A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 126 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
30.12.2019

AMAP Assessment 2018: Arctic Ocean Acidification

Particularities of ocean acidification in the Arctic


Since the publication of the first Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme (AMAP) Arctic Ocean Acidification assessment in 2013, further research and data collection has reinforced the report’s findings and deepened understanding of the chemical, biological and socio-economic implications of ocean acidification in the Arctic.

The AMAP’s assessment reported that the Arctic Ocean and its marginal seas are acidifying primarily due to the uptake of carbon dioxide (CO2) from the atmosphere, but also as a result of other chemical additions and subtractions of carbon via other biogeochemical processes. The phenomenon, termed ocean acidification, is intensified in the Arctic relative to other regions of the world due to low ocean temperatures that increase gas solubility, and the inflow of naturally low pH water from the Pacific Ocean, river runoff and ice melt. The degree and distribution of acidification is not uniform across the Arctic Ocean, resulting in high temporal and spatial variability.

Arctic Ocean acidification: an update


Chapter 2 of the 2018 report builds on the 2013 report by summarizing biogeochemical research published in the past five years. Acidification across the Arctic Ocean is increasingly evident, based on new and extended time-series. Focusing on seven Arctic regions, where there is sufficient information available, this chapter discusses trends and changes observed in the marine carbonate system and the regional drivers of ocean acidification.

The chapter also includes updated projections of Arctic Ocean acidification, noting that, with continuing carbon emissions, acidification is expected to continue progressing over the next century, although probably with considerable regional variability. The continued decrease in the saturation states of aragonite and calcite as a result of acidification, coupled with warming ocean conditions, is likely to have considerable impacts on marine ecosystems. Projections suggest that there will be significant changes in ocean chemistry in the coming decades, with the export of waters undersaturated in calcium carbonate from the Arctic increasingly impacting oceans outside the region.

Reduction in bottom water pHT (total pH) between bi-decadal averages 2000–2019 and 2050–2069

Biological responses to ocean acidification


It is anticipated that ocean acidification, particularly coupled with ocean warming and deoxygenation, will drive changes in marine ecosystems and impact Arctic biota. Anticipated biological changes, which are considered in Chapter 3, will be both direct and indirect. Likely direct effects include changes to key physiological aspects such as calcification, growth, reproduction, and metabolic rates, while indirect effects include changes in food availability and quality.

Despite varied biological responses, complex ecosystem interactions among species and response uncertainty under multi-stressor conditions, it is likely that ocean acidification will drive changes at a magnitude that will affect people living in the Arctic and surrounding regions. These changes pose risks to commercial, subsistence, and recreational fisheries, as well as to the provision of other ecosystem services in the region.

Socio-economic impacts of Arctic Ocean acidification on fisheries


Chapter 4 summarizes case studies commissioned by AMAP that explore the socio-economic impacts of ocean acidification in five Arctic regions. Three cases consider specific fisheries in the region, while two examine impacts and effects on regional commercial and subsistence fishing activities. Fisheries examined in the case studies include Norwegian kelp and sea urchins, Barents Sea cod and Greenland shrimp. Regional effects on commercial and subsistence fishing are examined in Alaska and in the western Canadian Arctic.

The case studies demonstrate that highly productive and locally important commercial and subsistence fisheries are vulnerable to the combined effects of acidification, warming, and other environmental stressors. While impacts on fisheries are likely to be modest in the next decade or two, they are likely to increase substantially beyond the middle of the century.

Knowledge gaps and recommendations


Understanding of the processes driving ocean acidification continues to improve, although there remain important gaps in knowledge regarding chemical, biological, and socioeconomic responses.

AMAP suggests that there are specific actions that could be taken to improve the scientific understanding of processes related to ocean acidification. Enhancing research and monitoring of Arctic Ocean acidification must continue to be a high priority within the Arctic Council to promote cooperation between Arctic countries. There is need for a unified monitoring program to harmonize and support adaptation actions in the Arctic. Besides that, there is a need for more in situ research and observation to better understand the changing chemistry of Arctic waters, and Arctic-specific responses of biota. It is essential that action on adaptation is undertaken concurrently with mitigation.

This publication has been posted in the Roscongress Information and Analytical System on the recommendation of the Roscongress Foundation expert community.
Analytics on the topic

Информационно-аналитическая система
Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
30.12.2019

Закисление Северного Ледовитого океана: оценка AMAP (2018 г.)

Особенности протекания процесса закисления океана в Арктике


Первое оценочное исследование Рабочей группы AMAP было опубликовано в 2013 году. Дальнейшие исследования и новые данные подкрепили результаты, опубликованные в первом докладе, и углубили современное понимание химических, биологических и социально-экономических последствий закисления океана в Арктике.

В первом докладе AMAP сообщалось, что степень кислотности Северного Ледовитого океана и его окраинных морей повышается, в первую очередь по причине поглощения диоксида углерода (CO2) из атмосферы, но также и в результате химического привноса и выноса углерода в ходе других биогеохимических процессов. Это явление, получившее название «закисление океана», в Арктике протекает особенно интенсивно по сравнению с другими регионами в связи с низкой температурой океанской воды, которая повышает растворимость газов, и притоком воды с естественно низким уровнем кислотности из Тихого океана, а также за счёт речных стоков и таяния льда. Степень и распространённость закисления на территории Северного Ледовитого океана неоднородны, что влечёт за собой высокую вариативность во времени и пространстве.

Закисление Северного Ледовитого океана: обновлённые данные


Глава 2 доклада за 2018 год продолжает исследование 2013 года и обобщает результаты научных работ в области биогеохимии, опубликованных за последние пять лет. По данным новых, более длительных исследований на основе анализа временных рядов, закисление по всему Северному Ледовитому океану становится всё более очевидным. В данной главе доклада рассматриваются семь арктических регионов, по которым имеется достаточное количество данных, и анализируются текущие тенденции и изменения, наблюдаемые в карбонатной системе морской воды, а также региональные факторы закисления.

В данную главу также включены обновлённые прогнозы дальнейшего закисления Северного Ледовитого океана с учётом того, что если выбросы углерода не прекратятся, закисление продолжит нарастать на протяжении всего следующего века, хотя, возможно, и в различной степени в зависимости от региона. Непрерывное снижение насыщенности арагонитом и кальцитом, вызванное закислением, в сочетании с потеплением океана, вероятно, окажет значительное воздействие на морские экосистемы. Расчёты показывают, что в ближайшие десятилетия в химическом составе океана будут происходить серьёзные изменения. При этом вода из Арктики, недонасыщенная карбонатом кальция, будет оказывать всё большее воздействие на океаны за пределами арктического региона.

Снижение pHT (общего pH) глубинных вод, изменения между двадцатилетними средними значениями (с 2000 по 2019 гг. и с 2050 по 2069 гг.)

Биологическая реакция на закисление океана


Прогнозируется, что закисление океана, особенно в сочетании с повышением температуры воды и деоксигенацией, будет приводить к изменениям в морских экосистемах и повлияет на флору и фауну Арктики. Предполагаемые биологические последствия, которые рассматриваются в Главе 3 доклада, будут как прямыми, так и косвенными. Вероятные прямые эффекты включают изменения в основных физиологических аспектах, таких как кальцификация, рост, репродуктивность, скорость метаболизма. Непрямые эффекты связаны с изменениями в доступности и качестве пищи.

Несмотря на разнообразие биологических реакций, сложность экосистемного взаимодействия между видами и невозможность предсказать биологическую реакцию в условиях сочетания множества стрессовых факторов, весьма вероятно, что закисление океана вызовет изменения такой степени, что это окажет воздействие на население Арктики и близлежащих регионов. Такие изменения создают риски для коммерческого, натурального и любительского рыболовного промысла, а также для других экосистемных услуг в регионе.

Социально-экономическое воздействие закисления Северного Ледовитого океана на рыболовство


В Главе 4 приводится обзор результатов ситуационных исследований, выполненных по заказу AMAP для изучения социально-экономического воздействия закисления океана на пять арктических регионов. В трёх случаях предметом изучения являлись конкретные виды рыболовецкого промысла в регионе, в двух остальных рассматривалось воздействие на натуральную и коммерческую промысловую деятельность в регионе. Рассматриваемые виды промысла включали добычу ламинарии и морского ежа в Норвегии, трески в Баренцевом море и креветки в Гренландии. Региональные эффекты изучались на Аляске и в западной части канадской Арктики.

Ситуационные исследования показывают, что высокопродуктивные, имеющие местное значение коммерческие и натуральные виды промысла уязвимы перед комплексным воздействием закисления, потепления воды и других экологических стрессовых факторов. В ближайшие десять-двадцать лет воздействие на рыбный промысел, скорее всего, будет умеренным, во второй половине текущего века оно может стать значительным.

Пробелы в знаниях и рекомендации


Степень понимания процессов, приводящих к закислению океана, непрерывно растёт, хотя всё ещё остаются значительные пробелы в научных знаниях касательно химических, биологических и социально-экономических реакций на это явление.

AMAP предлагает конкретные меры, которые могут быть приняты для повышения уровня научных знаний о процессах, связанных с закислением океана. Активизация мониторинга закисления Северного Ледовитого океана и исследований в этой области должна оставаться приоритетной задачей Арктического Совета для развития сотрудничества между странами арктического региона. Существует потребность в единой программе мониторинга для гармонизации и поддержки адаптационных действий в Арктике. Кроме того, необходимо проводить больше исследований на местах для достижения лучшего понимания меняющегося химического состава арктических вод и специфического для Арктики отклика флоры и фауны. При этом важно, чтобы меры по адаптации принимались параллельно с действиями по смягчению негативных воздействий.

Данная публикация размещена в Информационно-аналитической системе Росконгресс по рекомендации экспертного сообщества Фонда Росконгресс.
Аналитика на тему