A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
The Impact of Europe’s Green Pivot on Russian-European Cooperation in Energy
13 October 2021
09:00—10:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
The Russian Federation has a good background for attaining carbon neutrality

Even today, the fuel and power energy balance in Russia follows the low carbon logic of the future. Over half of the internal consumption in our country is that of gas, which is the most environmentally-friendly type of mineral fuel. In the production breakdown, the share of low carbon sources is over 80% and fully non-carbon sources, such as hydro stations, nuclear stations, sunlight and wind comprise over 40% — Alexey Kulapin, General Director, Russian Energy Agency (REA) of the Ministry of Energy of Russia.

Just as other trade partners, such as Korea, China and other countries, Russia has undertaken to reach carbon neutrality by 2050 — Markus Ederer, Ambassador of the European Union to the Russian Federation.

Of course this means new opportunities for new products. Frankly, we have financed about 60% of the renewable energy volume in the country, that is around 200 billion roubles and we have begun doing it before the public discussion on energy transfer became active — Aleksey Matveev, Deputy Chairman of the Board, Gazprombank.

ISSUES
Russian exporters do not fully understand the requirements of European partners that are changing due to carbon neutrality trends

Additional risks for Russian exporters are related to the absence of any carbon footprint tracking system whatsoever, which is why European regulators have grounds to assess the carbon intensity of Russian products using the highest, most rigid standards. These risks may be offset if a national system of carbon regulations harmonized with global standards is developed — Alexey Kulapin, General Director, Russian Energy Agency (REA) of the Ministry of Energy of Russia.

What has happened with the European carbon tax just now has brought in a lot of uncertainty for the next 2–3 years, until these points are all reviewed, regulated and some types of agreements are reached. Under these circumstances, it is very difficult to presume and expect that European companies will seriously consider long-terms projects and investments on the Russian market — Aleksey Matveev, Deputy Chairman of the Board, Gazprombank.

The key point that worries businesses is to what extent is the mechanism directed toward countering climate change and reducing carbon intensity and to what extent is it directed toward redistribution of capital, — Sergey Tverdokhleb, Deputy General Director for Special Projects and External Relations, MCC EuroChem.

SOLUTIONS
Mutual development of carbon emission management systems

Even now we are working on obtaining the status of carbon emission verifier, an authorized agency that confirms the volume of emissions. In the long run, we see the need for accreditation in the European systems of greenhouse gas emission verification and we are open for discussions on this subject with our western partners, including European business associations. This work is important for possible future mutual acceptance of the Russian system in Europe and the European one in Russia — Alexey Kulapin, General Director, Russian Energy Agency (REA) of the Ministry of Energy of Russia.

The only purpose for the mechanism of trans-border adjustment is in avoiding carbon leakage. We would not want European companies to flow into those jurisdiction where the legislative measures for regulating carbon footprint are less strict and where they would take their manufacturing and produce their carbon intensive products — Markus Ederer, Ambassador of the European Union to the Russian Federation.

Development of new carbon recycling and hydrogen fuel technologies

Let us not forget carbon gas capture and storage opportunities while we wait for those technologies that will help us take advantage of it. Very interesting technologies are coming up, such as, for example, gas mineralization for use in cement production — Giuseppe Ricci, Chief Operating Officer Energy Evolution, Eni.

We were talking about green hydrogen, which is the preferred type of hydrogen in Europe. I think, however, that if we had the right technologies we could use not only gas, but also blue hydrogen. Russia has excellent opportunities for doing this: there is infrastructure, transportation routes and so on. It may become yet another export product for Russia — Markus Ederer, Ambassador of the European Union to the Russian Federation.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 160 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Влияние европейского «зеленого» курса на российско-европейское сотрудничество в области энергетики
13 октября 2021
09:00—10:15
Ключевые выводы
РФ имеет хорошие предпосылки для достижения углеродной нейтральности

Уже сегодня топливно-энергетический и электроэнергетический баланс России в целом соответствует логике низкоуглеродного будущего. Более половины внутреннего потребления в нашей стране приходится на газ, а это наиболее экологически чистый вид ископаемого топлива. В структуре выработки доля низкоуглеродных источников составляет более 80%, а полностью безуглеродные источники, такие как гидростанции, атомные станции, солнце и ветер, составляют более 40% — Кулапин Алексей, Генеральный директор, ФГБУ «Российское энергетическое агентство» (РЭА) Минэнерго России.

Россия, как и другие торговые партнеры, такие как Корея, Китай и другие страны, приняли на себя обязательства по достижению углеродной нейтральности к 2050 году — Эдерер Маркус, Посол Европейского союза в Российской Федерации.

Конечно, это новые возможности по новым продуктам. Откровенно говоря, по возобновлению энергетики мы профинансировали примерно 60% объемов в стране, это порядка 200 млрд рублей, и начали это делать до активного публичного обсуждения темы энергоперехода — Матвеев Алексей, Заместитель председателя правления, «Газпромбанк» (Акционерное общество).

Проблемы
Российские экспортеры плохо понимают меняющиеся в связи с трендом на углеродную нейтральность требования европейских партнеров

Дополнительные риски для российских экспортеров связаны сегодня с отсутствием в России какой-либо системы учета углеродного следа, из-за чего у европейских регуляторов появляется основание оценивать углеродоемкость российской продукции по верхней, самой жесткой планке. Нивелировать эти риски поможет разработка национальной системы углеродного регулирования и ее гармонизация с мировыми стандартами — Кулапин Алексей, Генеральный директор, ФГБУ «Российское энергетическое агентство» (РЭА) Минэнерго России.

То, что сейчас произошло с европейским углеродным налогом, внесло большую неопределенность на следующие 2–3 года, до тех пор, пока эти моменты не будут согласованы, отрегулированы и достигнуты какие-то договоренности. В этой ситуации крайне сложно предполагать и ожидать, что европейские компании будут рассматривать серьезным образом долгосрочные проекты и инвестиции с российским рынком — Матвеев Алексей, Заместитель председателя правления, «Газпромбанк» (Акционерное общество).

Ключевой момент, который волнует бизнес, — это то, в какой степени все-таки механизм направлен действительно на борьбу с изменением климата и снижение углородоемкости, а в какой степени — на передел капиталов — Твердохлеб Сергей, Заместитель генерального директора по специальным проектам и внешним связям, АО «МХК «ЕвроХим».

Решения
Взаимное развитие систем учета и контроля углеродных выбросов

Уже сейчас мы проводим работы по получению статуса верификатора выбросов углерода — уполномоченного органа, который подтверждает объем выбросов. В перспективе мы видим необходимость получения аккредитации в европейских системах верификации выбросов парниковых газов и открыты к обсуждению данной тематики с нашими западными партнерами, в том числе и с ассоциациями европейского бизнеса. И эта работа важна в части возможного будущего взаимного признания российской системы в Европе, а европейской — в России — Кулапин Алексей, Генеральный директор, ФГБУ «Российское энергетическое агентство» (РЭА) Минэнерго России.

Единственная цель механизма трансграничной корректировки заключается в том, чтобы избежать утечки углерода. Мы не хотели бы, чтобы европейские компании перетекали в те юрисдикции, где на самом деле соответствующие законодательные меры по регулированию углеродного следа менее жесткие, и соответственно, они будут переводить свои производства туда и будут производить свою более углеродоемкую продукцию там — Эдерер Маркус, Посол Европейского союза в Российской Федерации.

Развитие новых технологий, связанных с утилизацией углекислого газа и водородным топливом

Не будем забывать о возможности утилизации углекислого газа и его хранения в ожидании тех технологий, которые помогут нам его выгодно использовать. Очень интересные технологии появляются — это, например, минерализация газа, чтобы использовать его в производстве цемента — Риччи Джузеппе, Главный операционный директор по энергетической эволюции, Eni.

Мы говорили о „зеленом“ водороде — это предпочитаемый вид водорода в Европе. Но я думаю, что, имея соответствующие технологии, мы задействуем не только газ, но и „голубой“ водород. В России есть великолепные возможности для этого — инфраструктура, транспортные маршруты и так далее. Возможно, это будет еще один экспортный товар для России — Эдерер Маркус, Посол Европейского союза в Российской Федерации.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС