A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5,000 people working in Russia and abroad.

The Foundation works alongside various UN departments and other international organizations, and is building multi-format cooperation with 173 economic partners, including industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions, financial, trade, and business associations from 78 countries worldwide, and 188 Russian public organizations, federal and legislative agencies, and federal subjects.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian t.me/Roscongress, English – t.me/RoscongressDirect, and Spanish t.me/RoscongressEsp. Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Russia–Africa: Sustainable Energy Development
12 October 2022
09:00—10:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
The potential for cooperation between Russia and Africa, including in resource processing projects, needs to be fulfilled

Africa is the most promising market for Russia. It is not only about energy. It is about the whole system of our relations. [The countries of Africa are, – Ed.] 54 members of the United Nations, which, for the most part, have not supported economic sanctions against the Russian Federation. We should be grateful to the African continent because it understands that one cannot politicize the agenda. One needs to develop normal relations, no matter what — Irina Abramova, Director, Institute for African Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

There are discussions about getting more fertilizers from Russia. We can apply Russian technology ourselves to produce these fertilizers, and we can set up these operations. We cannot keep talking about the potential [to implement joint projects to produce and use gas on the African continent, – Ed.] and do nothing. If we take the extraction of natural gas on our continent and see what Russia can help us here to develop these deposits, we can realize this potential. We can explore our own projects as well, produce energy from gas, promote these projects and solve the problems of the energy crisis — NJ Ayuk, Chairman, African Energy Chamber.

Russia’s task is to strengthen the sovereignty of African countries politically, economically, and technologically. Unlike Western countries, we advocate the creation of Africa’s own facilities not only for the extraction of energy resources, but also for their processing and further use. The continent is desperately short of oil refineries, hydroelectric power stations, renewable energy facilities and other critical infrastructure. Russia sees it as a priority to build these and other capacities needed to ensure the energy security of African countries — Oleg Ozerov, Ambassador at Large, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation; Head of the Secretariat, Russia-Africa Partnership Forum.

ISSUES
Africa’s unequal access to resources

Six hundred million people do not have access to electricity. Nine hundred million people do not have access to sources for cooking – mainly women. Access to resources for people is no longer an issue that we can somehow play around with. It’s a human rights issue — NJ Ayuk, Chairman, African Energy Chamber.

Of course, the elements of sustainable development, the decarbonization of the economy are very important in the world – both in Russia and in African countries. But first of all, I would like to focus not on the principles of sustainable development and green economy, but on the principles of equal access to cheap and efficient electricity, which corresponds to paragraph 7 of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. It is important to have not only light but also water in every home — Sergey Machekhin, Deputy General Director Project Engineering and International Cooperation, RusHydro.

Lack of qualified personnel in Africa’s energy sector

In the process of implementing projects, we are raising a whole generation of engineers who can think for themselves and are capable of making complex decisions on their own. What is more, the facilities we build require special knowledge and education to operate them. In geothermal energy, for example. Africa has a lot of geothermal energy potential, and we now operate quite a few geothermal plants in the Far East and are ready to share all the knowledge — Sergey Machekhin, Deputy General Director Project Engineering and International Cooperation, RusHydro.

Thank you for the fact that you are not just building something but training local professionals. This is one of the most important problems for Africa today — Irina Abramova, Director, Institute for African Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

SOLUTIONS
The need for new cooperation mechanisms between Russia and Africa

In recent decades, Russia's foreign policy has focused on developing relations with Western countries. Under the new conditions of the world order, the situation has changed radically. Today our country attaches particular importance to the formation of new political and economic alliances, of which the African region is one of the most important. Most countries of the continent see our country as an ally in the struggle against the neo-colonial domination of the West as well as alternative markets — Oleg Ozerov, Ambassador at Large, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation; Head of the Secretariat, Russia-Africa Partnership Forum.

Russia wants to help Africa strengthen its energy sovereignty, not only energy sovereignty, but also economic sovereignty. We definitely need to build a completely new mechanism for our relations — Irina Abramova, Director, Institute for African Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

For us, for Russian business, the current period of transformation is also new, and we have been operating in a completely different way, just like you until recently. The events that took place in spring [the European Union imposed sanctions on Russia, – Ed.], they certainly made changes in all spheres of activity, including business. We have been receiving a lot of inquiries lately from our companies who had not thought about Africa before. But building cooperation and organizing work takes time — Anna Belyaeva, Executive Director, Association of Economic Cooperation with African States.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, создан в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом.

Фонд взаимодействует со структурами ООН и другими международными организациями. Развивает многоформатное сотрудничество со 173 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 78 странах мира, со 188 российскими общественными организациями, федеральными органами исполнительной и законодательной власти, субъектами Российской Федерации.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp, на арабском языке – t.me/RosCongressArabic. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Россия – Африка: устойчивое энергетическое развитие
12 октября 2022
09:00—10:15
Ключевые выводы
Потенциал сотрудничества России и стран Африки, в том числе при реализации проектов по переработке ресурсов, нуждается в реализации

Для России Африка является наиболее перспективным рынком. Это не только касается сферы энергетики, это касается всей системы наших взаимоотношений. [Страны Африки — это. — Ред.] 54 члена Организации Объединенных Наций, которые, в большинстве своем, не поддержали экономические санкции против Российской Федерации. Мы должны быть благодарны Африканскому континенту, потому что он понимает, что нельзя политизировать повестку, нужно развивать нормальные отношения, несмотря ни на что — Ирина Абрамова, Директор, ФГБУН Институт Африки Российской академии наук.

Идут дискуссии о получении большего количества удобрений из России. Мы можем российские технологии применить сами, чтобы производить эти удобрения, и мы можем наладить это производство. <…> Мы не можем постоянно говорить о потенциале [реализации совместных проектов по добыче и использованию газа на Африканском континенте. — Ред.] и ничего не делать. <…> Если мы возьмем добычу природного газа на нашем континенте и посмотрим, чем нам может помочь здесь Россия, чтобы разработать эти месторождения, мы можем этот потенциал реализовать. Мы можем разведывать и свои проекты, вырабатывать из газа энергию, продвигать эти проекты и решить проблемы с энергетическим кризисом — ЭнДжей Аюк, Председатель, Африканская энергетическая палата.

Задача, стоящая перед Россией, - укрепление суверенитета стран Африки в политической, экономической и технологической сферах. В отличие от западных стран мы выступаем за создание в Африке собственных мощностей не только по добыче энергетических ресурсов, но и их переработке и дальнейшему использованию. На континенте катастрофически не хватает нефтеперерабатывающих заводов, ГЭС, объектов возобновляемой энергетики и другой критической инфраструктуры. Россия видит приоритетным именно создание этих и других мощностей, необходимых для обеспечения энергетической безопасности африканских стран — Олег Озеров, Посол по особым поручениям, Министерство иностранных дел Российской Федерации; руководитель секретариата, «Форум партнерства Россия – Африка».

Проблемы
Неравный доступ населения стран Африки к ресурсам

Шестьсот миллионов человек не имеют доступа к электричеству, девятьсот миллионов человек не имеют доступа к источникам для приготовления пищи — в основном это женщины. <…> Доступность ресурсов для людей — больше не тот вопрос, с которым мы можем как-то играться, это вопрос, связанный с правами человека», — председатель Африканской энергетической палаты ЭнДжей Аюк. «Безусловно, элементы устойчивого развития, декарбонизация экономики очень важны в мире — и в России, и в странах Африки. Но я хотел бы, прежде всего, остановиться не на принципах устойчивого развития и зеленой экономики, а на принципах равнодоступности дешевой и эффективной электроэнергии, что соответствует пункту № 7 Целей устойчивого развития ООН. Важно, чтобы в каждом доме был не только свет, но и вода — Сергей Мачехин, Заместитель генерального директора по проектному инжинирингу, устойчивому развитию и международному сотрудничеству, ПАО «РусГидро».

Недостаток квалифицированных кадров в сфере энергетики стран Африки

В процессе реализации проектов мы воспитываем целую плеяду поколений инженеров, которые умеют мыслить самостоятельно и способны самостоятельно принимать сложные решения. Более того, чтобы эксплуатировать объекты, которые мы строим, нужны специальные знания и образование. Допустим, в сфере геотермальной энергетики. Африка имеет большой потенциал геотермальной энергетики, а мы сегодня эксплуатируем достаточно много геотермальных станций на Дальнем Востоке и готовы поделиться всеми знаниями — Сергей Мачехин, Заместитель генерального директора по проектному инжинирингу, устойчивому развитию и международному сотрудничеству, ПАО «РусГидро».

Спасибо за то, что вы действительно не просто так что-то строите, а готовите местных квалифицированных специалистов. Это проблема сегодня для Африки является одной из важнейших — Ирина Абрамова, Директор, ФГБУН Институт Африки Российской академии наук.

Решения
Потребность в новых механизмах сотрудничества России и Африки

В течение последних десятилетий внешняя политика России была сфокусирована на развитии отношений с западными странами. В новых условиях миропорядка ситуация кардинально изменилась. Сегодня наша страна придает особое значение формированию новых политических и экономических альянсов, среди которых одним из наиболее значимых является африканский регион. Большинство стран континента видят в нашей стране союзника, борющегося с неоколониальным господством Запада, а также альтернативные рынки сбыта — Олег Озеров, Посол по особым поручениям, Министерство иностранных дел Российской Федерации; руководитель секретариата, «Форум партнерства Россия – Африка».

Россия стремится помочь Африке укрепить ее энергетический суверенитет, и не только энергетический, но и экономический. <…> Нам, безусловно, нужно выстраивать абсолютно новый механизм наших отношений — Ирина Абрамова, Директор, ФГБУН Институт Африки Российской академии наук.

Для нас, для российского бизнеса, текущий период трансформации тоже новый, и мы точно так же, как и вы до недавнего времени, работали совершенно по-другому. <…> Те события, которые произошли весной [введение странами Европейского союза санкционных ограничений в отношении России. — Ред.], они, конечно, внесли изменения во все сферы деятельности, в том числе и в бизнес. Мы в последнее время получаем много запросов от наших компаний, которые раньше не думали про Африку. <…> Но это [выстраивание сотрудничества и организация работы. — Ред.] занимает время — Анна Беляева, Исполнительный директор, Ассоциация экономического сотрудничества со странами Африки.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС