A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Emerging Challenges for the Chemical Industry: The Climate Agenda
13 October 2021
16:30—17:45
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Decarbonization is just as critical for the chemical industry as it is for others

More than 1,500 industrial companies have officially set themselves the target of achieving net zero emissions by 2040–2045. What’s more, these companies have tripled in number over the past 18 months. <...> Three main strategies are being employed to achieve decarbonization. If one were to generalize, the first amounts to reducing demand for energy resources. This is, essentially, all activity related to energy efficiency, and all aspects to do with the circular economy initiative. The second big area is related to stopping emissions and all steps and initiatives aimed at achieving decarbonization, reducing losses, reducing leakage, and developing technology which will help minimize emissions. And the third big area involves companies replacing raw materials and fuel for a lower-carbon alternative in their immediate operations, — Maxim Ufaev, Partner, McKinsey & Company.

Let’s not forget that the chemical industry, like any other being presented and discussed at Russian Energy Week, is facing a great many challenges. One such challenge is undoubtedly the climate agenda, and petrochemical companies are having to dedicate more time and resources to sustainable development projects. This in turn is creating certain stimuli and certain challenges for the industry. At the same time, the chemical industry and chemical products possess certain unique functional characteristics, and play a key role in fulfilling a number of objectives, including in terms of environmental protection through reducing the consumption of resources and reducing carbon footprints. All of this would be impossible without the chemical industry — Denis Deryushkin, Deputy General Director - Head of Analytical Center, Russian Energy Agency of the Ministry of Energy of the Russian Federation.

Clearly, the petrochemical industry is creating high added value. What’s more, it is not an economic‑rent industry, and therefore, is an exclusively technology-based one, which creates serious value — Anton Rubtsov, Director of Oil Refining and Gas Complex Department, Ministry of Energy of the Russian Federation.

ISSUES
New standards and rules being put in place as part of the decarbonization agenda are placing a regulatory and financial burden on businesses

One challenge we are faced with is securing growth, but in such a way that does not contradict the decarbonization agenda. We need to reduce emissions and secure growth in paralle — Darya Borisova, Managing Director for Development and Innovations, SIBUR.

It is crucial to think about how to support an industry which could be affected by an element related to its regular operations. What’s more, the calculations we have done are very approximate. These calculations factored in the European Union’s stated intention to launch a pilot scheme in 2026 which will encompass the iron and steel sector, aluminium industry, fertilizer industry, gas chemistry industry, electric power, and cement production. <...> The additional burden on industrial companies in Russia could be in the region of USD 17 billion in 2035. <...> In the past 18 months, the number of statutory rules related to the ESG agenda has risen by 35% – mainly in the European Union — Maxim Ufaev, Partner, McKinsey & Company.

SOLUTIONS
Increasing investment in developing and leveraging new forms of collaboration

We must not lose out on this market. We must not create a situation whereby our hands are tied. It would be unfair, and ignore the entire chain that is objectively responsible for this hydrocarbon footprint, — Anton Rubtsov, Director of Oil Refining and Gas Complex Department, Ministry of Energy of the Russian Federation.

In order to put ourselves in a position where, in 15 years, we no longer need to think about replacing imports of foreign-made technologies in order to process СО2 for example, or to use biofeedstock in the chemical industry (these are technologies which are at the early stages of development), we can invest in the early stages of development ourselves in cooperation with the scientific and tech community and with the support of the state — Darya Borisova, Managing Director for Development and Innovations, SIBUR.

The climate transition will ultimately lead to a reduction in overall demand for traditional products made by refineries, such as diesel fuel and petrol. Given this, refineries may – and probably will – move to the petrochemical segment. <...> We may have to think about ways of collaborating on developing technology which will enable the petrochemical sector to exist in a painless and climate‑transition compliant manner. This could involve refining and the traditional petrochemical sector in efforts to achieve decarbonization — Anton Maximov, Director, Institute of Petrochemical Synthesis. A.V. Topchieva of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

Unless the state and industry work together in a coordinated manner, we will definitely be unable to achieve any real results. However, it is likely that the initiatives and incentives which we have already put in place will soon enable us to boast of low-carbon non-commodity exports. We remain hopeful that at some point in time, we will be able to begin exporting low-carbon technology — Denis Deryushkin, Deputy General Director - Head of Analytical Center, Russian Energy Agency of the Ministry of Energy of the Russian Federation.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 160 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Новые вызовы химической отрасли – климатическая повестка
13 октября 2021
16:30—17:45
Ключевые выводы
Декарбонизация так же актуальна для химической промышленности, как и для других отраслей

Более 1,5 тыс. промышленных компаний поставили официально себе цель достичь нулевой уровень выбросов к 2040–2045 году, причем количество этих компаний за последние полтора года увеличилось в три раза. <...> Используют три ключевых рычага работы по декарбонизации. Если обобщать, это снижение спроса на энергоресурсы, это, по сути, вся деятельность, связанная с энергоэффективностью, и все вопросы, связанные с инициативой в рамках экономики замкнутого цикла. Второе большое направление — это устранение выбросов и все те мероприятия, инициативы по декарбонизации, по снижению числа потерь, утечек, по дальнейшим технологиям, которые минимизируют объем выбросов. И третье большое направление — замена сырья и топлива на менее углеродоемкие аналоги, соответственно, в своей непосредственной деятельности — Уфаев Максим, Партнер, McKinsey & Company.

Не стоит забывать о том, что химическая отрасль, как и все остальные, которые сегодня были представлены и обсуждались в рамках „Российской энергетической недели“, сталкиваются с большим количеством вызовов. Одним из таких вызовов, безусловно, является климатическая повестка, и компании нефтехимической отрасли вынуждены все активнее заниматься данными проектами в сфере устойчивого развития, и это создает определенные стимулы и определенные вызовы перед отраслью. При этом химическая отрасль и химическая продукция обладают определенными уникальными функциональными характеристиками, играют важную роль в решении задач, в том числе и по защите окружающей среды, таких как снижение объемов использования ресурсов, сокращение углеродного следа — все это невозможно без химической продукции — Дерюшкин Денис, Заместитель генерального директора - руководитель дирекции, Аналитический центр ТЭК ФГБУ «Российское энергетическое агентство» (РЭА) Минэнерго России.

Очевидно, что нефтехимия создает высокую добавленную стоимость, при том что не является рентной отраслью и, соответственно, является исключительно технологической отраслью, которая формирует серьезную ценность — Рубцов Антон, Директор департамента нефтегазового комплекса, Министерство энергетики Российской Федерации.

Проблемы
Декарбонизация создает новую регуляторную и финансовую нагрузку на бизнес за счет появления новых стандартов и правил работы

Вызов, который перед нами стоит, — обеспечивать рост, но таким образом, чтобы повестка декарбонизации не входила с этим в противоречие. Нам нужно параллельно снижать выбросы и обеспечивать рост», — управляющий директор, развитие и инновации ООО «СИБУР — Борисова Дарья, Управляющий директор, Развитие и инновации, ООО «СИБУР».

Думать о том, каким образом поддерживать отрасли, которые могут быть затронуты таким элементом регулярной деятельности, очень важно. Более того, расчеты, которые мы сделали, очень приблизительны. Они проведены с учетом заявления Европейского союза о планах планах начать с 2026 года пилотный проект, в который войдут отрасли черной металлургии, алюминия, удобрений, газохимия, электроэнергетика и производство цемента. <...> Объем дополнительного бремени на российские промышленные компании может составить в 2035 году около 17 млрд долларов дополнительно. <...> За последние полтора года на 35% выросло количество нормативных правил, в первую очередь в Европейском союзе, связанных с ESG-повесткой — Уфаев Максим, Партнер, McKinsey & Company.

Решения
Увеличение инвестиций в разработки и использование новых форм сотрудничества

Мы не должны на этом рынке проиграть. Не должны создаться такие условия, которые нам навяжут, будут несправедливы, не будут учитывать объективно всю цепочку формирования этого углеводородного следа — Рубцов Антон, Директор департамента нефтегазового комплекса, Министерство энергетики Российской Федерации.

Чтобы потом, через 15 лет, не думать об импортозамещении разработанных кем-то технологий, например, утилизации СО2 или использовании биосырья в химической промышленности — это технологии на ранней стадии развития, — мы можем сегодня совместно с научно-техническим сообществом при поддержке государства инвестировать в ранние стадии разработки — Борисова Дарья, Управляющий директор, Развитие и инновации, ООО «СИБУР».

Поскольку климатический переход в конечном итоге начнет приводить к сокращению общего спроса на классическую продукцию нефтеперерабатывающих предприятий — и на дизельное топливо, и на бензин, то нефтеперерабатывающие предприятия могут пойти в нефтехимию и пойдут, скорее всего, в нефтехимию. <...> Возможно, нужно думать о некоем сотрудничестве и развитии технологий, которые бы позволили безболезненно в рамках климатического перехода дать существовать нефтехимии, возникающей из нефтепереработки, и классической нефтехимии, возникающей из задач декарбонизации — Максимов Антон, Директор, Институт нефтехимического синтеза им. А.В.Топчиева Российской академии наук.

Без скоординированной работы государства, отрасли мы точно не сможем добиться серьезных результатов, и те проекты, и те стимулы, которые мы уже запустили, наверное, позволят в ближайшей перспективе хвастаться низкоуглеродным несырьевым экспортом. Но надежда все равно остается, что в какой-то момент времени мы все-таки подберемся к тому, что начнем экспортировать низкоуглеродные технологии», — заместитель генерального директора — руководитель дирекции Аналитического центра ТЭК ФГБУ «Российское энергетическое агентство — Дерюшкин Денис, Заместитель генерального директора - руководитель дирекции, Аналитический центр ТЭК ФГБУ «Российское энергетическое агентство» (РЭА) Минэнерго России.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС