A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5,000 people working in Russia and abroad.

The Foundation works alongside various UN departments and other international organizations, and is building multi-format cooperation with 173 economic partners, including industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions, financial, trade, and business associations from 78 countries worldwide, and 188 Russian public organizations, federal and legislative agencies, and federal subjects.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian t.me/Roscongress, English – t.me/RoscongressDirect, and Spanish t.me/RoscongressEsp. Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
The Right to Self-Defence and Protection of the Home: Theory and Law Enforcement
30 June 2022
14:30—16:00
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Every citizen has a right to self-defence, but there should be boundaries

Every person has the right to defend their rights by all means that are not prohibited by law. The right to self-defence is an unalienable right of people. However, the necessary defence must have boundaries. Rights of other persons cannot be violated — Aleksandr Kozlov, Advisor to the Commissioner for Human Rights in the Russian Federation.

Over the past 10 years, we studied the law enforcement practice. This work was meant to increase guarantees for the people. I believe that there the law is fairly definitive. People have the right to defend their homes from both violent and non-violent intrusion. If it entails a threat to the person’s life, any damage to the intruder’s health can be caused. If it was unexpected, the self-defence law is also applicable. There is criminal penalty for causing death or serious injury intentionally during self-defence — Oleg Zatelepin, Judge of the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation.

On the one hand, the notion of necessary self-defence implies limits, but life is not that simple. Full decriminalization is not really justified, although some conceptual things must remain. Expanding law enforcement is somewhat justified. But expanding it does not provide for exclusion. If the perpetrator is violent or threatens, the person attacked of threatened can apply self-defence — Irina Pankina, Deputy, First Deputy Chairman of the Committee on State Building and Legislation, State Duma of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation.

I believe that any person must have the right to self-defence. If I legally own a traumatic gun, I must have the right to use it on the person who is attacking me with a knife. We need to convey it to people — Michael Mawashi, Musician, Public Figure, Blogger.

ISSUES
Ambiguous interpretations and practices

Ambiguousness of practices results in people fearing criminal prosecution. It reduces the effect of this law — Aleksandr Kozlov, Advisor to the Commissioner for Human Rights in the Russian Federation.

The special feature of the necessary self-defence as an institute is that it is shaped by judicial practice. Human rights activists frequently call for increasing the guarantees for those defending their homes. They need to have the right to cause any injury to the intruder. Our legislation has not authorized it yet — Oleg Zatelepin, Judge of the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation.

Judicial practice is of definitive importance. It is formed by investigating actual cases — Vasiliy Pustovalov, Deputy Head of the Main Directorate for Supervision of the Investigation, Inquiry and Operational Investigative Activities, Prosecutor General's Office of the Russian Federation.

The right to violence vs. presumption of innocence

The legislator emphasizes that it is murder [when the attacker is killed at the hands of the defender, – Ed.] and not manslaughter. It means that the legislator treats it with caution and responsibility. What is self-defence? The state delegates the citizen one of the features that distinguish it from any other control system. It is violence. Giving a citizen the right to use violence is a serious step for the state as is — Vasiliy Pustovalov, Deputy Head of the Main Directorate for Supervision of the Investigation, Inquiry and Operational Investigative Activities, Prosecutor General's Office of the Russian Federation.

As for homes, the phrase ‘my home is my castle’ is notable, as it creates the presumption of defence for the defender. This is the narrative I see in articles of various types. In fact, a large share of all criminal cases on exceeding the limits of necessary self-defence is a conflict that can be traced to earlier times. We pay attention to homes only because there is a public demand for it. As for investigative practices, it makes no difference of where you use self-defence and with which purpose. What matters is that you use any legal means. The institute of self-defence itself is a proof of the profound and professional approaches our legal system uses — Vasiliy Pustovalov, Deputy Head of the Main Directorate for Supervision of the Investigation, Inquiry and Operational Investigative Activities, Prosecutor General's Office of the Russian Federation.

SOLUTIONS
An open discussion and a search for consensus between the government and the society

The legislator has been going back to this matter over and over again. We support specifying the limits of necessary self-defence, when defending one’s home. It is a complicated matter — Oleg Zatelepin, Judge of the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation.

Criminal law is the most conservative one in its nature compared to other codes. The wordings we have now are pretty clear. The next step is obviously the law enforcement and the verdicts of the judges based on the plenum explanation — Vadim Fedorov, Deputy Minister of Justice of the Russian Federation.

There are no discussions without an actual problem. Legislators are open to such discussions. The institute of necessary self-defence has been successfully operating for 20 years. We are speaking of doctrines that take time to get elaborated — Irina Pankina, Deputy, First Deputy Chairman of the Committee on State Building and Legislation, State Duma of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation.

Expanding the limits of self-defence for preventing crime

We believe that we need to defend our lawful citizens and give them the right to self-defence. The right to self-defence has a huge preventive potential, as criminals do not usually expect a response. Knowing that the correct legal norm can make the right to self-defence easier, we believe that the chapter of Criminal Code must be completed. Causing damage to the perpetrator is not a crime, even if was done with the use of weapons — Michael Gushchin, President, Federation of Practical Shooting of Russia.

The problem of protecting life and property is brought up at different platforms now. It is probably unlikely that the defender can objectively understand the nature of the threat, because the person is under stress, and this could be subsumed under a state of diminished sanity. But can modern law respond adequately to the legitimacy of defence and attacker assessment? Yes, it can, but perhaps a compromise between society and the state should be sought — Aleksei Petryanin, Director of the Nizhny Novgorod Branch, St. Petersburg Academy of the Investigative Committee of the Russian Federation.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, создан в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом.

Фонд взаимодействует со структурами ООН и другими международными организациями. Развивает многоформатное сотрудничество со 173 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 78 странах мира, со 188 российскими общественными организациями, федеральными органами исполнительной и законодательной власти, субъектами Российской Федерации.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Право на самооборону и защиту жилища: теория и правоприменение
30 июня 2022
14:30—16:00
Ключевые выводы
У каждого гражданина есть право на самооборону, но необходимы границы

Каждый вправе защищать свои права всеми способами, не запрещенными законом. Право на самооборону является неотъемлемым правом граждан, однако необходимая оборона не может не иметь пределов, при этом не должны нарушаться права и свободы иных лиц — Козлов Александр, Советник Уполномоченного по правам человека в Российской Федерации.

За последние 10 лет мы изучали практику три раза. Эта работа велась для повышения гарантий граждан. Мне кажется, определенная завершенность в вопросе имеется, основной акцент в том, что право на жилище в рамках нашего законодательства может охраняться не только от насильственных, но и от ненасильственных форм посягательств. Если это сопряжено с опасностью для жизни, любой вред здоровью можно причинить. Если элемент неожиданности есть, тоже распространяется институт права обороны. Уголовно наказуемым является только превышение пределов обороны, повлекшее смерть умышленно или причинение тяжкого вреда здоровью — Зателепин Олег, Судья, Верховный Суд Российской Федерации.

С одной стороны, понятие необходимой обороны подразумевает пределы, но в жизни не все так просто. Декриминализация полная, она, конечно, не совсем оправдана, однако, концептуальные вещи должны оставаться, и расширение [правоприменительной практики. — Ред.] где-то обосновано. Но расширение не подразумевает исключения. Если злоумышленник применяет насилие или высказывает угрозы, обороняющееся лицо может применять самооборону — Панькина Ирина, Депутат, первый заместитель председателя комитета Государственной Думы Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации по государственному строительству и законодательству.

Закон есть, много пунктов учтено, но на практике все иначе: люди боятся защищать себя, свой дом. Часто защищающийся становится подсудимым — Маваши Михаил, Музыкант, общественный деятель, блогер.

Проблемы
Неоднозначные трактовки и практики

Неоднозначность практики порождает опасение граждан быть привлеченными к уголовной ответственности, это снижает эффект данного права — Козлов Александр, Советник Уполномоченного по правам человека в Российской Федерации.

Особенность этого института необходимой обороны заключается в том, что судебная практика формирует данный институт. Очень часто правозащитники обращаются, чтобы мы повысили уровень гарантий для тех, кто защищает свое жилище, чтобы было правомерно причинять любой вред [нападающему. — Ред.]. Пока законодатель такого права не установил — Зателепин Олег, Судья, Верховный Суд Российской Федерации.

Судебная практика имеет решающее значение, она формируется путем живого расследования дел — Пустовалов Василий, Заместитель начальника главного управления по надзору за следствием, дознанием и оперативно-розыскной деятельностью, Генеральная прокуратура Российской Федерации.

Право на насилие против презумпции невиновности

Законодатель даже в названии подчеркивает, что это убийство [при гибели нападавшего от рук обороняющегося. — Ред.], а не причинение смерти по неосторожности, то есть законодатель относится к этому весьма настороженно и предельно ответственно. Что такое самооборона? Государство фактически делегирует гражданину одно из своих неотъемлемых отличий от любой другой системы управления, а именно насилие. И, устанавливая возможность применять насилие самому [гражданину. — Ред.], государство уже идет на серьезный шаг — Пустовалов Василий, Заместитель начальника главного управления по надзору за следствием, дознанием и оперативно-розыскной деятельностью, Генеральная прокуратура Российской Федерации.

Что касается жилища, формулировка "мой дом — моя крепость" обращает на себя внимание, говоря таким образом: мы создаем презумпцию защиты обороняющегося. Такой вектор я наблюдаю в разных научных статьях, публицистике. На самом деле, значительная доля уголовных дел о превышении пределов необходимой обороны — это обоюдный конфликт, который начался не в момент конфликта. Внимание на жилище мы обращаем только исходя из общественного запроса. Но в плане следственной практики разницы никакой, где и с какой целью ты обороняешься, главное, чтобы использовал любые законные методы. Сам институт самообороны — это уже свидетельство о глубине и профессиональном подходе в нашей правовой системе в целом — Пустовалов Василий, Заместитель начальника главного управления по надзору за следствием, дознанием и оперативно-розыскной деятельностью, Генеральная прокуратура Российской Федерации.

Решения
Открытая дискуссия, поиск консенсуса между государством и обществом

Законодатель неоднократно к этому вопросу обращался и обращается. Мы поддерживаем идею законодательного уточнения пределов обороны при защите жилища. Вопрос этот очень сложный — Зателепин Олег, Судья, Верховный Суд Российской Федерации.

Уголовное право по свое природе наиболее консервативно, по сравнению с другими направлениями. Те формулировки, которые сейчас есть, — все довольно понятно структурированно, соответственно, следующей ступенью является правоприменение и решение судей, которое основывается на разъяснении пленума — Федоров Вадим, Заместитель Министра юстиции Российской Федерации.

Не бывает дискуссий без живой проблемы, и законодатели к этой дискуссии открыты. Институт необходимой обороны с успехом работает уже более 20 лет. Мы говорим о доктринальных вещах, которые требуют большой проработки — Панькина Ирина, Депутат, первый заместитель председателя комитета Государственной Думы Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации по государственному строительству и законодательству.

Расширение границ самообороны как профилактика преступлений

Мы считаем, что надо защитить своих законопослушных граждан, дать им право на самооборону. Право на оборону несет в себе огромный профилактический потенциал, так как преступники обычно не ожидают отпора. Учитывая, что верно ориентированная норма может облегчить право на самооборону, считаем необходимым дополнить статью Уголовного кодекса — не является преступлением причинение вреда посягающему лицу, в том числе с использованием оружия — Гущин Михаил, Президент, Федерация практической стрельбы России.

Проблема охраны жизни и собственности сегодня поднимается на разных площадках. Наверное, объективно понимать характер угрозы обороняющееся лицо вряд ли может, потому что лицо впадает в стресс, и это можно подвести под состояние ограниченной вменяемости. Но может ли современное право адекватно реагировать на правомерность оценки оборон и нападающего? Да, может, но, наверное, нужно искать компромисс общества и государства — Петрянин Алексей, Директор Нижегородского филиала, ФГКОУ ВО «Санкт-Петербургская академия Следственного комитета Российской Федерации».

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС