации российского капитала из недружественных юрисдикций без налоговых потерь. Этот преференциальный режим пока только начинает работать. Рассматривается ряд масштабных пилотных проектов, некоторые из них будут презентованы на ВЭФ.

Еще один новый вид государственной поддержки — Арктическая зона Российской Федерации. Насколько он востребован у бизнеса?

Арктическая зона Российской Федерации — самая большая в мире экономическая зона площадью более 5 млн кв. км. Она создана в 2020 году. Тем не менее этот молодой режим уже насчитывает более 160 резидентов. Объем инвестиций в проекты составляет 257 млрд руб., создается 8 тыс. рабочих мест в транспорте и логистике, добыче и переработке полезных ископаемых, туризме, рыбном промысле, производстве товаров и услуг. Еще восемь проектов на 95 млрд руб. зарегистрированы на территории опережающего развития «Столица Арктики».


Государство компенсирует крупным инвестиционным проектам затраты на строительство инфраструктуры. Этим механизмом поддержки воспользовались инициаторы проектов в сфере добычи полезных ископаемых, портовой инфраструктуры, логистики, аквакультуры. Например, в Мурманской области создаются горно-металлургический комбинат, специализированный глубоководный терминал для перевалки минеральных удобрений и завод для разведения лосося и форели. На Таймыре начнется освоение Сырадасайского каменноугольного месторождения. Реализуется проект создания предприятия по добыче и переработке свинцово-цинковых руд на архипелаге Новая Земля (остров Южный). Общий объем инвестиций в новые проекты, которым обеспечена государственная поддержка, превысит 200 млрд руб. Их реализация даст не только рабочие места и социально-экономические эффекты для арктических регионов, но и дополнительный грузовой поток для Северного морского пути.


Национальная программа развития Дальнего Востока предполагает, что в ближайшие четыре года все ключевые показатели качества жизни людей должны расти быстрее, чем в среднем по России. Как это реализовать при довольно скромных региональных бюджетах?

Здесь нет предмета для обсуждения. Задачи, поставленные президентом, будут выполнены. Сегодня на Дальнем Востоке реализуется масштабная программа социального развития центров экономического роста. За три года проинвестировано более 100 млрд руб. в создание и модернизацию 1,5 тыс. объектов социальной сферы — поликлиник, школ, детских садов, других объектов городской социальной инфраструктуры. Правительством выделены значительные средства на субсидирование авиаперевозок, социальные выплаты, реализуется комплекс мер, направленных на повышение качества жизни дальневосточников. Работаем над выравниванием сложившихся за долгие годы бюджетных деформаций для того, чтобы привлечь в развитие региона дополнительные ресурсы, заложить необходимые мероприятия в госпрограммы всех отраслевых органов исполнительной власти. Параллельно внедряем новые механизмы, которые позволят нам использовать бюджетные средства как рычаг для привлечения частных инвестиций в создание инфраструктуры, в том числе социальной. Речь идет о концессионных механизмах, которые мы планируем задействовать при реализации проектов в рамках программы «Дальневосточная и арктическая концессии» общим объемом до 500 млрд руб.

На ВЭФ пройдет презентация программы по подготовке управленческих кадров для Дальнего Востока «Муравьев-Амурский — 2030». Вы ощущаете дефицит хороших руководителей?

Мы запускаем масштабную программу не просто подготовки управленческих кадров, а создания управленческого спецназа для развития Дальнего Востока и Арктики. Это особая работа, предъявляющая специальные требования не только к уровню образования, мотивации, но и к физическим возможностям, стрессоустойчивости. Надо быть готовым постоянно находиться в движении между различными часовыми поясами. Задача — отобрать лидеров, которым интересно не просто попробовать себя на госслужбе, но и быть вовлеченными в решение сложных и амбициозных задач.


Программа предполагает жесткий отбор на входе — чтобы стать участником, кандидатам предстоит пройти сложное многоступенчатое испытание. Партнерами проекта выступают лучшие российские вузы:

Высшая школа госуправления, школа «Сколково», Российская академия государственной службы, Московский государственный университет, ВШЭ. Параллельно с обучением участники, наши «спецназовцы», будут работать в непосредственном контакте с руководителями системы по развитию Дальнего Востока — от министра до мэров дальневосточных городов. Это позволит ребятам глубоко погрузиться в дальневосточный контекст. Те, кто пройдет двухлетний курс, получат уникальный багаж знаний и компетенций, который будет крайне востребован в развитии геостратегических регионов нашей страны.


Аналитика на тему