A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5,000 people working in Russia and abroad.

The Foundation works alongside various UN departments and other international organizations, and is building multi-format cooperation with 173 economic partners, including industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions, financial, trade, and business associations from 78 countries worldwide, and 179 Russian public organizations, federal and legislative agencies, and federal subjects.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian t.me/Roscongress, English – t.me/RoscongressDirect, and Spanish t.me/RoscongressEsp. Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
The Russian Financial Market: What Lies Beyond the Horizon of Sanctions? (dialogue between the regulator and regulated)
29 June 2022
12:15—13:45
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Sanctions keep upping the pressure, it is too early for forecasts

We have not passed the stage of sanctions raising the pressure. I would love to discuss how we will be building our new reality, but things are still too blurry and too much uncertainty lies ahead. This is why we find ourselves in the middle of the global financial market change <…> I believe we can start this discussion only when we hit rock bottom of sorts and it is clear that escalation is over — Sergey Shvetsov, Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Moscow Exchange.

When the crisis hit, the first step we made was ensuring financial stability. <…> Then we have reached the second stage – it is crucial – this is where we find ourselves now. We are trying to untangle a bunch of problems we are facing. Stage three will be the development stage. I fully agree with Sergey [Shvetsov, – Ed.]. It will start when we reach a plateau. We are at a point where things are just too volatile — Vladimir Chistyukhin, First Deputy Governor, The Central Bank of the Russian Federation (Bank of Russia).

Financial sector developing is happening in unchartered waters

Many people in the audience remember the 90s and the crisis of 1998, when payments around the country changed, inflation skyrocketed, and the rouble sank. Probably, something of the kind was expected in this situation, but the changes took a totally new path — Alexey Guznov, Secretary of State – Deputy Chairman, The Central Bank of the Russian Federation (Bank of Russia).

When the first steps were taken in early February, we had many illusions that we could just go back to square one. What has changed? The fact that there are basically no illusions at this point. It helps us make conscious and well-balanced further steps — Sergey Shvetsov, Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Moscow Exchange.

The need to rely on the country’s internal financial sources

Being a country with a negative equity account – it means we are the donors – Russia almost always has a positive current account and a trade balance. We are exporters. And we have capital outflows on this balance. With the Western markets closed, this capital has nowhere to flow out. So, what was flowing out, is not flowing anymore. That may be enough. And if we create normal institutions to protect private property, competition, and business from administrative and sometimes illegal pressure, then internal capital will be quite sufficient — Sergey Shvetsov, Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Moscow Exchange.

Since we got nothing else to do but rely on our own internal resources, we need consultants and professional governors to have the full information on investment potential. Here I fully agree with Sergey [Shvetsov, – Ed.] — Vladimir Chistyukhin, First Deputy Governor, The Central Bank of the Russian Federation (Bank of Russia).

Resolving international financial problems is purely legal, ligation-related

As for foreign securities, today I do not see anything else but going to court. Probably, a class action lawsuit should be filed. Imposing sanctions on the National Settlement Depository [NSD, – Ed.], the EU has basically blocked other people’s assets. The NSD is neither a nominal owner nor a nominee. It is an accounting institution that works in the interest of third parties — Sergey Shvetsov, Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Moscow Exchange.

This situation will surely create a lot of work for lawyers. The risks Sergey [Shvetsov, – Ed.] mentioned are just the first ones that surfaced. It can be a whole tree with multiple big and small branches. Our profession will take the stage here — Alexey Guznov, Secretary of State – Deputy Chairman, The Central Bank of the Russian Federation (Bank of Russia).

We do not have any information on the decision-making process for the sanctions against the NSD. However, I am confident that partially the motivation behind this decision was solely to remove the risk of a lawsuit from foreign investors, rather than from Russian investors, regarding not being able to receive any payments for a long period of time because strict compliance procedures have been frozen — Vladimir Chistyukhin, First Deputy Governor, The Central Bank of the Russian Federation (Bank of Russia).

ISSUES
Funds and assets of economic actors abroad have been blocked

More and more companies, economic actors, citizens and households cannot access part of their assets – they have been blocked. Basically, it is a hole in a corporate or private balance. Those funds cannot be used today — Vladimir Chistyukhin, First Deputy Governor, The Central Bank of the Russian Federation (Bank of Russia).

We have not been very successful in getting Russian investors their funds through the financial market instruments that use the foreign infrastructure that has been frozen or stopped performing its function — Sergey Shvetsov, Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Moscow Exchange.

rights of Russian investors – not foreign – have been curtailed

When sanctions were imposed, it became very convenient to cut off foreign infrastructure elements, which led to major violations of rights of those Russian investors who invested in these instruments, as well as those Russian creditors, who used this infrastructure to get money for economic projects — Vladimir Chistyukhin, First Deputy Governor, The Central Bank of the Russian Federation (Bank of Russia).

We need to find a balance between the interest of Russian issuers and Russian investors. If we manage to factor in the interests of foreign investors for the sake of future trust, it would be great. I do not know of a single sanction that would hurt foreign investors imposed by the Russian Federation — Sergey Shvetsov, Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Moscow Exchange.

SOLUTIONS
Solution to the problem of unqualified investors is needed

It is obvious that investors – especially the unqualified ones – need to have an opportunity to pull out of these obligations. <…> It is potentially a significant part not of their safety net, but some residual investment resources — Vladimir Chistyukhin, First Deputy Governor, The Central Bank of the Russian Federation (Bank of Russia).

I am sorry, but we do not have to make the same mistake twice. We allowed a foreign instrument to the Russian market and gave unqualified investors the opportunities to buy it through stock market. It happened in 2016. We viewed the custodial risk as zero. <…> I am absolutely convinced that at least unqualified investors should not purchase things with a large element of custodial risk — Sergey Shvetsov, Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Moscow Exchange.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, создан в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом.

Фонд взаимодействует со структурами ООН и другими международными организациями. Развивает многоформатное сотрудничество со 173 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 78 странах мира, со 179 российскими общественными организациями, федеральными органами исполнительной и законодательной власти, субъектами Российской Федерации.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Финансовый рынок России: что за горизонтом санкций? (диалог между регулятором и регулируемым)
29 июня 2022
12:15—13:45
Ключевые выводы
Рост санкционного давления продолжается, поэтому делать прогнозы преждевременно

Мы не закончили этап нарастания санкций. Хотелось бы порассуждать, как мы будем дальше строить новую реальность, но тумана слишком много, и неопределенности дальнейшей слишком много. Поэтому мы находимся внутри этого процесса изменения мирового устройства финансового рынка. <…> Когда мы более-менее выйдем на какое-то дно с точки зрения давления санкций, будет понятно, что эскалация завершена, я думаю, что основная дискуссия по развитию начнется именно тогда — Швецов Сергей, Председатель наблюдательного совета, ПАО Московская Биржа.

Когда кризис начинался, первый шаг, который мы сделали, — мы обеспечили финансовую стабильность. <…> Потом наступила вторая стадия — и это очень важно — мы в этой стадии сейчас находимся. Мы стараемся размотать клубки тех проблем, которые образовались. Третья стадия — это будет стадия развития, я с Сергеем [Швецовым. — Ред.] полностью согласен. Она начнется тогда, когда будет понятно вот это плато. В точке, в который мы находимся сегодня, твердой почвы нет — Чистюхин Владимир, Первый заместитель председателя, Центральный банк Российской Федерации (Банк России).

Развитие финансового сектора идет по незнакомому сценарию

Многие из присутствующих здесь помнят 1990-е годы, кризис 1998 года, когда по всей стране стали [меняться. — Ред.] платежи, резкий рост инфляции, обвал рубля. Наверное, что-то подобное ожидалось и сегодня, но все пошло не по тем устаревшим калькам — Гузнов Алексей, Статс-секретарь – заместитель председателя, Центральный банк Российской Федерации (Банк России).

Когда в конце февраля мы начали предпринимать первые действия, было много иллюзий, что можно вернуться в стартовую точку. Что изменилось? То, что эти иллюзии в значительной степени утрачены. Это помогает принимать трезвые и осознанные решения по тому, как двигаться дальше — Швецов Сергей, Председатель наблюдательного совета, ПАО Московская Биржа.

Необходимо рассчитывать на внутренние финансовые источники страны

Будучи страной с перманентным негативным счетом капитала — то есть мы доноры — Россия всегда практически имеет положительный текущий счет, торговый баланс, мы экспортеры. И имеем отток капитала на это сальдо, получается баланс. При закрытости западных рынков, этому капиталу особо утекать не надо. И некуда. Поэтому то, что утекало, оно перестало утекать, возможно, этого вполне достаточно. И если мы создадим нормальные институты защиты частной собственности, конкуренции, защиты бизнеса от административного, иногда нелегального воздействия, то внутреннего капитала вполне будет достаточно — Швецов Сергей, Председатель наблюдательного совета, ПАО Московская Биржа.

С учетом того, что нам больше некуда деваться от того, чтобы рассчитывать на свой внутренний ресурс, конечно, нужно, чтобы и консультанты, и профессиональные управляющие обладали всей полнотой информации относительно того, куда инвестировать. И я здесь полностью разделяю позицию Сергея [Швецова. — Ред.] — Чистюхин Владимир, Первый заместитель председателя, Центральный банк Российской Федерации (Банк России).

Решение международных финансовых проблем лежит в судебной, юридической плоскости

По иностранным ценным бумагам сегодня я не вижу ничего другого, кроме судебной перспективы. Наверное, коллективный иск должен быть подан. Евросоюз, налагая санкции на Национальный расчетный депозитарий [НРД. — Ред.], в общем-то заблокировал чужие активы. НРД не является ни номинальным собственником, ни номинальным владельцем. Он является учетным институтом, который учитывает интересы третьих лиц — Швецов Сергей, Председатель наблюдательного совета, ПАО Московская Биржа.

То, что эта ситуация даст возможность работать адвокатам — это точно. И те риски, о которых сказал Сергей [Швецов. — Ред.], это одна из первых ласточек в этом процессе. Это может быть большая-большая река со множеством разных ответвлений, канальчиков, рукавов и так далее. Наша профессия в этом смысле даст о себе знать — Гузнов Алексей, Статс-секретарь – заместитель председателя, Центральный банк Российской Федерации (Банк России).

Мы не знаем, у нас нет доступа к той информации, как принималось решение о введении санкций в отношении НРД, но мое убеждение, что часть мотивации этого решения лежала исключительно в плоскости того, чтобы снять навес риска подачи заявления в суд не от российских, а от иностранных инвесторов относительного того, что из-за заморозки жестких комплаенс-процедур длительный период времени не могут получить какие-то выплаты — Чистюхин Владимир, Первый заместитель председателя, Центральный банк Российской Федерации (Банк России).

Проблемы
Субъекты экономики столкнулись с блокировкой средств и активов за рубежом

Сегодня большое количество компаний, экономических субъектов, а также граждане, домохозяйства лишены части активов, они заблокированы. По факту это просто дырка в корпоративном или личном балансе, и этими средствами сегодня нельзя воспользоваться — Чистюхин Владимир, Первый заместитель председателя, Центральный банк Российской Федерации (Банк России).

Мы пока не добились большого результата в получении российскими инвесторами тех средств через те инструменты финансового рынка, которые задействуют иностранную инфраструктуру, которая, скажем так, отморозилась и перестала выполнять свою функцию — Швецов Сергей, Председатель наблюдательного совета, ПАО Московская Биржа.

Ущемление прав российских, но не иностранных инвесторов

Когда началось санкционное давление, очень удобно стало отсекать зарубежные инфраструктурные элементы, что привело к существенному ущемлению прав как российских инвесторов, которые тоже вкладывались в эти инструменты, так и российских кредиторов, которые привлекали посредством этой инфраструктуры средства для каких-то своих экономических проектов — Чистюхин Владимир, Первый заместитель председателя, Центральный банк Российской Федерации (Банк России).

Мы должны найти баланс между интересами российских эмитентов и российских инвесторов. Если нам удастся в целях сохранения доверия на будущее учесть интересы иностранных инвесторов, это отлично. Я не знаю сегодня ни одного санкционного акта со стороны Российской Федерации, который бы ущемлял иностранных инвесторов — Швецов Сергей, Председатель наблюдательного совета, ПАО Московская Биржа.

Решения
Нужно содействие в решении проблем неквалифицированных инвесторов

Очевидно, что надо дать возможность инвесторам, как минимум, как было сказано, неквалифицированным точно, из них [обязательств. — Ред.] выйти. <…> Для которых это, возможно, не какие-то остаточные инвестиционные ресурсы, а, возможно, значимая часть их "подушки безопасности" — Чистюхин Владимир, Первый заместитель председателя, Центральный банк Российской Федерации (Банк России).

Не надо наступать, извините, на те же грабли. Если мы допустили иностранный инструмент на российский рынок и дали возможность через биржи неквалифицированным инвесторам их приобретать, это было в 2016 году, мы рассматривали кастодиальный [депозитарный. — Ред.] риск как нулевой. <…> Мое глубокое мнение, упреждая будущие проблемы, по крайней мере неквалифицированным инвесторам не стоило бы приобретать с большим элементом кастодиальный риск — Швецов Сергей, Председатель наблюдательного совета, ПАО Московская Биржа.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС