A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 133 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 70 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Modern Neurotechnologies and Their Influence on the Development of Human Capital
26 May 2018
10:00—11:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Neurotechnology has a wide range of applications

When we speak of neurotechnology and the real-life opportunities neuroscience offers to people, we can highlight a few areas where real practices already exist. These areas concern healthcare, and rehabilitation processes in particular, and also things principally tied to science. — Kirill Kaem, Senior Vice-President for Innovations, Skolkovo Foundation.

The field of neuromarketing examines and interprets the brain’s responses. It examines where a person looks and so on. Using these indicators, it becomes clear what emotions a person experiences when watching an advertisement, for example. This then allows us to give advice and explain what could be done to improve the advertisement, and increase the conversion rate — Yury Kardonov, one of the leaders of the NeuroNet Society; member of the Society of Young Neurotechnologists.

The state, funds, and private investors all support projects to develop neurotechnology

Russian startups operating in our area receive support from scientific institutions such as Moscow State University. They receive financial support from the Skolkovo Foundation and Bortnik Foundation. Essentially, the state has established an entire range of organizations which are capable of providing an expert assessment of a project, and appraising its commercial potential — Kirill Kaem, Senior Vice-President for Innovations, Skolkovo Foundation.

Currently, revenue from startups selling their products, scientific consulting services, and intellectual property is in excess of RUB 27 billion. This figure continues to grow. Several hundred new patents are generated every year. What’s more, around 16–17% of all international intellectual property patent applications go through Skolkovo – intellectual property generated by our startups. — Kirill Kaem, Senior Vice-President for Innovations, Skolkovo Foundation.

Neurotechnology is not something from the pages of science fiction – it is already not far away. <...> I call upon everybody to immerse themselves in this field, to develop their skills, knowledge, and abilities, and create new startup projects infused with no less ambition than those of Elon Musk — Denis Gusev, Director of the Center for Neuro-Information Technologies, "Innopraktika".

ISSUES
Insufficient knowledge to develop modern technologies

We still have a poor understanding of cognitive mechanisms and the interrelations that exist between neurons. We understand how a signal from a neuron is transferred from one point to another, but alas, we are still a long way off from understanding the entire complex array of neurons that we have in our cerebral cortex. What is more, we are preoccupied with stable and unstable connections, and all these connections rapidly and constantly change — Kirill Kaem, Senior Vice-President for Innovations, Skolkovo Foundation.

The problem – even for a genius such as Elon Musk – is that <...> the product is so vague, that it is a complex task to sum it up. And I am not even talking about the scientific challenges which projects are faced with. — Kirill Kaem, Senior Vice-President for Innovations, Skolkovo Foundation.

Machines are a potential threat

Elon Musk is absolutely convinced that the rise of the machines is looming. He claims that artificial intelligence is developing so fast, and in such leaps and bounds, that at some point, we as humanity will fail to notice the point of no return, and <...> will one day wake to a world inhabited by some higher being. — Kirill Kaem, Senior Vice-President for Innovations, Skolkovo Foundation.

Insufficient international cooperation

The total volume of investment raised by companies is approaching USD 300 million. The share of foreign investment fluctuates from year to year, but is around 15% on average. There was a lot of foreign money in 2013–15, but now foreign investors are more cautious, owing to the formal decision-making structures in place. — Kirill Kaem, Senior Vice-President for Innovations, Skolkovo Foundation.

SOLUTIONS
New ways of applying neurotechnology need to be found

We need to significantly broaden the transmission range of our communication with machines. I am not referring to driving cars, but a wide transmission range, enabling the human intellect to be integrated with a machine — Kirill Kaem, Senior Vice-President for Innovations, Skolkovo Foundation.

Data protection needs to constantly develop

Given that we are living digital lives more and more, we are gradually learning how to protect our personal data. — Kirill Kaem, Senior Vice-President for Innovations, Skolkovo Foundation.

Artificial intelligence should be developed independently, without attempting to copy human intelligence

At our current understanding of human cognitive processes, the concept of developing a form of artificial intelligence which could completely copy and imitate human thought is impossible. We all live in the physical world, and reach a stage of consciousness by a specific age. This gradual development enabled by the physical world is not accessible to a machine. Perhaps it isn’t required either. Perhaps the mechanisms and rules which govern artificial intelligence, and the applied tasks which they are required to solve, require a different method — Kirill Kaem, Senior Vice-President for Innovations, Skolkovo Foundation.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Современные нейротехнологии и их влияние на развитие человеческого капитала
26 Мая 2018
10:00—11:15
Ключевые выводы
Нейротехнологии имеют широкий спектр применения

«Когда мы говорим о нейроинтерфейсах и возможностях нейронаук в реальном использовании человеком, можно выделить несколько областей, в которых сейчас это имеет реальную практику. Это вещи, связанные с медициной, в основном - с реабилитационными процессами, и вещи, связанные большей частью с наукой» — Каем Кирилл, Вице-президент, исполнительный директор кластера биомедицинских технологий, Фонд «Сколково».

«В рамках направления нейромаркетинга считываются и интерпретируются показания мозга, считывается, куда смотрит человек и т.д. Используя все эти показатели, становится ясным, какие эмоциональные характеристики испытывает человек во время просмотра рекламы, например. Таким образом, мы можем давать советы и рассказывать, как улучшить рекламу для того, чтобы повысить конверсию этой рекламы» — Кардонов Юрий , один из лидеров Сообщества НейроНет; член Молодежного общества нейротехнологов.

Государство, фонды и частные инвесторы поддерживают проекты по развитию нейротехнологий

«Стартапы, которые работают в нашей сфере в РФ, получают поддержку и со стороны научных учреждений - например МГУ, получают финансовую поддержку со стороны Фонда «Сколково», со стороны Фонда Бортника, т.е. государство создало целую сеть организаций, которые способны провести проект через экспертизу, оценить его коммерческий потенциал» — Каем Кирилл, Вице-президент, исполнительный директор кластера биомедицинских технологий, Фонд «Сколково».

«На текущий момент общая выручка стартапов от продажи их продукции, научных консультаций, реализации их интеллектуальной собственности превысила 27 млрд руб., эта цифра постоянно растет. Каждый год генерируется несколько сотен патентов, причем международных патентов, через «Сколково» сейчас проходит около 16-17% всех заявок на международную интеллектуальную собственность, которые генерируют наши стартапы» — Каем Кирилл, Вице-президент, исполнительный директор кластера биомедицинских технологий, Фонд «Сколково».

«Нейротехнологии - не что-то фантастическое, а близкое к нам уже сегодня. <…> Всех призываю в эту область погружаться, развивать свои собственные навыки, знания, умения и создавать новые стартап-проекты с амбициями не меньшими, чем у Илона Маска» — Гусев Денис, Директор центра нейроинформационных технологий, «Иннопрактика».

Проблемы
Недостаточность знаний для развития современных технологий

«Мы пока плохо понимаем когнитивные механизмы, взаимосвязи, которые существуют между нейронами. Как сигнал нейрона передается с одной точки на другую - мы понимаем, но вся сложная совокупность сетки нейронов, которая у нас на коре головного мозга расположена, увы, очень далека от понимания. Более того, в рамках нашего мышления есть связи устойчивые, неустойчивые, и все эти связи динамические и постоянно меняются» — Каем Кирилл, Вице-президент, исполнительный директор кластера биомедицинских технологий, Фонд «Сколково».

«Проблема даже такого гения, как Илон Макс, в том, что <…> сам продукт настолько размыт, что сформулировать его сложно. Я даже не говорю о научных челленджах, которые проектам предстоит пройти» — Каем Кирилл, Вице-президент, исполнительный директор кластера биомедицинских технологий, Фонд «Сколково».

Со стороны машин есть потенциальные угрозы

«Илон Маск совершенно уверен в том, что восстание машин грядет. Он говорит о том, что искусственный интеллект развивается столь быстро и скачкообразно, что в какой-то момент мы с вами, как человечество, пропустим эту точку, и <…> в какой-то момент проснемся, а появилось высшее существо» — Каем Кирилл, Вице-президент, исполнительный директор кластера биомедицинских технологий, Фонд «Сколково».

Международное взаимодействие развито недостаточно

«Общий объем инвестиций, который компании подняли, приближается к 300 млн долларов, доля иностранных инвестиций колеблется от года к году, в среднем - около 15%. Было больше иностранных денег в 2013-2015 гг., сейчас иностранные инвесторы более осторожно относятся, исходя из формальной механики принятия решений» — Каем Кирилл, Вице-президент, исполнительный директор кластера биомедицинских технологий, Фонд «Сколково».

Решения
Необходимо искать новые способы применения нейротехнологий

«Нужно значительно расширить полосу пропускания нашего общения с машиной, речь не идет об управлении автомобилем, а о широкой полосе пропускания, которая позволит интегрировать интеллект человека с машиной» — Каем Кирилл, Вице-президент, исполнительный директор кластера биомедицинских технологий, Фонд «Сколково».

Способы защиты данных должны постоянно развиваться

«Поскольку мы все больше и больше живем в цифровом мире, мы учимся постепенно свои персональные данные защищать» — Каем Кирилл, Вице-президент, исполнительный директор кластера биомедицинских технологий, Фонд «Сколково».

Искусственный интеллект предстоит развивать, не копируя человеческий

«На текущем понимании человеческих когнитивных процессов создать искусственный интеллект, полностью повторяющий, имитирующий человеческое мышление, невозможно. Мы с вами больше находимся в физическом мире, к осознанию себя мы приходим к определенному возрасту, и вот это постепенное формирование, выданное физическим миром, недоступно для обучения машин. Возможно, это и не нужно. Возможно, те механизмы и те правила, по которым работает искусственный интеллект, и те задачи прикладные, которые он должен решать, должны осуществляться по другому методу» — Каем Кирилл, Вице-президент, исполнительный директор кластера биомедицинских технологий, Фонд «Сколково».

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС