A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5,000 people working in Russia and abroad.

The Foundation works alongside various UN departments and other international organizations, and is building multi-format cooperation with 173 economic partners, including industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions, financial, trade, and business associations from 78 countries worldwide, and 188 Russian public organizations, federal and legislative agencies, and federal subjects.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian t.me/Roscongress, English – t.me/RoscongressDirect, and Spanish t.me/RoscongressEsp. Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Force Majeure and the Inability to Fulfil Obligations in the Context of Sanctions
29 June 2022
16:45—18:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Force majeure circumstances such as those arising from sanctions may prevent the fulfilment of financial obligations

Of course, force majeure can prevent a monetary obligation from being discharged. As a matter of fact, we are seeing that sort of thing right now — Vsevolod Baibak, Associate Professor of the Department of Civil Law and Procedure, National Research University Higher School of Economics (St. Petersburg).

There have definitely been cases of force majeure. The very same temporary force majeure, [...] and it is impossible to fulfil these monetary obligations. Prohibitive measures of some kind. There have been such cases. We have issued certificates of force majeure in cases where there is a causal link between the prohibitive measure and the impossibility of fulfilment — Vadim Chubarov, Vice President, Chamber of Commerce and Industry of the Russian Federation.

There are situations when monetary obligations cannot be fulfilled. And this objective reality stems from the nature, in fact, of money. Let me remind you that most of our payments are made in non-cash form, meaning that money has no physical nature. It’s a kind of virtual reality created by banking infrastructure. If the banking relationship were to collapse, you wouldn’t physically be able to make a payment. And with sanctions, it has just become that objective — Yury Shalnev, Head of Sanction Consulting and Corporate Finance Practice, Gazprom Neft.

ISSUES
The absence of a clear position on recognizing force majeure in the context of sanctions

We did propose leaving the question, [...] whether the situation is due to unfriendly actions on the part of foreign states, which is a whole other topic, whether we’re talking about decisions made by the governments of these states, or in general about some kind of backdrop to cancel culture, which we were talking about, so - is it force majeure for domestic relations, [...] because actually in practice that is all that matters. For in relations with partners from those same unfriendly countries, as a matter of principle they are indifferent to what our legislator thinks. And, conversely, we have now quickly become indifferent to what their legislator thinks. The only question is whether the assets are there or here. So in domestic Russian relations it was important for us to avoid the domino effect with everyone starting to formally invoke this topic and refusing to fulfil their obligations — Alexey Khersontsev, State Secretary – Deputy Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation.

The first problem is right in front of us. Namely, the extent to which we can witness sanctions activity along the entire contract chain. And we already have a backlog of about five thousand written declarations from companies. It’s you, colleagues, who have to figure out whether you can testify to this or not. And approximately 18,000 consultations and verbal explanations on how we should proceed in this case. So far, frankly, and we reiterated this at our recent Chamber Leadership Council, we have suspended issuing any rulings on these facts because they are not sufficiently clear to us — Vadim Chubarov, Vice President, Chamber of Commerce and Industry of the Russian Federation.

To say that failure to notify would prohibit invoking force majeure in the future is fundamentally wrong. Maybe it’s just obvious to everyone and to the creditor as well, that notification [is needed] to someone who understands everything perfectly well. This needs to be stressed because it is such unnecessary red tape. It’s in the vast majority of agreements. Whoever wrote these pro-formas, and whoever still uses them, well, get rid of them — Mikhail Tserkovnikov, Head of Energy Group, Pepeliaev Group; Head of the Department of Law of Obligations, Private Law Research Centre under the President of the Russian Federation named after S.S. Alexeev.

SOLUTIONS
An individual approach to dealing with each potential case of force majeure

I was examining court practice in the application of clause 3 [of Article – Ed.] 401 [of the Civil Code of the Russian Federation – Ed.], how they decide whether sanctions measures should be considered circumstances of force majeure. So the practice that I have seen is exactly 50/50. The courts have ruled in half of the cases that it has to be qualified as force majeure, and in the other half they have not. And that is probably the right approach for now — Denis Novak, Financial Ombudsman for Consumer Rights in Insurance, Microfinance, Credit Cooperation and Activities of Credit Institutions.

With regard to the current situation, we cannot say whether these or those measures adopted by a foreign state will lead to 416 [Article of the Civil Code of the Russian Federation – Ed.] or not. There will be a specific dispute each time, assessing the behaviour of the parties to find out, really, how impossible it is — Mikhail Tserkovnikov, Head of Energy Group, Pepeliaev Group; Head of the Department of Law of Obligations, Private Law Research Centre under the President of the Russian Federation named after S.S. Alexeev.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, создан в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом.

Фонд взаимодействует со структурами ООН и другими международными организациями. Развивает многоформатное сотрудничество со 173 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 78 странах мира, со 179 российскими общественными организациями, федеральными органами исполнительной и законодательной власти, субъектами Российской Федерации.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Непреодолимая сила и невозможность исполнения в условиях санкций
29 июня 2022
16:45—18:15
Ключевые выводы
Обстоятельства непреодолимой силы, в том числе возникшие из-за санкций, могут препятствовать исполнению финансовых обязательств

Конечно, непреодолимая сила может препятствовать исполнению денежного обязательства. И, собственно говоря, мы сейчас наблюдаем подобные вещи — Байбак Всеволод, Доцент кафедры гражданского права и процесса, Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики» (г. Санкт-Петербург).

Бывают случаи, когда действительно непреодолимая сила присутствует. Та самая временная непреодолимая сила, <…> и невозможно исполнить эти денежные обязательства. Запретительные какие-то либо меры. У нас были такие случаи. Мы выдавали те самые сертификаты о форс-мажоре, когда присутствует причинная связь между запретительной мерой и невозможностью исполнения — Чубаров Вадим, Вице-президент, Торгово-промышленная палата Российской Федерации.

Бывают ситуации, когда денежные обязательства невозможно исполнить. И эта объективная реальность вытекает из природы, собственно говоря, денег. Я напомню, что у нас большинство платежей осуществляется в безналичном порядке, то есть деньги не имеют физической природы. Это некая виртуальная реальность, создаваемая банковской инфраструктурой. Если отношения в банковской сфере рушатся, вы физически не можете провести платеж. И в условиях санкций это стало вот прямо настолько объективно — Шальнев Юрий, Руководитель практики санкционного консалтинга и корпоративного финансирования, ПАО «Газпром нефть».

Проблемы
Отсутствие однозначной позиции по признанию форс-мажоров в условиях введения санкций

Мы все-таки предложили оставлять вопрос, <…> является ли ситуация, сложившаяся в силу недружественных действий иностранных государств, там есть отдельная тема, говорим ли мы о решениях правительств этих государств или в целом о некотором фоне той самой cancel culture [культура отмены. — Ред.], о которой говорилось, так вот — является ли это форс-мажором для внутригосударственных отношений, <…> потому что по факту на практике только это имеет значение. Ибо в отношениях с партнерами из тех самых недружественных стран на практике им в принципе без разницы, что считает наш законодатель. И, наоборот, нам без разницы теперь стало так резко, что считает их законодатель. Здесь лишь вопрос, где находятся активы — там или здесь. Так вот во внутрироссийских отношениях нам было важно не запустить такой эффект домино, когда все бы начали, формально ссылаясь на эту тему, отказываться от исполнения обязательств — Херсонцев Алексей, Статс-секретарь – заместитель Министра экономического развития Российской Федерации.

Первая проблема, которая сейчас стоит перед нами. А именно, насколько мы можем свидетельствовать действия санкций по всей цепочке контрактов. А у нас сейчас уже накопилось порядка пяти тысяч письменных заявлений от компаний. Вы все-таки, коллеги, разберитесь, вы можете это свидетельствовать или нет. И порядка 18 тысяч консультаций и устных разъяснений того, как мы должны в этом случае поступать. Мы пока, честно говорю, и мы еще раз это подтвердили на своем недавнем совете руководителей палат, мы приостановили выдачу каких-либо заключений по этим фактам, потому что они нам недостаточно ясны — Чубаров Вадим, Вице-президент, Торгово-промышленная палата Российской Федерации.

Говорить, что неуведомление — это запрет в дальнейшем ссылаться на форс-мажор — в корне неверно. Может быть, очевидно просто всем и кредитору тоже, что уведомлять [нужно. — Ред.] того, кто прекрасно все понимает. Вот на этом надо заострить внимание, потому что это такое крючкотворство. Это есть в подавляющем большинстве договоров. Кто эти проформы написал и кто ими до сих пор пользуется, ну вычеркните вы их оттуда — Церковников Михаил, Руководитель группы энергетики, Юридическая компания «Пепеляев Групп»; заведующий кафедрой обязательственного права, ФГБНУ «Исследовательский центр частного права имени С.С. Алексеева при Президенте Российской Федерации».

Решения
Индивидуальный подход при рассмотрении каждого случая потенциального форс-мажора

Я смотрел практику применения пункта 3 [статьи. — Ред.] 401 [Гражданского кодекса Российской Федерации. — Ред.] судами, как они относятся к тому, чтобы санкционные меры считать или не считать обстоятельствами непреодолимой силы. Так вот практика, которая мной была изучена, она ровно 50 на 50. Суды в половине случаев признали, что нужно это квалифицировать как обстоятельства непреодолимой силы, в другой половине случаев — нет. И, наверное, на сегодня это верный подход — Новак Денис, Финансовый уполномоченный по правам потребителей финансовых услуг в сферах страхования, микрофинансирования, кредитной кооперации и деятельности кредитных организаций.

Применительно к нынешней ситуации мы не можем сказать, как те или иные меры, принятые иностранным государством, приведут они к 416-й [статье Гражданского кодекса Российской Федерации. — Ред.] или нет. Это каждый раз будет конкретный спор, оценка поведения этих сторон и выяснение, действительно, насколько это невозможно — Церковников Михаил, Руководитель группы энергетики, Юридическая компания «Пепеляев Групп»; заведующий кафедрой обязательственного права, ФГБНУ «Исследовательский центр частного права имени С.С. Алексеева при Президенте Российской Федерации».

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС