A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 130 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 70 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
It's More Than Just Football: Realizing the Opportunities of World Cup 2018
24 January 2018
17:00
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Hosting the FIFA World Cup 2018 will have significant positive impact on the economic and social development of the Russian cities

“The World Cup will be hosted by 11 cities; according to various estimates, the costs of the Russian Federation for preparation amounted to about 620–640 billion roubles; some estimates were 500 billion roubles. But it is not only the reconstruction of sports facilities: it is the development of transport infrastructure, construction of new airports, modernization of public transport, social infrastructure,” — Sergei Cheryomin, Head of Department for Foreign Economic Activity and International Relations, Moscow City Government; Chairman of the Board, Business Council for Cooperation with the Republic of India.

“From the economic standpoint, there are three aspects. First of all, the infrastructure. The second effect is the impact of sports on the economy. All of this requires a scientific, analytical approach. The industry of sports, football in particular, has become so huge… The third aspect <…> is the socio-economic impact, <…> the impact that the World Cup will have on youth football, on development of football, on involvement of people into sports activities,” — Shlomo Weber, Rector, Academic Head, Center for the Study of Diversity and Social Interactions, New Economic School; Professor, Southern Methodist University.

“The infrastructure is being created; the fact that the tournament is hosted by different cities is very good for our country, <...> because different economic aspects are involved, particularly road construction, infrastructure, ways of connecting different regions, ways for entrepreneurs to earn money are being created,” — Alexander Ivlev, Country Managing Partner for Russia, EY.

“The World Cup will be hosted by 11 cities, which will allow foreign visitors not only to see Moscow and St. Petersburg, but to visit the Russian regions as well,” — Victoria Lopyreva, Ambassador of the FIFA World Cup 2018.

“Speaking of what we can achieve, above all, it is the development of foreign trade; entrepreneurship will develop in different segments: trade, souvenirs, merchandise, food, transportation, guide services, accommodation. All that means small and medium-sized enterprises can make money,” — Alexander Ivlev, Country Managing Partner for Russia, EY.

“When fans arrive to see a football game, they stay at hotels, they visit restaurants, they order food; that leads to development of small and medium-sized businesses,” — Victoria Lopyreva, Ambassador of the FIFA World Cup 2018.

“An event of a grand scale, such as the World Cup or the Olympic Games, takes up a small place in the entire country’s economy. According to some estimates, the World Cup in 2014 allowed to increase Brazil’s GDP by 0.6%. It will have a much greater effect on development of particular economy sectors. Spendings of some 700,000 foreign visitors is estimated at around 2 billion euros. For comparison, 310,000 people arrived to South Africa for the World Cup,” — Victoria Lopyreva, Ambassador of the FIFA World Cup 2018.

“Several years ago, in accordance with the targeted government programmes, Moscow did the same, not only getting ready for the World Cup, of course, because the infrastructure would later be used for citizens, tourists, and guests of the capital city, who arrive in huge numbers,” — Sergei Cheryomin, Head of Department for Foreign Economic Activity and International Relations, Moscow City Government; Chairman of the Board, Business Council for Cooperation with the Republic of India.

Russian cities are ready to host the World Cup 2018

“In the process of preparation for the World Cup, hundreds of kilometers of new highways have been built in the City of Moscow… In Moscow, a unique smart city transportation system has been created, which will provide analytics during the World Cup. In Moscow, measures have been taken to make public transport comfortable, with navigation in four languages. High-speed Wi-Fi is available in public transport. We were the first city in the world to launch broadband Wi-Fi in subway trains. Today, Wi-Fi can be used not only in buses, trolleys, trams. We won the award for development of Wi-Fi availability in the city overall, not just in parks and public places. This creates eco-environment which allows, among other things, to ensure security,” — Sergei Cheryomin, Head of Department for Foreign Economic Activity and International Relations, Moscow City Government; Chairman of the Board, Business Council for Cooperation with the Republic of India.

“We invested a lot in creating the most modern engineering systems. It is not only video surveillance in stadiums or in places where fans are going to be gathering. It is the integrated system of video cameras and sensors. The stadiums are equipped with the most modern systems of access control, detection of hazardous chemicals, various weapons,” — Sergei Cheryomin, Head of Department for Foreign Economic Activity and International Relations, Moscow City Government; Chairman of the Board, Business Council for Cooperation with the Republic of India.

“Modernization of the industrial areas is a very interesting investment. One of the flagship stadiums hosting the World Cup is Otkritie Arena (Spartak Stadium)… It was built on the site of the old Tushino airfield. It used to be a depressive industrial site… Today, there is a lot of construction going on, with the intention to build 40 million square meters of real estate,” — Sergei Cheryomin, Head of Department for Foreign Economic Activity and International Relations, Moscow City Government; Chairman of the Board, Business Council for Cooperation with the Republic of India.

“An example [of successful foreign investment] is the construction of the unique sports stadium and business district, together with the reconstruction of the park: the Dynamo Stadium (VTB Arena). The project is unique because it is developed under the brand Made by Italy, in cooperation with VTB Bank, and one of the main investors is the Italian export agency SACE,” — Sergei Cheryomin, Head of Department for Foreign Economic Activity and International Relations, Moscow City Government; Chairman of the Board, Business Council for Cooperation with the Republic of India.

“Moscow is really becoming a comfortable city. It is poised to contribute to hosting the World Cup at the finest level. Our practice run was last year’s FIFA Confederations Cup, which was a great success,” — Sergei Cheryomin, Head of Department for Foreign Economic Activity and International Relations, Moscow City Government; Chairman of the Board, Business Council for Cooperation with the Republic of India.

Holding the largest international sports events has significant impact on development of human capital

“The huge soft effect – the soft skills – is how many people will learn English, learn how to work with clients. People will grow professionally, and we will have a large number of people who can work with clients at a high international level,” — Alexander Ivlev, Country Managing Partner for Russia, EY.

“The most important legacy of such events is the people. Later on, the people will be employed, and they will be shaping the image of our country in the future, and they will be responsible for how our country is perceived in the future,” — Victoria Lopyreva, Ambassador of the FIFA World Cup 2018.

“Whenever the World Cup takes place, it results in infrastructure improvement, more attention is paid to healthy lifestyle, and to involving young people into sports. <…> That has to do with making the nation healthier,” — Alexander Ivlev, Country Managing Partner for Russia, EY.

ISSUES
The largest sports events in many cases have short-term positive effect

“But the effect will be short-term. If you look at the past examples, there was the World Cup in Germany in 2006. Three quarters of tourists who came to the World Cup went to Germany for the first time. 88% of tourists said they would bring their friends to show Germany to them, thus, there is the effect of tourism. In the second quarter of 2006 the German economy grew by 2.4% faster compared to other periods of time when there was no World Cup,” — Alexander Ivlev, Country Managing Partner for Russia, EY.

SOLUTIONS
Major international sports events increase investment appeal of the host cities

“All of those [completed infrastructure works] influenced the rankings of appeal. Moscow is among the leaders in terms of upgrade, <…> there was a very strong upgrade in the World Bank’s Doing Business Report. According to PwC estimates in their evaluation of seven fast-growing world cities, Moscow is number one in terms of transport infrastructure development (and this particularly contributes to the fact that it can host major international events, including sports tournaments), development sustainability, the level of security (Moscow is one of the safest cities in Europe today). The appeal resulted in more foreign investment, on top of the government budget funds. Thanks to the city policies and appropriate legislation, the investment climate overall has become very appealing. Despite the sanctions in place, the level of foreign investment in the Moscow economy, including sports infrastructure, continues to grow,” — Sergei Cheryomin, Head of Department for Foreign Economic Activity and International Relations, Moscow City Government; Chairman of the Board, Business Council for Cooperation with the Republic of India.

Development of the sports economy is needed

“Speaking about NHL and the American football and basketball leagues, each team has a research department: <…> both statistics and analytics. The sports economy is becoming very important,” — Shlomo Weber, Rector, Academic Head, Center for the Study of Diversity and Social Interactions, New Economic School; Professor, Southern Methodist University.

“We can achieve good results with the football economy in Russia,” — Shlomo Weber, Rector, Academic Head, Center for the Study of Diversity and Social Interactions, New Economic School; Professor, Southern Methodist University.

“From a practical standpoint, the understanding of this issue [deepening the interaction of scientists and economists with football] is not growing as fast <…> in Europe and around the world. In North America, statistics and analytics dominate. Of course, that is a thing of the future, inevitably. I hope that it will happen here too,” — Shlomo Weber, Rector, Academic Head, Center for the Study of Diversity and Social Interactions, New Economic School; Professor, Southern Methodist University.

There is a successful experience of using the legacy of mega events abroad

“The best example outside of Russia is Barcelona. The effect they have received is 50 years of sustainable economic growth. The infrastructure that allows to develop small and medium-sized businesses was created, they attracted a large number of tourists; people came, they saw the city of Barcelona, and they realized that it is a comfortable city for living, a place where the sea is nearby, where one can go to the beach, enjoy modern life, restaurants, infrastructure for recreation; prices on property after the [Olympic] Games went up dramatically, people started buying real estate, companies and businesses went there. The entire infrastructure that has been built is used 100%,” — Alexander Ivlev, Country Managing Partner for Russia, EY.

The World Cup legacy must be used in coordination with the plans for development of tourism

“Successful operation of the facilities after the World Cup involves hosting world-class events further on, which would not be possible without stable tourist influx,” — Victoria Lopyreva, Ambassador of the FIFA World Cup 2018.

FIFA World Cup will be an opportunity to improve Russia’s image in the world

“The image of Russia that is going to be created during the World Cup can greatly shift the way that the world perceives Russia. It would be a very important legacy, if it can be achieved,” — Alexis Rodzianko, President, American Chamber of Commerce in Russia.

“Even such large-scale event as the World Cup will not solve all of the problems, but it will provide a step forward,” — Alexis Rodzianko, President, American Chamber of Commerce in Russia.

“The multiplication from changing Russia’s image, from attracting more people to Russia and from changing the way that Russia is perceived – that would probably be the biggest multiplier,” — Alexis Rodzianko, President, American Chamber of Commerce in Russia.

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Не только футбол. Как реализовать возможности чемпионата мира
24 Января 2018
17:00
Ключевые выводы
Проведение Чемпионата мира по футболу — 2018 окажет значительное позитивное влияние на развитие российских городов и регионов в экономической и социальной сферах

«Чемпионат мира пройдет в 11 городах; по разным оценкам, затраты Российской Федерации на подготовку составили, по разным источникам, около 620—640 миллиардов рублей; кто-то дает цифру 500 миллиардов рублей. Но это не только реконструкция спортивных объектов, это подготовка транспортной инфраструктуры, строительство новых аэропортов, модернизация общественного транспорта, социальной инфраструктуры» — Черемин Сергей, Министр, руководитель департамента внешнеэкономических и международных связей, Правительство Москвы; председатель правления, Деловой совет по сотрудничеству с Индией.

«С экономической точки зрения есть три момента. Прежде всего — инфраструктура. Второй эффект — влияние на экономику спорта. Тут нужен научный, аналитический подход ко всему этому. Индустрия спорта, футбола в частности, стала такой огромной… Третий момент — <…> социально-экономическое влияние, <…> какое влияние чемпионат мира окажет на юношеский футбол, на развитие футбола, вовлечение населения в спортивную деятельность» — Вебер Шломо, Ректор, Российская экономическая школа.

«Создается инфраструктура; то, что проводится чемпионат в различных городах — это очень хорошо для нашей страны, <…> потому что подключаются различные экономические аспекты, в частности — строительство дорог, инфраструктура, способы соединения различных территорий, создается возможность для предпринимателей находить способы зарабатывать деньги» — Ивлев Александр, Управляющий партнер, EY в России.

«Чемпионат мира пройдет в 11 городах, что позволит иностранным гостям не просто посмотреть Москву и Санкт-Петербург, а посмотреть еще и регионы» — Лопырева Виктория, Виктория Лопырева, Посол Чемпионата мира по футболу-2018.

«Если говорить о том, что мы можем достичь, это, прежде всего, развитие внешней торговли; будет развиваться предпринимательство в разных сегментах: торговля, сувенирная продукция, атрибутика, питание, транспорт, услуги гидов, размещение — всё это малые и средние предприятия, которые могут зарабатывать деньги» — Ивлев Александр, Управляющий партнер, EY в России.

«Приезжая на футбол, болельщик останавливается в отеле, ходит в рестораны, заказывает еду — это развитие среднего и малого бизнеса» — Лопырева Виктория, Виктория Лопырева, Посол Чемпионата мира по футболу-2018.

«Масштабное мероприятие, как Чемпионат мира или Олимпийские игры, занимает небольшое место в экономике целого государства. По ряду оценок, Чемпионат мира в 2014 году позволил увеличить ВВП Бразилии на 0,6%. Для развития отдельных отраслей экономики это будет гораздо больший эффект. Затраты порядка 700 тысяч иностранных гостей оцениваются приблизительно в 2 миллиарда евро. Для сравнения: на Чемпионат мира в Южную Африку приехало 310 тысяч человек» — Лопырева Виктория, Виктория Лопырева, Посол Чемпионата мира по футболу-2018.

«Москва несколько лет назад в соответствии с целевыми государственными программами делала то же самое, не только, конечно, готовясь к Чемпионату мира по футболу, потому что эта инфраструктура в последующем будет использоваться и для горожан, и для туристов, и для гостей столицы, которые приезжают сегодня в огромном количестве» — Черемин Сергей, Министр, руководитель департамента внешнеэкономических и международных связей, Правительство Москвы; председатель правления, Деловой совет по сотрудничеству с Индией.

Российские города готовы к приему Чемпионата мира по футболу — 2018

«Готовясь к Чемпионату мира, в городе [Москве] построены сотни километров новых автомагистралей… В Москве создана уникальная интеллектуальная транспортная система города, которая будет предоставлять аналитику при проведении Чемпионата мира. В Москве предприняты меры, чтобы создать комфортный публичный транспорт, будет предоставляться навигация на четырех языках. В публичном транспорте работает скоростной Wi-Fi. Мы были первым в мире городом, который запустил широкополосный Wi-Fi в поездах метрополитена. Сегодня Wi-Fi можно пользоваться не только в автобусах, троллейбусах, трамваях. Мы получили первую премию за развитие Wi-Fi вообще в городе, это не только парки и общественные места. Это создает экосреду, в том числе для обеспечения безопасности» — Черемин Сергей, Министр, руководитель департамента внешнеэкономических и международных связей, Правительство Москвы; председатель правления, Деловой совет по сотрудничеству с Индией.

«Мы очень много проинвестировали в создание самых современных инженерных систем. Это не только видеонаблюдение на стадионах или в местах, где будет скопление болельщиков. Это интегрированные в одну систему видеокамеры, датчики, сенсоры. На стадионах установлены самые современные системы контроля доступа, обнаружения опасных химических веществ, различного оружия» — Черемин Сергей, Министр, руководитель департамента внешнеэкономических и международных связей, Правительство Москвы; председатель правления, Деловой совет по сотрудничеству с Индией.

«Очень интересные инвестиции — это модернизация наших промышленных зон. Один из флагманских стадионов, принимающих Чемпионат мира по футболу — это стадион „Открытие Арена“ (Стадион „Спартак“)… Он построен на площадке старого аэродрома Тушино. Это депрессивная индустриальная была площадка… Сегодня там огромное строительство, предполагающее строительство 40 млн кв. м. недвижимости» — Черемин Сергей, Министр, руководитель департамента внешнеэкономических и международных связей, Правительство Москвы; председатель правления, Деловой совет по сотрудничеству с Индией.

«Пример [успешных иностранных инвестиций] — строительство уникального спортивного стадиона и бизнес-квартала вместе с реконструкцией парка — это „Динамо“ („ВТБ Арена“). Проект уникален тем, что он делается под брендом Made by Italy, совместно с банком ВТБ, и одним из основных инвесторов выступает экспортное агентство Италии SACE» — Черемин Сергей, Министр, руководитель департамента внешнеэкономических и международных связей, Правительство Москвы; председатель правления, Деловой совет по сотрудничеству с Индией.

«Москва реально становится комфортным городом. Это не могло не сказаться в том числе и на том, что мы будем достойно принимать Чемпионат мира. Первой тренировкой был Кубок конфедераций, который прошел очень успешно в прошлом году» — Черемин Сергей, Министр, руководитель департамента внешнеэкономических и международных связей, Правительство Москвы; председатель правления, Деловой совет по сотрудничеству с Индией.

Проведение крупнейших международных спортивных мероприятий оказывает значительное влияние на развитие человеческого капитала

«Большой мягкий эффект — soft skills — какое количество людей будет изучать английский язык, научатся работать с клиентами. Люди профессионально будут расти, и у нас появится большой слой людей, которые могут работать с клиентами на высоком международном уровне» — Ивлев Александр, Управляющий партнер, EY в России.

«Самое главное наследие, которое оставляют такие события — это люди. Впоследствии эти люди будут трудоустроены, и потом они будут в будущем формировать имидж нашей страны и отвечать за то, какой нашу страну увидят в будущем» — Лопырева Виктория, Виктория Лопырева, Посол Чемпионата мира по футболу-2018.

«Каждый раз, когда проходит чемпионат, улучшается инфраструктура, начинает больше внимания уделяться здоровому образу жизни, вовлечению молодежи в спорт. <…> Эти вещи связаны с тем, чтобы создавать здоровую нацию» — Ивлев Александр, Управляющий партнер, EY в России.

Проблемы
Крупнейшие спортивные соревнования оказывают, во многих случаях, краткосрочный положительный эффект

«Но эффект будет краткосрочный. Если посмотреть на примеры, которые были в прошлом — это Чемпионат мира по футболу в Германии в 2006 году. Три четверти туристов, которые приехали в Германию, приехали именно на чемпионат впервые. 88% этих туристов сказали, что они привезут своих друзей, чтобы показать Германию, то есть — эффект от туризма. Экономика Германии во втором квартале 2006 года росла на 2,4% больше, чем в аналогичные периоды, когда не было чемпионата» — Ивлев Александр, Управляющий партнер, EY в России.

Решения
Проведение крупных международных спортивных событий способствует повышению инвестиционной привлекательности городов

«Все это [проведенные инфраструктурные работы] сказалось на рейтингах привлекательности. Сегодня Москва — один из лидеров по апгрейду, <…> нас очень серьезно подняли такие организации, как World Bank в рейтинге Doing Business. По оценкам PwC, который проводил оценку семи развивающихся быстрыми темпами мегаполисов мира, Москва заняла первое место по показателям развития транспортной инфраструктуры (а это как раз влияет на то, что здесь могут проводиться и крупнейшие международные мероприятия, в том числе чемпионаты), по устойчивости развития, уровню безопасности (Москва сегодня — один из самых безопасных городов Европы). Эта привлекательность отразилась на том, что в спортивную инфраструктуру начали вкладывать не только бюджетные средства, но и средства иностранных инвесторов. В целом, инвестиционный климат благодаря политике города, благодаря тому, что принимается комфортное законодательство, — он стал очень привлекательным. Несмотря на существующие санкции, уровень иностранных инвестиций в московскую экономику продолжает расти, в том числе и в спортивную инфраструктуру» — Черемин Сергей, Министр, руководитель департамента внешнеэкономических и международных связей, Правительство Москвы; председатель правления, Деловой совет по сотрудничеству с Индией.

Необходимо развитие экономики спорта

«Если мы говорим про НХЛ и американские футбольные, баскетбольные лиги — в каждой команде есть исследовательский департамент: <…> и статистика, и аналитика. Экономика спорта становится очень важной» — Вебер Шломо, Ректор, Российская экономическая школа.

«С экономикой футбола в России тоже можно добиться результатов» — Вебер Шломо, Ректор, Российская экономическая школа.

«С практической точки зрения понимание этого вопроса [углубление взаимодействия ученых-экономистов с футболом] растет <…> в мире, в Европе еще не достаточно. В Северной Америке статистика и аналитика доминируют. Безусловно, это вещь будущего, [она] неизбежна. Надеюсь, что и здесь это произойдет» — Вебер Шломо, Ректор, Российская экономическая школа.

За рубежом существует успешный опыт использования наследия мегасобытий

«Лучший зарубежный пример — Барселона. Эффект, который они получили, — это 50 лет прогнозируемого экономического роста. Была создана инфраструктура, которая позволяет развивать малый и средний бизнес, они привлекли большое количество туристов, то есть люди приехали, посмотрели на город Барселону и поняли, что это комфортный город для жизни, это место, где рядом море, можно пойти на пляж, есть современная жизнь, рестораны, инфраструктура для отдыха; цены на недвижимость после проведения [Олимпийских] игр пошли вверх просто катастрофически, люди стали покупать недвижимость, туда пошли компании, пошел бизнес. Вся построенная инфраструктура используется на 100%» — Ивлев Александр, Управляющий партнер, EY в России.

Использование наследия Чемпионата мира по футболу необходимо согласовывать с планами развития туристской деятельности

«Успешное функционирование объектов после Чемпионата мира предполагает дальнейшее проведение событий мирового уровня, что невозможно без хорошо налаженного туристического потока» — Лопырева Виктория, Виктория Лопырева, Посол Чемпионата мира по футболу-2018.

Чемпионат мира по футболу даст возможность развития положительного имиджа России в мире

«Имидж России, который будет создан во время Чемпионата мира, он очень сильно может сдвинуть то, как мир смотрит на Россию. Это очень важное наследие, если этого можно добиться» — Родзянко Алексис, Президент, Американская торговая палата в России.

«Даже таким масштабным мероприятием, как Чемпионат мира, все проблемы не решатся — но будет сделан шаг вперед» — Родзянко Алексис, Президент, Американская торговая палата в России.

«Та мультипликация, которая будет от изменения имиджа России, от того, что Россия может привлечь больше народа к себе и по-другому на Россию будут смотреть, — это, наверное, главный мультипликатор» — Родзянко Алексис, Президент, Американская торговая палата в России.