A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 155 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Energy Sector Transformations
3 June 2021
11:00—12:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
There is a demand among the global population for alternative energy sources

Today, there is a demand among the world’s population for improving the climate situation and reducing emissions as well as demand for environmental protection and more eco-friendly fuels. Of course, this process is inevitable, but much depends on the pace of energy transition. [...] More than 30 countries have already announced a transition to carbon neutrality — Alexander Novak, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

We need energy transition in the interests of people and the planet. [...] We shouldn’t forget about all energy resources. We don’t need to change where we get energy from, but how we consume it. Our job is to humanize the use of energy and make it accessible to more people. [...] The style of collaboration is changing; it no longer just takes place between the private sector and governments, but between industry and people — Angela Wilkinson, Secretary General, Chief Executive Officer, World Energy Council (WEC).

Natural gas technologies will become the foundation of the new energy industry

In Russia, we are committed to both the development of traditional energy sources and diversification, while also taking into account the emergence of new markets, such as the liquefied natural gas markets, considering that in the future oil will also be actively used not as a fuel, but as a source to produce consumer goods — Alexander Novak, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

Natural gas will help the energy industry make this transition, while remaining the foundation of the energy sector. [...] Today, methane is increasingly used as a fuel and this trend is on the rise — Oleg Aksyutin, Deputy Chairman of the Management Committee - Head of 623 Department, Gazprom.

ISSUES
Today there is no uniform understanding of how to technologically carry out energy transition

This scenario is appealing, but how are we going to make this transition? [...] It would be great if we could take advantage of the potential that this transition period provides us so that we can make humanity happy regardless of where people live — Abdulaziz bin Salman Al Saud, Minister of Energy of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

A lot depends on technology. If it appears, it will develop in this direction. Storage and digital technologies, CO2 capture and disposal technologies, hydrogen utilization. We talk a lot about this, but, unfortunately, so far there are few technologies that can be commercialized. They are not yet competitive. We need to work on this — Alexander Novak, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

Development of alternative energy sources is risky from a financial standpoint

Everyone read the forecast of the International Energy Agency and the recommendations that funding for new investment projects in the oil, gas, and coal industries needs to stop starting from 2021. But I can’t imagine [...] what will happen? Oil prices will probably be USD 200. [...] We must take a more responsible approach to the proposals that are made in this regard — Alexander Novak, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

We are talking about huge amounts that are generated in the energy sector. [...] It is important to consider what they can be spent on [...] and understand what technologies need to be developed and improved in order to neutralize all fears — Abdulaziz bin Salman Al Saud, Minister of Energy of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

SOLUTIONS
We need to improve traditional technologies and not rely solely on new energy sources

We need to calculate more accurately whether there will be sufficient new energy sources – sun, wind, hydrogen – to cover these needs. Obviously, their share will grow, but we shouldn’t abandon existing energy sources today. We need to make sure that these energy sources are also eco-friendly — Alexander Novak, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

If we use composite materials, it will also have a very strong impact on the environment from a positive point of view because less CO2 is emitted during their production — Andrey Ryumin, General Director, Chairman of the Management Board, Rosseti.

We need to unlock the unused potential of existing energy capacity

To date, there is no alternative to hydro-accumulation on the planet. [...] Russia has utilized 20% of its hydro potential. We were lagging two times behind a number of countries such as China and Brazil, and four times behind more developed economies. We have room to develop — Viktor Khmarin, Chairman of the Management Board, General Director, RusHydro.

The future is also in nuclear energy. [...] Power generation from nuclear sources at nuclear power plants is the lowest based on its carbon footprint: 6 grams per 1 kilowatt per hour of CO2 equivalent, while solar is 80 grams and wind is 14 grams […] Russia will be working on developing small nuclear generation […] for the production of nuclear energy in small units – from 5 to 100 megawatts — Alexander Novak, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation.

The gas we have needs to be used more efficiently and more environmentally. [...] Today, three-quarters of hydrogen is produced from methane around the world. Today these technologies [...] are less expensive — Oleg Aksyutin, Deputy Chairman of the Management Committee - Head of 623 Department, Gazprom.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 159 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Будущее энергетики. Энергопереход
3 июня 2021
11:00—12:15
Ключевые выводы
На альтернативные источники энергии есть запрос населения планеты

Сегодня есть запрос населения планеты на улучшение климатической ситуации, снижение выбросов, запрос на охрану окружающей среды, на более экологичные виды топлива. Безусловно, этот процесс неизбежен, но многое зависит от того, какие темпы энергоперехода будут <...> Уже более 30 стран заявили о переходе на углеродную нейтральность — Новак Александр, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

Нам нужен энергетический переход в интересах людей и планеты <...> Мы должны не забывать о всех энергетических ресурсах, меняться должно не то, откуда мы берем энергию, но и как мы ее потребляем. наша задача — гуманизировать использование энергии, сделать ее доступной для большего числа людей <...> Меняется стиль сотрудничества, это уже не просто между частным сектором и государствами, а между промышленностью и людьми — Уилкинсон Анжела, Генеральный секретарь, главный исполнительный директор, Мировой энергетический совет (МИРЭС).

Фундаментом новой энергетики станут технологии применения природного газа

В России мы — приверженцы и развития традиционных источников энергии, и диверсификации, в том числе с учетом появления новых рынков. Это рынки сжиженного природного газа. С учетом того, что нефть в будущем будет использоваться в том числе активно не как топливо, а как источник для производства товаров народного потребления — Новак Александр, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

Природный газ поможет энергетике сделать этот переход, при этом останется фундаментом энергетики <...> Сегодня метан все больше используется в качестве топлива, его тренд идет в сторону в увеличения — Аксютин Олег, Заместитель председателя правления – начальник Департамента 623, ПАО «Газпром».

Проблемы
Единого понимания того, как технологически осуществить энергопереход, на сегодня нет

Это сценарий привлекателен, но как мы будем осуществлять переход? <...> Это было бы прекрасно, если бы мы воспользовались потенциалом, который этот переходный период нам предоставляет, чтобы мы могли осчастливить человечество несмотря на то, где живут люди — Аль Сауд Абдулазиз бин Салман, Министр энергетики Королевства Саудовской Аравии.

Многое зависит от технологий. Появятся они — будут развиваться в этом направлении. Технологии накопительные, цифровые, технологии улавливания CO2 и захоронения, использования водорода. Мы много об этом говорим, но, к сожалению, пока таких технологий, которые подлежат коммерциализации, мало. Они пока не конкурентоспособны, над этим надо работать — Новак Александр, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

Развитие альтернативных источников энергии рискованно с финансовой точки зрения

Все читали прогноз Международного энергетического агентства, рекомендации о том, что нужно с 2021 года прекратить финансирование новых инвестиционных проектов в нефтяной, газовой и угольной промышленности. Но я себе не представляю <...> ну что будет? Цены на нефть, наверное, будут 200 долларов <...> Мы должны более ответственно подходить к предложениям, которые звучат в этой части — Новак Александр, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

Мы говорим об огромных суммах, которые генерируются в области энергетики <...> Важно продумать, на что их можно потратить <...> Понять, какие технологии разработать и усовершенствовать, чтобы нейтрализовать все опасения — Аль Сауд Абдулазиз бин Салман, Министр энергетики Королевства Саудовской Аравии.

Решения
Не надеяться только на новые источники энергии, совершенствовать традиционные технологии

Надо более точно считать, достаточно ли будет новых источников энергии — солнца, ветра, водорода — чтобы покрыть эти потребности. Очевидно, доля их будет расти, но не надо отказываться уже сегодня от существующих источников энергии. Надо заниматься тем, чтобы эти источники энергии тоже были экологичными — Новак Александр, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

Если мы будем применять композитные материалы, то это тоже будет тоже очень сильно влиять на окружающую среду с положительной точки зрения. Потому что при их производстве выделяется меньше СО2 — Рюмин Андрей, Генеральный директор, председатель правления, ПАО «Россети».

Реализовать неиспользуемый потенциал имеющихся энергомощностей

Пока на планете гидроакуумулирование безальтернативно <...> Гидропотенциал России освоен на 20%, мы отстали от ряда стран, таких как Китай, Бразилия в два раза. От более развитых экономик — в четыре раза. Нам есть, куда развиваться — Хмарин Виктор, Председатель правления, генеральный директор, ПАО «РусГидро».

Будущее в том числе и за атомной энергетикой <...> Выработка энергии из атомных источников на атомных электростанциях, по своему углеродному следу, самая низкая: 6 грамм на 1 киловатт в час СО2 в эквиваленте. В то время как солнца — 80 грамм, а ветер 14 грамм <...> Россия будет заниматься развитием малой атомной генерации <...> по производству атомной энергии малыми блоками — от 5 мегаватт до 100 мегаватт — Новак Александр, Заместитель Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации.

Имеющийся газ нужно использовать более эффективно, более экологично <...> Сегодня в мире ¾ водорода производят из метана, сегодня эти технологии <...> менее затратны — Аксютин Олег, Заместитель председателя правления – начальник Департамента 623, ПАО «Газпром».

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС