A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5,000 people working in Russia and abroad.

The Foundation works alongside various UN departments and other international organizations, and is building multi-format cooperation with 173 economic partners, including industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions, financial, trade, and business associations from 78 countries worldwide, and 188 Russian public organizations, federal and legislative agencies, and federal subjects.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian t.me/Roscongress, English – t.me/RoscongressDirect, and Spanish t.me/RoscongressEsp. Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Water Is the Source of Life on Earth: Is It an Exhaustible Resource?
16 June 2022
17:00—18:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
The planet’s population is growing, but the volume of water is not, which could lead to adverse consequences

We are truly going through global climate change – droughts, floods, typhoons, rainstorms. They reflect the dynamics of the planet’s water balance as a whole. And, of course, the growing man-made impact. Given that access to water resources is one of the key factors for socioeconomic development, we are seeing that many countries are already experiencing a shortage of drinking water. The condition of [water] sources is deteriorating as the population grows. And the water utilization system needs to be modernized through the introduction of new regulatory approaches, technological modernization, and digitalization, including the use of new financial solutions — Ilya Razbash, Director, Information and Analysis Center for the Development of the Water Management Complex.

Humans, of course, need to monitor what they are doing with the Earth’s water resources. This is one of the main tasks for us. This must be taught from a very young age [...] Our generation was taught this, yet we still began to turn a blind eye to water because there is a lot of it. Because we see that we have enough water in Russia, although there are more and more water-deficient regions every year [...] Overall, we are not getting more water on Earth. The circulation from the school curriculum tells us about this. The number of people on Earth is increasing, and this is the main threat to the ecological intricacies on planet Earth — Dmitry Kobylkin, Chairman of the State Duma Committee on Ecology, Natural Resources and Environmental Protection.

It’s hard to imagine our modern society without water, both in terms of everyday human needs and in terms of economic activity [...] This is a crucial issue, but we must understand that fresh water and drinking water make up only about one percent of the total reserves around the world. And this is an extremely fragile resource that requires the proper treatment – conservation and protection, including in terms of quality — Dmitriy Kirillov, Head, Federal Water Resources Agency.

It's not only the quantity, but the quality of water that is front and centre

Imagine a 4.5-kilometre long rope. Let’s say that this is 4.5 billion years [the age of the planet – Ed.]. And only a small piece of this rope is the time in which we managed to pollute our water. Do you know what the length is? Just one hundredth of a millimetre. That’s 10 microns. And over these 10 microns out of 4.5 kilometres, we managed to spoil all our water on the planet — Yuriy Balega, Vice-President, Russian Academy of Sciences.

As for water conservation, it is entirely clear that the main issue now is the quality of our reservoirs and our rivers around the world. The quality component is what makes this water suitable for further use, for drinking, and so on. For maintaining biodiversity — Dmitriy Kirillov, Head, Federal Water Resources Agency.

Today, we are seeing that this is not an abstract issue. For many countries it is a key one: it involves international cooperation in the sustainable use and conservation of water resources — Dmitriy Kirillov, Head, Federal Water Resources Agency.

ISSUES
Creating favourable conditions with water resources in one place can threaten neighbouring areas

Microplastics exist in water. This is a problem. It is obvious. We know that plastic islands are already forming in the ocean. Certain changes are taking place in the oceans that we have yet to talk about and prove to our science [...] We are seeing ice melt in the Arctic. This is a truly serious significant factor that we cannot ignore. The ice is getting thinner. Perhaps this is some sort of temporary factor. Maybe this is how planet Earth is evolving [...] water can live without humanity, but people cannot live without water. So we need everyone at their own level to take maximum care of water in order to preserve it for future generations — Dmitry Kobylkin, Chairman of the State Duma Committee on Ecology, Natural Resources and Environmental Protection.

It is crucial that we understand that in our country, one of the richest countries in the world in terms of water resources [...], pollution is on the rise. Of course, this is above all industry, it’s agriculture. But it also includes household items and a lack of treatment facilities. Even in the village where I worked, the treatment facilities were built back in the late 1960s. It’s all fallen apart. There is nothing there. And you won’t get a penny anywhere to fix them. All the drains go directly to the rivers. So the topic of clean water and fresh water for the planet should start from something small – with cleanliness in our homes and saving water in the household — Yuriy Balega, Vice-President, Russian Academy of Sciences.

I would like to say something about Arkhyz [resort]. It’s just a small illustration of our greater life. On the one hand, we have created a modern resort there, and the resort has indeed been provided with infrastructure, including treatment facilities. But we haven’t done anything and aren’t doing anything about the village that has historically developed there. And we are truly seeing what we are observing in terms of the pollution of our rivers — Dmitriy Kirillov, Head, Federal Water Resources Agency.

The global environmental problem today is more about water than about gases

Scientists love horror stories, but the main problem facing the planet’s climate, the main greenhouse gas, is not methane, although the greenhouse effect from it is strong, of course, or CO2 – carbon dioxide. The main thing is water vapour. Ordinary water vapour accounts for 80% of the contribution to the warming of the atmosphere. That’s why we have such a closed cycle: there is more water vapour in the atmosphere, and the atmosphere is becoming warmer. It’s getting warmer – it can absorb more water. This is why the climate is changing. The wetter the atmosphere, the more catastrophic processes and hurricanes we have. The contrasts are growing strongly [...] So, oddly enough, there is already more and more fresh water in a free state because the glaciers of Greenland, Antarctica, and the Arctic are melting — Yuriy Balega, Vice-President, Russian Academy of Sciences.

The next generations may face serious problems due to ocean pollution

The ocean is an enormous source of resources, but it is also a huge sewer. I mentioned that we have polluted fresh water bodies in literally just 50–100 years, and in another 50 years, we will pollute all our oceans and seas. And the planet will turn into a fetid cesspool. We talk a lot, but we invest very little. There are even fewer technical means that could remedy the situation. So the threat is serious. Speaking very seriously, the next two or three generations will face this problem for real. And there may not only be intergovernmental conflicts, but there could be a global conflict overall. So water must be taken seriously — Yuriy Balega, Vice-President, Russian Academy of Sciences.

SOLUTIONS
Wastewater treatment plants at production facilities not only eliminate waste, but help to breed fauna

Our plant could be described as an example of a caring attitude for the environment and water resources. First, it uses the most modern technologies and is designed based on the principle of waste-free production, i.e., a bioreactor with membrane filters is used to treat wastewater. Consequently, the polluted water becomes clean downstream, accumulates in special reservoirs, and we breed mirror carps there. So this is the plant’s whole system. These technologies allow the plant to minimize the load on the surrounding water basin — Elena Postol, Chief Executive Officer, Aquanika.

Common sense could help save the environment

We have started to save Baikal. The whole world came down on us when they realized that the situation there was serious, and made Baikal a rallying cry. We allowed [companies] to dump practically distilled water into Baikal. Not a single production facility or a single household could attain the level of such a discharge because it simply does not exist in principle [...] Some sort of common sense is needed in everything. We need to stop in time. Or is it better to prevent something than to continue carrying out irreversible processes on planet Earth — Dmitry Kobylkin, Chairman of the State Duma Committee on Ecology, Natural Resources and Environmental Protection.

Environmental issues should become part of everyday culture and education

We thought a lot about how to not make the environmental lesson an optional one or based on the principle of ‘let’s find time for ecology in our already busy schedule and in our children’s packed [schedule]’. And we haven’t found any time there. There’s no forty five minutes. Our children are completely engrossed in the educational process. And how can immerse them in a constant lesson for 45 minutes. We have things to tell and warn children about. I would have already done this back in kindergarten, but we cannot do it in schools. We racked our brains [...] and concluded that this can be done without changing the student process. We have mathematics and physics. We have tasks that are drawn up and designed by a certain institute that is located in the Russian Federation. In textbooks, kids need to be immersed in problems with the environmental theme from the first grade to the eleventh grade so that children already understand their responsibility there when solving certain problems and certain equations — Dmitry Kobylkin, Chairman of the State Duma Committee on Ecology, Natural Resources and Environmental Protection.

It all comes from us, from our attitude to a particular thing. To the extent that we acknowledge it. If something becomes important for a person and it is scaled from a person to society and to public demand, then it already transforms into the behaviour of both industrial enterprises and state policy – in any state, in our state, in a neighbouring state, in a foreign state, and so on — Dmitriy Kirillov, Head, Federal Water Resources Agency.

