A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Maintaining a Single Digital Landscape in the Face of a Struggle for Digital Sovereignty
3 June 2021
15:00—16:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Private online corporations have changed relations between nations

Our resources are regularly subjected to censor and discrimination by foreign IT giants. […] We could manage with RuTube, which is similar to YouTube, without their help and without their interference in our lives. [...] Not defending your digital sovereignty is like not defending your borders — Margarita Simonyan, Chief Editor of RT Channel and Chief Editor of International Information Agency Rossiya Segodnya.

Our platforms should definitely be an alternative to theirs. We need to make them trendy and convenient. […] All foreign platforms have to have legal representation, and not marketing, as it is now. [...] The law on retaliatory measures against the censoring of Russian information resources should be the same for everyone. I welcome the introduction of this law — Alexander Zharov, Chief Executive Officer, Gazprom-Media Holding.

There are two concepts.[…] The first is the freedom to disseminate information in the world. We’re currently talking about global networks [...] This is the free dissemination of information and the inadmissibility of hindering it. This concept is already being introduced in a number of international documents. […] The second concept is the protection of the national media space. This involves the internal national legislation of a country, which regulates, protects, or lobbies for everything related to the media sphere. Do they contradict each other? We have to look at each specific case, but the most important thing is that these two concepts have a state dimension and that the actors are states. The state builds a protective mechanism within itself [...] but at the same time it interacts with other countries to developing certain common steps. This had been the case until recently, but a new player has appeared. These are private companies. It used to only be television and radio corporations and publishing houses. They had a national dimension. If you transmit a signal to the territory of other states, it was still based on the need to interact with state dimensions [...] And now there are private corporations that work online and promote all types of media products from video content, television content, printed content, and multi-content there. Most importantly, though, they have 100% coverage. We are approaching a new reality, when they aren’t the ones who come to the state or state associations to understand what they are violating; rather, everything is exactly the opposite — Maria Zakharova, Director of the Information and Press Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation.

ISSUES
Insufficient development in Russian digital media

Our amazing country, which has created a vaccine, and not just one, but four already, the first in the world to do so, and has created a lot of things and continues to create, completely missed out on its development in the world of digital media [...] Moreover, we have gone downhill in this regard — Margarita Simonyan, Chief Editor of RT Channel and Chief Editor of International Information Agency Rossiya Segodnya.

As we know, Twitter publishes false information. […] And we don’t have the ability to work and convey the official position. I’m not talking about any refutation, but at least just the official position. This is a big problem — Kirill Istomin, Dialogue Regions Deputy General Director .

The pressure being exerted by foreign IT corporations on players on the Russian market is a problem that is becoming more serious and urgent. Companies such as Facebook, YouTube, and others are devoting more and more efforts to both moderating and blocking content that specifically concerns a number of Russian media outlets. This is already becoming a kind of censorship — Daniel Hawkins, Journalist, Anchor, RT Channel.

Social media have been removed from the jurisdiction of legislation, both supranational and domestic. There are no regulations to dictate how they build their internal strategy, international strategy, and so on. This is manual control — Maria Zakharova, Director of the Information and Press Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation.

SOLUTIONS
Russia needs to create its own social media and preferences

The stick ought to be for the tech platforms and the carrot for our platforms and for our users. Accordingly, a huge number of options could be considered here. For example, preferences. Maybe it’s not worth taxing the users who post their content and maintain their pages on our platforms for a long enough period. Conversely, if we are talking about a stick for their platforms. […] Fines need to be increased. In addition, the situation with slowing down traffic has proven itself quite well, — Alexander Zharov, Chief Executive Officer, Gazprom-Media Holding.

Laws are being passed, people have started saying completely different things, large fines have been issued, and traffic has begun to slow down. This won’t solve all the problems until we create our own, comprehensive, and truly sovereign [...] We will be under attack — Margarita Simonyan, Chief Editor of RT Channel and Chief Editor of International Information Agency Rossiya Segodnya.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 155 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Борьба за цифровой суверенитет. Как сохранить единое информационное пространство?
3 июня 2021
15:00—16:15
Ключевые выводы
Частные корпорации в интернете изменили взаимоотношения между государствами

Наши ресурсы регулярно подвергаются цензуре и дискриминации со стороны зарубежных IT-гигантов. <...> RuTube, который является аналогом YouTube, позволил бы нам справляться без „их“ помощи и без „их“ вмешательства в нашу жизнь. <...> Не защищать свой цифровой суверенитет — это все равно что не защищать свои границы — Симоньян Маргарита, Главный редактор, Телеканал RT; главный редактор, Международное информационное агентство «Россия Сегодня».

Наши платформы действительно должны стать альтернативой их платформам. Нужно сделать их модными и удобными. <...> Все иностранные платформы должны будут иметь юридические представительства, а не маркетинговые, как есть сейчас. <...> Закон об ответных мерах на цензурирование российских информационных ресурсов должен быть одинаковым для всех, я появление этого закона приветствую — Жаров Александр, Генеральный директор, АО «Газпром-медиа Холдинг».

Существует две концепции. <...> Первая — свобода распространения информации в мире, мы сейчас говорим о глобальных сетях... это свободное распространение информации и недопустимость препятствования для его осуществления. Эта концепция уже реализуется в целом ряде международных документов. <...> Есть вторая концепция — защита национального медиапространства. Это внутреннее национальное законодательство той или иной страны, которое либо регулирует, либо защищает, либо лоббирует все, что связано с медиасферой. Противоречат ли они друг другу? Надо смотреть в каждом конкретном случае, но самое главное — это то, что эти две концепции имеют государственное измерение, акторами являются государства. Государство внутри себя выстраивает защитный механизм... но вместе с тем оно взаимодействует с другими странами при выработке неких общих шагов. Так было до недавнего времени, но появился новый игрок. Это частные компании. Раньше речь шла только о телерадиокорпорациях, издательских домах, они имели национальное измерение. Если ты передаешь сигнал на территории других государств, он все равно упирался в необходимость взаимодействия с государственными измерениями. <...> А теперь есть частные корпорации, которые работают в сфере интернета, в интернете они продвигают все виды медиапродукта от видеоконтента, телевизионного контента, печатного контента, мультиконтента. Но самое главное — они имеют 100% охвата. Мы приходим к новой реальности, когда не они приходят к государству или государственным объединениям, чтобы понять, что они нарушают, а все происходит в точности наоборот — Захарова Мария, Директор Департамента информации и печати Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации.

Проблемы
Недостаточное развитие в российских digital media

Наша потрясающая страна, которая создала вакцину, и не одну, а уже четыре, первыми в мире, и много чего создала и продолжает создавать, совершенно упустила свое развитие в мире digital media... более того, мы деградировали в этом смысле — Симоньян Маргарита, Главный редактор, Телеканал RT; главный редактор, Международное информационное агентство «Россия Сегодня».

Twitter, как мы знаем, публикует недостоверную информацию. <...> А у нас отсутствует возможность работать, донести официальную позицию. Я не говорю про какие-то опровержения, а просто хотя бы официальная позиция. Это большая проблема — Истомин Кирилл, Заместитель генерального директора, АНО «Диалог Регионы»..

Давление зарубежных IT-корпораций на игроков российского рынка — это проблема, которая становится более серьезной, более актуальной, такие компании, как Facebook, YouTube и другие, все больше и больше усилий уделяют и модерации, и блокировке контента, который касается специфически ряда российских СМИ. Это приобретает уже характер цензуры — Хокинс Дэниел, Журналист, телеведущий, телеканал RT.

Соцсети выведены из-под действия законодательства, как наднационального, так и внутринационального. Нет никаких регулирующих положений, которые предписывали бы то, как им выстраивать внутреннюю стратегию, международную стратегию и так далее. Это ручное управление — Захарова Мария, Директор Департамента информации и печати Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации.

Решения
Необходимо создавать собственные соцсети и преференции

„Кнут“ должен быть для „тех“ платформ и „пряник“ — для наших платформ и для наших пользователей. Соответственно, здесь можно рассмотреть огромное количество вариантов. К примеру, преференции. Может быть, стоит не обкладывать налогом тех пользователей, которые будут размещать свой контент и вести свои страницы на наших платформах достаточно долгий промежуток времени. И наоборот, если мы говорим про „кнут“ для их платформ. <...> Нужно увеличить штрафы. Кроме того, очень хорошо себя показала история с замедлением трафика — Жаров Александр, Генеральный директор, АО «Газпром-медиа Холдинг».

Принимаются законы, люди начали говорить совсем другие вещи, стали выписываться крупные штрафы, стал замедляться трафик. Это не решит всех проблем, пока не создадим свое, исчерпывающее, собственное и действительно суверенное... мы будем под ударом — Симоньян Маргарита, Главный редактор, Телеканал RT; главный редактор, Международное информационное агентство «Россия Сегодня».

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС