A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 131 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 70 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Energy of the Future: Three Drivers of Sustainable Development
4 October 2018
10:00—11:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Digitalization is key to development as well as efficiency increase in the energy sector

According to projections, technology and digitalization will lead to a significant increase in recoverable oil and gas reserves. Bloomberg’s study says digitalization will support approximately 30% of increase in power generation capacity — Steven Griffiths, Member of the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee; Senior Vice President, Research and Development, Khalifa University of Science and Technology.

The process of digital transition in the electric power industry, which will not only improve the efficiency of traditional energy systems, but also reduce maintenance costs and ensure more security of energy supply, is recognized as the key topic by world’s most advanced countries. Development of high tech, such as artificial intelligence and machine learning systems, will open up new possibilities for providing holistic solutions that were previously impossible — Steven Griffiths, Member of the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee; Senior Vice President, Research and Development, Khalifa University of Science and Technology.

Renewables open a new era in energy industry

The efficiency of organic fuel will increase in short-term perspective. <...> A further future holds renewable energy sources. But we must work on them today, otherwise we are going lag behind forever. This is where I see such important areas as solar energy and geothermal energy. But gradual transition to petrothermal energy is even more promising. It uses heat from dry rocks at depths of 3 to 10 kilometres. That is where temperature reaches 350 degrees Celsius, and it is estimated to be an inexhaustible source of heat. At the very least, it will be sufficient for the entire time of humanity’s existence, taking into account the complete life cycle of developed civilizations. The idea of extracting deep heat was proposed by Tsiolkovsky in 1897. But it is only today that there is an opportunity to realize it — Sergey Alekseyenko, Academician, Member of the Department of Energy, Mechanical Engineering, Mechanics, and Control Processes, Russian Academy of Sciences.

Recent price calculations reflect a bigger role for solar energy in the future. In recent years, the industry has seen a tenfold reduction in the cost of energy supply to users. We are going to supply 1 terawatt of solar energy by the middle of the next decade — Martin Green, Professor, University of New South Wales (UNSW); Director, Australian Centre for Advanced Photovoltaics (ACAP).

Renewable energy sources are very important for sustainable energy development, for rapid energy development. Oil and gas, especially gas, will remain important, but the share of renewables will increase: wind, solar, hydropower, nuclear power, biomass energy; and that is going to take up to a third of the total energy consumption structure. The future is in combining different types of energy — Xiansheng Sun, Secretary General, International Energy Forum (IEF).

ISSUES
Digitalization creates opportunities for cybercrime

New projects related to the energy of the future are fraught with new dangers. Systems associated with ‘smart grids’ that are more automated and require less human supervision, can become the target of cyber-terrorism; therefore, security is becoming one of the most important problems of the energy industry. And that is where we can’t act afterwards, we need to act in advance — Dominique Fache, Director, Sophia Antipolis Foundation; Chairman, Russian Technology Foundation (RTF).

Low share of renewable energy in the Russian power industry

The pessimistic outlook is that we will consume as much fuel in 2025 as we do today. Looking at the situation in Russia, both in oil and in natural gas, coal as well, you may notice that Russia has a very small share of renewable energy because there is a huge industry of nuclear energy and hydropower — Rodney John Allam, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate; Chairman of the International Award Committee, Global Energy Association.

Poverty in some of the world’s regions

Up to 2 billion people do not have access to clean energy and utilities. This is a rather serious problem for all of us — Xiansheng Sun, Secretary General, International Energy Forum (IEF).

1.5 billion people do not have access to clean cooking, that is in China and India. They have electricity, but they do not have the opportunity to cook their own food. This is a serious health issue — Liu Hongpeng, Director, Energy Division, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP); The Global Energy Prize Expert.

Energy industry depends on political factors

Politics influence decisions on whether you invest in renewable energy or in energy efficiency — Klaus Riedle, Honorary Professor, Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU).

SOLUTIONS
International cooperation in cybersecurity

Fighting cybercrime can be effective only if all countries get together and work on it — Sophie Shevardnadze, Journalist, Anchor.

Controlling power supply networks is a key aspect of the global strategy. Today, Europe must find a new trend, including an agreement with Russia <...> Energy sector is where we can’t act afterwards, we need to act in advance — Dominique Fache, Director, Sophia Antipolis Foundation; Chairman, Russian Technology Foundation (RTF).

Developing new energy storage and transmission technologies

Even though the efficiency of solar energy systems increased, it is necessary to ensure coherence and cooperation at the global level. If we try to solve our problems on our own, we need huge energy storage systems. But if we are connected through a global system, we can minimize our storage needs. Supernetwork and supergrid technologies are required for that — Rae Kwon Chung, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate.

Another important component that needs to be developed, and we are working on it as well, is energy storage, because all renewable sources, except geothermal, are temporary. We are working in all of these areas, and we already have a few significant achievements — Sergey Alekseyenko, Academician, Member of the Department of Energy, Mechanical Engineering, Mechanics, and Control Processes, Russian Academy of Sciences.

Reducing the price of renewable energy

Further energy development is associated with renewable sources. My colleagues and I have created technologies that can significantly reduce the cost of solar panels and drastically increase the efficiency of their work by improving silicon fuel cells — Martin Green, Professor, University of New South Wales (UNSW); Director, Australian Centre for Advanced Photovoltaics (ACAP).

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Энергетика будущего: три фактора устойчивого развития
4 Октября 2018
10:00—11:15
Ключевые выводы
Цифровизация — ключ к развитию и росту эффективности энергетики

Прогнозы показывают, что технологии и цифровизация будут приводить к существенному увеличению объемов извлекаемых запасов нефти и газа. Bloomberg подготовил исследование — цифровизация будет поддерживать примерно 30% прироста увеличения мощности генерации электроэнергии — Гриффитс Стивен, Член комитета, Международная премия «Глобальная энергия»; старший проректор по научно-исследовательским и опытно-конструкторским работам (НИОКР), Университет Халифы.

Процесс цифрового перехода в электроэнергетике, который позволит не только повысить эффективность традиционных энергетических систем, но и снизить расходы на их содержание и обеспечить большую безопасность энергоснабжения, признан передовыми странами мира важнейшей задачей. Развитие высоких технологий, таких как системы искусственного интеллекта и машинного обучения, откроет новые возможности для обеспечения целостных решений, которые были невозможны ранее — Гриффитс Стивен, Член комитета, Международная премия «Глобальная энергия»; старший проректор по научно-исследовательским и опытно-конструкторским работам (НИОКР), Университет Халифы.

Возобновляемые источники открывают новую эру в энергетике

Ближайшая перспектива — это повышение эффективности использования органического топлива. <...> Более дальняя перспектива — это возобновляемые источники энергии. Но заниматься ими надо уже сегодня, иначе мы отстанем навсегда. Здесь я вижу такие важные направления, как солнечная энергетика и геотермальная энергетика. Но еще более перспективным представляется постепенный переход на петротермальную энергетику. Она использует тепло сухих пород на глубинах от 3 до 10 км. Там температура достигает 350 градусов Цельсия, и, по оценкам, это неисчерпаемый источник тепла. По крайней мере, его хватит на все время существования человечества с учетом конечного времени жизни развитых цивилизаций. Идею извлечения глубинного тепла предложил еще Циолковский в 1897 году. Но только сегодня появилась возможность все это реализовать — Алексеенко Сергей, Академик, член отделения энергетики, машиностроения, механики и процессов управления, Российская академия наук.

Недавние расчеты по цене отражают более высокую роль солнечной энергии в будущем. Промышленность в последние годы наблюдает десятикратное снижение стоимости поставки этой энергии пользователям. Мы будем поставлять 1ТВт солнечной энергии к середине следующего десятилетия — Грин Мартин, Профессор, Университет Нового Южного Уэльса; директор, Австралийский центр передовых фотогальванических технологий (ACAP).

Возобновляемые источники энергии очень важны для устойчивого развития энергетики, для быстрого развития энергетики. Нефть и газ, особенно газ, будут оставаться важными, но будет повышаться и доля возобновляемых — ветровая, солнечная энергетика, гидроэнергетика, ядерная энергетика, энергия биомассы, — и это будет занимать до трети всей структуры энергопотребления. Будущее — за сочетанием различных энергий — Сунь Сяньшень, Генеральный секретарь, Международный энергетический форум (IEF).

Проблемы
Цифровизация создает возможности для киберпреступности

Новые проекты, связанные с энергетикой будущего, таят в себе и новые опасности. Системы, связанные с „умными сетями“, которые более автоматизированы и требуют меньшего внимания человека, могут стать объектом кибертерроризма, и поэтому безопасность становится одной из важнейших проблем энергетической отрасли. Причем здесь мы не можем действовать постфактум, нужны действия на опережение — Фаш Доминик, Руководитель, Фонд «Софиа Антиполис».

Невысокая доля ВИЭ в российской энергетике

Пессимистичная новость состоит в том, что мы будем потреблять столько же топлива в 2025 г., как и сегодня. Если вы посмотрите на ситуацию в России, как в форме нефти, так и в форме природного газа, а также угля, вы заметите, что у России очень малая доля возобновляемых источников энергии, поскольку есть огромная индустрия ядерной энергетики и гидроэнергетики — Аллам Родни Джон, Лауреат Нобелевской премии мира; технологический директор, Net Power LLC.

Энергетическая бедность ряда регионов мира

До 2 млрд людей не имеют доступа к чистой энергетике и коммунальным услугам. Это достаточно серьезная проблема для всех нас — Сунь Сяньшень, Генеральный секретарь, Международный энергетический форум (IEF).

1,5 млрд населения не имеют доступа к чистому приготовлению пищи — это Китай и Индия. У них есть электричество, но у них нет возможности готовить себе пищу. Это серьезный вопрос в плане здравоохранения — Хунпэн Лю, Директор отдела энергетики, Экономическая и социальная комиссия для Азии и Тихого океана Организации Объединенных Наций; эксперт премии «Глобальная энергия».

Зависимость энергетики от политических факторов

Политическое влияние может решить, будете ли вы вкладывать в возобновляемые источники энергии или будете вкладывать в энергоэффективность — Ридле Клаус, Почетный профессор, Университет им. Фридриха – Александра в Эрлангене и Нюрнберге.

Решения
Международное сотрудничество в сфере кибербезопасности

Борьба с киберпреступностью может эффективно происходить только в одном случае — если все страны соберутся и будут работать над этим — Шеварднадзе Софико, Журналист, телеведущая.

Контролировать сети подачи энергии — это ключевой момент в мировой стратегии. Сегодня Европа должна найти новый тренд, в том числе и соглашение с Россией <...> В энергетике мы не можем позволить себе бороться постфактум. Мы должны опережать события — Фаш Доминик, Руководитель, Фонд «Софиа Антиполис».

Разработка новых технологий хранения и передачи энергии

Даже несмотря на повышение эффективности солнечных систем энергетики, необходимо обеспечить связность и сотрудничество на глобальном уровне. Если мы будем пытаться решать наши проблемы индивидуально, то нам потребуются огромные системы хранения энергии. Но если мы будем соединены через глобальную систему, то мы можем минимизировать потребности в хранении. Для этого требуются технологии суперсети, супергрида — Чунг Рае Квон, Лауреат Нобелевской премии мира; советник председателя Совещания экспертов и лидеров высокого уровня по водным ресурсам и стихийным бедствиям, Организация Объединенных Наций.

Еще один важный компонент, который надо развивать, и мы этим тоже занимаемся, это хранение энергии, потому что все возобновляемые источники, кроме геотермальных, — временного действия. По всем этим направлениям мы работаем, у нас уже есть немало существенных достижений — Алексеенко Сергей, Академик, член отделения энергетики, машиностроения, механики и процессов управления, Российская академия наук.

Снижение цены на энергию, получаемую из ВИЭ

Дальнейшее развитие энергетики связано с возобновляемыми источниками. Мною и моими коллегами созданы технологии, позволяющие существенно снизить стоимость солнечных батарей и кардинально повысить эффективность их работы за счет улучшения кремниевых топливных элементов — Грин Мартин, Профессор, Университет Нового Южного Уэльса; директор, Австралийский центр передовых фотогальванических технологий (ACAP).

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС