A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
The Decarbonization Trend: How the World is Changing
4 June 2021
12:00—13:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Hydrogen energy is a promising industry for Russia and the world

More than 65 countries have already announced that they will achieve carbon neutrality between 2045 and 2060. How this is going to happen is a separate topic. There are a lot of factors and indicators affecting this goal. One of them is the development of hydrogen energy, which by this period – by 2050 – will contribute significantly to the global energy balance. In fact, this is a new energy that does not exist today — Alexander Novak, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

The world is striving to become ‘greener’. The number one priority for any state is the safety of people. And another important priority is energy security. This is the priority of any state, and Russia is no exception. Russia is the largest exporter of gas and oil. I see [the prospect for] leadership here — Andrew Forrest, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Fortescue Future Industries.

Hydrogen market is indeed very promising, and it attracts everyone's attention. Of course, Russian oil companies have good chances of gaining a large share in this market. We have great potential because we, as oil companies, already produce hydrogen — Alexander Dyukov, Chairman of the Management Board, Chief Executive Officer, PJSC Gazprom Neft.

New energy is not limited to hydrogen

It has been discussed that hydrogen will not be an exclusive source of energy, rather a part of the new energy. The other part is nuclear power, renewable energy sources, and many others, as well as technologies for energy saving and reducing energy consumption — Alexander Novak, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

I recently held a meeting in Copenhagen with the largest shipbuilding companies, and they say that in 2024 they will reduce emissions into the atmosphere by 5%. Five percent means 7 million tonnes of ‘green’ hydrogen that they will have to use. This is only a 5% reduction! They want to become ‘green’ by 2050, and that is 140 million tonnes in this direction alone. So we surely understand that ‘green’ hydrogen is not a solution — Andrew Forrest, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Fortescue Future Industries.

ISSUES
Demand for hydrogen fuel is low due to its high cost

Energy evolution is related not to the supply of energy, but to demand. Not just supply. Therefore, demand must be created for hydrogen. Now it is small: 70 million tonnes. These are oil refineries and fertilizers. Why is that? Because it is expensive — Patrick Pouyanne, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, TotalEnergies.

Not only supply, but also demand is key. It is demand that creates supply. It is impossible to talk about the creation of technologies commercially justified in terms of revolutions. I hope the demand will be adequate — Alexey Likhachev, Chief Executive Officer, State Atomic Energy Corporation ROSATOM.

We are engaged in unmanned technologies, the use of [hydrogen, Ed.] in cities for unmanned buses and cars. <…> This is still an under-explored area in which business definitely needs to get involved. Otherwise, if we do not create demand nodes, hydrogen will only be used locally — Vladimir Evtushenkov, Chairman of the Board, Sistema.

Additional infrastructure is needed to develop hydrogen energy in Russia

We see a potential that is not yet fully unlocked, we are talking about production. This includes modern electrolysers, solid oxide electrolysers. We hope for cooperation with our international partners, for the creation of our new enterprises here, for high-level localization. We are also talking about household solid oxide fuel cell systems, where there is great potential as well. Everything related to pyrolysis with СО2 capture technologies is also a separate area on which we will need to work together — Alexander Novak, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

Challenges are a market that is just emerging. And in order for this market to take shape, the infrastructure is needed. Unfortunately, it is probably not going to happen as fast as we would like it — Alexander Dyukov, Chairman of the Management Board, Chief Executive Officer, PJSC Gazprom Neft.

SOLUTIONS
It is necessary to enable mass production of hydrogen fuel and develop its technologies

The best way to keep costs down is not just by using technology, but also by scaling to massive, mass production of hydrogen. As it happened with liquefied natural gas 40 years ago — Patrick Pouyanne, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, TotalEnergies.

Neither of the methods for producing hydrogen: neither gas conversion, nor electrolysis are possible without large amounts of energy. If during the conversion it is just high temperature, then during electrolysis it is also a large amount of electricity — Alexey Likhachev, Chief Executive Officer, State Atomic Energy Corporation ROSATOM.

Hydrogen industry needs legislative regulation

One of the major challenges is regulation. A lot will depend on regulation. One of the problems for us is the attitude of the European Union towards blue hydrogen, it is perceived rather negatively. We believe there is some technological discrimination in this — Alexander Dyukov, Chairman of the Management Board, Chief Executive Officer, PJSC Gazprom Neft.

Hydrogen industry needs to be wakened by efforts of politicians and creation of conditions. Otherwise, it will end up like biofuels — Patrick Pouyanne, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, TotalEnergies.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 159 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Тренд на декарбонизацию – как будет меняться мир
4 июня 2021
12:00—13:15
Ключевые выводы
Водородная энергетика — перспективная отрасль для России и мира

Более 65 стран на сегодня объявили о достижении углеродной нейтральности в период с 2045 по 2060 годы. Как это будет достигаться, это отдельная тема. Очень много факторов и показателей, которые влияют на достижение этой цели. И, конечно, один из многих факторов — это как раз развитие водородной энергетики, которая к этому периоду — к 2050 году — должна в энергетическом мировом балансе занять свою достаточно значимую роль. По сути, это новая энергетика, которой сегодня нет — Новак Александр, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

Мир стремится к „озеленению“. Приоритет номер один, который любое государство ставит перед собой — это безопасность людей. И еще важный приоритет, который мы видим — энергобезопасность. Это приоритет любого государства, и это касается России. Россия — крупнейший экспортер газа и нефти. Я вижу здесь [перспективу] лидерства — Форрест Эндрю, Председатель совета директоров, Fortescue Future Industries.

Водород — действительно очень перспективный рынок, который привлекает всеобщее внимание. Безусловно, российские нефтяные компании имеют очень хорошие шансы занять большую долю на этом рынке. У нас отличный потенциал, поскольку мы уже как нефтяные компании производим водород — Дюков Александр, Председатель правления, генеральный директор, ПАО «Газпром нефть».

Водород — это не единственный элемент новой энергетики

Звучали фразы, что исключительно водород не будет являться источником энергии, но это лишь часть новой энергетики. Другая часть — это та же атомная генерация, это и возобновляемые источники энергии, и многое другое. Те же технологии энергосбережения, снижения энергоемкости — Новак Александр, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

В Копенгагене недавно я провел встречу с крупнейшими судостроительными компаниями, и они говорят, что как раз в 2024 году снизим на 5% объемы выбросов в атмосферу. Пять процентов — это 7 млн тонн „зеленого“ водорода, который они должны будут использовать. Это снижение лишь на 5%! Они хотят стать „зелеными“ к 2050 году, и это 140 млн тонн только лишь в этом направлении. Поэтому я могу всех вас заверить, мы понимаем, что „зеленый“ водород — это не решение — Форрест Эндрю, Председатель совета директоров, Fortescue Future Industries.

Проблемы
Спрос на водородное топливо невысок из-за его дороговизны

Энергетическая эволюция — это не то, как мы поменяем поставку энергии, но это вопросы спроса. Не только предложения. Потому для водорода надо создать спрос. Сейчас он небольшой — 70 млн тонн. Это нефтеперерабатывающие заводы и удобрения. Почему так? Потому что дорого — Пуянне Патрик, Председатель, главный исполнительный директор, TotalEnergies.

Ключевым является не только предложение, но и спрос. Именно спрос рождает предложение. Невозможно сейчас говорить о создании технологий, коммерчески обоснованных в терминах революций. Надеюсь, что спрос будет адекватным — Лихачев Алексей, Генеральный директор, Государственная корпорация по атомной энергии «Росатом».

Мы занимаемся беспилотными направлениями, применением [водорода — Ред.] в городах для беспилотных автобусов и машин. <...> Это еще недостаточно исследованная область, в которую бизнесу точно нужно включиться. В противном случае, если мы не создадим узлы спроса, то все закончится локальным применением водорода — Евтушенков Владимир, Председатель совета директоров, АФК «Система».

Для развития водородной энергетики в России необходима дополнительная инфраструктура

Мы видим на сегодняшний день еще не реализуемый до конца потенциал, речь идет о производстве. В том числе это современные электролизеры, твердооксидные электролизеры. Надеемся на сотрудничество с нашими международными партнерами, надеемся на создание здесь наших новых предприятий, локализацию на высоком уровне. Речь также идет о бытовых системах твердооксидных топливных элементов, тоже большой задел, большой потенциал. Ну и все, что касается пиролиза с технологиями улавливания СО2, это тоже отдельное направление, над которым нам нужно будет вместе поработать — Новак Александр, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

Вызовы — это рынок, который только формируется. И для того, чтобы этот рынок сформировался, нужна в том числе и инфраструктура, которая будет создаваться. Но, к сожалению, наверное, не так быстро, как хотелось бы — Дюков Александр, Председатель правления, генеральный директор, ПАО «Газпром нефть».

Решения
Необходимо создавать массовое производство водородного топлива и развивать его технологии

Лучший способ снизить затраты — это не только технологии, но и масштаб — массивное, массовое производство водорода. Как раньше было со сжиженным природным газом, 40 лет назад — Пуянне Патрик, Председатель, главный исполнительный директор, TotalEnergies.

Ни один, ни второй способ получения водорода, ни газовая конверсия, ни электролиз невозможны без больших объемов энергии. Если при конверсии это просто высокая температура, то при электролизе — это большое количество электроэнергии как таковое — Лихачев Алексей, Генеральный директор, Государственная корпорация по атомной энергии «Росатом».

Для водородной отрасли необходимо законодательное регулирование

Одна из серьезных проблем — это регулирование. От регулирования будет зависеть очень многое. Одна из проблем для нас — это отношение к „голубому“ водороду со стороны Евросоюза, пока он воспринимается достаточно негативно. Мы считаем, что в этом есть определенная технологическая дискриминация — Дюков Александр, Председатель правления, генеральный директор, ПАО «Газпром нефть».

Без усилий политиков, без создания условий водородная промышленность не проснется. Как было с биотопливом, например — Пуянне Патрик, Председатель, главный исполнительный директор, TotalEnergies.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС