A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5,000 people working in Russia and abroad.

The Foundation works alongside various UN departments and other international organizations, and is building multi-format cooperation with 173 economic partners, including industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions, financial, trade, and business associations from 78 countries worldwide, and 188 Russian public organizations, federal and legislative agencies, and federal subjects.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian t.me/Roscongress, English – t.me/RoscongressDirect, and Spanish t.me/RoscongressEsp. Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
New Time for Diplomacy
8 September 2022
10:00—11:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
New times – new diplomacy

Without strengthening the supporting pillars of diplomacy, meaning the norms and principles of international law, without a return to normal diplomatic communication, it will be very difficult for us to come to agreements in this new world, about this new time, about how we will live. And for this to happen, and this has been known for centuries, diplomacy is needed and diplomats are needed who, despite all the severity of tensions, sit down at the table, start talking, and are able to negotiate — Kirill Barsky, Acting Head of the Department of Diplomacy, Moscow State Institute of International Relations.

In terms of what is happening now: a huge number of factors are trying to divide us. We have all recently experienced Covid restrictions, when a vast number of international relationships were in fact frozen, and logistics and trade and economic relations were largely put on hold, but diplomacy did not stay silent. And this is correct. Because, as it has absolutely correctly been said, diplomacy is the oldest profession. Because this is the state of mind of any normal person, to want to come to an agreement — Boris Maksimov, Representative, East Arctic Oil and Gas Corporation.

Of course, diplomacy should on no account fall into the realm of hype. Diplomacy is still a conservative art that adheres to basic principles. The main principle of diplomacy is that in any relationship, when you are happy, this means, of course, mutual respect — Boris Maksimov, Representative, East Arctic Oil and Gas Corporation.

ISSUES
Diplomacy is currently experiencing a deep crisis

Diplomacy is dead – it has been dying for a long time, and painfully, in recent years. And of course, at the beginning of this year, it died completely, because what happened in January and February was not particularly related to diplomacy — Karin Kneissl, Federal Minister for Europe and International Affairs of the Republic of Austria (2017–2019).

In this new time, diplomacy is not showing itself in its best form. Look at what is happening: in many countries, diplomats refuse to communicate with each other, do not respond to notes or to letters, restrict communication by diplomatic representatives with the media, block embassies’ bank accounts, and expropriate diplomatic property. Well, as you will appreciate, it is very difficult to conduct diplomacy in such conditions. And this is at a time when our world is in an acute phase in the transformation of international relations — Kirill Barsky, Acting Head of the Department of Diplomacy, Moscow State Institute of International Relations.

I don’t think that there is any big conspiracy [in the current state of diplomacy in the world]… I think that what we are seeing here is rather a complete loss of common sense and a loss of the high art of diplomacy, in which it is understood that the consequences that certain actions lead to, this can even be called – quite harshly – a pandemic of stupidity — Karin Kneissl, Federal Minister for Europe and International Affairs of the Republic of Austria (2017–2019).

Diplomatic and economic problems: inextricably linked

Two key challenges that are now facing humanity and the economies of any country are: a change in the technological order, an energy transition, the first transition in the history of civilization that does not lead to cheaper energy, but vice versa. This shows how climate and economic issues are intertwined. The second challenge that I would like to draw attention to is the imbalance between developed and developing countries — Anastasia Lavrentieva, Deputy Head, Center for Implementation of Sustainable Development Principles, Gazprombank.

SOLUTIONS
Restoring dialogue must begin with related areas

For the new era of diplomacy, I would suggest starting with some very technical issues, without turning to war and peace. We must start with something small, with something that is just related to specific problems, something related to industry, to the industrial sector. We may think back to the issuing of visas, and humanitarian issues, and then we will see, if we can deal with these problems, how to move forward — Karin Kneissl, Federal Minister for Europe and International Affairs of the Republic of Austria (2017–2019).

Yes, despite the changes taking place in the world, the development of cooperation, the strengthening of cooperation, in the first place, it seems to me, one can continue to build on the basis of humanitarian cooperation and on the basis of various educational projects. We continue to organize, we have such an interesting system – ... we are working on projects with a variety of countries, with universities, where young people can do research with their peers from foreign countries. And, in general, despite the situation that arose in February, we have continued all our project work ... The field of education, it seems to me, can become key to building new relationships in the new world order — Irina Strelnikova, Head of Continuing Education and Professional Development Department, Russian Academy of Education.

The current situation, in my opinion, despite the very difficult context, despite the turbulence in the energy markets, is in fact a kind of freeze in the green sphere ... I believe that climate diplomacy is that particular point of growth, in general, in international cooperation, which is worth supporting, nurturing, and developing as much as possible. The general contours of climate diplomacy can already be seen today, they are focused mainly around economic issues — Anastasia Lavrentieva, Deputy Head, Center for Implementation of Sustainable Development Principles, Gazprombank.

The more we work in various areas: in the field of education, in the field of medicine, in the field of science, and of course, in the field of trade and economic relations, the more it binds together our peoples and our countries with mutual interests. And when mutual interests appear, and especially when mutually beneficial economic interests appear, then one wants to develop them, deepen them, expand them and under no circumstances slip into the area of conflict — Boris Maksimov, Representative, East Arctic Oil and Gas Corporation.

Effective training: the new diplomats

The university is both a breeding ground for Russian diplomats and a university for the Russian Foreign Ministry. We are faced with the need to maintain both of these statuses and, of course, to increase our efforts in the area of international cooperation, and we have begun to take certain steps. Starting with the most obvious: in the spring of this year, we held, all in all, more than 50 meetings with schoolchildren from five countries, mainly from former Soviet republics, and talked directly with 5,000 of our potential foreign applicants. Our delegation travelled to several countries, where they spoke, discussing MGIMO University and its opportunities directly with our potential applicants, schoolchildren in grades 10–11 ... This, in combination with other tools, produced a good result – this year we recruited more than 350 foreign students, this is a figure that is not only in no way inferior to the numbers of foreign citizens of previous years, but even surpasses it in some areas — Stanislav Surovtsev, Vice Rector for Youth Policy, Social Work and International Relations, MGIMO University.

In August of this year, we opened a special class for training diplomats at School No. 45 in the city of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky. Starting from fifth grade, we will prepare the children, and in so doing, contribute to the training of diplomatic staff, and since we have a very active representative office of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs in the city of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, our colleagues will conduct the relevant classes there after school hours. The educational programme also includes lessons in a second language, in addition to English and also Chinese — Dmitry Korostelev, President, Union "Chamber of Commerce and Industry of the Kamchatka Territory".

It seems to us that the key point here is that the training of specialists in this field must begin as early as possible. We have the first level of the programme – it consists of three levels – these are children from 10 to 14 years old, because by adolescence, there is already an integration of values. The sooner the right world view is put in place, and the child is immersed in the appropriate environment, the more effective, in our opinion, the subsequent process of choosing a profession will be, and in the future he will, in an informed way, join a specialized university and represent the interests of our country abroad truly effectively and with dignity — Irina Strelnikova, Head of Continuing Education and Professional Development Department, Russian Academy of Education.

Creating beneficial conditions for global solutions

For diplomatic missions, it is vital to create favourable conditions for diplomats’ work and daily lives, diplomats’ movement, and their communication with representatives of government bodies, with the press, and with people. Only then will it work, which will mean that we will have the opportunity, in the end, to agree on something — Kirill Barsky, Acting Head of the Department of Diplomacy, Moscow State Institute of International Relations.

I don't know, perhaps it sounds too ambitious, but maybe we need some kind of global agreement, in the United Nations or on some other platform. Or just an open document which all politicians ‘of good will’ will sign up to, in which to say ‘yes, this moment in the history of mankind did happen, but we are turning the page and starting to live afresh — Kirill Barsky, Acting Head of the Department of Diplomacy, Moscow State Institute of International Relations.

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, создан в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом.

Фонд взаимодействует со структурами ООН и другими международными организациями. Развивает многоформатное сотрудничество со 173 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 78 странах мира, со 188 российскими общественными организациями, федеральными органами исполнительной и законодательной власти, субъектами Российской Федерации.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Новое время для дипломатии
8 сентября 2022
10:00—11:15
Ключевые выводы
Новому времени - новая дипломатия

Без укрепления несущих опор дипломатии — это нормы и принципы международного права, без возвращения к нормальному дипломатическому общению нам очень трудно будет договариваться в этом новом мире, об этом новом времени, как мы будем жить. А для этого, это известно уже на протяжении столетий, необходима дипломатия и необходимы дипломаты, которые, несмотря на всю остроту противоречий, садятся за стол, начинают говорить и умеют договариваться — Кирилл Барский, Исполняющий обязанности заведующего кафедрой дипломатии, Московский государственный институт международных отношений (университет) Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации (МГИМО МИД России).

В отношении того, что происходит сейчас: огромное количество факторов, которые пытаются нас разделить. Мы все совсем недавно пережили ковидные ограничения, когда фактически замерло огромное количество международных отношений, логистики, торгово-экономические отношения во многом были поставлены на паузу, но дипломатия не молчала. И это правильно. Потому что абсолютно правильно было сказано, что дипломатия — это древнейшая профессия. Потому что это - состояние души любого человека, хотеть договориться — Борис Максимов, Представитель, ООО “Восточная Арктическая нефтегазовая корпорация".

Безусловно, ни в коем случае, дипломатия не должна впадать в область хайпа. Дипломатия — это всё-таки консервативное искусство, которое придерживается базовых принципов. Главный принцип дипломатии - когда в любых отношениях у вас будет хорошо — это, безусловно, взаимное уважение — Борис Максимов, Представитель, ООО “Восточная Арктическая нефтегазовая корпорация".

Проблемы
Сейчас дипломатия переживает глубокий кризис

Дипломатия умерла, она умирала долго и мучительно последние годы. И разумеется, в начале этого года она умерла полностью, потому что то, что произошло в январе-феврале, это было не особо связано с дипломатией — Карин Кнайсль, Министр иностранных дел Австрийской Республики (2017–2019 гг.).

В это новое время дипломатия вступает не в самой лучшей своей форме. Посмотрите, что происходит: во многих странах дипломаты отказываются общаться друг с другом, не отвечают на ноты, на письма, ограничивают общение дипломатических представителей со средствами массовой информации, блокируют банковские счета посольств, экспроприируют дипломатическую собственность. Ну сами понимаете, что дипломатию в таких условиях проводить очень сложно. И это в тот момент, когда наш мир находится на острой фазе трансформации международных отношений — Кирилл Барский, Исполняющий обязанности заведующего кафедрой дипломатии, Московский государственный институт международных отношений (университет) Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации (МГИМО МИД России).

Я не думаю, что есть какой-то большой заговор [текущее дипломатическое состояние в мире]… я думаю, что мы видим здесь скорее полнейшую потерю разума и потерю высокого искусства дипломатии, которая понимает последствия, к которым приводят определенные действия, это может быть даже то, что можно назвать довольно жёстко - пандемия глупости — Карин Кнайсль, Министр иностранных дел Австрийской Республики (2017–2019 гг.).

Проблемы дипломатии неразрывно связаны с экономическими

Два ключевых вызова, которые сейчас стоят перед человечеством и экономиками любой страны: это… смена технологического уклада, энергопереход, первый в истории цивилизации переход, который не ведет к удешевлению энергии, а наоборот. Это показывает, насколько вопросы климата и экономики переплетены. Второй вызов, на который я бы хотела обратить внимание - это дисбаланс между развитыми и развивающимися странами — Анастасия Лаврентьева, Заместитель начальника, Центр по внедрению принципов устойчивого развития, «Газпромбанк» (Акционерное общество).

Решения
Восстановление диалога надо начинать со смежных областей

Для нового времени дипломатии я бы предложила начать с таких, технических очень вопросов, не обращаясь к войне и миру. Мы должны начинать с чего-то небольшого, с того, что просто связано с конкретными проблемами, что связано с промышленностью, с отраслями промышленности. Можем вспомнить выдачу виз, гуманитарные вопросы и вот тогда увидим, если мы разберемся с этими проблемами, как мы будем двигаться дальше — Карин Кнайсль, Министр иностранных дел Австрийской Республики (2017–2019 гг.).

Да, несмотря на происходящие в мире изменения, развитие сотрудничества, укрепления сотрудничества, в первую очередь, мне кажется, можно продолжать строить на базе гуманитарного сотрудничества и на базе различных образовательных проектов. Мы продолжаем организовывать, у нас есть такая практика интересная - … мы делаем проекты с самыми разными странами, с университетами, где ребята могут совместно заниматься исследованиями с ребятами из зарубежных стран. И, в общем-то, несмотря на произошедшую ситуацию в феврале месяце, мы продолжили всю нашу проектную деятельность… Сфера образования, мне кажется, она может стать ключевой для выстраивания новых взаимоотношений, в условиях нового миропорядка — Ирина Стрельникова, Руководитель управления непрерывного образования и профессионального развития, Российская академия образования.

Текущая ситуация, на мой взгляд, несмотря на очень сложный контекст, несмотря на турбулентность на энергетических рынках, действительно какого-то заморозку по зелёному направлению… Я считаю, что климатическая дипломатия — это та точка роста, в целом в международном сотрудничестве, которую стоит максимально поддерживать, пестовать и развивать. Общие контуры климатической дипломатии - можно уже сегодня видеть, они сосредоточены, в основном, вокруг вопросов экономики — Анастасия Лаврентьева, Заместитель начальника, Центр по внедрению принципов устойчивого развития, «Газпромбанк» (Акционерное общество).

Чем больше мы работаем по различным направлениям: в области образования, в области медицины, в области науки, конечно же, в области торгово-экономических отношений, тем больше это связывает наши народы, наши страны взаимными интересами. А когда появляются взаимные интересы, а особенно, когда появляются взаимовыгодные экономические интересы, то хочется их развивать, углублять, расширять и, ни в коем случае, не сваливаться в области конфликта — Борис Максимов, Представитель, ООО “Восточная Арктическая нефтегазовая корпорация".

Эффективная подготовка кадров: новых дипломатов

“Университет является и кузницей отечественных дипломатов, и университетом МИДа России. Мы столкнулись с необходимостью оба эти статуса сохранить и, конечно же, наращивать по направлению международного сотрудничества свои усилия и начали предпринимать определенные шаги. Из самого очевидного - мы весной этого года провели в общей сложности более 50 встреч со школьниками из пяти государств, преимущественно это были государства ближнего зарубежья и пообщались с пятью тысячами наших потенциальных абитуриентов-иностранцев напрямую. Наша делегация проехала несколько государств, выступая, рассказывая об университете МГИМО его возможностях напрямую нашим потенциальным абитуриентам, школьникам 10–11 класса… Это, в совокупности, с другими инструментами, дало хороший результат - мы в этом году набрали более 350 иностранных студентов, это цифра не то чтобы нисколько не уступает цифрам иностранных граждан прошлых лет, но даже по каким-то направлениям превосходит — Станислав Суровцев, Проректор по молодежной политике, социальной работе и международным связям, Московский государственный институт международных отношений (университет) Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации (МГИМО МИД России).

Мы в августе текущего года открыли специальный класс для подготовки дипломатов в 45 школе города Петропавловска-Камчатского. Начиная с пятого класса мы будем готовить, и тем самым вносить свой вклад в подготовку дипломатических работников, поскольку у нас очень активное представительство Министерства иностранных дел России в городе Петропавловске-Камчатском, коллеги во внеурочное время будут проводить соответствующие занятия. Плюс программа образовательная предусматривает изучение второго языка, помимо английского ещё и китайский язык — Дмитрий Коростелев, Президент, Союз «Торгово-промышленная палата Камчатского края».

Как нам кажется, ключевым моментом в этой истории является то, что подготовку специалистов в этой области необходимо начинать как можно раньше. У нас первый уровень программы - она состоит из трех уровней — это дети от 10 до 14 лет, потому что уже к подростковому возрасту происходит интеграция ценностей. Чем раньше заложить правильное мировосприятие, погрузить ребёнка в соответствующую среду, тем, как нам кажется, эффективнее будет дальнейший процесс выбора профессии и в дальнейшем он уже осознанно будет поступать в профильные ВУЗы и действительно эффективно, достойно, представлять интересы нашей страны за рубежом — Ирина Стрельникова, Руководитель управления непрерывного образования и профессионального развития, Российская академия образования.

Создание благоприятных условий для глобальных решений

“Для дипломатических представительств необходимо создать благоприятные условия работы, быта дипломатов, передвижение дипломатов, общения дипломатов с представителями органов власти, с прессой, с людьми. Только тогда она заработает, а значит, у нас появится возможность всё-таки о чём-то договориться — Кирилл Барский, Исполняющий обязанности заведующего кафедрой дипломатии, Московский государственный институт международных отношений (университет) Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации (МГИМО МИД России).

Я не знаю, может быть это прозвучит чересчур амбициозно, но, может быть, нам необходим какой-то глобальный договор, в Организации Объединенных Наций или на какой-то другой площадке. Или просто открытый документ, к которому присоединятся все политики доброй воли, в котором сказать “да, вот был такой момент в истории человечества, но мы перелистываем эту страницу и начинаем жить заново — Кирилл Барский, Исполняющий обязанности заведующего кафедрой дипломатии, Московский государственный институт международных отношений (университет) Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации (МГИМО МИД России).