Monitoring and water resource protection areas could improve the environmental situation

Water is part of the bigger problem of protecting our planet’s nature. And if, for example, special air protection areas are being created to check the carbon balance – how much carbon is emitted and how much is absorbed by plants, swamps, water, and so on – [...], it would be great to create such sites for the protection of water resources — Yuriy Balega, Vice-President, Russian Academy of Sciences.

As for microplastics, I fully agree that we at least need, let’s say, an academic, scientific unified base for monitoring and analysis. Then there will be other issues on the agenda, such as where are the treatment facilities that are capable of cleaning everything or not? And when will we attain this technological level? But we already have at least one question right now from the standpoint of the circulation of municipal waste, so that this plastic does not find its way into water bodies at all — Dmitriy Kirillov, Head, Federal Water Resources Agency.

Today, despite the entire aggressive backdrop that is being created around Russia, the issue of the national Ecology project has not gone by the wayside. We have shifted some parts in terms of the deadlines for implementation, realizing that we will probably not have time by 2024 since we truly will have to work on some of the best technologies and work on engineering. But all the targets remain the same. And most importantly, we are expanding our geography — Dmitry Kobylkin, Chairman of the State Duma Committee on Ecology, Natural Resources and Environmental Protection.

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, создан в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом.

Фонд взаимодействует со структурами ООН и другими международными организациями. Развивает многоформатное сотрудничество со 173 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 78 странах мира, со 179 российскими общественными организациями, федеральными органами исполнительной и законодательной власти, субъектами Российской Федерации.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Вода – источник жизни на Земле: исчерпаемый ли ресурс?
16 июня 2022
17:00—18:15
Ключевые выводы
Население Земли растет, в то время как воды не становится больше — это может грозить неприятными последствиями

«У нас действительно глобальные изменения климата — засухи, наводнения, тайфуны, ливни. Они отражают динамику водного баланса планеты в целом. И конечно усиливающееся антропогенное воздействие. С учетом того, что одним из ключевых факторов социально-экономического развития является доступ к водным ресурсам, мы сталкиваемся с тем, что многие страны уже испытывают дефицит питьевой воды. Происходит ухудшение состояния источников на фоне увеличения численности населения. И водохозяйственный комплекс нуждается в модернизации за счет внедрения новых подходов регулирования, технологической модернизации, цифровизации в том числе и использовании новых финансовых решений» — Разбаш Илья, Директор, ФГБУ «Информационно-аналитический центр развития водохозяйственного комплекса» («Центр развития ВХК»).

«Человеку, безусловно, нужно следить за тем, что он делает с водными ресурсами на земле — это одна из основных задач для нас. Этому нужно учить с самого маленького возраста <...> Наше поколение учили, и все равно мы на воду стали глаза закрывать, потому что ее много. Потому что мы видим, что нам хватает в России воды, хотя вододефицитных регионов становится все больше и больше с каждым годом <...> Воды в общем на Земле больше не становится, круговорот нам об этом говорит из школьной программы. Людей на Земле становится больше, это основная угроза для экологической кухни на планете Земля» — Кобылкин Дмитрий, Председатель комитета Государственной Думы по экологии, природным ресурсам и охране окружающей среды.

«Без воды сложно представить наше с вами современное общество — как с точки зрения бытовых потребностей человека, так и с точки зрения экономической деятельности <...> Это вопрос важнейший, но надо понимать, что пресной воды и воды, используемой для питья, в мире всего около одного процента от общих запасов. И это крайне хрупкий ресурс, который требует соответствующего отношения — сбережения, охраны, в том числе с точки зрения качественного состояния» — Кириллов Дмитрий, Руководитель, Федеральное агентство водных ресурсов.

На передний план выходит не только количество воды в мире, но и ее качество

«Представьте себе веревочку длиной 4,5 километра. Я буду считать, что это 4,5 миллиарда лет (существования планеты — ред.). А на этой веревочке маленький кусочек — это то время, за которое мы успели загадить нашу воду. Знаете, какая длина? Всего одна сотая миллиметра. То есть 10 микрон. И за эти 10 микрон из 4,5 километров мы успели испортить всю нашу воду на планете» — Балега Юрий, Вице-президент, Российская академия наук.

«Если мы говорим про водосбережение, то абсолютно ясно, что основной сейчас вопрос — это качество наших водоемов, наших рек по всему миру. Именно качественная составляющая, чтобы эта вода была пригодна для дальнейшего использования, для питья, и так далее. Для поддержания биоразнообразия», — Руководитель Федерального агентства водных ресурсов Дмитрий Кириллов. «На сегодняшний день мы видим, что это не абстрактный вопрос, для многих стран он является ключевым: это международное сотрудничество в вопросах рационального использование и сбережения водных ресурсов» — Кириллов Дмитрий, Руководитель, Федеральное агентство водных ресурсов.

Проблемы
Создание благоприятных условий с точки зрения водных ресурсов в одном месте может грозить ухудшением ситуации по соседству

«Микропластик в воде существует, такая проблема есть. Это очевидно. Мы знаем, что у нас уже острова из пластика в океане формируются. Происходят некоторые изменения в океанах, о которых нам еще предстоит поговорить, науке нашей доказать <...> Мы видим таяние льда в Арктике. Это очень серьезный существенный фактор, на который не обращать внимание мы не можем. Лед становится тоньше. Может быть это какой-то временной фактор, может быть так планета Земля развивается <...> вода без человечества прожить сможет, люди без воды не смогут. Поэтому нам нужно каждый на своем уровне максимально проявлять заботу о воде для того, чтобы ее сохранить для будущих поколений» — Кобылкин Дмитрий, Председатель комитета Государственной Думы по экологии, природным ресурсам и охране окружающей среды.

«Важно, чтобы мы понимали, что и в нашей стране, одной из самых богатых стран мира по водным ресурсам <...> загрязнение идет. Конечно, это промышленность прежде всего, это сельское хозяйство, но это и бытовые вещи, и отсутствие очистных сооружений. Даже тот поселочек, где я проработал, очистные сооружения построены еще в конце 1960-х годов, оно все развалилось, там ничего нет. И ты нигде не получишь копейку, чтобы привести их в порядок. Все стоки идут прямо в речки. Поэтому тема чистой воды, пресной воды для планеты должна начинаться с маленького — с чистоты в нашем доме, с экономии воды в хозяйстве» — Балега Юрий, Вице-президент, Российская академия наук.

«По Архызу хотел бы сказать. Это всего лишь маленькая иллюстрация нашей большой жизни. С одной стороны, мы создали там современный курорт, и курорт действительно обеспечен инфраструктурой, в том числе и очистными. А вот поселком, который там исторически сложился, как не занимались, так и не занимаемся. И действительно наблюдаем то, что наблюдаем с точки зрения именно загрязнения наших рек» — Кириллов Дмитрий, Руководитель, Федеральное агентство водных ресурсов.

Глобальная проблема экологии сегодня не столько в газах, сколько в воде

«Ученые любят страшилки, но главная проблема климата планеты, главный парниковый газ — это не метан, хотя конечно greenhouse effect от него сильный, или CO2 — углекислый газ. Главное — это пары воды. 80% вклада в потепление атмосферы вносит обычный водный пар. Поэтому такой замкнутый цикл: водного пара в атмосфере больше, атмосфера становится теплее. Становится теплее — может больше воды поглотить. Поэтому и меняется климат. Чем влажнее атмосфера, тем больше катастрофически процессов — ураганов. Контрасты сильно растут <...> Так что, как ни странно, пресной воды уже в свободном состоянии становится все больше, потому что тают ледники Гренландии, Антарктики, Арктики» — Балега Юрий, Вице-президент, Российская академия наук.

Ближайшие поколения могут столкнуться с серьезными проблемами из-за загрязнения океана

«Океан — это огромный источник ресурса, но он же — огромная сточная канава. Я говорил, что мы буквально за 50-100 лет загрязнили пресные водоемы, и еще через 50 лет мы загрязним все наши океаны и моря. И планета превратиться в такую зловонную клоаку. Причем говорим много, средств вкладываем мало. Технических средств, которые бы могли исправлять ситуацию, еще меньше. Поэтому угроза серьезная. Если говорить очень серьезно, ближайшие два-три поколения человечества столкнутся с этой проблемой по-настоящему. И это могут быть не только конфликты межгосударственные, а вообще до глобального конфликта. Так что к воде надо относиться серьезно» — Балега Юрий, Вице-президент, Российская академия наук.

Решения
Очистные сооружения на производствах способствуют не только отсутствию отходов, но и разведению фауны

«Наш завод можно назвать примером бережного отношения к окружающей среде и водным ресурсам. Во-первых, он использует самые современные технологии и спроектирован на основе принципа безотходного производства. То есть для очистки стоков используется биореактор с мембранными фильтрами. Соответственно, на выходе загрязненная вода становится чистой, скапливается в специальных водоемах, и там мы разводим зеркальных карпов. То есть это все система завода. Эти технологии позволяют заводу минимизировать нагрузку на окружающий водный бассейн» — Постол Елена, Генеральный директор, ООО «Акваника».

Даже в спасении экологии не помешает чувство меры

«Мы начали спасать Байкал, всем миром навалились, когда поняли, что там серьезная ситуация, и задушили Байкал в объятиях. Мы разрешили сбрасывать в Байкал практически дистиллированную воду. Ни одно производство, ни одно домохозяйство уровня такого сброса достичь не может, потому что его просто в принципе не существует <...> Во всем нужна какая-то разумность. Нам надо вовремя останавливаться. Или лучше предотвратить, нежели дальше необратимые процессы получать на планете Земля» — Кобылкин Дмитрий, Председатель комитета Государственной Думы по экологии, природным ресурсам и охране окружающей среды.

Вопросы экологии должны стать частью повседневной культуры и воспитания

«Мы очень много думали, как сделать урок экологии — не факультативный, не по принципу „давайте время найдем для экологии в нашем графике и без того насыщенном у детей“. И не нашли там время. Сорока пяти минут нет, дети забиты полностью процессом образовательным. И как туда вгрузиться постоянным уроком на 45 минут, а у нас есть, что рассказать детям и о чем предупредить — я бы в детских садах уже этим занялся, а мы не можем в школах это сделать. Ломали голову <...> пришли к выводу, что можно это сделать, не меняя ученического процесса. Есть математика, физика, есть задачи, которые формирует и рисует определенный институт, который находится в Российской Федерации. В учебники нужно вгружать задачи детям от первого класса до одиннадцатого именно с тематикой экологической. Чтобы дети, решая те или иные задачи, те или иные уравнения, уже там понимали ответственность» — Кобылкин Дмитрий, Председатель комитета Государственной Думы по экологии, природным ресурсам и охране окружающей среды.

«Все от нас самих идет, от нашего отношения к той или иной вещи. Насколько мы осознаем. Если для человека это становится важно, если это от человека масштабируется до общества, до общественного запроса, то потом это трансформируется уже и в поведение и производственных предприятий, и государственной политики — в любом государстве, в нашем государстве, соседнем, зарубежном и так далее» — Кириллов Дмитрий, Руководитель, Федеральное агентство водных ресурсов.

Мониторинг и полигоны по охране водных ресурсов могли бы улучшить экологическую ситуацию

«Вода — это часть большой проблемы охраны природы нашей планеты. И если допустим в области охраны атмосферного воздуха сейчас создаются специальные полигоны для того, чтобы проверить углеродный баланс — сколько углерода выбрасывается, а сколько поглощается растениями, болотами, водой и так далее <...> было бы здорово такие полигоны создавать и по охране водных ресурсов» — Балега Юрий, Вице-президент, Российская академия наук.

«По микропластику — я абсолютно согласен, что нужна хотя бы, скажем так, академическая, научная единая база мониторинга, анализа. Да, потом будут другие вопросы стоят на повестке — „А где те очистные сооружения, которые в состоянии это все чистить, или не в состоянии? Когда мы достигнем такого технологического уровня?“ Но по крайней мере один вопрос у нас уже есть — это с точки зрения оборота коммунальных отходов, чтобы этот пластик в принципе в водные объекты не попадал», — Руководитель Федерального агентства водных ресурсов Дмитрий Кириллов. «Сегодня, несмотря на весь агрессивный фон, который вокруг России создается, вопрос нацпроекта „Экология“ на второй план не ушел. Мы кое-что сдвинули вправо по срокам реализации, понимая, что где-то к 2024му году мы все наверное не успеем, потому что нам реально над некоторыми наилучшими технологиями придется поработать, и инженерно поработать. Но все целевые показатели остались. И самое главное — мы расширяем географию» — Кобылкин Дмитрий, Председатель комитета Государственной Думы по экологии, природным ресурсам и охране окружающей среды.