A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 126 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Inequality: A Barrier to Economic Growth
22 January 2020
12:00—13:00
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Inequality, on the one hand, incentivizes people to develop and, on the other hand, imposes constraints on most that hinder development. The most important way to fight inequality is to find the ‘golden mean’ between the ideas of capitalism and socialism, to ensure balance and sustainability of economic and social systems.

Inequality is not only a social problem, but also an acute political one. The perception of inequality is far more important than the numbers themselves and than all the practical efforts made by politicians and economists — Fyodor Lukyanov, Research Director, Foundation for Development and Support of the Valdai Discussion Club; Chief Editor, Russia in Global Affairs Journal.

There is a gap between wealth, values and opportunity. There is an internal conflict in this. And this phenomenon has been reproduced many times throughout human history — Ray Dalio, Founder, Chief Investment Officer, Bridgewater Associates.

Inequality is an economic problem, not just a social and political one. Mature companies create the rules of the game in order to control competition as much as possible. Global pseudomonopolism seriously constraints progress. Large platform solutions easily suppress competitors — Maxim Oreshkin, Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation (2016-2020).

Technologies help make people’s rights equal — Tigran Khudaverdyan, Managing Director, Yandex.

Balance and sustainability are key issues on the world agenda. The balance between consumption and investment is important — Maxim Oreshkin, Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation (2016-2020).

ISSUES
Inequality is an immanent part of human nature

The world is like a mechanism where people are chasing their interests. What matters is who makes the decisions and what they do in order to achieve their goals. Technology serves the economy, productivity and military power. <...> It is a power game — Ray Dalio, Founder, Chief Investment Officer, Bridgewater Associates.

Macroeconomic prerequisites for deepening inequality actually exist

The world lacks efficient long-term monetary policies. The interest rate around zero leads to the fact that the possibility of influencing the economy with monetary funds is significantly limited and the deficit is inevitable. A new major power, a third major power — China — is emerging to challenge the US, so conflict is inevitable — Ray Dalio, Founder, Chief Investment Officer, Bridgewater Associates.

In Russia, the level of inequality is unacceptable, and in recent years it has tended to decrease, but this is not happening fast enough — Maxim Oreshkin, Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation (2016-2020).

Capitalism is a system of chasing profits, which causes further income gaps. According to statistics, in the US 40% of the population, would not be able to attract USD 400 in case of emergency — Ray Dalio, Founder, Chief Investment Officer, Bridgewater Associates.

Technology can exacerbate inequality

We are witnessing technological protectionism from developed countries, which is blocking opportunities for education and obtaining technology. Companies that use AI can double their revenues in ten years. This process will be accompanied by an escalation of global social inequality. It has reached its highest levels since its last peak in the 30s and 40s of the last century — Maxim Oreshkin, Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation (2016-2020).

The globalization of platform solutions affects inclusiveness. Choosing a platform involves a choice of services and companies. Universal monopolization occurs, if there are no protective barriers. When choosing a platform, people are forced to choose a wide range of services. Russia is the first country where buying a phone, consumers can choose a search engine. Lack of this choice is a threat to services — Tigran Khudaverdyan, Managing Director, Yandex.

SOLUTIONS
Using macroeconomic regulation methods

It is important who gets the added value. In China and India, tens of millions of people have come out of poverty, and in the United States we witness a super concentration of income in companies. Unregulated monopolies are beginning to dominate, and they are not limited to just one country. Let’s introduce global regulation and taxation for global companies. Previously, regulation happened at the production location, now it is at the location of consumers. This is a challenge for the world economy for the next 5–10 years — Maxim Oreshkin, Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation (2016-2020).

Using new technologies and ensuring technological sovereignty

Uber and Grab platforms have completely transformed the logistics industry and made it easier to access. People have absolutely equal access to both jobs in the industry and services as consumers — Tigran Khudaverdyan, Managing Director, Yandex.

Russia has a full range of its own technologies. There are very few such countries. This is a very important component. Will Russia remain in the top league of IT technologies owners in 20 years? It is a question for the regulator. The Internet has become a part of life for millions of people. The lack of regulation is unacceptable, but freedom is necessary for development — Tigran Khudaverdyan, Managing Director, Yandex.

Working together to overcome inequalities

Technological inequalities leave entire countries behind in terms of development prospects. Social inequality has serious medium- and long-term consequences; it is a question of human capital quality, as well as access to education and equal opportunities. The whole world needs to work together to address the problems that hinder the development of equal opportunities — Maxim Oreshkin, Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation (2016-2020).

Global change in values

We have enough resources. It is important how we build relationships with each other to work efficiently — Ray Dalio, Founder, Chief Investment Officer, Bridgewater Associates.

The most important thing is to instill norms and values, and then comes education. The revolution of education is in the values and skills we teach. In the United States, the bigger the city, the better education. We have to fight it. Personal vested interests can also be a barrier to education and technology, such as the personal goals of the teachers’ union, which may be opposed to new methods in education — Ray Dalio, Founder, Chief Investment Officer, Bridgewater Associates.

Modernizing education

Technologies play a crucial role in fighting inequality in education — Maxim Oreshkin, Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation (2016-2020).

Our children will probably change occupations several times. One needs to get a good education, and technology becomes part of it, too. Let’s take Yandex Textbook platform. Small town kids can get a better education with them than without — Tigran Khudaverdyan, Managing Director, Yandex.

Reinterpreting the role of media and information

The media is becoming increasingly polarized and fragmented. There were 3 news channels in the middle of the last century, which united us. Back then, journalism meant a common approach to reporting, while now it is fragmented. The very nature of the media has changed: it used to be a means of communication, and now social networks are seen as an ideological tool. The main news is sensations, fake stories about cruelty and evil (fake news) — this is how opinions are formed — Ray Dalio, Founder, Chief Investment Officer, Bridgewater Associates.

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Неравенство как барьер экономического роста
22 января 2020
12:00—13:00
Ключевые выводы
Неравенство, с одной стороны, подталкивает людей к развитию, с другой — вводит для большинства ограничения, которые препятствуют этому развитию. Самый главный способ борьбы с неравенством — найти золотую середину между идеями капитализма и социализма, обеспечить сбалансированность и устойчивость экономической и социальной систем.

Неравенство — это проблема не только социальная, но и остро политическая. Восприятие этого неравенства оказывается гораздо важнее, чем собственно цифры и чем все те практические усилия, которые предпринимают политики и экономисты — Лукьянов Федор, Директор по научной работе, Фонд развития и поддержки международного дискуссионного клуба «Валдай»; главный редактор, Журнал «Россия в глобальной политике».

Существует разрыв богатств, ценностей и возможностей. В этом есть внутренний конфликт. И это явление многократно воспроизводится в течение человеческой истории — Далио Рей, Основатель, инвестиционный директор, Bridgewater Associates.

Неравенство — это экономическая проблема, а не только социальная и политическая. Зрелые компании выстраивают правила игры, чтобы максимально контролировать конкуренцию. Глобальный псевдомонополизм серьезно ограничивает движение вперед. Крупные платформенные решения легко подавляют конкурентов — Орешкин Максим, Министр экономического развития Российской Федерации (2016-2020 гг).

Технологии помогают выравнивать права людей — Худавердян Тигран, управляющий директор, Яндекс.

Ключевой вопрос мировой повестки — сбалансированность и устойчивость. Важен баланс между потреблением и инвестициями — Орешкин Максим, Министр экономического развития Российской Федерации (2016-2020 гг).

Проблемы
Неравенство имманентно, присуще человеческой природе

Мир похож на механизм, в котором люди гоняются за своими интересами. Важно то, кто принимает решения, и чем они займутся для того, чтобы добиться своих целей. Технологии служат экономике, продуктивности и военной мощи <...> Это игра во власть — Далио Рей, Основатель, инвестиционный директор, Bridgewater Associates.

Существуют объективные макроэкономические предпосылки углубления неравенства

В мире отсутствуют эффективные монетарные политики в долгосрочной перспективе. Учетная ставка в районе нуля процентов приводит к тому, что возможность влияния на экономику монетарными средствами существенно ограничена, а дефицит неизбежен. Появляется третья новая огромная держава — Китай, которая бросит вызов США, так что конфликт неизбежен — Далио Рей, Основатель, инвестиционный директор, Bridgewater Associates.

В России недопустимый уровень неравенства, за последние годы наметилась тенденция к его сокращению, но это происходит недостаточно быстро — Орешкин Максим, Министр экономического развития Российской Федерации (2016-2020 гг).

Капитализм — система погони за прибылью, что вызывает дальнейший разрыв в доходах. В США 40% населения, по данным статистики, не могли бы привлечь 400 долларов в кризисных ситуациях — Далио Рей, Основатель, инвестиционный директор, Bridgewater Associates.

Технологии могут усугубить неравенство

Мы наблюдаем технологический протекционизм со стороны развитых стран, которые закрывают возможность для образования, получения технологий. Компании, использующие ИИ, могут за 10 лет удвоить свою выручку. Этот процесс будет сопровождаться эскалацией глобального социального неравенства. Он достиг максимальных уровней с момента прошлого пика в 30–40-х гг. прошлого века — Орешкин Максим, Министр экономического развития Российской Федерации (2016-2020 гг).

Глобализация платформенных решений влияет на всеобщность. За выбором платформы тянется выбор сервисов, компаний. Если нет защитных барьеров, то происходит всеобщая монополизация. Люди, выбирая платформу, вынужденно выбирают и широкий набор сервисов. Россия — первая страна, где потребители, покупая телефон, могут выбрать поисковую систему. Если такого выбора нет — это угроза для сервисов — Худавердян Тигран, управляющий директор, Яндекс.

Решения
Использование методов макроэкономического регулирования

Важно, кому достается добавленная стоимость. В Китае и Индии десятки миллионов людей вышли из бедности, а в США мы наблюдаем сверхконцентрацию доходов у компаний. Нерегулируемые монополии начинают доминировать и не ограничиваются одной страной. Давайте вводить глобальное регулирование и налогообложение для глобальных компаний. Раньше было регулирование по месту производства, теперь оно переходит по месту расположения потребителей. Это вызов для мировой экономики на ближайшие 5–10 лет — Орешкин Максим, Министр экономического развития Российской Федерации (2016-2020 гг).

Использование новых технологий и обеспечение технологического суверенитета

Платформы Uber и Grab полностью трансформировали логистическую индустрию и облегчили доступ к ней. Люди получили абсолютно равный доступ как к получению работы в отрасли, так и к услугам в качестве потребителей — Худавердян Тигран, управляющий директор, Яндекс.

Россия обладает полным набором собственных технологий. Таких стран очень мало. Это очень важный компонент. Останется ли Россия в высшей лиге собственников IT-технологий через 20 лет? Здесь вопрос к регулятору. Интернет стал частью жизни миллионов людей, недопустимо отсутствие регулирования, но необходима свобода для развития — Худавердян Тигран, управляющий директор, Яндекс.

Совместная работа по преодолению неравенства

Технологическое неравенство оставляет за бортом целые страны с точки зрения перспектив развития. Социальное неравенство имеет серьезные среднесрочные и долгосрочные последствия, это вопрос качества человеческого капитала, доступа к образованию, равенства возможностей. Нужно всему миру совместно работать, чтобы снимать проблемы, которые мешают развитию равных возможностей — Орешкин Максим, Министр экономического развития Российской Федерации (2016-2020 гг).

Глобальное изменение ценностных ориентиров

У нас достаточно ресурсов, важно, как мы выстраиваем взаимоотношения друг с другом, чтобы работать эффективно — Далио Рей, Основатель, инвестиционный директор, Bridgewater Associates.

Самое главное — привить нормы и ценности, а потом уже образование. Революция образования — в ценностях и навыках, которым мы обучаем. В США чем больше город, тем лучше образование. С этим надо бороться. Личные корыстные интересы также могут являться барьером для развития образования и технологий, например, личные цели профсоюза учителей, который может быть против новых методик в образовании — Далио Рей, Основатель, инвестиционный директор, Bridgewater Associates.

Модернизация образования

В части выравнивания образования технологии играют решающую роль — Орешкин Максим, Министр экономического развития Российской Федерации (2016-2020 гг).

Наши дети, возможно, будут менять профессии несколько раз. Нужно получить хорошее образование, технологии приходят и сюда. Например, платформа Яндекс-учебника. Дети из малых городов могут получить лучшее образование, чем без них — Худавердян Тигран, управляющий директор, Яндекс.

Переосмысление роли СМИ и информации

СМИ становятся все более поляризованными и фрагментированными. В середине прошлого века было три новостных канала, это нас объединяло. Тогда журналистика означала общий подход к донесению информации, сейчас она фрагментирована. Сама природа СМИ изменилась: было средство коммуникации, сейчас социальные сети рассматриваются как идеологический инструмент. Главные новости — это сенсации, выдуманные истории о жестокости и зле (фейк-ньюс) — так формируется мнение — Далио Рей, Основатель, инвестиционный директор, Bridgewater Associates.