A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 126 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
12.03.2020

World Energy Issues Monitor 2020: Decoding New Signals of Change

Main features of the World Energy Issues Monitor 2020 report


Established in 1923, the World Energy Council (WEC) today is the principal impartial network of energy leaders and practitioners promoting an affordable, stable and environmentally sensitive energy system globally. This eleventh iteration of the Issues Monitor, a series of reports published annually by the World Energy Council, is based on a survey of more than 3,000 energy leaders (CEOs, Ministers and experts) in 104 countries. New this year, the Issues Monitor also provides readers with the views of the individual customer, detailing their perceptions of their role in the overall energy system.

Global Perspectives


Based on individual country analyses and commentaries, the WEC experts formed a picture of five categories of challenges at national, regional, and global levels: macroeconomic risks, business environment, geopolitics, energy vision, technology.

Based on the results obtained from the national and regional analyses, three main insights have emerged:
  • Macroeconomic and geopolitical issues define Critical Uncertainties
The strained trade relations between the United States and China have led to higher uncertainty across all regions. Volatile commodity prices is another source of instability for both energy consumers and producers. Also, uncertainty remains around the impact of intensifying extreme weather events and the need to adopt climate adaptation and mitigation measures.
  • Technology issues define Action Priorities
Governments are beginning to design pathways for the wider adoption of renewables, digitalisation, energy efficiency, energy storage, and other innovative technologies as part of national energy transitions. Energy Efficiency appears as a key theme, with numerous countries adopting plans to improve the performance of appliances, buildings, the electricity and gas distribution grids. Distributed systems are being promoted to achieve accessibility and decarbonisation goals, but project financing in emerging markets remains a challenge.
  • Regional integration is a «desired» means of improving energy security
Energy integration can increase regional cooperation and diversify countries’ sources of energy supply to enhance energy supply security. Still, although regional integration is seen as important for all countries surveyed, there remains a strong focus on self-reliance. Countries reliant upon oil and gas imports recognise that this dependency renders their economies vulnerable to supply disruptions. Use of renewables can help countries diversify the energy mix.

Key Trends in Energy


The report highlights the following key trends in the energy industry which is currently in the process of transition.
  • The role of the customer is likely to continue growing in the next decade
The focus for the 2010s was about trying to automate and upgrade the energy system and set targets to move the energy transition forward. Digitalisation accelerated the transition of all sectors towards a more customer-centric environment. As a result, the 2020s may very well be about realising those targets through a transition from activism to action.

  • Carbon Capture & Storage (CCS) is gaining in importance within the Oil & Gas sector
In comparing response from the Oil & Gas sector in 2015 with 2019, the WEC experts found that almost half of respondents identified Carbon Capture & Storage (CCS) as a high impact issue in 2019, up from about a third in 2015. According to the latest report from the Global CCS Institute, there are now 19 large-scale CCS projects in operation globally with four projects under construction, and a further 28 in various stages of development.
  • Nuclear power remains important in Europe
The Council investigated how European energy leaders perceive nuclear energy. Opinions remain polarised but in many European countries, nuclear power is increasingly recognised as a carbon-free energy source and potentially an integral part of the future energy mix.


Analytics on the topic

Информационно-аналитическая система
Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
12.03.2020

Мониторинг проблем мировой энергетики — 2020: расшифровка новых сигналов

Особенности исследования «Мониторинг проблем мировой энергетики — 2020»


Мировой энергетический совет (МИРЭС), учреждённый в 1923 году, сегодня является основным независимым сообществом лидеров и практикующих специалистов в области энергетики, развивающих идеи доступности, стабильности и экологической ответственности мировой энергетической системы. Данное одиннадцатое издание серии докладов МИРЭС «Мониторинг проблем мировой энергетики» основано на результатах опроса более 3 000 лидеров в сфере энергетики (руководителей и топ-менеджеров компаний, высокопоставленных государственных лиц и пр.) в 104 странах. Кроме того, читатели доклада могут ознакомиться с мнениями потребителей энергии и их восприятием своей роли в общей энергетической системе.

Выводы в глобальном масштабе


Проанализировав ситуацию в отрасли в отдельных странах, эксперты МИРЭС выявили пять сфер, в которых существуют проблемы национального, регионального и глобального уровней: макроэкономика, бизнес-среда, геополитика, технологии и стратегическое планирование.

На основе полученных результатов авторы исследования сформировали три главных вывода:
  • Макроэкономические и геополитические проблемы являются ключевыми факторами неопределённости.
Напряжённые торговые отношения между США и Китаем привели к росту неопределённости во всём мире. Другим источником нестабильности как для потребителей, так и для производителей энергии стала волатильность цен на сырьевые товары. Усиливает неопределённость отсутствие чёткого представления о последствиях роста количества экстремальных погодных явлений и о мерах, необходимых для смягчения таких последствий.
  • Технологические инновации становятся определяющим фактором при выборе первоочередных мер.
Многие государства разрабатывают сценарии масштабирования использования возобновляемых источников энергии, цифровизации, накопления энергии и других способов внедрения инновационных технологий. Параллельно решается вопрос повышения энергоэффективности: так, многие страны уже утвердили планы по улучшению производительности приборов, зданий, электрических и газовых распределительных сетей и т. д. Внедрение распределённых систем генерации энергии пропагандируется как способ достижения целей всеобщей доступности энергии и декарбонизации. Однако в развивающихся экономиках препятствием на пути реализации таких проектов остаётся недостаточное финансирование.
  • «Предпочтительным» способом повышения энергобезопасности является региональная интеграция.
Интеграция стран в энергетической сфере может расширить региональное сотрудничество и диверсифицировать источники энергоснабжения. Несмотря на это, важным фактором энергетической безопасности по-прежнему остаётся самообеспеченность национальных экономик. Зависящие от импорта нефти и газа страны признают, что данная зависимость делает их экономики уязвимыми при перебоях с поставками энергоресурсов. Диверсификации каналов энергоснабжения может способствовать использование возобновляемых источников энергии.

Основные тенденции в мировом энергетическом секторе


Авторы исследования определили ключевые тренды сферы энергетики, претерпевающей сейчас глобальные преобразования.
  • В предстоящем десятилетии должно продолжиться усиление роли потребителя.
В 2010-е годы основное внимание уделялось попыткам автоматизировать и модернизировать энергетическую систему и установить целевые показатели энергетической трансформации. Цифровизация ускорила переход всех секторов к среде, более ориентированной на клиента. В 2020-е годы, при условии перехода от планов к действиям, поставленные цели вполне могут быть достигнуты.

  • Необходимость контроля объёмов и сокращения выбросов углекислого газа для нефтегазового сектора возрастает.
В 2019 году необходимость контроля объёмов и сокращения выбросов углекислого газа признали серьёзной проблемой почти половина участников опроса МИРЭС (в 2015 году доля таких респондентов составляла около одной трети). Согласно последнему отчёту Global CCS Institute, в настоящее время в мире в данной сфере действует 19 крупных проектов, четыре находятся на стадии строительства, а ещё 28 — на разных стадиях разработки.
  • Атомная энергетика в целом не теряет своей значимости в европейском регионе.
МИРЭС исследовал, как европейские лидеры в сфере энергетики воспринимают ядерную энергию. Мнения остаются поляризованными, но во многих европейских странах ядерная энергетика получает всё большее признание в качестве безуглеродного источника энергии и потенциальной неотъемлемой составляющей будущего энергетического баланса.


Аналитика на тему