A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5,000 people working in Russia and abroad.

The Foundation works alongside various UN departments and other international organizations, and is building multi-format cooperation with 173 economic partners, including industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions, financial, trade, and business associations from 78 countries worldwide, and 188 Russian public organizations, federal and legislative agencies, and federal subjects.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian t.me/Roscongress, English – t.me/RoscongressDirect, and Spanish t.me/RoscongressEsp. Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Pathways for Sustainable Energy Transition in Asia-Pacific
12 October 2022
16:30—17:45
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Russia and Asia hold a key position in the global energy sector and have great potential

In order to enhance Russian–ASEAN research, technology and innovation cooperation, the year 2022 has been declared the Year of Science and Technology Cooperation between Russia and ASEAN, with a series of joint activities and the launch of a whole range of high-tech joint projects with partners from ASEAN countries. Russia and ASEAN countries can and should find solutions and tools of cooperation to jointly conduct substantive work within the energy and environmental agenda, ensuring conditions for sustainable socio-economic development — Ivan Polyakov, Chairman, Russia–ASEAN Business Council.

Asia-Pacific will play a critical role in the energy transition – it is the centre of global population growth. Asia-Pacific countries now account for more than half of the world’s energy consumption and also account for about 40% of total emissions. Many countries in the region have set targets to reach zero emissions by the middle of this century. More and more countries are becoming leaders in renewable energy use in our region — Liu Hongpeng, Director, Energy Division, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP); The Global Energy Prize Expert.

Natural gas remains a promising energy source for Asia-Pacific countries

According to a number of energy projections, the share of gas in the global fuel and energy mix is expected to increase from 23% to 26% by 2050, thanks to the abundance, affordability and environmental friendliness of natural gas. The highest growth in gas consumption is expected in Asia-Pacific due to the rapid growth of its economies — Alexey Kulapin, General Director, Russian Energy Agency (REA) of the Ministry of Energy of Russia.

The future of ASEAN and the ASEAN environment depends to a large extent on the prospects for an effective transition to cleaner energy sources. We believe that natural gas is the optimal, most realistic alternative as an energy source for industry and for transport — Carlos Sorreta, Foreign Affairs Undersecretary for Multilateral Affairs and International Economic Relations of the Republic of Philippines.

ISSUES
Negative impact of external factors on the Asia-Pacific energy market

The COVID-19 pandemic and the current geopolitical crisis can be seen in terms of the implications for the energy sector. The Asia-Pacific region, in our view, is not on track to meet SDG 7 [‘Ensure universal access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all’, one of the 17 UN Sustainable Development Goals, – Ed.] — Liu Hongpeng, Director, Energy Division, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP); The Global Energy Prize Expert.

Adequate foresight will enhance the investment attractiveness of energy projects in ASEAN countries. At a time when the global energy sector, the global fuel and energy complex is subject to such major changes, impacts, when we live in an era of new uncertainties and turbulence, an open and trusted dialogue is more important than ever — Alexey Kulapin, General Director, Russian Energy Agency (REA) of the Ministry of Energy of Russia.

High dependence on conventional energy resources in Asia-Pacific countries

We know that currently 60% of ASEAN countries’ energy needs are met by coal. But coal is something we have to get rid of — Nuki Agya Utama, Executive Director, ASEAN Centre for Energy.

We do not have the resources to satisfy our energy hunger. We are very dependent on diesel, and we still use coal. We use coal, among other things, to generate electricity, and this is certainly not an environmentally friendly approach. We are gradually trying to move towards more sustainable, more responsible energy consumption, but now, with global tensions, geopolitical tensions, it is quite difficult — Carlos Sorreta, Foreign Affairs Undersecretary for Multilateral Affairs and International Economic Relations of the Republic of Philippines.

SOLUTIONS
Increased introduction and use of new technologies in the energy sector

So how can the energy transition be achieved? This can only be achieved by implementing new approaches, introducing, disseminating new technological solutions, and by switching to new energy systems that reduce emissions into the atmosphere — Liu Hongpeng, Director, Energy Division, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP); The Global Energy Prize Expert.

How can we achieve zero carbon emissions? Any technology can be used that will allow us to achieve this goal. These are carbon capture technologies, hydrogen production technologies, and energy efficiency technologies — Branko Milicevic, Economic Affairs Officer of the Group of Experts on Gas, United Nations Economic Commission for Europe.

We are ready for open, trusting, and honest cooperation. We are prepared to provide technology and solutions. For our part, we are ready to participate in research — Vsevolod Gavrilov, Managing Director of the Center for Digital GR Initiatives, Sberbank.

Accelerating the transition to green energy sources

With regard to the prospects of natural gas, the use of renewable sources should be supported. Especially in view of the large-scale deployment of low-carbon development technology — Shixian Gao, Economic Advisor, Embassy of the People's Republic of China in the Russian Federation; Deputy Director General, Energy Research Institute (ERI) (2014–2022).

It is important, among other things, to develop renewable energy sources. Such as wind power, solar energy. It is also crucial to ensure efficient transmission and storage systems for this energy – all of which should enable us to make the most efficient use of new energy sources to meet our needs — Liu Hongpeng, Director, Energy Division, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP); The Global Energy Prize Expert.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, создан в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом.

Фонд взаимодействует со структурами ООН и другими международными организациями. Развивает многоформатное сотрудничество со 173 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 78 странах мира, со 188 российскими общественными организациями, федеральными органами исполнительной и законодательной власти, субъектами Российской Федерации.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp, на арабском языке – t.me/RosCongressArabic. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Пути энергетического перехода для стран АТР
12 октября 2022
16:30—17:45
Ключевые выводы
Россия и страны Азии занимают ключевое место в мировой энергетике и обладают большим потенциалом

С целью расширения российско-асеановского научно-технического и инновационного взаимодействия 2022 год объявлен Годом научно-технического сотрудничества России и АСЕАН, в рамках которого с партнерами из стран АСЕАН проводится серия совместных мероприятий и запускается целая линейка высокотехнологичных совместных проектов. Россия и страны АСЕАН могут и должны найти решение и инструменты взаимодействия, чтобы совместно проводить предметную работу в рамках энергетической и экологической повестке, обеспечивая условия для устойчивого социально-экономического развития», — председатель Делового совета «Россия — АСЕАН — Иван Поляков, Председатель, Деловой совет «Россия – АСЕАН».

АТР будет играть критически важную роль в энергетическом переходе — это центр роста народонаселения в мире. В настоящее время на страны АТР приходится более половины объема потребляемой в мире энергии, а также порядка 40% на него приходится от общих объемов выбросов в атмосферу. Многие страны региона поставили перед собой цель достичь нулевого выброса к середине текущего века. Все больше стран становятся лидерами в части использования возобновляемых источников энергии в нашем регионе — Лю Хунпэн, Директор отдела энергетики, Экономическая и социальная комиссия для Азии и Тихого океана Организации Объединенных Наций; эксперт премии «Глобальная энергия».

Природный газ остается перспективным источником энергии для стран АТР

По целому ряду прогнозов развития энергетики, к 2050 году ожидается увеличение доли газа в мировом топливно-энергетическом балансе — с 23% до 26% — благодаря изобилию природного газа, его доступности и экологичности. Наибольший рост потребления газа ожидается в странах Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона в связи со стремительным ростом развития экономики стран этого региона», — генеральный директор ФГБУ «Российское энергетическое агентство» (РЭА) Министерства энергетики России Алексей Кулапин. «Будущее АСЕАН и экологическая обстановка в АСЕАН во многом зависят от перспектив эффективного перехода к более чистым источникам энергии. Мы полагаем, что природный газ — это оптимальная, наиболее реалистичная альтернатива в качестве энергоносителя для промышленности и для транспорта — Карлос Соррета, Заместитель Министра иностранных дел по вопросам многосторонних связей и международных экономических отношений Республики Филиппины.

Проблемы
Негативное влияние внешних факторов на энергетический рынок стран АТР

Пандемия COVID-19, текущий геополитический кризис могут рассматриваться с точки зрения последствий для энергетического сектора. АТР, на наш взгляд, не выдерживает график, необходимый для достижения ЦУР-7 [«Обеспечение всеобщего доступа к недорогим, надежным, устойчивым и современным источникам энергии для всех», одна из 17 целей устойчивого развития ООН. — Ред.] — Лю Хунпэн, Директор отдела энергетики, Экономическая и социальная комиссия для Азии и Тихого океана Организации Объединенных Наций; эксперт премии «Глобальная энергия».

Адекватное прогнозирование позволит повысить инвестиционную привлекательность энергетических проектов в странах АСЕАН. Сегодня, когда мировая энергетика, мировой топливно-энергетический комплекс подвержены таким серьезным изменениям, воздействиям, когда мы живем в эпоху новой неопределенности и в эпоху турбулентности, открытый доверительный диалог важен как никогда — Алексей Кулапин, Генеральный директор, ФГБУ «Российское энергетическое агентство» (РЭА) Минэнерго России.

Высокая зависимость стран АТР от традиционных энергоресурсов

Мы знаем, что в настоящее время 60% потребности [в энергии стран АСЕАН. — Ред.] покрывается за счет угля. Однако уголь — это то, от чего мы должны избавиться — Нуки Агуя Утама, Исполнительный директор, Центр энергетики АСЕАН.

Мы не располагаем ресурсами для того, чтобы удовлетворить наш энергетический голод. Мы очень сильно зависим от дизельного топлива, по-прежнему используем уголь. Мы используем уголь в том числе для генерации электроэнергии, и, безусловно, это отнюдь не экологичных подход. Мы постепенно стараемся перейти к более экологически устойчивому, более ответственному энергопотреблению, но теперь, в условиях глобальной напряженности, геополитической напряженности, все это достаточно сложно — Карлос Соррета, Заместитель Министра иностранных дел по вопросам многосторонних связей и международных экономических отношений Республики Филиппины.

Решения
Более активное внедрение и использование новых технологий в энергетике

Как же обеспечить энергетический переход? Решить эту задачу можно только благодаря реализации новых подходов, внедрению, распространению новых технологических решений, а также благодаря переходу на новые энергетические системы, сокращающие объем выбросов в атмосферу — Лю Хунпэн, Директор отдела энергетики, Экономическая и социальная комиссия для Азии и Тихого океана Организации Объединенных Наций; эксперт премии «Глобальная энергия».

Как добиться нулевого выброса углерода? Любые технологии могут использоваться, которые позволят нам достичь этой цели. Это технологии улавливания углерода, технологии производства водорода, технологии энергоэффективности — Бранко Миличевич, Сотрудник по экономическим вопросам группы экспертов по газу, Европейская экономическая комиссия Организации Объединенных Наций.

Мы готовы к открытому, доверительному, честному сотрудничеству. Готовы предоставить технологии, решения. Мы со своей стороны готовы принять участие в исследованиях — Всеволод Гаврилов, Управляющий директор центра цифровых GR инициатив, Сбербанк.

Ускорение перехода на экологичные источники энергии

Что касается перспектив использования природного газа в будущем, использование возобновляемых источников должно поддерживаться. Особенно с учетом масштабного развертывания технологии низкоуглеродного развития — Шисян Гао, Советник по экономике, Посольство Китайской Народной Республики в Российской Федерации; заместитель генерального директора, Научно-исследовательский институт энергетики (2014–2022 гг.).

Важно в том числе развивать возобновляемые источники энергии. Такие, как ветровая энергия, энергия солнца. Кроме того, крайне важно обеспечить эффективные системы передачи и хранения этой энергии — все это должно позволить нам эффективнейшим образом использовать новые источники энергии для удовлетворения наших потребностей — Лю Хунпэн, Директор отдела энергетики, Экономическая и социальная комиссия для Азии и Тихого океана Организации Объединенных Наций; эксперт премии «Глобальная энергия».

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС