A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Russia-EU Relations: Responding to the Challenges of Time
3 June 2021
17:00—18:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Focus on the ESG agenda should lay the foundation for the improvement of relations between Russia and the European Union, it is necessary to develop a consolidated response to global challenges

In 2020 Russia faced four challenges. First, the pandemic; second, the collapse of oil prices; third, the devaluation of the rouble; and the fourth, which is an ongoing challenge, the geopolitical context that does not make things easier. At the same time Russia demonstrated good economic indicators. The global challenges are so disruptive that we need to come up with a joint approach and cooperate in fighting the pandemic — Johan Vanderplaetse, Chairman, Association of European Businesses; President, Russia and CIS, Schneider Electric.

Our ultimate goal is to combat greenhouse gas emissions. And in this context, technological neutrality, mutual recognition, and implementation of projects aimed to reduce carbon dioxide emissions are crucial. Building these mechanisms is a subject for strong international discussion, and we have high hopes for the climate conference in Glasgow this November — Maksim Reshetnikov, Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation.

Development of 5G networks can become a new touchpoint for Russia and Europe

No country, no government can cope with all the tasks on their own. For example, 5G requires joint efforts, so the European Union and Russia must work together to deploy this technology. Now we need to work together on 5G technologies in Russia and in Europe — Arun Bansal, Executive Vice-president, Head of Market Area Europe and Latin America, Ericsson.

Russia has amazing technological capabilities, and there are great companies. If we compare them with Western companies, if we join forces [connecting to 5G], we will all benefit from this — Johan Vanderplaetse, Chairman, Association of European Businesses; President, Russia and CIS, Schneider Electric.

ISSUES
Need to achieve international agreements

We are now probably at the most difficult point in the development of our relations since the end of the Cold War. I think both sides value OUR relationship. Why are we at this negative point in our development? Of course, there are territorial and geopolitical issues, issues of human rights violations. I believe that all these problems contributed to the ‘suspension’ of our political dialogue, which is now affected by uncertainty. In this atmosphere it is difficult to go back to the normalization of these relations — Markus Ederer, Ambassador of the European Union to the Russian Federation.

Most of the formerly effective formats of our [the countries of the European Union and the Russian Federation] interaction are currently on hold. <…> We, Russia, have not closed a single door, we have not imposed any restrictions. All suspensions were initiated by the European Union — Vladimir Chizhov, Permanent Representative of the Russian Federation to the European Union.

SOLUTIONS
Expanding the list of ‘green’ projects and finding a compromise between government and business

We categorized nuclear energy as a ‘green’ project, and this was a crucial decision. We believe that, based on the criterion of greenhouse gas emissions, based on the principles of technological neutrality, nuclear power should be seen as clean energy. And secondly, we have developed a number of transitional projects that may not meet some highest standards, but for many industries in our country this is a big step forward — Maksim Reshetnikov, Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation.

We must use the opportunity to strengthen our relationship in the context of ‘green’ transformation and creation of ‘green’ economy. This will be a new field for cooperation that is of interest for representatives of our business. The more our policy becomes oriented towards the development of a ‘green’ economy, the more seriously we move towards stabilizing our relations — Markus Ederer, Ambassador of the European Union to the Russian Federation.

Regional experiments that allow to introduce a system of emission quotas in the regions

We are working on a soft regulatory framework that will allow us to implement climate projects, take into account the carbon footprint of products that will make our entire system more transparent, while at the same time we are launching a system of more stringent regulation based on regional experiments. Many countries have followed this path. We are currently in the final stage of the Sakhalin experiment, which will enable individual regions, at their will and in agreement with the business, to declare the goal of carbon neutrality and introduce a system of emission quotas with the trading system, and so on — Maksim Reshetnikov, Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation.

<...> We need to focus on reducing carbon emissions and strengthening other ... areas. The Sakhalin project is also a great example of enhancing our cooperation, including in the future. These are the efforts that we should focus on, excluding the political context. <...> We must work on issues of compliance with the obligations of WTO member countries. The obligations of all WTO members must correspond — Markus Ederer, Ambassador of the European Union to the Russian Federation.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 159 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Российско-европейские отношения: отвечая на вызовы времени
3 июня 2021
17:00—18:15
Ключевые выводы
Акцент на ESG-повестке должен стать основой улучшения отношений России и Евросоюза, необходимо выработать общий ответ на глобальные вызовы

В 2020 году Россия столкнулась с четырьмя вызовами. Во-первых, это пандемия, во-вторых, было снижение цен на нефть, третье — это девальвация рубля, четвертое — то, что продолжается и поныне, — это проблема в рамках геополитического контекста, который тоже не упрощает ситуацию. Но Россия вышла на неплохие экономические показатели, хотя глобальные вызовы настолько потрясают экономики наших стран, что нам нужно выработать общий подход и кооперировать наши усилия в борьбе с пандемией — Вандерплаетсе Йохан, Председатель правления, Ассоциация европейского бизнеса (АЕВ); президент по России и СНГ, Schneider Electric.

Наша задача конечная — это борьба с эмиссией парниковых газов. И с этой точки зрения важны технологическая нейтральность, взаимное признание, реализация проектов по сокращению выбросов углекислого газа. Формирование этих механизмов — предмет сильной международной дискуссии, в этом плане мы возлагаем большие надежды на конференцию по климату в Глазго в ноябре этого года — Решетников Максим, Министр экономического развития Российской Федерации.

Развитие сетей 5G может стать новой точкой взаимодействия России и Европы

Ни одна страна, ни одно правительство в одиночку со всеми задачами не справится. Так, 5G требует совместных усилий, поэтому Европейский союз и Россия должны совместно работать, чтобы развернуть эту технологию. Сейчас нужно работать вместе над технологиями 5G в России и в Европе — Бансал Арун, Исполнительный вице-президент, глава региона Европа и Латинская Америка, Ericsson.

Россия располагает потрясающими технологическими возможностями, и компании есть потрясающие. Поэтому, конечно, если их сравнивать с западными компаниями, если объединить усилия [при подключении к 5G] — это будет потрясающе, мы все только от этого выиграем — Вандерплаетсе Йохан, Председатель правления, Ассоциация европейского бизнеса (АЕВ); президент по России и СНГ, Schneider Electric.

Проблемы
Необходимость достижения международных договоренностей

Мы, наверное, сейчас находимся в самой сложной точке развития наших отношений после окончания холодной войны. Думаю, что обе стороны ценят НАШИ отношения. Почему мы находимся в негативной точке нашего развития? Конечно, есть территориальные вопросы, геополитические вопросы, вопросы о нарушении прав человека. Я полагаю, что все эти проблемы „подвесили“ наш политический диалог, который оказался в ситуации неопределенности. В этой атмосфере, конечно, сложно вернуться к нормализации этих отношений — Эдерер Маркус, Посол Европейского союза в Российской Федерации.

Большинство эффективных в прошлом форматов нашего [стран Европейского союза и Российской Федерации] взаимодействия на сегодня простаивают. <...> Мы, Россия, не закрыли ни одну дверь, мы не опустили ни одного шлагбаума. Все заморозки были инициированы Евросоюзом — Чижов Владимир, Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол, Постоянный представитель Российской Федерации при ЕС.

Решения
Расширение перечня «зеленых» проектов и поиск компромисса между властью и бизнесом

Мы к „зеленым“ проектам, и это принципиальное было решение, отнесли атомную энергетику. Мы считаем, что, исходя из критерия выбросов парниковых газов, исходя из принципов технологической нейтральности, атомная энергетика должна быть отнесена к чистой энергии. И второй момент — мы сделали группу переходных проектов, которые с точки зрения самых высоких стандартов не соответствуют чему-то, но для многих отраслей у нас это является большим шагом вперед — Решетников Максим, Министр экономического развития Российской Федерации.

Мы должны использовать возможность укреплять наши отношения в рамках „зеленой“ трансформации и создания „зеленой“ экономики. Это будет новое поле для сотрудничества, в котором также заинтересованы представители нашего бизнеса. Чем более ориентирована становится наша политика к развитию „зеленой“ экономики, тем серьезнее мы продвигаемся к пути стабилизации наших отношений — Эдерер Маркус, Посол Европейского союза в Российской Федерации.

Проведение региональных экспериментов, дающих возможность вводить систему квотирования выбросов в субъектах

Мы создаем такую мягкую систему регулирования, которая позволит нам реализовывать климатические проекты, которая позволит нам учитывать углеродный след продукции, который „опрозрачит“ всю нашу систему, и в то же время мы запускаем систему более жесткого регулирования, основанную на региональных экспериментах. Таким путем двигались многие страны. У нас сейчас в финальной стадии разработки находится cахалинский эксперимент, который даст возможность отдельным регионам по их желанию, по согласованию с бизнесом, объявлять цель углеродной нейтральности и вводить систему квотирования выбросов с системой торговли и так далее — Решетников Максим, Министр экономического развития Российской Федерации.

Мы должны использовать возможность укреплять наши отношения в рамках „зеленой“ трансформации и создания зеленой экономики. <...> Нам следует уделять внимание снижению углеродных выбросов и укреплению других... направлений. Сахалинский проект также является ярким примером укрепления нашего сотрудничества, в том числе в будущем. Это те усилия, на которых следует концентрировать свое внимание, исключая политический контекст. <...> Мы, конечно же, должны работать над вопросами соответствия обязательствам страны, являющейся членом ВТО. Здесь должна быть совместимость обязательств всех членов ВТО — Эдерер Маркус, Посол Европейского союза в Российской Федерации.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС