A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Small Modular Reactors, Energy Supply for Regions and Industry Sector
13 October 2021
11:00—12:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Small modular reactors could solve the issue of supplying energy to remote regions, including the Arctic

There are remote regions beyond the reach of the energy system. These are areas where commercial activity could take place. But does the choice have to be in favour of sun and wind power, and not small modular reactors? That is the big question — Evgeniy Grabchak, Deputy Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation.

Almost 64% of the territory of Yakutia is not connected to a centralized electrical grid. Large settlements could decide to construct combined diesel stations with solar and wind power. However, if we want to implement major industrial projects here, in the Arctic, then of course, small modular reactors are the safer, more cost-efficient, and profitable option — Aysen Nikolaev, Head of Sakha Republic (Yakutia).

We are going to build a low-capacity nuclear power plant in Yakutia’s Ust-Yansksky district. The objective is to support production at the Kyuchus gold deposit – one of the largest in the country. The project demonstrates the symbiosis that occurs when a large region is developed both from an industrial and social point of view. It is my belief that this will be the first step in overcoming the energy shortage – at least in the Yakutian Arctic — Aysen Nikolaev, Head of Sakha Republic (Yakutia).

It is my belief that it is simply impossible to develop isolated and northern regions without floating power plants. The shipping season is a mere 3–4 months long there, so constructing any kind of substantial structure will be virtually impossible — Oleg Novachuk, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Mining company Baimskaya.

Nuclear power plants are capable of providing a reliable – and economical – energy supply

There is a unit of measurement known as energy return on investment, which is based on the energy used to obtain a particular energy resource. For a nuclear power plant, the return is 75–80 times more than consumption, because it has a long operating life. Solar panels, on the other hand, only produce around double what they consume — Mikhail Chudakov, Deputy Director General, Head of the Department of Nuclear Energy, International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

The recent events on the gas market serve to demonstrate that moving towards nuclear energy is absolutely the right thing to do. We need stability and a long-term guarantee of stable prices for electric power. Our project will have an electricity supply for more than 40 – potentially 60 – years, with the price remaining stable — Oleg Novachuk, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Mining company Baimskaya.

No wind or solar farm can guarantee stable production. And we can see this today. The leap in the cost of gas is the result of those wind farms standing idle. There has not been enough wind. We have nothing against them, but the system needs to be upheld by nuclear energy, where fuel accounts for 8% of the cost per kilowatt-hour. To compare, in carbon-based generation, it is more than 50% — Mikhail Chudakov, Deputy Director General, Head of the Department of Nuclear Energy, International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

ISSUES
Nuclear energy remains relatively unpopular, which is having a negative impact on the environment

Nuclear generation continues to account for about 10% of the energy mix. In order to halt global warming, we need to get this figure up to at least 20–25%. But this is not happening. We are already losing, because people don’t believe in nuclear energy and are not looking to develop it — Mikhail Chudakov, Deputy Director General, Head of the Department of Nuclear Energy, International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

In 2020, 45% of Germany’s energy came from renewable, green sources. In France, this figure is a mere 25%. And yet in Germany, nuclear power accounts for just 11% of the national energy mix, while in France it is 70%. However, in 2020, Germany’s carbon dioxide emissions from burning fuel amounted to 617 million tonnes, while in France it was 272 million tonnes. There it is – the answer to the question — Alexey Likhachev, Director General, State Atomic Energy Corporation ROSATOM.

SOLUTIONS
International mechanisms to help implement nuclear power projects need to be developed

Globally, nuclear power needs to grow from the 10% it is at currently, because this will be beneficial to humanity. The main thing is that the development of small modular reactors is not hindered by political decisions, by pressure from certain countries. It is clear that nothing good comes from politicizing the energy market — Alexey Likhachev, Director General, State Atomic Energy Corporation ROSATOM.

Energy consumption in Africa will grow by 2025; however, it will remain the same per capita. The only difference is that there will be 1.4 billion people. That means that there will be the same poverty as before, people will go to more prosperous countries, and Europe will simply be inundated. It is in the interests of Europe and other nations to help developing countries. And in terms of the environment, nuclear power is the only option when it comes to solving issues related to energy development — Mikhail Chudakov, Deputy Director General, Head of the Department of Nuclear Energy, International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

Everything will depend on our agreements with a specific country. We can transfer a station to a country, which will then assume responsibility for operating and running it. Alternatively, we can operate it ourselves, in which case we assume all the responsibility. Another option is for it to be a joint venture in cooperation with local businesses, which then operates according to the laws of the country where it is based, — Alexey Likhachev, Director General, State Atomic Energy Corporation ROSATOM.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 160 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Малая атомная энергетика, энергообеспечение для регионов и промышленности
13 октября 2021
11:00—12:15
Ключевые выводы
Малая атомная энергетика может решить проблему энергообеспечения удаленных территорий, в том числе Арктики

Есть удаленные районы, до которых энергосистема не дотягивается. Там возможна какая-то хозяйственная деятельность. Но должен ли быть в случае с ними выбор в пользу солнца и ветра, а не малой атомной энергетики — это большой вопрос — Грабчак Евгений, Заместитель Министра энергетики Российской Федерации.

Почти 64% территории Якутии не охвачено централизованным электроснабжением. В крупных населенных пунктах можно идти по пути строительства комбинированных дизельных станций с солнечной, ветряной энергетикой. Но если мы хотим реализовать крупные промышленные проекты здесь, в Арктике, конечно, наиболее безопасно, экономично и рентабельно создавать именно малые атомные станции — Николаев Айсен, Глава Республики Саха (Якутия).

Атомная станция малой мощности, которую мы будем строить в Усть-Янском районе Якутии, ставит перед собой задачу обеспечить промышленное освоение золоторудного месторождения Кючус, одного из крупнейших в нашей стране. Это такой симбиоз, когда происходит промышленное и социальное освоение большой территории. Считаю, что это первый шаг к преодолению энергетического голода по крайней мере в Якутской Арктике — Николаев Айсен, Глава Республики Саха (Якутия).

Я считаю, что освоение труднодоступных северных регионов без плавучих электростанций просто невозможно. Там навигация продолжается всего 3–4 месяца в году, поэтому строительство любых каких-то капитальных конструкций становится практически невозможным — Новачук Олег, Председатель совета директоров, ООО ГДК «Баимская».

Атомные электростанции способны обеспечить стабильность энергоснабжения, в том числе экономическую

Есть такая единица измерения — энергия возвращенная, отнесенная к энергии затраченной. Атомная станция в 75–80 раз больше возвращает, чем затрачивает, потому что у нее большой срок эксплуатации. А возьмем солнечные панели — там всего примерно в 2 раза больше возврат, чем затраты — Чудаков Михаил, Заместитель генерального директора, руководитель департамента ядерной энергии, Международное агентство по атомной энергии (МАГАТЭ).

«Последние события, которые происходят на газовом рынке, показывают, что выбор, сделанный в пользу атомной электроэнергии, абсолютно правильный. Нам необходима стабильность и долгосрочная гарантия стабильных цен на электроэнергию. У нас будет электроснабжение нашего проекта на срок более 40 лет, потенциально — до 60 лет по стабильной цене — Новачук Олег, Председатель совета директоров, ООО ГДК «Баимская».

Никакие леса ветряков и поля солнечных панелей не могут обеспечить стабильную выработку. И мы это наблюдаем сейчас. Cкачок стоимости газа происходит из-за того, что там неделю простояли эти ветряки. Не было ветра. Мы не против них, но такая система должна „подпираться“ атомной энергетикой, где доля топлива в стоимости киловатт-часа составляет 8%. Для сравнения: в углеродной генерации она больше 50% — Чудаков Михаил, Заместитель генерального директора, руководитель департамента ядерной энергии, Международное агентство по атомной энергии (МАГАТЭ).

Проблемы
Популярность атомной энергетики остается низкой, что способствует ухудшению экологии

Доля атомной генерации остается на уровне тех же 10%, а чтобы остановить глобальное потепление, надо хотя бы 20–25% электроэнергетики иметь на ядерной энергии. А мы этого не видим. Мы уже проигрываем, так как люди в это не верят и не развивают атомную энергетику — Чудаков Михаил, Заместитель генерального директора, руководитель департамента ядерной энергии, Международное агентство по атомной энергии (МАГАТЭ).

По итогам 2020 года в Германии доля возобновляемых, „чистых“ источников энергии составила 45%. Во Франции лишь 25%. При том что на атомную энергетику в Германии приходится 11% всего производства энергии, а во Франции — под 70%. Но если посмотреть на объем выбросов углекислого газа от сжигания топлива, то по итогам 2020 года в Германии он составил 617 млн тонн, а во Франции — 272 млн тонн. Вот он, ответ на вопрос — Лихачев Алексей, Генеральный директор, Государственная корпорация по атомной энергии «Росатом».

Решения
Нужно развивать международные механизмы реализации проектов в области атомной энергетики

Атомная энергетика в мире должна вырасти с 10%, потому что это для человечества полезно. Лишь бы развитие малой атомной энергетики в мире не сдерживалось политическими решениями, давлением на те или иные страны. Политизация энергетического рынка, понятно, ни к чему хорошему не приводит — Лихачев Алексей, Генеральный директор, Государственная корпорация по атомной энергии «Росатом».

К 2025 году в Африке энергопотребление вырастет, но на душу населения оно останется таким же. Там просто прибавится 1,4 млрд населения. Это означает, что останется та же нищета, народ пойдет в более благополучные страны, и Европу просто затопчут. В интересах Европы и других государств — помогать развивающимся странам. И решить вопросы энергетического развития с точки зрения экологии может только атомная энергетика — Чудаков Михаил, Заместитель генерального директора, руководитель департамента ядерной энергии, Международное агентство по атомной энергии (МАГАТЭ).

Все будет зависеть от договоренностей наших с конкретной страной. Мы можем перевести станцию в собственность этому государству, и оно будет управлять ей и отвечать за работу этой станции. Мы можем сами ее эксплуатировать, и тогда вся ответственность на нашей стороне. Или это вообще может быть совместное предприятие, которое мы создали с местным бизнесом, и тогда оно будет жить по законам страны пребывания — Лихачев Алексей, Генеральный директор, Государственная корпорация по атомной энергии «Росатом».

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС