A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 126 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Banking and Finance in the Emerging Markets: Version 2.0
25 May 2018
12:00—13:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
The banking system of emerging economies is growing apace

If we look at the banking business [of developing nations – Editor], the financial business, some 10–15 years ago it always was ‘catching up’: developing countries tried to catch up with the developed nations. There were very many barriers. Today, breakthroughs can be made — Kudnapur Vaman Kamath, President of the New Development Bank (NDB) .

“The strategy we pursue is to be the leaders in Europe and Asia, as well as in the Middle East. … When we look at the distribution of accumulations and savings across the world, I often say that the savings are in the East but they are spent in the West. Savings in Asia are quite substantial. Today, we are managing EUR 200 billion in Asia, and we want to raise this figure — Yves Perrier, Group Chief Executive Officer of Amundi Asset Management SA .

Traditional banks to remain on the market

Banks will continue to provide banking services as a key type of services. Some of my colleagues in Russia believe that the traditional banking business will be converted into some kind of hi-tech companies or something like that. … And yet people will continue to come to bank offices. They need to be sure that the bank still exists, that their money is there. At the same time, they will not apply to banks for some simple services such as housing payments or money transfers, and this is where new technology is needed — Andrey Kostin, President, Chairman of the Management Board, Member of the Supervisory Council, Member of the Strategy and Corporate Governance Committee, VTB Bank.

The traditional [banking – Editor] scheme will not disappear, it will simply become more economical, more expedient to use. Where interaction with individuals is needed, it will always remain. Therefore, let us speak about the combination of both elements: traditional banking and digital technologie — Kudnapur Vaman Kamath, President of the New Development Bank (NDB) .

Traditional banking will exist but we can see the emergence of new technologies, new ecosystems — Shereen Bhan, Managing Editor of CNBC TV18 and TV18 Broadcast Limited.

Partially state-owned banks play an important role in emerging economies

The role of the government in Russia’s banking sector is rather high, perhaps 55–60% of assets in Russian banks belong to the banks heavily controlled by the government. There are two important things here: they work in the same competitive environment and follow the same principles as their rivals. … In most countries, in China and India, partially state-owned banks play a very important role. They are very strong. I do not think that state participation is necessarily an evil, provided that all play by the same rules — Andrey Kostin, President, Chairman of the Management Board, Member of the Supervisory Council, Member of the Strategy and Corporate Governance Committee, VTB Bank.

Technologies create new opportunities for the banking market

There are huge opportunities and need for financial inclusion. If we want to provide better living standards for people, we have to ensure that everyone has access to loans, transfers and deposits. In this sphere, technologies are crucial. This is a huge challenge for emerging economies — Hans-Paul Buerkner, Chairman of the Boston Consulting Group.

Russian economy attractive for leading foreign funds

We want to see an efficient business, corporate governance and transparency. We are looking at these principal key things. Speaking about the Russian economy, we can see this positive fundamental basis. This gives certain guarantees to me as an investor — Mahmood H. Alkooheji, Chief Executive Officer, Bahrain Mumtalakat Holding Company.

ISSUES
Competition from large tech companies

Not just banks but each company should be asking itself how to remain relevant when a tech company comes between it and the consumer. This can happen in retail, in finance or even in ordinary consumer industries where some company, such as Apple, Google or Alibaba, takes this position. This should not be taken easily because each financial institution and other companies should think of themselves as of a tech company.… Many banks complain that these are unfair rules, as tech companies are not regulated to the same extent, and so on. We hope the regulator will retain financial institutions. And do not expect that regulators will come to your help — Hans-Paul Buerkner, Chairman of the Boston Consulting Group.

SOLUTIONS
Curbing the government’s influence on the financial sector

Issues of regulation are very important now. I think that, since the 2007 crisis, the financial market has been overregulated. All European countries, including Russia, look at the United States and see that the American banks are in a better position. This is an additional driving factor for the economy — Andrey Kostin, President, Chairman of the Management Board, Member of the Supervisory Council, Member of the Strategy and Corporate Governance Committee, VTB Bank.

An important lever for all emerging markets is their openness. … We have to reduce the government’s influence on various sectors, including the financial sector. … If you are unable to ensure creation of strong institutes, then we will not see the growth rates we would like to see. It is extremely important for our near future and for development of the banking and financial business — Hans-Paul Buerkner, Chairman of the Boston Consulting Group.

Ensuring sustainability and stability in the banking sphere

It is the issue of supremacy of law. It is necessary to ensure that this rule is complied with everywhere. Plus the sustainability of financial business. Many emerging markets suffer from volatility; they lack stability. Sustainability and stability should be the underlying principles of policy, — Daniel Funes de Rioja, B20 Chair under the Argentinian G20 Presidency.

The role of the regulator is becoming more and more important. Regulators should react to the changes happening in the banking sector today. It is necessary to ensure stability and help prevent risks from being too great — Kudnapur Vaman Kamath, President of the New Development Bank (NDB) .

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Финансово-банковская система стран с развивающимися рынками: версия 2.0
25 Мая 2018
12:00—13:15
Ключевые выводы
Банковская система развивающихся стран растет быстрыми темпами

Если посмотреть на банковский бизнес (развивающихся стран — ред.), финансовый бизнес — 10–15 лет назад он всегда был догоняющим. Развивающиеся страны пытались догнать развитые страны. Очень много было барьеров. Сегодня можно делать прорывы — Каматх Кундапур Ваман, Президент, Новый банк развития БРИКС.

Стратегия, которую мы преследуем, заключается в том, чтобы быть лидерами в Европе и Азии, а также на Ближнем Востоке. <…> Когда мы смотрим на распределение накоплений и сбережений по всему миру, я часто говорю, что сбережения находятся на Востоке, а тратятся они на Западе. Сбережения в Азии достаточно серьезные. Сегодня мы управляем 200 млрд евро в Азии и хотим эти показатели превысить — Перье Ив, главный исполнительный директор группы Amundi Asset Management SA.

Традиционные банки останутся на рынке

Банки будут продолжать оказывать банковские услуги как один из ключевых видов услуг. Некоторые из моих коллег в России считают, что традиционная банковская деятельность должна быть конвертирована в какого-то рода хайтек-компании или что-то типа этого. <…> Но люди все равно будут приходить в отделение банка. Им надо быть уверенными, что банк все еще существует, что там их деньги хранятся. Но при этом они не будут обращаться туда для получения каких-то простых услуг, например для оплаты ЖКХ, перевода денежных средств, и здесь новые технологии нужны — Костин Андрей, Президент — председатель правления, член наблюдательного совета, член комитета по стратегии и корпоративному управлению, Банк ВТБ (ПАО).

Традиционная схема (банковская – ред.) никуда не исчезнет, она просто станет более экономичной, более целесообразной для использования. Там, где требуется взаимодействие с конкретными людьми, это всегда останется. Поэтому мы будем говорить о сочетании двух элементов: традиционного банкинга и цифровых технологий — Каматх Кундапур Ваман, Президент, Новый банк развития БРИКС.

Традиционный банкинг будет существовать, но мы видим появление новых технологий, новых экосистем — Бхан Ширин, Управляющий редактор CNBC TV18, TV18 Broadcast Limited.

Банки с госучастием играют важную роль в экономике развивающихся стран

Есть огромные возможности и потребность в финансовой инклюзии. Если мы хотим, чтобы люди улучшили стандарты жизни, нам нужно обеспечить, чтобы у всех был доступ к кредиту, а также переводам и депозитам. Здесь технологии играют очень важную роль. Это очень большой вызов для развивающихся рынков — Бюркнер Ханс-Пол, Председатель совета директоров, The Boston Consulting Group.

Российская экономика привлекательна для ведущих зарубежных фондов

Мы хотим видеть эффективный бизнес, корпоративное управление и прозрачность. Мы смотрим на вот эти принципиальные вещи. Говоря о российской экономике, мы видим вот эти позитивные фундаментальные основы. Как инвестору, это дает мне определенные гарантии — Алькухеджи Махмуд Х., Главный исполнительный директор, Bahrain Mumtalakat Holding Company.

Проблемы
Конкуренция со стороны крупных технологических компаний

Не только банки, но и каждая компания должна задать себе вопрос, как оставаться релевантным, когда технологическая компания выступает между мной и потребителем. Это может быть в рознице, в финансовых услугах и даже в обычных потребительских отраслях, где кто-то — Apple, Google или Alibaba — занимает вот эту позицию. Здесь не нужно относиться к этому с легкостью, потому что каждая финансовая организация и другие компании должны думать о себе как о технологической компании. <…> Многие банки жалуются, что это неравные условия игры, потому что технологические компании не имеют такого же регулирования и т. д. Надеемся, что регулятор сохранит финансовые институты. И не ожидайте, что регуляторы будут вас спасать — Бюркнер Ханс-Пол, Председатель совета директоров, The Boston Consulting Group.

Решения
Сокращение влияния государства на финансовый сектор

Вопросы регулирования сейчас очень важны. Мне кажется, после кризиса 2007 года финансовый рынок очень сильно зарегулирован. Все европейские страны, включая Россию, смотрят на Соединенные Штаты и видят, что там-то американские банки находятся в лучших условиях. Это дополнительный драйв для экономики — Костин Андрей, Президент — председатель правления, член наблюдательного совета, член комитета по стратегии и корпоративному управлению, Банк ВТБ (ПАО).

Важным рычагом для всех формирующихся рынков является их открытие. <…> Нам нужно сокращать степень влияния государства на различные секторы, в том числе на финансовый сектор. <…> Если вы не сможете обеспечить создание сильных институтов, то мы не увидим тогда тех темпов роста, которые мы хотели бы увидеть. Это чрезвычайно важно для нашего ближайшего будущего и для развития банковской и финансовой деятельности — Бюркнер Ханс-Пол, Председатель совета директоров, The Boston Consulting Group.

Обеспечение устойчивости и стабильности в банковской сфере

Это вопрос главенства права. Обязательно нужно, чтобы это правило существовало везде. Плюс устойчивость финансовой деятельности. Многие из формирующихся рынков испытывают волатильность, у них нет стабильности. Устойчивость и стабильность — это то, что должно быть в основе политики — Фунес де Риоха Даниэль, Председатель «Деловой двадцатки» в рамках председательства Аргентинской Республики в G20.

Роль регулятора становится все более и более важной. Регуляторы должны откликаться на те изменения, которые сегодня происходят в банковском секторе. Нужно обеспечивать стабильность и способствовать тому, чтобы риски не были слишком значимыми — Каматх Кундапур Ваман, Президент, Новый банк развития БРИКС.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС