A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
ESG in Manufacturing: Why Solving Global Problems Requires International Best Practice
2 September 2021
15:00—16:30
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Implementing ESG is a global trend in corporate development

From my point of view, when it comes to companies that are looking to the future and aiming to be attractive to investors, there is no question of whether to implement ESG or not. According to research done by McKinsey, companies with ESG in their agenda are worth an average of 10% more than those companies without. This is a global trend, and I have to agree with it — Alexander Liberov, President, Siemens in Russia.

What we call the ESG revolution is a transformation of our expectations and demands with regards to social issues and environmental protection — John Mulligan, Climate Change Lead and Market Relations, World Gold Council.

It is the improvement of human habitats, improving the quality of life of the enterprise’s employees, creating conditions under which highly skilled employees want to move to manufacturing cities that are sometimes not very attractive — Yuliya Shabala, Deputy Director General for Sustainable Development and Corporate Affairs, Udokan Copper.

Manufacturing organizations around the world are currently focused on reducing environmental impact

The main driver for institutional investors is, of course, climate change. Over the last 4 to 5 years we have developed a special programme that uses our knowledge to influence the industry. We understand how the gold mining sector can be decarbonized to reduce impact on the climate — John Mulligan, Climate Change Lead and Market Relations, World Gold Council.

Climate change remains a key concern for us. Polyus participated in an ICMM study on adapting to climate change published in 2019. A separate subject, which is currently being addressed individually, but which ICMM is currently working on, is the transition to renewable energy sources. Thanks to investments that we started implementing in 2015, this year we were able to transition to 100% renewable sources of energy, including hydrogeneration by signing direct contracts with RusHydro stations — Pavel Grachev, Chief Executive Officer, Polyus.

ISSUES
Climate change is occurring more rapidly than earlier forecasts anticipated

Scientists have shown that climate change is occurring rather intensely, at a pace that exceeds what was predicted 5 to 10 years ago. Subjectively speaking, it seemed like discussions at the World Economic Forum concerning the climate agenda increased about five-fold. Accordingly, global goals have to become more ambitious, including on the corporate level — Sergey Komyshan, Executive Director for Marketing and Sales, Procurement, Innovation and Business Development, SIBUR.

There are infrastructure limitations for implementing new technologies and innovations

When you launch a new enterprise, you have an investment cycle of 10 to 15 years, and investing immediately in modernization, in transitioning to hydrogen or installing carbon capture solutions at the investment stage is fairly problematic. Which is why the greenfield projects in the Russian Far East have their own specific needs. Metallurgy is an energy-intensive industry and renewable sources of energy are limited in the Russian Far East. Especially when general access to electricity is already a big windfall. Though we understand that we didn’t even have general access a decade ago. Nevertheless, we acknowledge the rules of the game: it is impossible to operate and be integrated into the global metallurgical industry without ESG — Yuliya Shabala, Deputy Director General for Sustainable Development and Corporate Affairs, Udokan Copper.

In Russia, electric vehicles are a fairly new concept, but they are groundbreaking. The issue is infrastructure. Without it, in my opinion, people won't buy electric automobiles. Today we’re looking at 200–300 electrical charging stations, and I see a major opportunity for the market here: increasing it to 9,000 — Alexander Liberov, President, Siemens in Russia.

SOLUTIONS
Intra- and inter-industry cooperation when implementing ESG practices in manufacturing

Reaching zero emissions is of utmost importance. Not a single company can do this alone — Rohitesh Dhawan, Chief Executive Officer, International Council on Mining and Metals.

Environmental issues are of particular importance at the moment. The environment, much like COVID-19, knows no political boundaries. This issue must be addressed by working together, comprehensively — Alexander Liberov, President, Siemens in Russia.

To us, international cooperation is finding out what is going on around us and acquiring the valuable information, statistics, and practices that are available to our industry colleagues. At the same time we share our own knowledge, consult with other companies, and this has its own social function — Pavel Grachev, Chief Executive Officer, Polyus.

Implementing innovations in manufacturing, reducing environmental risk

The only way to improve the situation is implementing innovative breakthrough technologies, implementing them into our lives and improving the efficiency of the processes that we encounter every day. If we are talking about Siemens as a global company, then ESG is the foundation of our company’s global strategy. We make it a goal to contribute to addressing the issue, so that the annual temperature increase does not exceed 1.5°. It includes reducing our carbon footprint to 0 by 2050, but we have a benchmark of reducing it by 20% by 2030 — Alexander Liberov, President, Siemens in Russia.

We're seeing that it's very important to develop technologies in producing green or blue hydrogen using power generation based on renewable sources of energy. Using hydrogen in these processes allows us to address the issue of using CO2 for producing goods and materials that humans need. Taking into account that the oil and gas industry can serve as a source of hydrogen and the petrochemical industry can serve as consumers, this intra-industry connection is very important — Sergey Komyshan, Executive Director for Marketing and Sales, Procurement, Innovation and Business Development, SIBUR.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 160 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
ESG в промышленности: решение глобальных проблем требует международного опыта
2 сентября 2021
15:00—16:30
Ключевые выводы
Внедрение ESG — это глобальный тренд в развитии компаний

С моей точки зрения, вопрос о том, заниматься ESG или нет, практически не стоит сегодня для компаний, которые смотрят в будущее и стремятся быть интересными для инвесторов. По исследованиям McKinsey, компании, которые имеют ESG в своей повестке, в среднем на 10% стоят больше на рынке, чем компании, которые не уделяют этому внимания. Это глобальный тренд, я могу с этим только согласиться — Либеров Александр, Президент, Siemens в России.

То, что мы называем революцией ESG — это трансформация наших ожиданий и потребностей по социальным проблемам, вопросам охраны среды — Маллиган Джон, Глава по изменению климата и рыночным отношениям, Всемирный совет по золоту.

Это улучшение среды обитания людей, улучшение качества жизни сотрудников предприятий, создание условий, при которых в промышленные и иногда не совсем привлекательные города будут приезжать высококвалифицированные сотрудники — Шабала Юлия, Заместитель генерального директора по устойчивому развитию и корпоративным вопросам, ООО «Удоканская медь».

Снижение влияния на экологию является сегодня главным требованием к организации производства в мире

Основной драйвер для институциональных инвесторов — это, конечно, изменение климата. За последние четыре-пять лет мы разработали специальную программу, которая использует наши знания для влияния в отрасли. Мы понимаем, как золотодобывающий сектор может быть декарбонизирован, чтобы смягчить влияние на климат — Маллиган Джон, Глава по изменению климата и рыночным отношениям, Всемирный совет по золоту.

Ключевой темой для нас всех остается изменение климата. „Полюс“ участвовал в исследовании ICMM по адаптации к изменению климата, оно было опубликовано в 2019 году. Отдельное направление работы, которое пока что каждый отслеживает самостоятельно, но в рамках ICMM будут разработаны стандарты — это переход на возобновляемые источники энергии. Благодаря инвестициям, которые мы последовательно осуществляли, начиная с 2015 года, в этом году мы смогли перейти на стопроцентное потребление возобновляемых источников, в частности гидрогенерации путем заключения прямого договора со станциями „Русгидро“ — Грачев Павел, Генеральный директор, ПАО «Полюс».

Проблемы
Изменение климата идет более высокими темпами, чем прогнозировалось ранее

Учеными доказано, что изменение климата достаточно существенное, скорость его выше, чем предполагалось 5-10 лет назад. Субъективное мнение сложилось при посещении Всемирного экономического форума о том, что доля обсуждения климатической повести выросла кратно, раз в пять, наверное. Соответственно, глобальные цели должны стать более амбициозными, на корпоративном уровне в том числе — Комышан Сергей, Исполнительный директор, Маркетинг и продажи, Обеспечение производства, Инновации и развитие бизнеса, ООО «СИБУР».

Существуют инфраструктурные ограничения для внедрения новых технологий и инноваций

Когда ты запускаешь новое предприятие, у тебя инвестиционный цикл 10-15 лет, вкладывать сразу в модернизацию, в переключение на водород или установку уловителей углерода на инвестиционной стадии по крайней мере достаточно проблематично. Поэтому у greenfield-проектов на Дальнем Востоке есть своя специфика. Металлургия — энергозатратное производство, и на Дальнем Востоке с возобновляемыми источниками энергии не все хорошо. Если есть в принципе доступ к электроэнергии — это уже большая удача. Хотя мы понимаем, что 10 лет назад и этого не было. Тем не менее мы признаем правила игры — без ESG работать и быть интегрированными в мировой металлургический контекст невозможно — Шабала Юлия, Заместитель генерального директора по устойчивому развитию и корпоративным вопросам, ООО «Удоканская медь».

Те же электромобили для России — достаточно новая тема, но прорывная. Проблема — инфраструктура, без нее, с моей точки зрения, люди не будут покупать эти электромобили. Сегодня мы говорим про 200–300 электрозарядных станций, я здесь вижу большую возможность для рынка — увеличение до 9000 — Либеров Александр, Президент, Siemens в России.

Решения
Внутри- и межотраслевое взаимодействие при внедрении практик ESG в производство

Самое главное — это нулевые выбросы, ни одна из компаний не может решить этот вопрос самостоятельно — Дхаван Рохитеш, Главный исполнительный директор, Международный совет по горному делу и металлам.

Экологическая тематика стоит сегодня наиболее остро. Экология, как и COVID-19, не знает государственных границ. Решать проблему нам нужно вместе, в комплексе — Либеров Александр, Президент, Siemens в России.

Международная кооперация для нас — это способ узнать, что происходит вокруг, и получить ту ценную информацию, статистику, практики, которые доступны в круге наших коллег по отрасли. К тому же мы делимся собственными знаниями, консультируем другие компании, и это своего рода социальная функция — Грачев Павел, Генеральный директор, ПАО «Полюс».

Внедрение в производство инноваций, снижающих риск для экологии

Единственный способ, как ситуацию можно улучшить, — это применение инновационных прорывных технологий, внедрение их в нашу жизнь и повышение эффективности тех процессов, с которыми мы сталкиваемся в повседневной жизни. Если говорить про Simens как глобальную компанию, то ESG — это основа глобальной стратегии нашей компании. Здесь мы перед собой ставим задачу привнести вклад в решение проблемы, чтобы ежегодное повышение температурного режима не превышало полтора градуса. Это снижение карбонового следа до нуля до 2050 года, но мы ставим промежуточную цель — до 2030 года снизить его на 20% — Либеров Александр, Президент, Siemens в России.

Мы видим, что очень важно развитие технологий по производству зеленого или голубого водорода с использованием генерации, основанной на возобновляемых источниках энергии. Использование водорода на таких процессах позволит нам справиться с задачей использования CO2 для производства продуктов и материалов, нужных человечеству. Учитывая, что источником водорода тут может стать нефтегазовая промышленность, а потребителем — нефтехимическая, эта межотраслевая связка очень важна — Комышан Сергей, Исполнительный директор, Маркетинг и продажи, Обеспечение производства, Инновации и развитие бизнеса, ООО «СИБУР».

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС