A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 155 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Open Source in Russia: To Be or Not to Be?
3 June 2021
17:00—18:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
The roots of the transition to open-source software originated many years ago

People essentially learned to write programmes some time back in the 1940s, but they began using the same programmes in different hardware platforms in the 1960s. [...] I think the USSR was actually one of the first promoters of open source, because these clones were born from [...] the direct copying of American systems. [...] At that time, the role of hardware was still very important. That’s what set the tone. So, there was no way to reuse the code. The role of software has been growing since around the start of Windows in the 1990s. […] Since then, the Internet and network-centric computing have emerged. This was precisely the time when the transition to free and open-source software began — Ilya Massukh, Director, Competence Centre for the Import Substitution of Information and Communication Technologies.

Russian developers are among the most active in creating open source

If we’re talking about Russia, then [it’s] one of the three most active developer countries in Europe. Not just in terms of consumers, but developers [Russia] is among the ten leading countries in the world. If you look at growth rates, Russia is in third place. That is to say, you are growing more actively than other countries. If we take into account the ratio of this community of developers to the general population, we can see that there is huge potential here. We see that in a number of countries, for example, in the UK, these figures are three times higher than in Russia, but the growth rates are not as active — Marco Berkovich, Regional Manager, Europe, GitHub.

Open source will soon become more popular than proprietary

With the support of the Russian division of Accenture, we conducted a study that produced the following preliminary results. [...] The overwhelming number of companies in the world are deciding to switch to open source for individual components of their digital systems and products that they use. Whereas in 2018 it was only half of the companies, today about 80% of companies are taking these decisions in one way or another. The market is growing very quickly. My colleagues and I are almost certain that in the next 2–3 years the share of open source will exceed the share of proprietary code. […] The ratio will be somewhere between 44% and a little over 30% for the main products. We see how quickly the numbers are growing, which means this is an attractive market. More and more companies are turning to this topic — Arkady Dvorkovich, Chairman, Skolkovo Foundation.

ISSUES
Big tech companies struggle switching to open source

An interesting trend is that the companies that used to be as closed as possible and only used the same type of solutions, shall we say – I’m referring to banks, oil companies, and complex technology companies – are increasingly switching to open source and are not afraid of it at all. Well, they are afraid, but being afraid is one thing, and making all these strategic decisions and doing it is another. Why are they afraid? Because […] they see that there is not enough expertise within the companies themselves to transfer complex systems to open source. Simply introducing this culture into a corporation is a problem. There is a technological barrier due to the compatibility of different systems. Sometimes it’s very difficult to do only a part of systemic open source, and the rest has to be left on traditional software with problems of integration between systems in complex organizations and complex platforms. Ultimately, there is a security problem — Arkady Dvorkovich, Chairman, Skolkovo Foundation.

The Russian authorities have yet to develop a clear position on the use of open source

[The government] has not indicated any clear position [on the use of open source]. We believe that this position needs to be expressed. It should be as clear and categorical as possible in the sense that it should become the main line of support for us. [...] There are three reasons [for the importance of government support for open source]. The first one is technological development [...] and flexibility, including the speed of product development and the efficiency of using public resources. [...] The second is technological security, information security, and the ability to conduct an independent audit of source code. [...] And the third is technological independence, [including] a reduction of sanctions risks and dependence on global vendors — Maksim Parshin, Deputy Minister of Digital Development, Communications and Mass Media of the Russian Federation.

SOLUTIONS
The world has already created open-source bases to solve a huge number of problems

Of course, there are centralized platforms. We now have 56 million [developers] on our platform. This is truly a global base from all countries. Even from the Vatican, we have developers and they enrich this open-source base. These [open source] projects are never tied to a specific geography or a specific country, and this is always some kind of global, powerful effort. [...] If we are talking about proprietary software, 94% of such software [...] includes open source, [...] and 80% of all these applications. [...] So, we are developing some kind of application or some government structure. They say: ‘We need to develop a specific search algorithm’. You will be using open source. If you need to develop some kind of database, you don’t have to make it from scratch. [It] has already been developed. So, of course, these elements that already exist and are already open make it possible to maximize the efficiency of this work — Marco Berkovich, Regional Manager, Europe, GitHub.

Permitting the use of open source at the legislative level will simplify development for the government’s needs

How do we need to continue this work [to introduce open source]? [...] This applies to both business and the public sector. There is no such magic recipe here. The first step, which will definitely be very important, is the need to open and remove these programmes and codes from the proprietary status. It’s actually quite simple. [...] If something in the public domain has already been developed, perhaps it’s necessary at the legislative level to ensure [the ability] to use this code, and not to come up with and invent everything from scratch — Marco Berkovich, Regional Manager, Europe, GitHub.

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 160 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Open Source в России: быть или не быть?
3 июня 2021
17:00—18:15
Ключевые выводы
Корни перехода к открытому ПО зародились еще много лет назад

В принципе писать программы (люди. — Прим. ред.) научились где-то в 40-х годах, но массово использовать одни и те же программы в разных аппаратных платформах начали в 60-х годах. <...> На самом деле СССР был одним из первых, мне кажется, популяризаторов открытого кода, потому что вот эти клоны родились из <...> прямого копирования американских систем. <...> В то время была еще очень велика роль аппаратного обеспечения, именно оно задавало тон. Поэтому не было возможности переиспользовать код. Где-то со времен начала Windows, в 90-е <...> растет роль программного обеспечения. С этого момента возник интернет, возникли сетецентрические вычисления. Именно в этот момент начался переход на свободное и открытое программное обеспечение — Массух Илья, Директор, АНО «Центр компетенций по импортозамещению в сфере информационно-коммуникационных технологий».

Разработчики из России — одни из самых активных в создании открытого кода

Если говорить о России, то (она. — Прим. ред.) входит в тройку самых активных стран–разработчиков в Европе. Не только потребителей, а именно разработчиков, (Россия. — Прим. ред.) входит в десятку ведущих стран мира. При этом если посмотреть на темпы роста, то на третьем месте находится Россия, то есть вы активнее растете, чем другие страны. Если учитывать соотношение вот этого сообщества разработчиков к общему населению, то мы видим, что здесь есть огромный потенциал. Мы видим, что в ряде стран, например, в Великобритании в 3 раза больше эти цифры, чем в России, но при этом темпы роста не такие активные — Беркович Марко, Директор Европейского офиса, GitHub.

Открытый код в скором времени станет популярнее проприетарного

Мы провели при поддержке российского подразделения компании Accenture, действительно, исследование, которое дало следующие предварительные результаты. <...> Подавляющее число компаний в мире принимают решение о переходе на open source по отдельным элементам своих цифровых систем и продуктов, которые они используют. Если в 2018 году это была лишь половина компаний, сегодня уже где-то 80 % компаний так или иначе принимают эти решения. Рынок растет очень быстро. Мы с коллегами практически уверены, что уже в ближайшие 2–3 года доля open source превысит долю проприетарного кода <...> Соотношение будет где-то 44 на 30 с небольшим процентов по основным продуктам. Мы видим насколько быстро растут цифры, а значит, и привлекательность этого рынка. Все больше компаний обращаются к этой теме — Дворкович Аркадий, Председатель, Фонд «Сколково».

Проблемы
Большим технологическим компаниям сложно переходить на открытый код

Интересным трендом является то, что те компании, которые раньше были максимально закрытыми и использовали только однотипные, скажем так, решения, я имею в виду банки, нефтяные компании, сложные технологические компании, все больше и больше тоже переходят на open source и абсолютно этого не боятся. Ну то есть боятся, но одно дело бояться, другое дело — принимать все эти стратегические решения и делать. Почему боятся? Потому что <...> видят, что внутри компаний самих недостаточно компетенций, чтобы переводить сложные системы на open source. Есть проблема в том, чтобы просто эту культуру в корпорацию ввести. Есть технологический барьер, связанный с совместимостью разных систем. Очень сложно иногда делать только часть системного open source, остальное — оставлять на традиционном обеспечении и иметь проблемы интеграции между системами в сложных организациях, сложных платформах. Наконец, есть проблема безопасности — Дворкович Аркадий, Председатель, Фонд «Сколково».

Власти Российской Федерации пока не выработали четкую позицию по использованию открытого кода

Внятной позиции (у государства к использованию открытого кода. — Прим. ред.) не было выражено. Мы считаем, что позицию нужно выразить. Она должна быть максимально понятная и категорична в том смысле, что это должно стать магистральным направлением поддержки для нас. <...> Три причины (важности поддержки open sorce со стороны государства. — Прим. ред.) Первое, ну, это технологическое развитие <...> гибкость, в том числе скорость разработки продуктов и в том числе эффективность использования государственных ресурсов. Второе — это технологическая безопасность, это информационная безопасность, это возможность проводить независимый аудит исходного кода. <...> И третье — это технологическая независимость, это <..> снижение санкционных рисков, это снижение зависимости от глобальных вендоров — Паршин Максим, Заместитель Министра цифрового развития, связи и массовых коммуникаций Российской Федерации.

Решения
В мире уже созданы базы с открытым кодом для решения огромного количества задач

Конечно же, существуют централизованные платформы. У нас сейчас уже 56 миллионов (разработчиков. — Прим. ред.) на нашей платформе. Действительно, это такая глобальная база, абсолютно из всех стран (на ней присутствуют. — Прим. ред.). Даже из Ватикана у нас есть разработчики, и они обогащают эту базу открытых кодов. Эти (open source. — Прим. ред.) проекты никогда не привязаны к конкретной географии, конкретной стране, а это всегда какие-то глобальные, мощные усилия. <...> Если мы говорим про проприетарный софт, то здесь 94 % такого программного обеспечения <...> включает в себя открытый код. <...> И 80 % из всех этих приложений. <...> Итак, мы разрабатываем какое-то приложение или это какие-то правительственные структуры. Они говорят: „Нам нужно разработать определенный алгоритм поиска“. Вы будете использовать open-source-источники. Если нужно какую-то базу данных разработать, то не нужно ее с нуля делать, (она. — Прим. ред.) уже разработана. Поэтому, конечно же, вот эти элементы, уже открытые, существующие, они позволяют максимизировать эффективность этой работы — Беркович Марко, Директор Европейского офиса, GitHub.

Разрешение использования открытого кода на законодательном уровне упростит разработку для нужд государства

Каким образом нам нужно продолжать эту работу (по внедрению open source. — Прим. ред.)? <...> Это касается и бизнеса, и госсектора. Здесь нет какого-то такого магического рецепта. Первый шаг, который действительно станет очень важным, это необходимость открыть, вывести из проприетарного статуса эти программы и коды. Это на самом деле очень просто. <...> Если уже существует что-то разработанное в открытом доступе, то тогда, может быть, необходимо на законодательном уровне обеспечить (возможность. — Прим. ред.) использования этого кода, а не придумывать и изобретать все с самого начала — Беркович Марко, Директор Европейского офиса, GitHub.